User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 206
  2. Negative: 74 out of 206

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    This is the kind of game that sucks you in, for better or worse. The open world is sprawling and the cars are fairly well selected, though the game depends too heavily on some brands. Playing this game, I wondered often why they didn't play to the design's strengths as opposed to its weaknesses. The game is spread out across two huge islands, but very few parts of those islands are interesting enough to want to pass by them more than once or twice in an hour. This factor makes racing any race that is over two laps, especially if you have to restart, highly tedious. For the same reasons, the point to point races, with and without competitors, are often a lot of fun and are sometimes brilliant. The car handling can be silly and I would describe the handling as arcade-like. I think this game has a hard time deciding if it is meant for racing game fans or those who have little to no experience with them. The game starts out incredibly easy and then ramps it up. This makes the first few hours pretty boring. I don't care for the effects of colliding with things: I wish there were more damage. I can't think of a good method for repairing though and driving across the islands in a busted vehicle would be a huge drag. The story is thin and the voice acting is often so bad It seems ripped from a subtitle dub of an '80s Japanese action movie. The avatar customization items seem unnecessary, but they are not poorly implemented. I'm sure some people will get a kick out of those. As of now, the PC's online functions are crippled, but I'd be very surprised if I didn't see a fix very soon. PC optimization isn't terrible, but there are instances of unwarranted slowdown in seemingly random places. In one race, I experienced crippling slowdown on one lap and then smooth as butter framerate the next. This may have something to do with the online connectivity problems. I'm curious to see how the online actually pans out when it works, which will hopefully be in the next week or 2. The sound of the engines is pretty good and the radio has a decent selection but seems to try to copy GTA too much. We don't need sarcastic commercials in every game, especially if they aren't funny. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    4
    Biggest disappointment of the year so far. The only thing i really like about the game is the music and the look of the cars (even though, in first TDU part they seemed more realistic). Cons :

    - cut scenes - really stupid, i spend most of my gametime laughing because i couldn't believe that game with such stupid dialogues can be released
    - the plot - i wish it wasn't there at all. We had
    none in TDU 1, people loved it, why change it?
    - graphics - it's like TDU1 on highest details with a bit changed graphical engine so it could look less realistic
    - driving - i so want to go to Atari building and get my 40$ back. I really DON'T KNOW who designed the driving in this game, but he definately didn't play the first part. IT IS HORRIBLE.

    I tried all modes on both keyboard and wheel (G25). I gotta say, it's unplayable and there's a lot of problems with additional controlers.

    - major bugs - When i started playing i first made an offline account. I was excited to see day/night cycles and weather system. But guess what, i got informed that all of this doesn't work in offline mode cause of a bug. Oh come on, are you serious?

    Conclusions : If you're more of The Sims fun and you don't care if driving in game cars is fun, get the game. Otherwise you're gonna be disappointed, mad and you will swear a lot while playing this game.

    I really hoped this game was going to destroy the competition and that Atari won't be like other companies, creating new game for the masses and throwing brilliant ideas to the trash. But hey, i guess that if you want to play a good car racing games, you gotta buy a console.
    Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2011
    1
    all i can really say is this game is hands down the worst game ever made, has the worst control of any racing game out there, and anyone who say this game is good, has not played the game, its a shame too, it looked like it would be fun, but with its bad control, bad graphics, bad and weird voice acting, i can not recommend this pile of dump
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the endless roads and beautifully rendered scenery. If you are using keyboard only then there is a good chance that your tapping techniques will fail and cause you to write an explosive slamming review. PCâ
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    Addictive and fun, but not for racing sim perfectionists. This game is not a driving/racing sim. It is a human lifestyle sim based around racing/driving. It is like a version of "Sims 3" based around the lives of extremely superficial people. Plastic surgery, haircuts, buying clothes, furniture, exotic cars, mansions, yachts, and having parties are all part of the fun. It is a very different type of car based game that is in a class of it's own. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2011
    3
    (I've played about 12h) First of all it's a extremely bad physic-engine, driving doesn't makes fun and isn't realistic. The game-engine as bad as the driving-engine, low details, bad textures and the normal traffic-cars are as ugly as sin!

    (sorry, my Englisch is not that good ;) )
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    2
    Quite a big disappointment considering how much fun the first game was. In fact, when the sequel was announced, I was excited. Reason - a second game could just polish everything the first game had to offer and then some more. It was all set to be a much more refined and fun experience for TDU2. That's what I thought. Unfortunately, this is not the case. TDU2 has it all - bad physics, bad car handling, lackluster driving mechanics and the racing is just horrid. The online play doesn't help this game much. It can be fun to drive around in the free roam mode, but gosh, this is 2011 and we get a game that feels so dated. Not recommended. The graphics - well, there are better titles out there that completely dwarfs this. The recently released NFS: Hot Pursuit is a much better choice. Avoid this. Expand
  8. Feb 20, 2011
    6
    Stupid characters (story too) , awful controls, lack of cars customization, boring side missions and numerous bugs. Eden paid more attention to players avatars and social part of the game rather then cars and racing. Graphics are ok and cars models look good, music is also acceptable but so what? Game is highly irritating so if you wont to get pissed - stay away. It is not a terrible game but far behind a original TDU. Expand
  9. Feb 10, 2011
    4
    One of the worst car games I've ever played, I was looking forward to this game a long time and then "boom" disappointed as hell at a game which developers had loads of time to create. A little plus because they had okay characters but the rest is just......
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    coming from tdu1 this is a let down all over the cars handle so odd and out of place even the car selection is disappointing .. they added off-roading witch feels better then the cars on the road but still not good ....ughh this game had so much potential i don't know what they did . grfxs are .. well it dont look as good as tdu1 allot more cartoony (dont know how people can say it looks good ) performance always stuttering bounces between high 30s and 40s online seems to be as broken as the first you see people but not the ones you want people on your friends list dont show up just random's if you just drive in a strait line its fine watch the scenery blow by just don't turn Expand
  11. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    the game is awesome, it made me very surprised to see so many negative votes. TDU2 has the best graphics and coolest mixed single - multi player gameplay. also awesome for co - up driving, and enjoying the canyons or the seasides. you can even design a furniture in ur own house, clothing, haircut, awesome online casino, bikes and etc.

    only thing is - it's kinda hard for the newbies to
    get used to this game, coz differently from other games the car controlls isn't just W A S D, CTRL and SHIFT. this is *simulator* car controlls are 100% real and everyone knows that the car is harder to drive in real life than in the games like NFS and so on. i brought the steering whell just for this game and my recommendation to everyone who dislikes this game would be to not run over here and write the negative recommendations after their first crash. u cant drive - not the fault of developers. Expand
  12. Feb 14, 2011
    1
    Visually TDU2 is a nice game, good physics and apparently good multiplayer. The problem? It doesn't work. Online play is completely broken, don't even waste your money buying the game to play multiplayer at this point as it doesn't work. The servers have been down since launch and even though Atari says they are "up and being monitored" that simply means, to them, that there's power applied to the server hardware. If you want to play online don't waste your time. If you want a good racing sim for solo play, look elsewhere, this game was designed for online play period, offline is just for training and short term play. Expand
  13. Feb 12, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Usually, sequels never reach the level of greatness of a predecessor. Only Mass Effect 2 and other few games have managed this. Sadly, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is not one of them. The new interface is amazing, and the environment now seems like a real world, unlike its predecessor in where the world looked unrealistic, specially the trees. The game introduced new features, all of them poorly polished and underdeveloped. First, the new story mode is unnecessary and boring, the licenses, new racing and map systems are good but not enough, all the characters are uninteresting and forgettable and the damage system is almost un-existent, even worst than that of GT5.

    Still, TDU2 is a game worth to enjoy if you are a fan of racing games. Its pretty exciting to be going around in perfect and beautiful depictions of Ibiza and Hawaii in any of the cars in the game. Finally, it's hard to recommend this game, and harder to be enjoyed by a person just looking for a racing game, because even when TDU2 is a racing game at its core, many of the MMO and RPG elements incorporated could screw up your fun.
    Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    The Good: Cruising around with some friends or by yourself for a couple of hours. Just Cruising.

    The Bad: Can u spell Beta. This game has soo many bugs, completely uninspiring story, lame voice overs (the few that they bothered to do), frustrating!! level design, car upgrades that dont work, a community racing center that was down for a month let alone the online clubs issues, car
    dynamics wrong (on a very steep incline and stationary, pushing the brakes makes the car skid down, but let off the brakes and freewheel and the car doesn't move. so many good features from TDU1 somehow not included like:
    ability to turn engine on and off
    adjustable radial blur
    adjustable incar seat
    incar dials that actually work (the buggy's rev count is 1,2,3,4,5,6,5,6,7 - QA? tested at all?)
    ability to move cars around garages
    the list seriously just goes on and on

    not to mention that once you finish all the singleplayer races and still have lots to buy you won't be able to make money at any reasonable rate unlike TDU1. you cannot repeat entire cups to win the end prize money, it seriously is a dead game after that for singleplayer. multiplayer fails because only certain people who bought from a specific retailer (not Steam) got the Bugatti Veyron Super Sport as a preorder "bonus" and it will outstrip every other car no matter how much tuning. meaning if you didn't live in a specific country, prepare to not be able to win multiplayer games unless by chance - joy. where's the skill in that?

    such an uninspiring game, disappointment of the year handsdown!!
    Expand
  15. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    I've played about 9 hours and I've gotta say, Eden for all gamers, fire your story writers, and fire the idiot who thought up the physics. Also maybe fire your voice actors, their repetitive and dull. Actually come to think of it, close up shop and maybe try designing concept art for cars instead. The only thing they got right with the game was the look of the cars and the worlds appearance. I have a truck that corners better then the sports cars in this game, and from driving fast cars I can say spinning out on every corner is hard to do if you know how to drive. But this physics engine, do more then 30 around a corner and your going to be offroading the sports car. Try the **** view, spin out. The license system is a repetitive drag, and really there is no point of playing as there is no story. Expand
  16. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    The game has its flaws.Story is terrible.But come on this is a racing game.Graphics are good,atmosphere is good multiplayer was buggy at release but its fine now.Score (1.0) id must be a floating point number.
  17. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    TDU2 is a must have! TDU2 is in a field of it's on. There is no other game out there like it, except TDU. Cruising and exploring two MASSIVE and beautiful islands, alone, is worth the $20 i paid. It's TDU just bigger and better. Unrelentless cop chases where you can be the cop in on the chase. TDU2 is not the best game in the world and it is not nearly as bad as some people are making it out to be. The driving engine was geared towards the keyboard user, but if tweak the settings some it feels more controller friendly. The cars are drivable and enjoyable once you give them a fair chance. TDU2 was not intended for the IRacing, rFactor, and other hard core sim gamers only. I personally feel like the driving schools are a little too challenging for this game, but very rewarding.

    Those who choose not to buy TDU2 based on the negative opinion of others, are going to miss out on a treat.

    The only thing that really bothers me about the game, is its re-installations is limited to 4. Now that's one on the main issues Atari could easily address and needs to.
    Expand
  18. Feb 10, 2011
    6
    I want to try not to be too negative at release version 1 but i might be lol.

    Firstly and most important i felt like i was playing test drive 1 again but on a different map, did they realy spend that much time on the handling? with the early vehicles at least i felt like i was driving a box that floats on asphalt although you can feel the surface beneath you on dirt. Secondly on a GTX
    295 the graphics dont live up to some of the "ingame" screens ive seen. But understandably being an online game its not going to have the best graphics. Also the highly detailed interiors??? i was driving a lancia and the dashboard looked like a 2d image slapped behing the steering wheel. The mediocre graphics could be because they wanted to include the old hawaii map without totally revamping it but seriously for £30 i would have been happy with a brand spanking new ibiza map. When my gtx 580's arrive ill test again on the graphics as im not sure if the game recognises dx11 or not (probably not being a port) and Thirdly on that point i think that this is just another port and without an update alot of people will be dissapointed after all the hype. NFS Hot pursuit has better handling and graphics im sad to say. I think in general eden have spent far 2 much time trying to make cool avatars and casinos etc and have forgotted its a driving game. I hope a few patches will help the handling as that is my main concern. The game is definetly playable and i will enjoy it but if you want a high quality driving simulation you will be disapointed i think. Expand
  19. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    Extremely disappointing. Concur with all the negative comments here. The sounds, the pop ups, the dated graphics, the ropey handling are inexcusable, not to mention the bugs. Avoid like the plague and let's pray someone is willing to take the franchise forward with a real TDU2
  20. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Really enjoying this so far, contrary to most people opinions I feel the car handling is much improved over TDU1 (playing on 360 pad) it feels less twitchy to me and the cars seem much easier to control as a consequence. AI traffic cars no longer suicidally turn into you at 150mph like in the first game and the police in single player are no longer as easy to agitate, although perhaps its gone too far the other way.

    The game runs well enough on my pc (AMD Phenom II 945 quad core, Radeon HD5770, 4 gig of ram) at about 40/45fps average on high/very high graphics and graphics look noticably better that TDU.

    I loved TDU despite its many flaws and the sequel is better in just about every regard for me, well except the lack of Lamborghini... Now they seem to have sorted the servers to I'm finding it much easier to connect to other people when playing online compared to TDU1. Theres still a couple of features that don't seem to load (TDU life) but the game seems pretty stable and pretty much bug free.

    Very pleased with my purchase, the only regret I have was not pre-ordering it! I wonder if the people that hate the game got the same one as me or whether they expected the level of polish of Forza/GT on a massive 2 island scale which would be impossible (can you imagine GTs creators making a game like this and how long it would take?!!?!). TDU is different and all the better for it.
    Expand
  21. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    The best game in its category
    Great cars design, great environments, really superb !
    Very immersive and original.
    Everything is good in this game
    ...................................................
  22. Nov 26, 2011
    5
    Lack of subtitles for cutscenes has put me off. I have been lost working out what I should do in the game. Luckily, my familiarity with TDU1 has helped me gain a basic understanding on how the game is supposed to be played. It's pretty average. Story is scored 0 because I need subtitles to help understand, even if I am a English speaker. Therefore this have no repsect for hearing impaired players like me. But bercause the gameplay is fun, I give it a 10 so 10 and 0 balances out as 5. Expand
  23. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    Despite all it's quirks and bugs, TDU2 is still a very immersible game. Hopefully the new Dev team can fix the existing errors and continue to improve the game, as well as re-integrate features from TDU1.
    Looking forward to DLC2 now.. the Bike shop is already on the island just waiting for the doors to open!
  24. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    No es el TDU2 que yo esperaba, no me aburre jugarlo pero tampoco me emociona ni me envisia jugarlo, solo es un juego mas, no confundir con TDU1, creo que TDU2 deveria tener otro nombre...ya que no es ni la uña de un pie de lo que es TDU1, porfavor, MUESTREN AL MUNDO EL VERDADERO TDU2 QUE LA GENTE AUN NO CONOCE!
  25. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This game is simply marvelous!! ...it could be improved here and there, but all in all it is the Best Open World driving game on the market, AND faithful to the original, e.g. Test Drive 3 (if anyone remembers that gem:) ...you can spend much-much time driving/competing around Ibiza and Hawaii in this game, just be prepared!!:))
  26. Sep 5, 2011
    1
    Worst driving handling games I ever played. I can even control better when I'm driving GT5 using simulation mode compared to this. This isn't any realistic driving, anyone will be a fool to buy this game and play. I, myself, is a fool and regretted buying this game, it's a waste of money. The driving physics is just worst than any simulation racing games out there.
  27. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The only game with all types of cars ! you can race or u can explore there are collectables and a lot of things to do! u can make ur own character and change clothes too ! the game has a lot to give if u play it it is fun to me the only bad stuff is the driving school for any class and type of car ..... yeah and the storry is stupid and pointless but who cares? its all about the cars if u love cars then u will love this game if u dont love cars and u just wanna play fake driving racing go find something else ! Expand
  28. Sep 24, 2011
    1
    I tried to play this game. I tried to enjoy it... I really did, but between the terrible cut-scenes that you couldn't skip and the inexplicable urge for the back end of your car to slide out at the tiniest touch of a button, I could not handle it. I screamed out in frustration many, many times, and rage quit many, many times.... much like I was playing a Call of Duty game online......>.
  29. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    With 375 hours played this game has that factor that keeps you coming back for more i want to play it i like playing it There are little to no issues with this game yes hackers are present but with cars every where its fun casino is alot of fun to What has let the game down is Atari lack of interest in further development of the game extremely slow patches hardly no fixes plus a forum which has long gone and disappeared it was meant to be merged but it still has not happened So reason i score it a 7/10 is purely the fault of Atari no support for game that has potential Expand
  30. Aug 23, 2012
    4
    Nice cars, nice world, but those are the only positives about this game. If racing game has terrible driving physics, then I can't even enjoy the good things.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 60
    Racing game pretends to have a lot of features and extras at first glance. Fact is, this just has some boring races and dusty graphics. [Mar 2011]
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Ignore the story and there's a very enticing world to explore. [Apr 2011, p.64]
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Don't get us wrong, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a very decent game. With a massive island to explore, beautiful cars and scenery that can take your breath away, it's an absolute eye candy. Still, almost every aspect of the game can use some polish. [Mar 2011, p.99]