The Banner Saga Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 690 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live through an epic role-playing Viking saga where your strategic choices directly affect your personal journey. Make allies as you travel with your caravan across this stunning yet harsh landscape. Carefully choose those who will help fight a new threat that jeopardizes an entire civilization.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Banner Saga - Rough Guide to Travel
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Jan 14, 2014
    100
    The Banner Saga is blindingly lovely and arguably just as intriguing to play. Built atop a world that all but demands the attention of travel documentaries, it's epic in the literal sense of the word.
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    90
    The cast is plausible and the art is nothing short of exceptional, and everything is molded in a coherent, fascinating experience. A great result from Stoic that puts some brilliant out-of-the-box thinking and sheer creativity to good use.
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    87
    A great tactical RPG coming from a forgotten era of videogaming, with a brilliant art style and a melancholic story.
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    Banner Saga is a fascinating trip to Norse mythology. Half leg deep in snow, you will enjoy your wars, dilemmas and also emotions, all in its graceful audiovisuals. Several of its flaws and ambiguities are not worth mentioning. You should not miss this visual novel.
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    There are definitely some mechanics to be fixed, namely the monotony of the combat, but I enjoyed my time in this bleak world thoroughly.
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    78
    With an inspiring art direction, a relentless but interesting game design and a good combat system, The Banner Saga only suffers from a lack of variety in its fighting scenarios and its slow caravan sequences. This solid Kickstarter game shows its pedigree but some players might not get charmed by its particular setting.
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    50
    Its stripped down battle system and low production values have a huge impact on the overall quality of Stoics game, a game that has a unique charm but cannot earn a place next to the best "tactics" games whether they are "indie/ kickstarter" projects or not.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 153
  2. Negative: 28 out of 153
  1. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    The Banner Saga is such an incredible tactic game. It´s by far the best game i have backed on Kickstarter. It a must have if you like tacticThe Banner Saga is such an incredible tactic game. It´s by far the best game i have backed on Kickstarter. It a must have if you like tactic combat game. And it´s a real choose - consequence game (not like TWD) Expand
  2. May 26, 2014
    10
    This is a great game; reminded me of many of the tactics games that I used to love on play station and pc. If you like these types of games,This is a great game; reminded me of many of the tactics games that I used to love on play station and pc. If you like these types of games, this one is as good as any. The artwork graphics is amazing and the storyline is solid Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    This game does several things well that I usually don't care for - cut scenes and dialogue heavy among them. This game is, effectively, aThis game does several things well that I usually don't care for - cut scenes and dialogue heavy among them. This game is, effectively, a tactical RPG meets Oregon Trail meets a high quality animated adventure story. Usually, I'm loathe to write favourable reviews for games because they're generally so overhyped (particularly the critical reviews), and I was very happy that this game lives up to the praise I've read. The game's difficulty is adjustable, at at "normal", it's quite challenging. I'm in my second play-through - I learned the strategy via the first play-through which I eventually failed at, and like it even more the second time around. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2016
    8
    ¿Te gusta la cultura/ambientación nórdica? - compra este juego
    ¿Te gustan los juegos de estrategia por turnos? - compra este juego
    ¿Te
    ¿Te gusta la cultura/ambientación nórdica? - compra este juego
    ¿Te gustan los juegos de estrategia por turnos? - compra este juego
    ¿Te gustan los juegos de aventuras de textos? - compra este juego
    ¿Te gustan las buenas tramas en los juegos? - compra este juego

    The banner saga es una propuesta fresca y muy bien llevada, ambientado en un mundo de cultura escandinava, con una historia potente, donde sus personajes llevan el peso de su historia a sus hombros.
    Gran parte del juego no estarás luchando, si no que estarás viajado y tener que tomar relevantes decisiones, decisiones que pueden traer consigo desastres, como la muerte de personajes, la pérdida de recursos, la baja moral, o por otro lado, conseguir recursos, reclutar gente para el clan, etc.
    El sistema de combate es muy fácil de aprender y es muy entretenido y a la vez te verás en sistuaciones muy dificiles de poder ganar.
    La historia como ya he comentado engancha mucho, quieres seguir jugando, la jugabilidad es muy entretenida, la MÚSICA, wow, punto fuerte del juego, es totalmente épica y bien llevada, el diseño de personajes y ambientes muy bello.
    Como aspecto negativo, se podría haber ahondado más en las historias de los personajes, el juego termina muy brusco (por suerte se sabe que saldrá la parte 2 que unirá me imagino que dará a entender o finalizar la trama) y la traducción, al menos la del español, es risoriamente mala, es como si hubieran usado google traductor para hacer la traducción del juego.

    7.8/10
    Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2017
    7
    El sol se ha detenido, los dioses han muerto, una nueva guerra contra los dredge se cierne sobre la alianza de Humanos y Varls, todo esto,El sol se ha detenido, los dioses han muerto, una nueva guerra contra los dredge se cierne sobre la alianza de Humanos y Varls, todo esto, mientras algo aun peor a todo lo anterior se lleva acabo sin que nosotros sepamos nada.

    Así se presenta la historia de The Banner Saga, donde manejaremos a dos grupos que intentan sobrevivir en mitad de todo este caos. Un sin fin de cosas nos encontraremos en nuestro viaje hacia tierra segura, nos enzarzaremos en batallas cada cual más dura, toparemos con personas, cada una con sus problemas, virtudes, inquietudes, objetivos...

    La mayoría de las decisiones que tomemos tienen relevancia en nuestro camino, no así tanto en la historia. Algunas se llevaran a personas por delante, con otras podrás hacer pasar hambre a tu caravana, y en rara ocasión podrás disfrutar de una pequeña calma en tan duro viaje.

    Como habréis podido comprobar en el inicio de este análisis, sin duda lo más destacable del juego es su historia, como se lleva acabo, y las decisiones, que aunque no cambien realmente el rumbo de la historia, si que dan los matices necesarios para ver como ocurren pequeños sucesos por estos. Ademas, otra de las cosas que más destaca es su apariencia, y es que esta maravilla junto a la banda sonora, hacen que, simplemente ver a la caravana en movimiento, con tal majestuoso paisaje de fondo al sonido de una canción de narrativa épica, o al sonido de tambores de batalla, sea una experiencia inolvidable.

    La jugabilidad, en el tema de combates, posiblemente sea la peor parte del juego, que no por ello significa que sea mala. Cada personaje pertenece a una clase, cada una ofrece distintas capacidades como resistir, pegar, disparar de lejos... pero creo que falta diferenciar más cada una de estas, y mejorar las habilidades especiales de algunas, ya que en la mayoría de los personajes he acabado utilizando casi siempre el ataque principal por ser más efectivo.

    Otro de los fallos es el doblaje, se agradece que este en Español, pero se nota que en ciertos lugares no esta bien desarrollado pues hay frases que no significan nada, otras mal estructuradas que quitan fuerza a la situación y desde luego ambientación.

    Y por ultimo un pequeño apunte. El propio nombre del juego os lo indica "The Banner SAGA". Efectivamente, esto es el comienzo de algo más grande, esta primera entrega solo siempre, no penseis que aclarara ninguna de las dudas que crea.

    Recomendado para todos aquellos amantes de los juegos por turnos, los amantes de la mitología o la ambientación vikinga, o para aquellos que quieran una historia épica por sus venas.
    Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2014
    5
    I've never played a game with more unfinished brilliant ideas than the banners saga. It's unspectacular by every metric as a stand aloneI've never played a game with more unfinished brilliant ideas than the banners saga. It's unspectacular by every metric as a stand alone game, but I look forward to seeing if the sequels can pull something together. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2014
    0
    to much to read....... great fights but this reading...... has this game failed to me
    pls make somehting like that with voice acting or less story...

See all 153 User Reviews