Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Blackwell Legacy is the first case in a miniseries of games that stars a medium named Rosangela Blackwell and her spirit guide Joey Mallone. Their mission, it seems, is to assist tormented spirits and investigate supernatural goings on. They don't understand why they are thrown together, but they do the best they can. The duo's first case will involve a series of suicides at a local university. Something unnatural has forced these students to kill themselves, and nobody knows why. Rosangela, who is just coming to terms with her new status as a medium, finds herself cast as the unwilling detective in this gruesome mystery. [Wadjet Eye Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. This game is throughly enjoyable and most adventurers, new and old, will savor the experience of meeting these new characters in what promises to be a quality series.
  2. A fun adventure for a rainy weekend, and great demo of the indie scene. [July 2007, p.72]
  3. The Blackwell Legacy is an outstandingly written and acted adventure game, only held back by limitations of the fairly primitive game engine and, perhaps, some design decisions. It readily gets a "Thumb Up" from this reviewer. As one who particularly enjoys story and narrative, I found The Blackwell Legacy to be compelling, involving, memorable.
  4. If this were a TV show, one watch of this and any TV network would commission a full series – much like any adventure game fan who tries this will almost certainly follow this series throughout its run - provided it sticks to a somewhat regular release schedule.
  5. Although it doesn't quite match the classics, The Blackwell Legacy has more to offer than just nostalgia. Its appeal will depend on how interesting you find the story.
  6. Lovingly drawn New York backdrops go some way towards rescuing the painful puzzles. [July 2007, p.90]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    This game is excellent! if you've played Gemini Rue by the same company (one of my most favorite games) then you will love this aswell. The only bad thing about this game is that its way to short, so i would suggest getting all 4 which they sell as a bundle off of steam for way low price of $15. If you like the point and click style adventure games than you should seriously play this, the graphics are an early 90's style which has alot of charm to it and you will either like or dislike... One of the best things about Wadgeteye Games who made this and Gemini Rue was the fact that it has no hint system, we can all get a walkthrough online for any game but id personally rather walk around for an hour pulling my hair out because im stuck trying to figure it out and finally figure it out and feel accomplished than to just click a button and be told how to do it...maybe thats just me. If you think the graphics are oldscool so it must suck then you are wrong, ask yourself do you think the first 3 Star Wars movies are worse than the newer 3 because it was made nearly 40 years ago? i think the old ones are better, again, that might just be me. Excellent game, hope they keep making more oldschool style ADV games (especially Sci-fi like Gemini Rue) :) Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    As the first it does it's job in setting up the gameplay and the story, however I felt the story didn't get started fast enough, but that's just my opinion. I swear is some hangs outside a building, claiming to know everyone I'd thump him.

    A fun little adventure game with a lot of questions about the metaphisical and what happens to spirits when they finally pass on either with sins as living or sins they developed whilst a spirit. Wadjet games appear to be all about the story which is why I'm going to keep supporting this company.
    Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    An AMAZING! Point & Click Adventure game, for those who are fans of that genre should definitely check this game out. The Story is absolutely wonderful, and you find yourself playing without the care of what time is it. While intrigue to solve the mystery. The only negative, is that this game story is short. Yes, way too short. But, that doesn't take away any of the goodies it contains. Besides the short story line, I highly do recommend it.
    9/10
    Collapse
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    Definitely a good adventure game, with a very interesting story behind and so much more to know about in the next chapters. It plays as an old style adventure game by point and click, both in graphics and interactions, and while some might "dislike" the old style graphics, it's also one of its charms. However, my biggest grudges of this game are mainly 3: 1) The main character. While it's simple and "normal" in her own way, I honestly never liked her whiny and moaning attitude that "often" happens during the game: I know it's how she is and that a normal person would "probably" act like this, but I just couldn't get into her like the developers hoped for. It's not a Guybrush Threepwood, but not even a bad one either. 2) Too easy. Aside from some specific points where it required some attention, the game is very easy to figure out how to play and even if I admit that I DID look at a walkthrough, I only did it twice, and only because I have missed some dialogues. I don't think it's a big flaw, but I do hope it'll be better in the next installments. 3) Too short. Finished in about 4-5 hours...the game itself isn't expensive, sure, but it ended so fast! I was enjoying the story so much when the game stopped, and even if I know there's other chapters to play, the fact that it's short is a bit concerning. But aside from that, this is a very nice adventure game and I can see a lot getting unfolded in the next installments. Give it a look and see for yourself: if you like this one, you will probably continue the story. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    Point'n'click classy adventure with a redhead, not very social "journalist" as a main character. Story was pretty good with logical gameplay (not just random combining stuff like in many adventure games) although not very long. What I like most on this game is that every single conversation is dubbed. Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    The game is well done and fair on the puzzles. the story is good and lets you into.
    I find the scenario and graphics good enough.
    I
    understand this is the first chapter of a series, but it's too short.
    Even for me, that I am horrible at playing adventure games, its short.
    although I do feel game difficulty is just right, to get most of ppl involved.
    Good game overall, short experience
    Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    I wasn't too impressed with this one. There's not a whole lot of user interaction and there are several spots where it feels more like listening to a book than playing a game. The inventory system is useless and the notebook mechanics need improvement. As a stand alone game, it offers an ok story that ends too abruptly leaving too many unanswered questions. I can only hope there's more to unravel from the sequels, yet this first episode left nothing that compels me to play them. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews