Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    82
    The Bureau: XCOM Declassified is an interesting hybrid between a traditional third-person shooter and a strategic game, with elements of role-playing game; but the impression is a game crippled by a troubled production. If you are in search of a different action videogame, maybe The Bureau is the game are you searching for.
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    80
    Takes inspiration from Mass Effects, but offers a richer, more tactical combat. Usually there’s a reason for scheduling a game release for the slow summer season, but The Bureau turned out to be a really good game. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.56]
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    80
    It offers a glimpse in the history of XCOM through a tactical third person shooter, without becoming a simple mindless shooter. The Bureau requires a good amount of tactical thinking, which really makes it feel like a true XCOM game. Lack of strategy, however, might make the game less appealing to some XCOM fans, but the majority of players will revel in the tactical gameplay.
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    The Bureau builds up adequately on a lot of ideas taken from XCOM. As a result it is entertaining and generally true to the XCOM canon but its potential is, more often than not, half-expressed.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    With the plot being one of its most worth highlighting features, The Bureau takes the strategy from XCOM and makes it work within a shooter-based gameplay.
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    Paradoxically, The Bureau: XCOM Declassified feels immediate and inclusive as a strategy game, relying more closely on your rapid-fire commands than the bursts of your rifle. The odd hybrid is far from being fully evolved, but it's well suited to further study.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    79
    A fun shooter with a tactical edge, but not as strategy focused as other XCOM games. [Nov 2013, p.68]
  8. Aug 20, 2013
    77
    The tactical shootouts are very entertaining.
  9. Aug 21, 2013
    76
    Considering the game’s fraught development history and arguably ill-conceived premise, The Bureau is practically a best-case scenario. It may not be a game that anyone asked for, but perhaps that has, in a way, strengthened the final game, forcing it to reel itself in a bit and focus on being entertaining rather than revamping an old IP. It succeeds admirably as an enjoyable sci-fi shooter, and that’s good enough for us.
  10. Aug 25, 2013
    75
    The Bureau is a good game. I like the fact that it forces teamwork, has a great atmosphere and solid graphics. The aliens tend to attack with various and difficult to kill forces from the beginning - that's good as well. Unfortunately later on the magic kind of disappears - the story becomes silly, fights get easier and the interface irritates more and more. But taking all things into consideration, The Bureau is a solid, well made game. A cool appetizer to all the big games arriving this fall.
  11. Aug 22, 2013
    75
    Developer 2K Marin has put everything into creating the best tactical fights possible. Because of this the third person alien shooter is at its best when taking on enemies in combat. Unfortunately everything else is less refined, but despite this The Bureau is still a great addition to the series.
  12. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    As it winds towards completion, the plot jumps the rails more than once. I lost touch with what was going on, but eventually I was charmed by the pure insanity on display.
  13. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    XCOM Declassified is missing that something more that could make it a third-person shooter you have to play. Right now is just another shooter with an original twist in the gameplay.
  14. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    2K Marin's work is intuitive and fun, but with a little more courage it could've become a game of rare strength. Too bad the developers didn't want to risk all the way, by focusing on limited customization of classes and equipment.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 585 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 165
  2. Negative: 40 out of 165
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I REAALLYY thought this would just be another shooter but they implemented X-COM's style of strategy so well it actually feels like 3rd personI REAALLYY thought this would just be another shooter but they implemented X-COM's style of strategy so well it actually feels like 3rd person RTS xcom, I dont care about the unsatisfied destructoid review I don't see why in the world he would like how it isnt a shooter or a strategy or an xcom game BECAUSE ITS ALL OF THOSE COMBINED, and that's much more awesome than it sounds

    GamePlay: 9/10
    Story: 8/10
    visuals: 7/10
    Replayabilty: 10/10

    P.S: anyone going into this expecting a carbon copy of XCOM enemy unknown or UFO defense's gameplay is an idiot
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    I'm seeing a lot of moaning that this isn't XCOM, and maybe the dev's should have just dropped the name because it seems more like fanboyI'm seeing a lot of moaning that this isn't XCOM, and maybe the dev's should have just dropped the name because it seems more like fanboy rage, then actual constructive criticism of essential a pretty good 3rd person shooter.

    The development has been marred with problems, mainly I believe to fanboy outrage to initial screens of the game. I was actually looking forward to a First person, investigation game. Then the game went dark, but eventually came back to life, in what seemed to be a mash up between Mass Effect and some XCOM elements.

    I love the XCOM series, do I care that this game has XCOM in the title? No. I take games on face value, and not what I expect the game should be. In fact, I don't go into any games with expectations why would you? Why not be surprised, which I am about this game.

    It didn't take long before I started getting the knack for the controls and ordering my men around it all seemed to work well, and I was killing aliens left, right and centre. The AI, seems intuitive enough to get the job done on both sides.

    I love the setting, and the story isn't as convoluted as some have suggested. The game isn't perfect by any means. There have been some hiccups with stuttering, and slow downs but the steam community is on the ball. Hopefully updated video drivers and possible game tweaking will solve most of these issues which we should all be reminded happens even to the best of games.

    I do feel the game is a little barron in respects to environments and ambient objects within the world. It kinda feels like a lost opportunity, but I also wonder whether it was a design decision to have more of a clean sterile look to most environments?

    Overall this is a solid title, not great, but definitely not worth the scores that it's getting. This game is easily a low mid 8. I paid $36.00 for this game through a site, with some discounts, if you can't get 36 dollars worth of value from this game, then you are doing something VERY wrong.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    2
    This shooter is in no way related to the XCOM series. It's extremely uninspired, devoid of substance or meaning. The trailers tried to sellThis shooter is in no way related to the XCOM series. It's extremely uninspired, devoid of substance or meaning. The trailers tried to sell something that seemed history-driven but the final product is, from start to finish, just a series of over-the-top explosions, random shooting and NPC babysitting.
    Avoid it like the plague if you don't love bland shooters; buy it if you love CoD or BF.

    (and yes: this game would get a 7 from me if not for the XCOM "bait" on the title.)
    Full Review »