User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 354 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 354

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I think that this is an amazing sequel. The story is great, the darkling is a funny and entertaining companion, and the noir style graphics are awesome. The co op missions are awesome, they are missions that take place in the single player campaign, ex: Jackie wants someone, in co op you get that some one and bring them to him its awesome because in the campaign Vennie says "I'll talk to the new guys". Making me think "thats awesome". The powers are upgradeable and you will always feel powerful, you can do crazy killmoves and dispatch 10 enemies in maybe around a few seconds depending on how good you are. I recommend this game. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I like and violent, yumee, yumee.
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II is like a good polished diamond. It has a great story with psycho elements, you can get confused easily. Gameplay is excellent, no complains here. You can tear enemy with your demonic arms, kill them with a gun, throw a bucket or metal strips to them, also later you can get more abilities, like use swarm of insects, use energy instead of bullets or drop vortex that will suck all around it. But that's not it, you can grab enemy to perform one of four finishing moves, which will grant you different bonus, like health, ammo, shield or faster restore your abilities. It's a nice bloodbath with good variety of gameplay. But I didn't liked the autoaim function, which works even on hardest difficulty and can't be turned off. It helps you when you use a controller, but otherwise it is a nuisance. Slow motion headshot are pretty damn cool, you get the time to looks around for the next enemy. Sounds are done nicely, not like in other games, where if you stand far from talking person you barely hear him. Also killing squishy sounds are cool and of course you will like the "darkness" voice, I can hear it even now! Through the game a darkling demon will help you in some situations, you can even get control of it in some parts of the game. It's about 5-6 hours of gameplay that won't leave you disappointed, the ending will make you excited. One con I found in this game is that there are too many names starting letter J - Jenny, Johny, Jimmy, Jackie, it's annoying. But anyway a game is worth of your time and money. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Good although (intentionally) super-corny narrative, extreme violence and a heavily stylized comic graphics. The Darkness II is the sort of game you either love or hate, and luckily they released a demo, so you can simply try it out. The "quad-wielding" mechanic (both your hands can fire weapons and you have two satanic-esque tentacles that can pick up and throw stuff and rip people in two) keeps the playing fresh from start to finish. Granted, it only lasts six hours, but all of that is quality time, and you'll be having so much fun you'll start replaying right away (I know I did!). Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I havent played the first darkness game so I didnt know what to expect but I can honestly say it blew me away. I knew I was going to get mixed up with the story so I was just playing it for what it was, a FPS. The game comes with a "Previously on" bit at the start so it fills you in with all the mumbo jumbo of the other game which was VERY useful (I wish most other games thought of this). I lept straight in and loved it from the very start. The gameplay was amazing, story was fantastic and I feel I really made an emotional connection with the character and his situation. There were lots of twists and turns in this game which kept you enticed playing it will make you not want to put it down (I bought it and didnt come off it untill I finished it, about 6 hours of play time :S). But was totally worth it. It wasnt too short and I didnt feel like any parts dragged or any parts were too hurried. The little choices in the game were interesting especially towards the end of the game (but I wont spoil it). I thought the animations were spot on and the whole tentacle thing while using guns worked very well with the control scheme (you just have to get used to multitasking a wee bit). But I would recommend this game to anyone who loves a good story or even just to kick the sh*t out of some bad guys. Honestly dont know how this only has critic rating of 7.7 because Im rating it a 9. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    This game is one of the best ive played for a FPS in a long time. The graphics have a comical style to it, the voice acting is good, gameplay is phenomenal, the weapons have a real feel to them, and the demons...well thats what makes it all, such a unique idea (i never played the first). I got this game off steam on the summer sale for 75% off so it only costed $12.49 and man was it worth it. The only reason this game loses a point is because its to short, to short for 13 bucks? no. To short to pay $50 yes, and so i feel the other users reviews on this issue. If you can find this game on a sale or similar sale as Steam did then youd be stupid not to buy this. Great game :) i love it. Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Great FPS, one of the best in this last time. Very good story, executions, weapons. A game very correct. Leaves the line of the classic "shooter" by adding a personal touch that stands out from the rest. VERY VERY recommended.

    (translated by google)
  8. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Very nice game, fun to play, very interactive and a very nice scenario. I got glued from the moment I started playing until I finished it. And even then, I restarted it because you can keep your player and continue to advance your darkness powers and play more challenging game difficulties. Also, some great additions like the challenge mode where you can use different characters, weapons and powers. Expand
  9. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I think the game was great. The atmosphere in the game is saved and shocking. The game is interesting, but something is not enough. Good game but I wanted to hear the music better.
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    The game actually manages to stand out among so many shooters, offering a differentiated and a plot engaging gameplay. The great dialogues and the story well told keeps you stuck to the narrative, while the combat moments allow you to use your creativity to defeat the enemies in several different ways. The reduction in the number of interactions in the dialogues and the absence of open world took much of the freedom and made the experience much more linear. Still, the increase of puzzles and greater interactivity have counterbalancing this satisfactorily. The Darkness 2 cannot escape totally from the FPS genre and you end up using their pistols and submachine guns most of the time, but this overshadows the good gameplay and the memorable plot told by host of darkness. Expand
  11. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    I am not a big fan of games adapted from comics, but I really loved playing this game. The action makes fun, even if the game is really brutal. I enjoyed the large variety of levels, the graphics, the sound and the style which suite the game. This is nice and fresh compared to many other games. I think the only thing is disliked is the really small FOV.
  12. BoG
    Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Pure and streamlined fun. If you're like me and can sometimes have a short attention span for games, The Darkness II is absolutely perfect in pitch and pace. The story, though not airtight, is extremely compelling and gameplay is smooth and fast paced. I think I beat it on the hardest difficulty available in about seven hours. Real good time and worth the ten bucks I paid for it.
  13. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    I have to admit I am honestly and totally suprised by this game. For the longest time I couldn't buy it for 2 reasons...the first being money..and the second I had to wait for it to go on sale again. And after playing it and beating I have to say, this game is effin awesome.
    I know nothing about the Darkness universe. But, something about the story of the game. I will just say this
    much about it without spoiling anything. If you have ever truly ever loved a woman before, you will definitely be to relate to it. So let's get to the review shall we-
    Story-I thought the story was awesome. Graphics-Amazing. while I must admit there was some slight issues with screen tearing and vertical sync. Other wise then that it was amazing and It was only on medium. It was kinda Borderlands esque textures if you catch my drift. Awesome
    Voice acting-Awesome.
    Game play-Awesome. The controls do take some getting used to. I used a 360 controller mind you and i just had to get the hang of using both the guns and the powers.
    I can't really think of compaints other then the vsync issue and I can't be sure if that was the game or if that was my system. I will be fair and give this game a 9.0 Definitely get it. Is it worth 50 bucks? I got it when it was on sale so, try and get it on sale and if you can't then if you can afford the 50 bucks go for that baby. Good luck and good gaming
    Expand
  14. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    It only lasts six hours. However, in those six hours you get more action, more intense combat, and more mindf*cks than any other modern shooter out there. Also if the small FoV seriously ruins a gaming experience for you, I just feel sorry for you. Stop whining. The rest of the game is ported fine.
  15. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    this game was just about the most fun ive had playing a fps game. beats the hell out of COD beats battlefield 3, and id say is almost my favorite game to date. great story, emotion, gameplay, fun, but doesn't have much of anything else.
    gameplay-9, fun-10, story-9.3, upgradability-..., just play the game the FoV isnt even that bad, it just seems bad, when ur trying to shoot a person ur not
    looking any further than feet away from him so not sure why people complained Expand
  16. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    So I bought The Darkness 2 and clocked it in around 3-4 hours and here's what I thought:

    Gameplay:
    Controlling the Darkness feels great, pulling of the executions is easy and heavenly to watch, easy upgrade descriptions and a lovable weapon system that allows you to fire your double wielded weapons and unleash the Darkness at the same time for a bloody masterpiece I also adore the
    ability to choose some Story options later in the game.

    Graphics:
    I'm not a dumb ass kid who judges a game by graphics but anyway the graphics were rather good Although I dont really care for the comic book like visuals, the animations were well done and the gore will put a smile on any blood thirsty gamer's faces Story:
    One of my favorite kind of Story's I want to see in gaming and is the reason I'm a fan of the Darkness games Trying to fight the Demons inside you, the Demons and gangs trying to kill you while you are trying to save your love from hell. Final Verdict:
    The Darkness 2 is a great First Person Shooter Game and a worthy Sequel, I am still thinking about weather I will keep it or return it for a full refund for use on a future game. However the only downside to The Darkness 2 is that the Campaign is too short for a game this good, I hope the sequel is longer. My Score:

    Gameplay = 9/10
    Graphics = 7.5/10
    Story = 9.5/10
    Total = 9/10

    Also so far The Darkness 2 is my favorite First Person Shooter of 2012
    Expand
  17. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    The Darkness II - a great game, which takes place in one breath. But, like any other, it has its drawbacks. On them I will not write, because I consider them minor. I am pleased that the game is short, it has added the desire to play in the next, the third part. I put a solid game nine. Have more to such a dynamic and bloody shooters.
  18. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome, let me get that out of the way. But, as all games do, it struggles in a few areas. The gameplay is awesome. While this game is a first person shooter, it adds some very cool twists to the gameplay. Controlling darkness powers is very fun, addicting, and very gory. The story is also one of the strong points of the game. The connection you get with the characters is great, and voice acting is exceptional. However, the ending (no spoilers) leaves a bit to be desired. Perhaps they want to leave room for a sequel? Audio is very well done, the darkness is well voiced and music is dark and moody as it should be. Now for the cons. This game is short. VERY short. It took me hours on regular, and I really take my time playing through games. However, coop is fun, and adds for some extra play time, either alone or with friends. There are some glitches. Bodies stuck in walls, things like that, but nothing game breaking at all. Overall this is an awesome game that shouldn't be missed, and I greatly look forward to a sequel! Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    First the bad. The oft-cited spyglass effect is horrendous here. The field of view is set for console/TV use and not for a PC monitor. Consequently it strains the eyes horribly after a few minutes of play. However, I fixed this by using a little program called Widescreen Fixer. Secondly it is short, but perhaps not as short as some are suggesting. Took me about 9 hours to complete with difficulty elevated one notch. And you will want to elevate the difficulty a little or it's far too easy. The last thing is the gore. No, I'm not being a wuss here, I actually think the gore has been toned-down post production - it seems as if key frames involving throats/hearts being ripped out have been removed to avoid the censor. If this is indeed the case, it should be a toggle option for gore-lovers like myself.

    Now the good. I've given this game 9, because aside from the above issues it's one of the best games I've played in the last few years. And that's coming from someone who *hates* run-of-the-mill FPS games. It has exceptional characterisation, atmosphere and storyline; I actually got a lump in my throat a little at the end *cough*. The graphical style mentioned by a few here is "Scanner Darkly" cartoon style, and it works very well. The weapons and fights are satisfying, and while many of the environments are "yeah yeah seen this before", the unique style of the game makes them feel new.

    In a nutshell, think Max Payne, Bioshock and the original F.E.A.R combined. If you're thinking of getting it, wait until there's confirmation of the supposedly-soon-to-arrive field of view patch, unless you want to puke from eyestrain while playing it. If the patch does arrive - get this game - it's so awesome you won't care about the other flaws.
    Expand
  20. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I wasn't so keen on the first first Darkness game. it was buggy, the controls where abit rubbish and some of the missions were poorly designed and trying to navigate could sometimes be a problem. The only thing it really had going for it was the story and the gameplay length. The Darkness 2 i can happily was rather good. Graphics are something out of a comic book which really complements the comic book series of the franchise. The controls are much more likeable. The special kills are really gorey and look amazing. The voice acting is very well done, the story is nicely thought out and the storys behind each of the Darkness relics is also very interesting. The game also has two different endings, one end right away and the other keep you playing for anouther 5 minutes or so to see the true and amazing ending. The only thing that this game does not share with TD1 is that the game feel a couple hours too short. The game also has multiplayer which is a nice co-op experience. The players have to do jobs for Jackie when he is unavalible. Each of the players has a weapon has a weapon that is infused with Darkness energy. The co-op is fun and will keep you busy for a extra couple of hours. It does however feel unnecessary to be intergrated to the storyline as it really isnt needed and you never see the characters in the singleplayer game.I know im only nit-picking but i would have liked it to be alittle more linked to the singleplayer experience than it currantly is. hopefully some free DLC will come out to put more interesting content in. Other than that, this game is a very fun experience and is worth buying. Expand
  21. May 17, 2013
    10
    I love this game You need to play this game on PC it has beutiful graphichs i love the cxontrols and gameplay And the Darkness is cool BUY IT!
  22. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :D better to play with friends! Great for anyone who loves fps games with a twist. I think this games score was rated to low at least an 8.5 would be good. The only thing I can say was that the game was too short
  23. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved the first Darkness, developed by Starbreeze. The Darkness 2 absolutely matches the amazingness of the first game. The Darkness 2 is an absolutely phenomenal game in every way. The only nitpick I have is that its a bit short(I beat it in 6.8 hours), but my god it was so good I don't even care. BUY THIS GAME! 10/10!
  24. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Very good game! The story is great and the storytelling is even better! I simply love the concept of the Darkness! It reminds me somehow of Darksiders (another great game).

    All of the mind shifts that your character is going through makes you wander what's real and whats not (in the world of the game ofc.)

    The game itself is for me mix of Max Payne and Darksiders! I highly recommend!
  25. urf
    Jul 19, 2012
    9
    This is one those games that sound ridiculous on paper -- a mafia guy possessed by an ancient evil spirit, a dozen ultra-violent ways to rip your enemies apart by using your demonic eel-appendages, etc -- yet turns out too good to dismiss when you actually play it.

    Apart from sometimes having too much voice acting during the shooting (five guys shouting their over-the-top lines at the
    same time, even when they're already dead), there's not much to dislike. It's very pretty, the story is told in a manner that doesn't get too much in the way (and really isn't half as bad as it sounds like), and, what is most important, the action is fast-paced and challenging.

    It's not teh high arts, but it's very convincingly built. I've played a lot of boring, generic shooters. This is definitely one of the fresher first-person games available. Check it out.
    Expand
  26. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Great game! Love the style story and characters. I enjoyed the first one but I think they improved on the game play mechanics quite a bit for the sequel. I enjoyed the length of the game I prefer a game following a story as opposed to giant open levels that you forget why your even there is the first place. I enjoyed the power tree and how you can kinda chose the style you want to play through. The multiplayer characters have their own smaller skill tree's and add a lil bit more to the game if your looking for a new more missions. I enjoyed the little extra time in the extra missions since you got new powers and weapons. The darkling sidekick is awesome but somewhat repetitive constantly peeing on people, and farting I feel he could have something else thrown in there but he does help you kill people by distracting them or (if you unlock the power you can hurl him on your enemies for a kill Expand
  27. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story.
    I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own.
    I definitely think it
    deserves a 10, but there was just one thing that prevented me from granting it that score The length.
    It was so darn short.
    I enjoyed it so much, but why was it so short???
    Anyway, BUY IT.
    Expand
  28. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so than that this game tells a great story that will have you questioning your (Jackie Estacado)'s sanity more than once. It has great plot twists and leaves room for a sequel (fingers crossed) though i doubt it as it under sold due to people playing truly unique story driven shooters instead like Call of Doody (because the difference from modern warfare2 to modernwarfare 3 is so immense that admittedly they use the same exact game engine year to year hence the graphics neeever improving, where as look at how beautifully battlefield's graphics improve,frostbite1-gorgeous frostbite2 )so anyway back to FPS's that are actually fun, the Darkness 2 has the most fun and unique combat i have ever played in a FPS more so than bioshock. To what turns out to be a kind of quad wielding with regular satisfying dual wielding guns and two beautifully hideous snake like demon arms with demon heads on them growing out of your back in the dark (which is most of the game). The demon arms can flatout destroy and they steal the show with a multitude of capabilities from slashing a man in two to lacerating to eating a man's head to pick up objects like barrels and men and throwing them to grabbing car doors and using them as a shield they are simply amazing. They have a variety of finishing moves and they can even be used to throw your monkey like(even though he calls you monkey) demon pet at enemies and watch him rip them apart. Granted it is linear and it is rather short, it should be played on hard otherwise it is too easy. Jackie has multiple skill trees as well with unique upgradable powers and new abilities. The short single player campaign is more than tolerable considering there is a plethora of story advancing play to be had after the regular campaign. They have a vendetta campaign with 4 other playable characters which you can play alone or in coop. Either way it is very enjoyable playing and advancing other unique darkness empowered characters and further advancing the story. These are fully fleshed out characters with large skill trees, unique weapons, and distinct personalities. This mode extends the main story and is about half the length of the main story but with 4 different characters to try out. If that wasn't enough the game has a hitlist mode where you are placed in large semi levels tasked with ultimately taking out a boss like target after dispatching his henchmen. They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  29. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Beautiful graphics, good story and voice acting, interesting characters, fast paced and funny for all its length. Can be kind of short if you just rush through the stages and don't take your time exploring or talking with the other characters, which you should, 'cause it yields to some real gems.
  30. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Pretty good graphics, fun gunfights, good performance, little to no bugs, decent amount of content - worth buying. I enjoyed this game and recommend to those interested in a story driven first person shooter.
  31. Feb 27, 2012
    0
    I really enjoyed this game. It had a wonderful back and forth story that makes the player unsure of their own sanity, all the characters are believable and interesting to talk to, and having two demon eel heads (Or something) on either shoulder have an interesting and useful effect on game play. My only beef with this game is the very campaign (A little under 5 hours) and the disappointing (But surprising) ending. If you want to actually get your 50 dollars worth from this game, bring friends and play through the coop missions (Because they really are worth it). Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  2. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.