Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    95
    I played dozens of point’n’click games over the years and The Dream Machine might be the best of them all. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.68]
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    87
    Thoughtful in execution, The Dream Machine avoids falling for clichéd pitfalls oft seen in point-and-clicks.
  3. 84
    Unfortunately, point-and-click games don't lend themselves to replayability. The time you spend with The Dream Machine, though, will be immensely enjoyable.
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    A mysterious adventure that creeps under you skin, thus makes you comfortable, and finally catch you off guard to bring you deeper in the invisible place where all dreams are tailored.
  5. May 25, 2012
    80
    The Dream Machine has it's hook in my mouth, and I'm really excited to see the dreamscapes that are conjured up in the next two chapters.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    The Dream Machine is probably the best browser game we've played, and lives up to all expectations one might have of a modern adventure game.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    75
    It's a game, then, that so far stops just short of being excellent.
  8. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    The Dream Machine offers a genuinely interesting and thoughtful story, great «handmade» graphics and some devious puzzles. It's a little short on content, though, and having to be online to play a single player game is a disadvantage.
  9. 50
    The first two bites of unusual episodic adventure game taste quite fair, but instead of tasting saturation it just irritates the stomach. [Issue#201]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    [The Dream Machine: Episodes 1 to 3 on Steam / PC] This is a real Gem. A point and click mystery adventure the way it needs to be done. I love games that force you to stop, think and get into the developer Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2012
    8
    In the vast market of indie games, occasionally you'll find a gem of a game that stands out from other games which you'll remember for years to come. The Dream Machine is one such game, it utilizes it's unique art style of clay and cardboard, blended together with a rich story, simple controls, and challenging puzzles to create a great, but slightly short game as far as chapters 1-3 go. If you enjoy point and click adventure games and got 15 bucks to spend, then I would say it's well worth it. Full Review »
  3. Sep 12, 2012
    9
    Great game and the puzzles are JUST right. It's only downfall is the fact that it's a bit short atm. Even with 3 out of 5 chapters released I was able to play through it rather quickly (but not TOO quickly). It was really worth it thou and I am biting the bit waiting for the remaining chapters. Full Review »