User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 87
  2. Negative: 7 out of 87

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    The graphics are amazing, and the controls are pretty tight, but poor level design prevents this from being a great game. Far too often, small mistakes force you to repeat long, boring stretches of platforming, making for a tedious experience. The boss fights are also fairly uninspired, and since you die in one hit, you'll be playing them over and over again. I don't mind difficultThe graphics are amazing, and the controls are pretty tight, but poor level design prevents this from being a great game. Far too often, small mistakes force you to repeat long, boring stretches of platforming, making for a tedious experience. The boss fights are also fairly uninspired, and since you die in one hit, you'll be playing them over and over again. I don't mind difficult platforming (I've put far too many hours into Super Meat Boy), but this game just feels like a chore. I tried to force myself to keep playing, just to see the beautiful environments, but I soon gave up. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    A lovingly constructed animated world. The exposition of narrative throughout the game via puppet shows does a good job of dispensing plot. However this game suffers from several faults that could be easily addressed. Boss fights need some fine tuning. Checkpoints are designed in such a way that you usually have to redo a significantly long easy portion to get back to the difficult partA lovingly constructed animated world. The exposition of narrative throughout the game via puppet shows does a good job of dispensing plot. However this game suffers from several faults that could be easily addressed. Boss fights need some fine tuning. Checkpoints are designed in such a way that you usually have to redo a significantly long easy portion to get back to the difficult part that defeated you previously, this doesn't make for fun gameplay. At times I felt the visual cues of what was dangerous didn't line up with the actual areas that would harm you. Difficulty did not follow a smooth curve. My biggest disappointment by far was the lack of an ending (both endings in my opinion are worthless) after being shown that the designer DID know how to tell a story (via the earlier puppet shows). Good foundation, needs significant refinement. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    I like the graphics and the general concept, also the background music and most of the puzzles.

    What I don't like is the general flow of how it challenges you. Most stuff is pretty easy and not challenging at all, and then you run into something which requires precise timing and quick fingers (try the demo and go down to the metal monster). Also I find the controls (although they
    I like the graphics and the general concept, also the background music and most of the puzzles.

    What I don't like is the general flow of how it challenges you. Most stuff is pretty easy and not challenging at all, and then you run into something which requires precise timing and quick fingers (try the demo and go down to the metal monster).

    Also I find the controls (although they are rebindable) are counter intiuitive. WASD for movement, so far so good, but then left/right arrow for red/blue charge my brain permanently got confused about using the arrow keys for something that does not have anything to do with direction.
    Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2015
    6
    What none of the other reviews will tell you: This is a masocore game! Sure, it starts out easy enough but soon you'll encounter more and more increasingly drastic difficulty spikes. The game contains about one to two hours of gameplay and about ten to twenty hours of retrying and cursing. If you're into that sort of thing, well... here you go, but if not, stay clear! You've been warned.
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    This game has an amazing art style and music. At times it even feels like a classic Disney animated movie ( a la Sorcerer's Apprentice). The puzzles are quit intuitive and challenging. The only problem with this game is the balance between challenge and controls. The game controls like any casual platformer, and it's very smooth. However, the boss battles and the late-game puzzles requireThis game has an amazing art style and music. At times it even feels like a classic Disney animated movie ( a la Sorcerer's Apprentice). The puzzles are quit intuitive and challenging. The only problem with this game is the balance between challenge and controls. The game controls like any casual platformer, and it's very smooth. However, the boss battles and the late-game puzzles require far more precision than the game is able to give. There seems to be a physics engine, but there's nothing insuring that you can the get the same results for the same action a second time. For example, go onto a red cube and then activate your red cloak. You can fly directly horizontal the first time then directly vertical the second time while doing the exact same thing. The only other problem I had with it is the lack of checkpoints to compensate for the above issue. Other than that, pretty amazing game. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    80
    Teslagrad is all about electricity, magnetism, and mind bending puzzles. The hand-drawn graphics and atmospheric music will take you to the top of the Tesla tower with a broad grin on your face.
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    70
    Despite pacing issues, Teslagrad's strange blend of science and fantasy prove that opposites do indeed attract. [Apr 2014, p.58]
  3. 60
    Beautifully drawn, beautifully animated, yet frustrating puzzle platformer, capable of enchanting you in one minute and pissing you off in another. [Issue#238]