The Darkness II PC

The Darkness II Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 440 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guysInspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guys responsible for his girlfriend’s murder. He has been unable to free himself of the memory of Jenny’s death since bottling up The Darkness and now it wants out. A botched attempt to end Jackie’s life opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge and sets Jackie on a brutal journey as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motives of The Darkness. [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    88
    The Darkness 2 is a top quality arcade fps. The artistic component is simply delicious and is currently the best cell shading technique we've seen so far. A good longevity, an adult and engaging storyline and an excellent soundtrack make this title shine in this early 2012.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    85
    The only aspect of The Darkness 2 which doesn't carry a balancing good/bad caveat are the graphics, which are irrefutably extraordinary.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    A dark, violent comic book given light and heart. a ripping yarn that tears along as fast as you can tear through bodies.
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II is a decent shooter, but there is nothing in it that is amazing; it's respectable but mostly predictable.
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    75
    The Darkness II is a series of wasted potential. Where it has a great story, it fails in narration. Where it has one of the most amazing gameplay, it fails by being repetitive. Where it manages to give the co-op a nice flavor, it fails with its half-baked execution.
  6. 75
    The Darkness II is indeed short, but it does achieve part of its goals: a few fun hours for a rainy spring afternoon, with some interesting characters, a dark story and, most of all, two demonic arms always hungry for beating hearts.
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Exhilarating in its opening sequence, The Darkness 2 quickly loses steam and turns into a 5-hour run through a long corridor.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 80
  2. Negative: 8 out of 80
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I
    The Darkness II
    Beatiful story, graphics are kinda okay, I liked the previous one more, but it fits to the game.
    It's really bloody which I like and violent, yumee, yumee.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I wasn't so keen on the first first Darkness game. it was buggy, the controls where abit rubbish and some of the missions were poorly designedI wasn't so keen on the first first Darkness game. it was buggy, the controls where abit rubbish and some of the missions were poorly designed and trying to navigate could sometimes be a problem. The only thing it really had going for it was the story and the gameplay length. The Darkness 2 i can happily was rather good. Graphics are something out of a comic book which really complements the comic book series of the franchise. The controls are much more likeable. The special kills are really gorey and look amazing. The voice acting is very well done, the story is nicely thought out and the storys behind each of the Darkness relics is also very interesting. The game also has two different endings, one end right away and the other keep you playing for anouther 5 minutes or so to see the true and amazing ending. The only thing that this game does not share with TD1 is that the game feel a couple hours too short. The game also has multiplayer which is a nice co-op experience. The players have to do jobs for Jackie when he is unavalible. Each of the players has a weapon has a weapon that is infused with Darkness energy. The co-op is fun and will keep you busy for a extra couple of hours. It does however feel unnecessary to be intergrated to the storyline as it really isnt needed and you never see the characters in the singleplayer game.I know im only nit-picking but i would have liked it to be alittle more linked to the singleplayer experience than it currantly is. hopefully some free DLC will come out to put more interesting content in. Other than that, this game is a very fun experience and is worth buying. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most
    This game has one of the best gameplays I've ever saw.
    I enjoyed so much as I played it. Not even sure why. I've found it one of the most enjoyable games I've tried.
    Also loved the story and characters very much, and the Darkness/Angelus story.
    I never got to play the first one, as I just like PC far more than consoles, but this game held amazingly on it's own.
    I definitely think it deserves a 10, but there was just one thing that prevented me from granting it that score The length.
    It was so darn short.
    I enjoyed it so much, but why was it so short???
    Anyway, BUY IT.
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2016
    8
    I got this game as part of a Humble Bundle, and there it sat in my Steam library for over a year. Last week, mostly out of boredom, I decidedI got this game as part of a Humble Bundle, and there it sat in my Steam library for over a year. Last week, mostly out of boredom, I decided to give it a try, A very pleasant surprise, indeed. Overall the game is a linear action/horror first person shooter similar to games like Bulletstorm in it's (fun as hell) selection of ways to kill the enemy. The story is no Oscar winner, but keeps one entertained, and the skills wheel makes you want to give the rather short 6 hour campaign another run. Graphics can't compete with with other major titles out there, BUT the cartoony graphics style fits perfectly to this game. If part 3 would come out I'd buy it at launch..... Expand
  5. May 12, 2012
    8
    Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation,Darkness II is bad ass! I never played the first one so I didn't really know what to expect. It's complete evil--torture, mutilation, humiliation, and death. The campaign is depressingly short, even though the action is tight and the story is a complete trip. That's the trend nowadays--charge more...provide less.

    The graphics are slightly cartoonish which I'm pretty sure was the effect they were going for since the game is based on a comic book. Voice acting is well done. There is a separate 4-player coop campaign element which is pretty fun, but I haven't fully experienced it yet due to a lack of players. All-in-all it's a pretty amazing game, but the short campaign didn't allow me to unlock all the special abilities in a single play through. Not that I won't enjoy playing it again!
    Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    This game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOVThis game is one of the most unique games out there that you can find. Yes, It's not only unique for an FPS but unique as a game. The FOV problem that we've heard so much about never bothered me, but it can still be a hindrance for others. Although the game is very solid playing on the PC, It still feels a bit more like a port from a console than a full PC game. The Vendettas Co-Op mode seems like a last minute decision in order to cover the lost for the short main campaign, but it is still is a fun experience. Hopefully, Digital Extreme will make a patch and fix the problems. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    the darkness 2 is a great shooter which brings new ideas. the games gameplay is just awesome and unique!!! theres total chaos and its justthe darkness 2 is a great shooter which brings new ideas. the games gameplay is just awesome and unique!!! theres total chaos and its just super fun. the darkness (your powers) are also just awesome. the story is great and interesting, and serves a great motive, but both of the endings are just annoying. the skill trees are also pretty good, and the illusions are great. voice acting is also great. the game does have few problems. its a bit buggy, and theres texture pop-in. i also found the artstyle good, but it just doesnt fit the seriousness of the game. the game is also a bit short, clocking in 5.5 hours (theres also co-op but still this is pretty short).
    overall a great game!!!!!! if your looking for story and gameplay you should buy this!!! if your looking for a different kind of shooter you should definetly buy this!!!!!! just beware that the game is short and that the endings are disappointing. buy this its awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 80 User Reviews