Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 72
    Despite limited environments and unstable puzzle design, Critter Chronicles is saved by the subtle charm of its characters and by some witty ideas. [February 2013]
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    70
    Even though The Book of Unwritten Tales: The Critter Chronicles does not reach a technology peak, its perfect story, humorous situations and interesting puzzles make up for it. It's a pity the game is so short.
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    A fun and well written prologue to last year's adventure hit. This game tells a smaller and a more personal story that is somewhat hurt by really awful puzzle-design at certain places.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    The Critter Chronicles adopts enough of the positive qualities of its predecessor to deliver another enjoyable adventure, but skids on some crucial issues to land somewhat short of true excellence.
  5. Jan 9, 2013
    60
    It's more of an expansion than a proper sequel, and the puzzles are not as logical and enjoyable as the ones in the original game. But it still offers a genuinely funny and pleasant overall experience.
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    Amusing and usually quite entertaining, but let down by location repetition and some poor puzzle design.
  7. Jan 27, 2013
    57
    The original game, The Book of Unwritten Tales, was peppered with lazy, on-the-nose jokes, like a film in the Scary Movie franchise. The Critter Chronicles is no better. Pop culture references killed the fairy tale.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    Though it's marketed as stand-alone, this really is more of a prequel expansion pack for the original TBoUT. It doesn't make much senseThough it's marketed as stand-alone, this really is more of a prequel expansion pack for the original TBoUT. It doesn't make much sense without first playing the original as many of the characters aren't introduced. Overall, it doesn't really have as much depth. I completed it in about 7 hours half as long as the original. It's still funny and enjoyable, but I'd recommend the original TBoUT over this any day. Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Not that bad of the game, but feels less funny than the previous version. It is shorter, which I appreciated. Characters now move and runNot that bad of the game, but feels less funny than the previous version. It is shorter, which I appreciated. Characters now move and run across the screen more often, but still one has to wait out animations and most cutscenes without the ability to skip them, which is kind of a downside if one wants to hunt for the hard-difficulty achievements right after finishing the game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    Critter Chronicles is a point and click adventure game with a comedy theme. Most of the puzzles are inventory based, with a few minigamesCritter Chronicles is a point and click adventure game with a comedy theme. Most of the puzzles are inventory based, with a few minigames thrown in. None of the puzzles are too hard, although I did get stuck once on a minigame and had to consult a walkthrough. About half of the game was completed by my nine-year-old with a little help. I think this is a great game to play with your kids, they love the sophomoric humor. Some of the jokes are laugh-out-loud funny. Overall I thought this game was a little more polished and clever than the first one. I definitely recommend playing BoUT first before playing this game, since the story makes more sense this way. Overall the game was very entertaining for the story and the comedy, the puzzles keep you busy but are not all that challenging. Full Review »