Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    73
    You’ll encounter fascinating puzzles in “impossible” labyrinths. Unfortunately most of the time trial-and-error will win over logic.
  2. May 17, 2013
    70
    For a game that was created by just two students, it’s an accomplishment to be incredibly proud of and I know that I’ll be gifting a few of my friends this game throughout the year, even if it is only to drive them crazy with confusion too.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    70
    The formula of this super indie puzzle game is centered on the gravity and some levels will test your patience, although it does not come to spikes of pure frustration.
  4. PC Gamer
    Apr 24, 2013
    69
    It's lovely to look at, but the process of puzzle-solving feels pedestrian. [May 2013, p.61]
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    60
    The Bridge is a very competent puzzle game that is set in a beautiful world that really draws you in. However, when you’re there you get a slight feeling of emptiness due to the lack of story.
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    60
    With obvious debts to such indie hits as Braid, Limbo and The Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom, The Bridge ultimately feels like a truncated compilation of iconic motifs rather than a fully-fledged experience in its own right.
  7. Feb 21, 2013
    60
    The Bridge is also relatively short, but at the same time it doesn't outstay its welcome. It's for the most part enjoyable while it lasts, and provides a decent thought-provoking time.
  8. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 30, 2013
    50
    A cool concept without much game behind it that's ready to be tossed into the growing pile of Braid-a-likes. [Apr 2013, p.84]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. May 14, 2013
    5
    Super disappointed in this game. The art style and the setup seemed really interesting. However over the course of the game it began to feelSuper disappointed in this game. The art style and the setup seemed really interesting. However over the course of the game it began to feel more like a poor man's Braid. I don't like to compare games to other so directly but this felt like it was living in Braid's shadow a little too closely and it was all the worse for it. Most of the puzzles ended up being more a matter of keep poking them until they were solved than me actually figuring them out and the storytelling just felt very lacking. A real shame. Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    8
    Brilliant game with very clever mechanisms and puzzles. Very nice artwork too. A lot of potential. I would have rated 10 if puzzles were notBrilliant game with very clever mechanisms and puzzles. Very nice artwork too. A lot of potential. I would have rated 10 if puzzles were not that easy. I finished the full game in one seating of less than 6 hours, obtaining all the achievements but 1 (out of 16). If the game gets upgrades or DLCs with additional puzzles, I'll change my score to 10. Full Review »
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The Bridge is an independent puzzle game set in an M. C. Escher-like world. Your basic controls consist of walking and turning the world. The game's ad states that no two puzzles are similar, which sounds like an interesting challenge. Unfortunately, it does not quite live up to these expectations.

    SPOILERS AHEAD.
    The puzzles are divided into four chapters, each having six puzzles and the "mirrored" versions of each and every world, 48 total. While the first half is, say, realistic, the second half is quite disjointed forward puzzles are intertwined with really odd ones. The most difficult part was figuring out the locations of the so-called "wisps". According to the forum discussions it took an entire community quite some time to find all of them and the "hints" at these are really complex.

    The frustration part was a little too much for my taste, but overall it is a very nicely designed game. It can be played well with a controller, but I'd say that its current retail price of 14 is a tad too much.
    Full Review »