User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 836 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 836

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Fantastic. Best Action-RPG I've ever played. Story was intricate and there was seemingly no limit to where you could explore. The variety of weapons is nice. I played this game long before oblivion, and I'm disappointed to see that oblivion didn't have spears or throwing weapons.
  2. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    this game was awesome. gameplay was exceptional and i couldnt stop playing it. still plenty of places to explore and ares and things i have not even yet touched on. replayable through the years and mods to keep going at for years still lol
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time in my personal list. I still play it every now and then out of pure nostalgia. I can't even begin to imagine how many hours I've poured into this!
  4. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    It's really hard NOT to love this game. Good graphics, even with the advancements we have today. Great environment. Bethesda actually developed a new world and culture in this game - something they had a hard time doing with Oblivion or Skyrim. The creative monsters and terrain made Morrowind Morrowind. The only thing missing is starting game combat (80% chance to miss), but that can be looked over easily. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    (9)
    Great game. I have played Morrowind hundreds of hours and I haven't bored yet.. Vast world is very captivating but I have to give Morrowind 9/10 because of the numerous glitches and several crashes.
  6. May 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best, or one of the best games I played in my life. I was lost to the world for 2 or 3 weeks when playing Morrowind. Ooops, sorry - not playing. I was LIVING in there for these 2 weeks... Huge area to visit (I totally LOVE to tour nice game worlds), filled with creatures living their own lives and stories, filled with both farms, houses, regular villages, as well as mysterious ruins, caves, crazy buildings. I also live the background of this world - history, races, religion, etc. Every cRPG fan (and I think also every RPG fan ;) ) that has 2 or 3 weeks of free time should play this game. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This is one of my top 10 games that I have played. It is one of those games that defines what you look for in other games and often makes you feel something is lacking until you go back to it.
  8. May 17, 2011
    10
    A true classic of legendary proportions. Brilliant game made even better by tons of modding community support.

    A much loved classic which always brings back good memories of actually having something fun to do on Sundays. *and just about every other chance I got.
  9. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    A fabulous, unique, imaginative and very immersive world to explore which will intrigue you all the way. Concern yourself with the politics of the gods or find a peasant's lost trinket, or maybe just do a million things in between, the scope of this game is staggering. The architecture, the landscape, the inhabitants, it's all believable. So believable that armour made out of glass seems completely natural as does travelling about on the back of a giant flea type creature. Far far better than Oblivion and the only thing preventing a '10' is the end game which I felt was hugely anticlimactic ,and a final boss whose appearance reminded me of a humorous children's tv character from long ago. Also, high level characters tend to turn out very similar to each other no matter how you started them. But enough criticism - A groundbreaking game in many ways and still worthy of anyone's time even now. Surely you've tried this game at least once already? Expand
  10. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Morrowind is such a strange, backwards experience. Most games start out flashy, and then after a while you realize how boring it really is. Morrowind is sort of the opposite. You start in the ugliest, dingiest town in the game, and it builds its way up from there. You don't really know what you're supposed to be doing when you start out--the main quest isn't even really revealed til later--so the game motivates you to try different things and go exploring. But boy when that main quest line starts revealing itself, it is one epic tale, and it would have made as great a novel as it does a game. The sheer attention to detail in this is mind-blowing. Every area of the game feels hand-crafted, with hidden areas to explore; items, weapons and armor to collect; all sorts of enemies to test your power against; a story full of religion, politics, and conflict; and an extremely complex and rich society. It doesn't hurt that you can explore every region of the map at any point (you just might not live through the encounters you face) and uncover some very strange and exotic locales. And on that note, it's hard to have strong diversity in a game and still keep it feeling like a uniform and unique region all on its own. Once again this game succeeds, with desolation, swamp, coastline, open pastures and the like. The only criticism I have for this game is the combat. I personally do not mind the by-the-numbers real-time combat, where a low skill means you might miss, but I think transitions between melee/ranged and magic could have been better. I also would have appreciated a reason not to simply click the "best attack" button on options, and in this respect I think Daggerfall had better combat. Overall however, Morrowind is classic. Anybody who has the patience for reading a great novel would love this game, as it winds up being a game of epic proportions. Expand
  11. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece, truly. I played many games and many RPG. But it is really hard to find a game, in which you actually want to return to. Now, even RPG started to be simple. Just another game to entertain you for a dozen of hours. Meh. Morrowind offer you a world so deep, that you can drown in it. There was a lot of games after Morrowind. It all better looking (Morrowind was released in 2001, many people forgetting it). Some of them quite interesting. But here I am again, making my way through Ashlands, keeping my eye on this cliff racers or trying to sell a stolen silver vase to a Breton trader in Peligiad... Its a nostalgia, that making players to start this game over and over again. To dive in a world of fading beauty, immerse landscapes, loneliness and adventures, waiting for you to make few steps toward it.
    Is it boring? Well, yes. If you used to hack and slash games, that pretending to be RPG, and waiting for game to spit a world right into your face, this one is not for you.
    Try to understand, that Morrowind truly offer you a different world. Explore it. Live in it. And you will be rewarded with one of the best RPG of generation.
    P.S. Than, if you want to try something new - try Tamriel Rebuilt (or other mods). Or create your own mod for Morrowind with TES Construction Set)
    Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    The game is just too big for itself.So many repetitive areas and identical npc's and very similar quests.It would have been better if the world was half its size and that half sized morrowind would be filled with many diffrent quests and areas but of course the game was made in 2002 so you cant blame them but as i said before,itÅ
  13. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just do not understand those people who do not like the Elder Scrolls series and the third part of this magnificent epic Morrowind in particular.Ð Expand
  14. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Even years after it's release and many hours of gameplay later, I still find myself going back to this game. I think this game gave me more enjoyment then any other RPG I've ever played. Truthfully I think the only improvements Bethesda made in Oblivion or Skyrim were the graphics and combat system. Otherwise I would say that Morrowind is far better then the later sequels. The storyline, quests, and factions are very deep and I loved being a wizard with a levitate spell flying all across the land. Each town has its own distinct feel and the towns don't feel copy pasted like they do in Oblivion. Perhaps the greatest thing about this game is it gave you the feeling of a treasure hunter as you could find any item at any level unlike Skyrim and Oblivion where both monsters and items level up with you. This game is a game I will always remember as a true RPG. It wasn't just a game it was an experience. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    Morrowind is for passionate gamers who like the idea of deep role play. If you were to feel proud when you have served a faction or ordinary citizen, confronted and destroyed evil deities, uncovered conspiracies in religions, like the idea of fantasy politics, and more, get this game if you are a storyline centered person. If your first experience was with Oblivion and now you feel as if you have run out of things to do, get Morrowind. Expand
  16. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this classic First Person RPG. This game is beyond epic. Any serious RPG fan must play this. Oblivion may have better graphics but Morrowind has true heart and soul. It's just a must-play! So buy this, download mods, then play for 100+ hours. This game deserves a Metacritic score of around 95; it's that good.
  17. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is still the best elder scrolls game, even after skyrim, how can I word this any other way? I cant put this game into words, thats how cool it is. PS : This game does not have COD AIDS (cod aids is an infection in the video game industry that makes the entire game about shooting anything that moves and ducking behind explosive barrels to magically heal, IN OTHER WORDS, ITS NOT A MAINSTREAM FPS, ALL THE PEOPLE VOTING THIS DOWN WANT A MAINSTREAM FPS) Expand
  18. May 7, 2011
    9
    Truly impressive. The game is dated, but features some elements that Oblivion lacks. And while Oblivion gives a few of those moral choices quests, Morrowind really features them like you'd expect. The world feels so real and authentic With some of the patches and mods available, the game can look more like you'd hope for this day and age. Some things like lockpicking and fistfighting are unbalanced and lack compared to Oblivion, but both games are truly great. If they could be combined with the best features of both, we would have RPG perfection. Expand
  19. May 27, 2011
    10
    Classic! One of best RPGs ever created. The best TES game so far. Story, characters, combat ,graphics (at the time, still good today), history of the world and nations, politics, sects ,ancient evils, conspiracy, falls gods, secret agents, conquerors and conquered , primitive but full of pride tribes, dangerous disease, religion and inquisition, half gods interfering in the mortal realm, vampire clans, guilds , werewolves , ancient and forgotten race, long dead heroes , prophecies, assassins ...
    in one word Morrowind :)
    Expand
  20. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My actual rating is probably 8.5, so I am going to give it a more positive review than a negative one. The game is extremely old for the technology world and it does have its flaws. The game itself is not buggy or full of glitches unless you actually go around the world trying to find them (For example, you can enter the world before completing the Census Office if you jump into the corner between the wall and the building with Sellus Gravius, but you constantly have to jump into it to get through it). The game has a lot of information to take in (and I mean a s*** ton of information) which can generally be found by reading books and adventuring as well as through the questing system. The questing does take FOREVER to complete and it is relatively linear in the sense that most quests are similar (but, hey, what do you expect it is an RPG) in some way like go kill this monster, report to this bro, etc. For anyone who says it is an MMO without the second M or O, you are an idiot (I didn't really want to go to insulting, but it is true) because the game is a SINGLE PLAYER game, not a MASSIVELY MULTIPLAYER ONLINE game. The story is intricate, and though the questing objectives are similar, the lore behind them is not. I was actually disappointed in Oblivion after playing Morrowind because of how cartoony everything became and the quests were probably just as linear (again, quests in RPG's are usually relatively linear or at least similar... Even in Skyrim). For the year this game was made it has some of the most amazing graphical detail I have seen in a game from that time period, and if you have it on the computer, you can go beyond Skyrim HD graphics. The World: The world is monstrous in Morrowind and your only form of fast travel are Silt Striders and Mages Guild teleportation (which sucks because not every place has one of these). I think it was built this way on purpose, however. It seems that Bethesda wanted people to get out and explore for things instead of stay in their comfort zones going from city to city, and only going to places quests required them to. The spell creation in Morrowind is so unlimited, that it is literally broken. You can create spells that can one shot any damned thing in the game, but you have to have a godaweful amount of money and mana to do so. Magic can also do everything for you, and is an easier way to do things then train your Lockpicking skill or whatever else (but you are supposed to try everything... Again RPG). NPC's are relatively generic because they are all based on the presets, and there are only about two voices per gender, but there are also hundreds of NPC's. I would like to see someone try to give every one of a thousand people a different voice using a thousand different voice actors. If that happened, I would commend the idiot that went out of their way to do so.
    If you want to play an RPG, then play Morrowind. Besides, it brings concepts to the other games. If you want to play a game like CoD, then play CoD. That game right there is linear. All you do is the same thing, but I don't hear complaining about that.
    All in all, if you want to play a well-made RPG, then try it out. Sure it may piss you off because you may die, and it is annoying to hit things at lower skill levels, but it has a rich culture in and of itself. Playing an RPG is all about the story and how you get to the end of it, not about how easy it is to use magic.
    Expand
  21. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    It takes an effort of patience to re-adjust to the 2002 production values of the game. And then it takes some play time to actually begin uncovering the plots and the possibilities. I hope many of you can find the patience to endure the reprogramming. The game that lies behind the years is truly worth the effort required to find it. Morrowind is so much better than Skyrim it's positively surprising. This begins with character development that is INFINITELY more enjoyable. Then it goes on with the lore, the plots and the details of NPC writing which are far superior. One can only conclude after delving deeply into this game that superior graphics and bloom effects have made game designers lazy. Because 3Dmodels, textures and animations can make everything look so great, far far less effort and time is being spent writing and thinking about all the elements that need to flow through a game world to engage the players. The craziest thing to my eyes is that Bethesda made this game and they own it, but they seem to have forgotten the very things that made Morrowind great. How can designers be happy with character progression system of Skyrim when their own previous efforts were SO MUCH more fun? How can they have inflicted the horrible UI of Skyrim on us, when they had a near perfect and much better UI with Oblivion? Its past the time for design studios to protect their integrity and stop sucking up to the shareholders of their parent companies, with eyes only for bigger demographics, and the endless degradation of games to something ever simpler, ever less intriguing and ever easier for little kids and bored housewifes to play. The studio heads need to grow some testicles and demand the right to make the best games they can, not these gutted, superficial carcasses of games that 'anyone' can play. My case is not helped by the flippant ease with which most gamers throw a game like Skyrim a 10/10 because of the pretty clouds and butterflies, then come here and throw this game 3/10 after 20 minutes because they are spoiled by high end graphics and don't even read any of the text or care about the stories. The financial and critical success of Skyrim is worrying since it confirms a bias and invites replication. The narrative and creative achievments of Morrowind, are easily ignored and forgotten. A tragic amnesia. One answer which would satisfy ALL PLAYERS would be a powerful GAME OPTION function that actually CUSTOMISED the level of player control over character progression. Thus a game could be played with the cretin-version of levelling Skyrim was infected with (red, green blue for the win), but also to allow totally open level progress, as we had in Morrowind, as a HARDCORE option. Since gaming graphics will not go back, and are stiill headed for perfection, such a design feature would ensure that games better than Morrowind could be made, and those without a deeper interest in the mechanics of character progress could still have a fun, in a more superficial manner. Since more choice in games is always good, a profoundly different level of choice in how the game is played will always be a good thing and will ALWAYS lead to more sales, since all levels of interest and all styles of gamers are catered for. Thus the financial incentive should be a great way to twist the arms of the accountants into finding the extra budget needed. The depth of character development lost from Morrowind is the prime thing that has been lost from this era. It should be restored. I'm writing this directly to Tod Howard of course, who is probably the only person in Bethesda that Zenimax will listen to. Please Tod. Heed the grot. Orctowngrot. Tim Rawlins. timtimjp@yahoo.com Expand
  22. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    this is the best game I've ever played. I guess modern gamers don't like it because the combat system is bad, also they want lots of action and don't want to wait very long in order to get a character that cannot miss enemies. for me the story is interesting and rich. the feeling and the adventure are best parts of this game.

    you should find help in the unofficial elder scrolls pages
    website if you need help with this game Expand
  23. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Morrowind is one of the best RPG games on PC. Ever. The game is incredibly immersive. Without fast travel the game forces you to explore, in a good way. Combat is hard and challenging, perfect for old-school players. The lands of Morrowind are huge and art design does not fail, but provides beautiful scenery. Graphics are outdated but when the game was new it had one of the best engines on the market. Must buy for hardcore RPG players. Expand
  24. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I have to be honest here this game from what i can barely remember( High Times) was just awesome it sucked you right in best Action RPG of its time huge World, Great mechanics, Story that you could follow or disregard and wreak havoc on anything that moves.
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Morrowind has a couple of features that make it stand out above any other RPG I have played. First the story is intertwined with history as set out in books and quests and is just like reading human history. There are different accounts, different opinions, ambiguous reports. The picture you build up is incomplete and often makes you revise your judgements about which historical characters are good and which are evil. Eventually you realize that just as in real life, there is often no clear boundary. Second, the game world is so convincing and lifelike, it draws you in until you feel like you have actually been there and witnessed the events. All RPGs try to do this but Morrowind (and Oblivion) do it better because the physics is better. Most games impose limits on what a character can do e.g. there is an object, therefore you cannot go there. In Morrowind, you can move anything if it is light enough and not fastened, jump on anything if your jumping skill is good enough, climb any terrain if your you have the capability. You have to try this. It is very realistic, and fun. Expand
  26. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I loved Oblivion until I played Morrowind. Now I can't help but think what Oblivion could have been. Absolute masterpiece.
  27. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    What makes Morrowind so brilliant? It's very hard to define what makes this game stand out for many people; often it's something which needs to be experienced rather than explained. The actual mechanics of this game are actually quite bad; the combat is so abysmal that you'll be tempted to cheat just to avoid slogging though it and the controls feel clunky and difficult. So if you want good combat and tight mechanics then Morrowind isn't for you. But let's actually move onto positive thoughts. You start the game as an unknown prisoner being transported to the mysterious island of Vvardenfell: upon your arrival you are slowly introduced to the different mechanics and pick each aspect of your character (name, race, class) before you're given the simple task of delivering a letter to a certain individual a few miles down the road. That's it. That's the entire opening sequence that introduces you to this strange world. The main quest, like may parts of the game, is like a jigsaw puzzle; at first obscure, all the different pieces come together to reveal the bigger picture. Even the simplest of quests have a hand-crafted feel to them, making each and every one special in their own way. The design of the world is fantastical; one moment you might be wandering through a washed-up village and then find yourself in a forest of giant mushrooms with surreal 'cattle' roaming the fields. It's hard to describe here why all this is significant; the subtleties are what made Morrowind so special. Neither the technology nor the graphics are what define this game; it's that sense of being a small part of a big world, being in a land like no other, doing more than just grinding a set of numbers and stats. Everything feels unique and that feeling of awe as you wonder what lies beyond this village is what draws you in. This is something the later games (particularly Oblivion) didn't quite get; setting defines the story. It's not about how advanced the graphics are whether there are spears or stats in the game; it's about the world. How does it look? How does it feel? What part are we to play in it? This Bethesda, is why we play these games: we want to enter this alien, conflicting land and more importantly, become a part of it. Expand
  28. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    AMAZING GAME! Great story, Bloodmoon and Tribunal were excellent expansions. A huge open world, many unique factions to join. Still, was a little bugged that I couldn't join House Dagoth and rule as a God-King without a mod.
  29. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The most in-depth customary system I've ever seen. Not only do you get to choose exactly what kind of character you want to be, you can also customize what you wear and what your weapon does. The best Elder Scrolls game of all time, and also my very favorite game. No matter how much I play it, I always find new things to do. There are hilarious, dramatic, and OMGWHUTDOIDO moments that always shake it up, no matter what kind of character you are. Expand
  30. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    It really is a great game, though if you prefer more action than a great story try Skyrim. If you think the combat is too hard just turn down the difficulty. I think anyone should try and get past a few bugs and some low quality graphics.
  31. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    I cannot stress one thing when playing Morrowind. READ READ READ READ READ!!!!

    Seriously you need to read, you actually have to read the chat. I quit many times (about 4 times?) trying to play the game over and over, to see why people think this game is so fun. It took me a long time, but on the 5th time when I actually payed attention to the text of the NPC's and everything, the game
    isn't that bad. The Combat system isn't HORRIBLE either if you play carefully. For example if you start in the beginning with maxing two handed sword, then use a fkin two handed sword, don't use a one-handed and the missing problem will pretty much be solved.

    I haven't beat the game yet, but I well put over 15 hours now, and I'm probably only 1/10th of the way finished with everything, the game is long as crap, and it plays smoothly as well. Be patient, it really is a great game I assure you.

    By the way, READ READ READ and check your journal, make sure you actually follow the directions. That is pretty much it for me though, it is a wonderful game, but it tries your patience!
    Expand
  32. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    Alright, this game is old and was my first "real" game when I played it back on the xbox. However, get it for PC because thats where it shines. You need mods for this thing now and its what makes the game unique. The Elder Scrolls games are brilliant.

    I've got this game installed now and there are still mods being made for it. I recommend checking TesNexus for mods, the obvious
    requirements are a few graphics mods (try Qarl's if you can run it, it will make the game look near modern) and a combat mod (the combat was outdated...). If you can get past those nicks, you get into a very deep world where you can be whatever you want to be. I can't recommend this highly enough. It's also got a very nice nostalgia factor. You can get it for pc with the expansions for 20 bucks tops. The fact that its still be offered in stores is a testament to its longevity and underscores a brilliant game. Morrowind has been hailed as one of the best PC games ever made for its open ended approach and great story and environment. Grab it, some mods, a bottle of sujamma, and say goodbye to your friends for a while. Expand
  33. May 29, 2012
    9
    I can, honestly, say there is only one bad thing about this game, and at this point it is easily overlooked due to a couple mods that can fix this. In all reality it is my second favorite game of all time.

    If you like oldschool rpgs, a very large world, tons of things to do, all quest lines give you only moderate direction of where to go forcing you to have to hunt, and an overall
    challenge, then pick this up.

    While it is true the hit and miss system is a pain there are so many easy ways around this if you know how, if not look it up. Here is a hint, "master trainers."

    The only thing I can say about this game, and its the reason I must give it a 9 out of 10 instead of a perfect score, is that on release the graphics were not even close to dos related 3d graphics. The whole character models look terrible even by standards set 6 to 10 years before the game came out. This alone is the reason it got knocked down one point.

    Again the only issue can be resolved by mods at this point in time, the better bodies mod, better heads (discontinued but still able to be found) and morrowind enhanced (type mods) actually can make this game look graphically appealing and honestly, lets just say this, I have wasted so much time on this game and I still have not completed everything there is to do, I always find something new and I have played for ages.

    The modding community is, quite possibly, larger than oblivion and skyrim combined but this is to be expected. It is now 20 dollars on steam but I can say it is worth a lot more.

    Just be careful, if you like to be hand fed everything, please go play a bad game now and don't waste your time trying to rate this poorly or play this game, you wont look intelligent.

    Overall playtime for real gamers is expected to be around 1260 hours, give or take.
    Expand
  34. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Morrowind is one of best open world RPGs, maybe skyrim will be better but I do not know right now. As usual for a elder scroll title, the main story line is non-existence. But this game does give you extensive choices to customize your character. your character may pursue every skill in the game regardless of class and can learn a large number of spells and may even design his/her own. you may play your character as a good or evil character depending on your choices. The exploration in this game has lots of rewards. you most likely will find some unique items after some very tough situations. The faction setting in this game is fun too, you can establish relations with them to get benefits. Expand
  35. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I bought Morrowind in 2003. I played it for about a year. My then-girlfriend's computer went the way of all things and all my significant progress was lost. Then, last year, I re-installed the game and got lost in Vvardenfell once more. The graphics are old and dated now, but when first released, it looked fantastic. The environments are rich and varied. The characters are -- mostly -- well written and there are flashes of quirky humour (at one point, I was accompanied by a near-naked barbarian whose clothes had been stolen by a "witch." After the initial conversation, initiating dialogue produced the response, "Chilly today, isn't it?"). There are so many paths and alliegances to choose from in the game that no gamer will have the same experience as another. Magic and crafting feel genuine and personal: there is the opportunity to create spells with several different effects, with whatever name you choose. Ditto potions. Ditto magical weapons. Even the clothes and armour options are interestingly individualised: you can wear clothes under your armour, and a robe over the top, if you're so inclined. How many other games offer that level of character customisation? Levelling up makes sense: skills improve the more you use them, rather than experience points being arbitrarily assigned for finishing quests or killing enemies. Morrowind is, without question, the most immersive game I've played. It's not perfect: combat is frustrating, because blocking is taken entirely out of the hands of the player. There are a few bugs, but a devoted modding community has fixed a good deal of them. The down-sides are few compared to the positives. I played Oblivion and I enjoyed it. But I didn't love it. Not like Morrowind. Expand
  36. May 1, 2011
    9
    This is the game that defined what the free-roaming Action RPG genre would be for the future. With over 500+ hours of gameplay, tons of lore and back story, and uncountable captivating quest lines, you truly feel like you were a force to be reckoned with. The elephants in the room, though, are the combat system and the plethora of glitches that would send you crashing to the desktop. Leveling is almost a chore, as casting spells or jumping up and down for hours is sometimes the only way to advance a skill. The glitches are a real problem, as well, especially if you just complete that super-hard quest just to crash and burn. Despite these setbacks, though, Morrowind is a classic of the action RPG genre, and should be played by everyone who loved Oblivion or Fallout 3. This is where it all began, and this is where story and scale were appropriate to this type of game! Expand
  37. Jun 26, 2011
    5
    Not for everyone. The world is vast and stunning and the plot and lore are well done. However, the gameplay can be very tedious and at times the world feels like it's dead. Many of the side quests simply send you on errands.
  38. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This game is really amazing. There is a lot you can explore.I do have to note somehow, that the landscapes can sometimes be quite boring, If you're into free-roaming.There were points in the game where you did one thing wrong, but you don't get to know about that until you get to hear a person talk about it, basically forcing you to open another save game from a time before, or failing the main quest.There is a lot of interaction though, with all kinds things. Expand
  39. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Open-world exploration on an island of giant mushrooms and Dark Elves. Huge amounts to do in a fabulously realised, alien world. Intriguing main quest, so long as you can imagine the characters' voices for yourself -- because there's precious little of that. The combat system is utterly knackered, but luckily almost everything is easy to kill once you've got past about level 5. It really doesn't seem to matter. Expand
  40. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Say The Elder Scrolls to any serious RPG fan and he'll know what you mean! Morrowind! It's a vast game filled with 100's of dungeons to explore and having over 100 hours+ gameplay! The game is ridiculously long and the two DLC's, Tribunal and Bloodmoon add 80 hours+ each! It is a fantasy game that revolutionized RPG games and will never be forgotten! It immerses you like no other game ever could surprisingly fits into a 1 gigabyte download on Steam which adds to the awesome! The soundtrack fits the mood and what more can I say! It' almost perfect! Yes... Almost! When you first start the game combat is almost impossible to use as your character started off a noob (as he should) but your attack chance was so lo that even if your weapon hit your enemy it would probably still count as a miss and leveling up is a pain too as it takes so long! Expand
  41. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    My favourite game of all time. It took me a while to get into it, because it is so confusing at first, but well worth it. I enjoyed being part of the guilds much more than in Oblivion and Skyrim because: foremost that you had to be a certain skill level to rise the ranks, secondly that it had ranks at all (Skyrim), and thirdly because of the long time you spent with the guild made you more loyal to them, and your guildmates. Expand
  42. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game after all these years. The depth of the game and lore are astounding. The open world holds hundreds of hours worth of entertainment and even more can be added with the mods from the still-active community. This is the sandbox game that all other open world rpgs should aspire to be.
  43. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Thank you Bethesda!
  44. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    What the people don't understand who are writing bad comments about this game is that the game was designed that way, the hit and miss combat style was a common combat style for games in 2002 and the glitches, its hard to patch a game WITH NO ONLINE its not like its connected to steam, and this game didnt have voice actors so if its SO HARD to read thats your problem, go to school kids, I personally find this game to actually be a challenge unlike the casual scrub game SKYRIM with its **** 4 hour story line that has the EASIEST boss fight I'VE EVER, so with that I conclude all negative reviews are scrub kids! Expand
  45. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Damn this game!! This was my original video game heroin. Before I played this game I only played video games very rarely, like during a long vacation. But this game gave me a glimpse of what a video game can be when it's at it's best. Ever since I seem to always be on a search to find games that allow me to sink into the world within the game so deeply. There's only be a few games since I played this one a few years back that have captured me so fully. Deus Ex, Gothic 1&2, Mass Effect 1&2 are probably the only other games I've played that would be anywhere near as good as this one. And yes, I like Morrowind a lot more than Oblivion. Oblivion was good, maybe even deserving of a 10 rating also, but the story in this one is much more interesting, and my desire to explore the nooks and crannies of the universe were much greater in this game. I don't know how many hours I spent on this game, but I do remember taking a day or two off from work just so that I could play this game. There's never been another game that has made me quite so lazy. Damn this game! Expand
  46. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Morrowind is probably the best RPG I've ever played. It's truly free-roaming with almost no bounds. The game play is addicting. The drawback is the ridiculous amount of walking around, trying to reach places without fast-travel. Plus many of the towns and regions are pointless or repetitive, limiting the seemingly free-roam feel.
  47. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I loved this game. As older game in modern gaming society, it seems really tedious and boring. But as a more classic RPG, this game is the best. What I like most about it is not so much the combat, but the imagination, history, and freedom put into it. Plus when you've played it a million-something times (like i have) you can just download a mod/ quest pack, and the game becomes new again! Personally, i rate all other RPG's against this game. Expand
  48. May 4, 2012
    10
    I signed up just to post a review after seeing the complaints of some people, Morrowind's charm is not the same charm oblivion, or skyrim has exactly, the combat is indeed flawed, though normal for the time, people are comparing a 2001 game with 2011 Skyrim. But the real strength of Morrowind is the world, I truly believe the devs went balance be damned, lets make a world.

    From the very
    start you can find very powerful items just by chance, or you can go though the entire town and rob everything in sight, turn around and buy gear. In Oblivion rare items were tied to your level so not to be unbalancing, and everything had a "Reasonable price" but in morrowind if you are smart enough, and quick enough, while exploring a random cave, find a very powerful artifact, worth more then every merchant in the game owns. Balanced? Probably not, but that sort of incentive to explore every cave, collect every artifact, makes this game truly a gem. In the two following games, the reason to explore is just simply gone, As artifacts are really not worth the effort made to obtain them, Nor are they hidden away. Expand
  49. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    It's my favorite game of all time, despite its drawbacks. Open, diverse and climatic world, full of mysterious places wants to be discovered. Also the music is awesome.
  50. May 15, 2012
    10
    My first 10, really one of the best games Ive played. Was disappointed with Oblivion and Skyrim, but they had tough shoes to fill...
    My only complaint is the **** cliff racers!
  51. Nov 25, 2013
    3
    There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going, but later devolve into fetch quests that require you to go to the other side of the world to steal something and then travel back. Guild advancement is unrewarding. I usually got 10 times more loot & gold from thoroughly exploring the area i was sent to than I received from the quest reward. Combat tends to be a damage race of spamming left click while cycling magical weapons. I didn't like this game 10 years ago when I first played it and I don't like it now. With enough mods the bad graphics (even for it's time) can be fixed, but I wouldn't recommend playing it since better games of it's type have come out since. Expand
  52. Jan 15, 2013
    2
    I am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasy world post nuclear apocalypse. There is so much reading to do that after a while you feel you should be curled up on the sofa with a Tolkien trilogy and a good glass of wine instead of trying to play a game. As a result tedium sets in very quickly and with the by today's standards rather ugly and disjointed graphics it just becomes too much of slog to get to the end. I think you either love or hate this game. The haters are obviously the minority but we do exist - sorry! Expand
  53. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    Well, it's not a bad game as such but it certainly doesn't come anywhere near the hype. Sure, the story was great, and I liked the system of magic items slowly recharging, but I couldn't finish it because the combat was just so boring. Seriously, I just had to sit there and continually LMB until it died. Also, beast legs just completely ruined the immersion for me; seeing an argonian walking like it has a mental disorder just makes me burst out laughing. Expand
  54. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start with the good. This game is amazing. It will grab you and pull you in like no other RPG. However, there are some bugs that make it fall short of being perfect.
    The Thieve's Guild is interesting. It is similar to the Thieve's Guild questline in Skyrim with the Nightingales. In my opinion it is actually better than Skyrim's Thieve's Guild thanks to its Robin Hood-ish feel, much like Oblivion.
    The Fighter's Guild is pretty standard, not much to see there.
    The Mage's Guild is pretty boring, but it gets kinda funny thanks to its... enigmatic leader.
    This game rewards exploration with unique artifacts, cool dungeons, and interesting quests. One of the most interesting quests you'll find early on is a finding a Nord in his underwear standing on the side of the road, who asks you to find a witch who stole his stuff.
    The best parts of this game, by far, are its people and its main quest. The main quest in this game is the best one I've ever played in an Elder Scrolls game. It is similar to Skyrim's Dovahkiin, but the difference is that in Morrowind, you get to become the Nerevarine. You don't just get born as it. You earn it through trial after trial, gaining the respect of the three political parties, or "houses", and the Ashlander tribes, the native Dunmer. You go and get important artifacts, which you use to destroy the source of the main villain's power, as well as the power of the so-called "gods" that are worshiped by the Tribunal Temple. There are so many forces at work, trying to sway you to join their side. The best part about the main quest is that each mission really has a purpose to help your cause.
    Overall, Morrowind is my favorite of the Elder Scrolls games, followed by Skyrim, with Oblivion in last.
    Expand
  55. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    Prior to purchasing Elderscrolls III: Morrowind, Elderscrolls II: Daggerfall had been my favourite game of all time. Although the graphics in Morrowind were much better than Daggerfall (Morrowind was released 6 years after Daggerfall) the game's dungeons and world seemed small in comparison with Daggerfall. Also, the game seemed to be tuned to be too easy. It was really hard to be killed in this game. The character creation was not completely open, unlike Daggerfall you could not create your own custom class with specs and abilities. This game was released on console too if I remember right so it probably had to be smaller to fit the console system. But overall this was a good game. I also don't remember encountering any bugs in this game which was a good improvement over Daggerfall (the buggiest game I've ever played).

    Elderscrolls III: Morrowind was a good game, it's only real failing was to be small in comparison to its predecessor, Elderscrolls II: Daggerfall. I will give it a 9/10.
    Expand
  56. Mar 7, 2014
    4
    Beyond overrated, don't listen to these nostaliga goggle wearing retards. It's awful, and has aged awfuly.

    This game literally has no redeeming qualities other than the setting, and that isn't saying much.
  57. Aug 8, 2013
    5
    After reading many accounts from diehard TES fans about the legendary status of Morrowind, I was finally convinced. They had convinced me Morrowind was the last best "hardcore" TES RPG. No quest marker, any npc killable at any time. Multiple factions all with their own unique story like the house of Telvanni dunmer mages, fighters guild, the two warring vampire houses and much much more. I was convinced this was more of a RPG than an action game, which is what Skyrim is. I was sold on Spellmaking, hidden treasures and more complex puzzles. Even with all this plus the Morrowind Graphics & Sound Overhaul mod installed I simply didn't last a few hours. All the rose tinted nostalgia spewing from the die hard Morrowind fans came crashing down as I realized Morrowind was severely lacking in many areas. Having played Oblivion and Skyrim before this, it felt like a severe downgrade.

    For what it's worth, there are many features in Morrowind not present in Skyrim that I'd love. Spellmaking among countless. However these positive features can not ever hope be greater than it's flaws. In 2013, Morrowinds animations are archaic, old & clunky. The graphics & sound overhaul mod helps tremendously, but it's not quite enough to cover the deep feeling that this game has passed its time.

    Compared to Skyrim, Morrowind I would say is definitely a lot more challenging than skyrim. I just wish I could get over it's horrendous combat & animations to enjoy it. Right after my 3 hour play session I uninstalled Morrowind and bought Skyrim Legendary Edition on sale for $35. About 30 hours of playtime later I'm noticing some things I don't like about it but overall I'm enjoying it thoroughly.
    Expand
  58. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    THE FIRST GAME of mine and one of the best with tons and tons of content where you can get lost. Moja prvá hra a jedna z najlepších. Hodiny a hodiny zábavy, v ktorej sa môžete stratiť.
  59. May 2, 2013
    9
    This game may be old but it can still entertain anyone who loves The Elder Scrolls series and has the patience to deal with a less user-friendly game. In my opinion, this makes it a BETTER game than Oblivion (haven't played Skyrim yet) because more is expected of you. OMG no fast travel OMG not much voice acting OMG it's so complicated...that's how it's supposed to be. Morrowind offers you a chance to dive into a world that is complex and dangerous WITHOUT HOLDING YOUR LITTLE BABY HANDS along the way. You have to learn to be resourceful, find ways to avoid death and disease, figure out where to go WITHOUT A STUPID ARROW ON THE MAP. Morrowind is the raw version of Elder Scrolls, not tailored to gamers that can't think for themselves. Yes the combat is dated, graphics dated, less cool features, etc. but if you want to play an Elder Scrolls games that features (1) a unique world with unfamiliar creatures (2) no mercy or hand holding and (3) hours freedom to play as you please, then get this game! I think that it has many advantages over Oblivion and possibly Skyrim and is worth giving a try. DON'T BUY THIS GAME IF YOU SUCK AT FIGURING THINGS OUT! If you're not sure about it, wait for a steam sale! Expand
  60. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    It's a sad day when you realize that we will never see a game like this again. Oblivion and Skyrim have dumbed down the games RPG and combat elemets to "click on the quest marker" exploring and "popamole" combat. Morrowind itself is not the deepest, it's an action RPG after all, but the scope of what you can do, who you can interact with, choices with CONSEQUENCES, real value and pride in the items you find rather than every random mob wearing lootable Daedric Armour like in Oblivion (why? how dis that make any sense?). If you can get over the graphics then MW is still the best single player action RPG on the PC (or anywhere else for that matter) and like I sad at the top we will not see a game like this again....ever of that I'm certain. Expand
  61. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    Morrowind's combat is broken. It has no quest system. To get into cities you have to levitate into them-not walk through a door. There is no fast travel. It is a tedious and **** game, do not recommend to anyone.
  62. Apr 16, 2014
    6
    I bought this game in 2014. It's clearly oooolllllldddd. But I've clocked about 20 hours or so and will keep going. Some of the mechanics are silly and archaic (e.g if your skill with a weapon is too low, you swing without connecting, time and time again). But even with annoyances such as this and the fact I can't enchant a poo to smell nice (10 soulgems down, not even a 1hp damage enchantment success), it's a pretty charming game. The quest system is a pain in the ass and there's a lot of empty space to traipse through for the sake of making the game feel epic (Vivec is the most awful design ever), but if you've got a spare month or two, give it a shot. Expand
  63. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    Morrowind was my first elder scrolls game. It was the first time I was truly immersed in a game world. Do I let nostalgia dictate everything? No. While morrowind is still an incredible masterpiece of a game that I have invested hundreds and hundreds of hours in. I have actually enjoyed and apprciated each elder scrolls game more than the next. I know.. This is not the popular opinion among morrowind fans of which I am among. However it's the truth. Morrowind (naturally) has hundreds and even thousands of features which have aged poorly. And while it's world is the most inspired in many ways - It's still an open world rpg with everything that implies - gameplay, sound, combat, depth, and systems of immersion. There are a lot of things morrowind still does in a way i WISH latter elder scrolls games did. However when I play morrowind, it's just not the 10/10 "best game I have ever played" that it once was. And I refuse to let nostalgia say otherwise. I still return to morrowind every now and then, and love it to bits. Expand
  64. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    When I first played Morrowind, I knew I had something special. The unique setting, massive world, diverse quests, skills, epic music, storyline and moddability turned me on to the Elder Scrolls series. Even in 2012 it's still worth a look, and does certain things better than the later games. The only complaints I can really level at Morrowind are that the quest directions are sometimes vague (the infamous Balmora fighter's guild quest comes to mind) and dice-based combat in an FPS/RPG is a little wonky. Anyway, if you haven't played this yet, go and pick it up right away. Expand
  65. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After
    about three hours of solid gameplay, I made a good conculsion:

    This game might have been good in 2002, but now it's a disgrace to Bethesda's name and title.
    Expand
  66. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Hands down, the best open-world RPG to date. A huge world with many hidden secrets to explore. The side quests can keep you entertained for hours, and there are several factions that you can join and rise through the ranks. You have absolute freedom in building your character and progressing through the game. It's possible to put in hundreds of hours of gameplay without even touching the main quest line. There are mods that make the game even better. Definitely superior to Oblivion; can't say anything about Skyrim, as I haven't played it yet. Expand
  67. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    I have about 40 hours into this game, and here's what I can say: The game is filled with lore, beauty, HUGE towns with so much lore and interesting characters and places to go. Dungeons are great. The only thing that throws me off about this game is the combat.... I just can't play it as badly as I would love to... It totally ruins the game for me. If only there were a combat mod to make it similar to Obliv/Skyrims.... Expand
  68. Sep 2, 2012
    6
    I have to put it out there to everyone who might read this review that I never put more than 20 hours into this game. I bought it a little while back because I skipped it and played Oblivion. I know there's some people out there who might not like what I am going to say, but this game really didn't appeal to me. It felt outdated when I played and although it is an older game I do think a lot of the graphics and models were done poorly. I also cannot stand how much reading you have to do in this game, mostly with NPC's, and a lot of the text is the same as other NPCs but you have to go through it all anyway because each NPC might react differently. This just got really annoying and the whole time I thought all the menus were confusing and a pain. I also do not like the starting location, you start in some random little village with barely any directions on what to do next. Like I said, maybe if I bought this when it first came out and devoted a lot of time into it I would have a different opinion, but that didn't happen. Expand
  69. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Morrowind is the most deserving of cult classic status of any RPG. If you can get past the first couple hours, get the overhaul mod and don't need to sophisticated of a combat system, this game opens up and becomes the most incredible adventure ever realized in an RPG. I played this after Oblivion and Skyrim, and even in it's own dated world, it is far superior to the two proceeding Elder Scrolls titles. Oblivion is notorious among ES fans for being an extremely oversimplified, bland version of it's predecessor. Skyrim, while improving on everything that made Oblivion awful (level scaling, bland environments, lack of depth in culture, terrible writing) still proved to be mindless as an RPG. Morrowind doesn't hold your hand. It's a real adventure. No quest markers, level scaling or limits in what you can do. It's engine lacks, but the world doesn't. Bethesda may be on stupid pills nowadays (hated Oblivion and FO3, Skyrim was dumbed down but still very fun) but Morrowind is a brilliant magnum opus. Actual imaginative quests, beautifully written lore and stories, amazing depth in the politics of it's world(there is so much depth and detail in the culture and politics of Morrowind's world it's frightening) and a series high Houses, Clans and guilds to join come together to make an experience that makes every other Elder Scrolls title look like a dud. I don't have any nostalgia for this game. I played Skyrim BEFORE Morrowind, but went back based on the huge following it had. I loved Skyrim when I first started playing but over the few months I played it, I began to develop a craving for more cryptic, old school RPGS. I went back to Morrowind and gave it some time. Once I saw what this game really was, I was hooked. It's fantastically written, the atmosphere and world design are incredible and make me laugh at how mediocre every Bethesda title has been since in that regard. Morrowind is beautifully composed, beautifully written, beautifully deep and has the most unique and ominous landscape possible to explore in any RPG. Ignore the combat (every ES game has swing at air combat, dont complain about the combat in this if youre a fan of the other games) and give it time. Once you get some decent loot and begin to crack into the depth of Morrowind's guild structure, world and well realized politics, you will understand why most ES fanboys still hold this title close to them as the best. it is. It's better than Oblivion by a long shot. It's better than Skyrim. Better than Arena, and prolly Daggerfall. Morrowind combines cryptic RPG playstyle and hardcore role playing roots with an incredibly detailed world. Morrowind has in atmosphere, personality and character what Oblivion and Skyrim fail to deliver. Morrowind walks with a limp, but has a heart of gold. A pleasure to experience, and if you have patience, the World of Morrowind offers an amount of depth and role playing brilliance that makes it impossible not to come back to. I may be rambling now but for any old school CRPG fan who has played Oblivion or Skyrim and laughed at it's simplicity and mind numbing dumbness, or for any already ES fan who wants to visit a world far more complex and mystical than any other ES title, get the MGS3.0 Morrowind Overhaul and start playing the game. To some it's boring and inaccessible, but get past it's technical shortcomings, and dive into what is perhaps the most unique and jaw dropping game world ever put together. RPGS are getting dumber. They treat gamers like morons. Play Morrowind. It's the closest you can get to a real adventure. Expand
  70. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This was and has remained my favorite Elder Scrolls game to date. Please ignore all the chuckle heads who say this game is "too big for itself" or has "no direction". This game came out when a free roaming RPG was exactly that. Just because the game doesn't hold your hand and lead you around every corner with a motherly kiss on the forehead doesn't mean the game deserves a lesser score. This game is worth whatever you can get it for. And now through the magic of mods you can have a much more stable experience. All the same, save often. Expand
  71. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    10
    The best Elder Scroll game. One of the best RPGs. It had both a huge, immersing (and unique) world to explore and a great story. Set the standards far too high for the other games of the series. PS Very, very few bugs too, especially compared to Daggerfall!!
  72. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Morrowind is truly an amazing game, really tremendous. But I just don't like it. I really just don't understand why people see the game as visually appealing really, it just feels empty...placid, lifeless. I don't know how many NPC's there are but for me it just felt too empty. The quest so far is just so depressing and errand-like. The places all around the world are just so similar and boring, some things look nice but nothing really made me gawp at the screen in admiration. I tried my hardest to get into it but in the end I just got bored, it is very difficult and very tedious. Quests are maddeningly boring, go fetch this, go get that and you just don't feel very rewarded by it. The combat is awful and tiresome but I suppose that would've been acceptable back then. The way you communicate with people is confusing and the NPC's usually treat you like dirt for no reason. However it is still fantastic, their is much depth and mystery but for me it was all to overwhelming. Get the game if your very patient. Expand
  73. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    A must play game for every RPG fan and the best elder scrolls game that been made. So if you're ok with outdated graphics (and even if you are a graphic wh*re MGE and countless mods are here for you) go and grab this one. DO IT!
  74. Jan 31, 2014
    6
    6/10 for a specific reason. It has brilliant moments and you think - great. Then it brings you right back down to disappointment again. That is the way the whole thing works anon anon. Speaking from about 100 hours play.

    With the Overhaul pack 3 it looks spectacular, and as beautifully detailed as any modern game. I particularly love stone buildings. Literally from the moment you arrive
    in Seyda Neen, you think 'wow look at the graphics'. (I played quite a bit of Morrowind originally in 2002.) With Morrowind Overhaul 3.0 they have really created a gritty, earthy, mystical place to be.

    It is immersive, and the main quest is good. It's main complaint about combat, really I have had little trouble with. If found by dodging and striking, my strikes mostly connect.

    My criticism is about other aspects. It's unbelievable hard work. The effort you have to apply is monumental.

    Why couldn't they put some more map markers with quests. Sometimes you get markers of a town to go to. Say you get there and do a task. The effort you have to go through to return to who gave you the task is unbelievable sometimes. Open the journal, try to determine the town, get to the town, search all the buildings. Why not just select quest, mark the givers house. This for me is just one aspect that requires so much work.

    Some quests deliver punishing enemies. Yes I know the plan is return later when levelled up. I have one quest in mind that I have recently partially completed. I left it ages until I almost completed the main quest. The enemies were rock hard. I had to return sell off loot, grab more magika, more health, and go back. Guess what all the bad guys I killed on my first foray, had been replace with new enemies. Over and over, I had to return, each time getting a bit farther along. That has to be one of my main problems. Enemies replacing themselves. Sometimes you only have to pass from one area to another and return back to find enemies repopulated. **It's hard work people** Even from the start, beasties in the wild repopulate everytime you return to an area, even in the same day (meaning sunrise to sunset) in the game. You can't travel anywhere without being endlessy harassed by cliff racers.

    Another of my main issues with it, is that is so maze like. Almost everywhere you go, you get lost. Dungeons have too many paths leading off. Each door you pass though means you map explore/reveal is in a new area. A little simplification is this would have made a striking difference.

    There is more that disappoints, however this review would become too long. These reasons and more are why people say Oblivion is easier and less confusing: it's because Morrowind is hard.

    It does however have great aspects, and you find yourself thinking, 'what a game'. That's what keeps you playing, and I still am.
    Expand
  75. May 31, 2013
    10
    A fantastic game. Gameplay is a lit bit unusual for a modern gamer but I acclimatized quickly and found it liberating that there was no fast travel as it encourages one to explore the world. Brilliant world design and the story is fantastically told giving room for multiple endings if you choose, or even to avoid it if it doesn't interest you. The Bloodmoon and Tribunal add-ons are good, Bloodmoon in particular. On the whole excellent a must buy. Expand
  76. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This is what a skyrim fanboy will say to this game: ewww the graphics look like barf, you cant fast travel, and blah blah blah. This is what il say to this game the best rpg that ever existed so what if you can fast travel in the game my friend owns far cry 3 and he never fast traveled and I have played 70+ plus hours of this game without fast traveling and graphics well at least they're better then today's graphics cough cod. dont worry about those negative reviews they're just skyrim fanboys whining about how awesome this game is compared to skyrim
    Definitely worth your money and its definitely the best old school game i have played besides conker's bad fur day, quake, and zelda games
    Expand
  77. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    For me, to this day, still the best RPG ever made. The world, the lore, the atmosphere, the characters, the surroundings are just fantastic. The storytelling may be so-so, but this does not really matter when you have such a stunning world to explore. Even the excellent sequels are no match, Morrowind is far better when it comes to variation in the environment, the tasks and quests, and deserves to be called, by many players, the best part of the Elder Scrolls series. Expand
  78. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Greatest game i've ever played. It has amazing graphics, amazing gameplay, everything about it is amazing, I highly recommend you get it, it's worth the money.
  79. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I started playing the Elder Scrolls series when I bought Skyrim around two years today, and so I molded into it's action-heavy style of RPG. I started hearing about Morrowind, so I decided to try it out and see it for myself, and personally I feel it deserves to be called the best Elder Scrolls game to date. As far as story line, Morrowind blows Skyrim out of water with a much deeper plot that is slowly uncovered, making quests more like an adventure. Another thing is the overall feel of a game; Morrowind seem to be much more of a true RPG, like a tabletop RPG in an immensely large world. The only con I could ever see with this game would be the graphics, which would only apply to today's standards, and can be upgraded with mods. Expand
  80. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game basically defined my life from 2004 (when I finally decided to dive in) all the way into the present. I've always been the kind of person who would roleplay through chatrooms and forums, and this game struck all the right chords in my head as a game I could really get into. The world is vast, and the landscape breathtaking. The lore is by far the most detailed of any game I've played. It sucks you in, and never lets you go. You live the game for the time you interact with it.

    The other Elder Scrolls games are just that. Games They will never be able to recreated the experience Morrowind created. It is, and always will be, the best of the series, and one of the greatest games ever made.
    Expand
  81. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Not only is this my favorite game of all time, but it is the best RPG of all time. I will never forget the grand adventures Morrowind offered me and the scope of the story. I will never forget my times in Balmora. Ald-ruhn, and strange Telvanni Towers. Slaying the leaders of ancient Vampire clans, and storming the Sixth House cults. Then when the expansions came out I couldnt believe such a great thing could get even greater. Even though this game may look aged to newer gamers and fans of newer TES games, I would recommend getting it and installing a few mods to make it more palletable (Morrowind Overhaul). You will see why this is the Father of modern RPG's. Expand
  82. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    When Skyrim was released, I played the life out of it. After I was getting sick of playing it, I decided to look at the game that introduced me to the series: Morrowind. Just like it's grandchild Skyrim, I loved this game when it came out. Now that I look at it, can I say it's as good as Oblivion or Skyrim? Yes. Where do I begin with this game? It has a huge, and I mean huge open world to explore. It takes hours just to get from one side of the map to the other. Now, this game was released in 2002. The graphics haven't aged too well, but they can be very good in particular places. But on to the actual gameplay. The combat mechanics for most of the classes are kinda sucky, most can agree with that. However, the rest of the game totally makes up for that. With one character you can spend hundreds of hours doing side quests and then tackling the main story next, while still not seeing everything. And even if you do see everything in this world, you could always start over but chose a different class and have a totally different experience. This is simply one of the deepest RPGs ever, and if you ever have the time you should play this game. Expand
  83. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    10 for the time. Can we really review the classics from our standing? In this game's period it made the absolute best of the time, the best of the engine, the best of the origin (the setting was originally a notD&D campaign! lol) and managed to make something crazy, neat and dense. Yeah it took a lot of drugs and alcohol to hammer out the lore and setting, but if you read the books, if you follow the hints, you will realize that the game wants to be more; literally in game, it can be found that the game acknowledges itself as a game on a CD. This is lore friendly. This is canon

    If you can balance the line between unforgiving engine, creator-ego, spiderweb multi-layer hidden-layer secret code lore, then you can really get this game.

    You can lose, and lose, and really lose and still win here. I figured some of this out before there was a real internet.

    He was not born a god. He chose this path of his own free will.

    ALMSIVI
    Expand
  84. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    I'm writing this review 10 years after the fact and I'm putting things in context for the time the game came out. This game opened my eyes to a different kind of RPG experience. This game is amazing in the aspect of being a great open RPG with an extreme amount of depth to it, the only negative on this game may also be one of its positive qualities as well, it doesn't hold your hand or explain things to the letter, it lets you figure things out on your own, sometimes the hard way. All in all Morrowind is not perfect but definitely a legendary RPG. Expand
  85. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Still the standard. Sadly marred these days by a slightly poor control system and wads and wads of text but still one of the best computer RPGs ever made.
  86. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    One of the best classic role-playing games to date. There is so much to do and explore; you may die a lot but you’ll learn a ton throughout your enormous adventure. You’ll barely be able to kill a rat, but you'll feel powerful once you find that magical weapon or skill which puts you at uncanny odds against your enemies. You'll feel lonely at times until you find a naked barbarian looking for his magical Axe.

    Morrowind may not be for everyone, it is an entirely different beast from other mammoths in the franchise such as TES IV: Oblivion and TES V: Skyrim but being different doesn't mean the game is bad in any way. Mechanics work differently, you'll have to use your wit to overcome challenging situations. Some mechanics may seem broken at first, but there are often techniques which you must master in order to get anywhere which is part of solving the wondrous mystery which is Morrowind. It’s not a mindless RPG like many modern games, it’s a true RPG, one which you’ll remember for a very long time.

    An adventure huge in scale; it may not be perfect (what game is), the adventures you will go on and mysteries you will solve will leave you in awe if you can overcome some of the technical limitations Morrowind has to date. Do not be put off though if you are looking for an alien yet timeless journey which you can stick your teeth into for hundreds of countless hours! To top it off, this is coming from somebody who hated Morrowind to begin with. Don’t give up, take your time and most of all enjoy yourself, you’ll overcome many of the problem’s you encounter.
    Expand
  87. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    An amazing game which beats oblivion in every aspect except for graphics. If only games were made like this these days. Once again the only problem that the game has is its graphics.
  88. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This game made The Elder Scrolls what it is now. A true masterpiece of RPG genre. Even in 2012, it's pretty innovative, epic, atmospheric game to play. I can't believe it has got worse rating than Skyrim or Oblivion, as this game started the era for Elder Scrolls and in my opinion it's even better than the newest TES setups.
  89. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Morrowind is one of my top (if not *the* top) favorite games of all time and I enjoyed it far far more than I did Oblivion. I had wanted to check out the new Sound and Graphics Overhaul and I opened my Steam account because I couldn't find any other retail shop that still had the game in stock.

    This was my 3rd or 4th playthrough of the game and along with the Overhaul Mod I used the
  90. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game rocks with the latest overhaul mod:
    http://morrowind.nexusmods.com/mods/36945/

    Mods have made it up there with skyrim. The wonderful thing with mods is that they can iron out issues and you get to customise the quality of the game such that it becomes perfect. This game is the benchmark for RPGs, along with baldur's gate, the original fallout, the 1st mass effect, deus ex and
    system shock 2 Expand
  91. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Ah Morrowind, also known as The Elder Scrolls III:Not dumbed down. This is a deep game. There's a lot of elements and planning and thinking involved, if you want to do well and know what's going on you'll have to pay attention. If you can manage to do that your reward is a huge incredibly unique and beautiful (though admittedly dated looking) world to explore. This is a Wrpg for the hardcore, it almost feels like a cross between W and Jrpgs. It's good great story and a great villain, it's soundtrack is average but at the very least mood setting. And any flaw you have with the game can be modded out on the PC version (the best version), from modernizing the outdated combat to making the game look better than Oblivion. Get it if you dare Expand
  92. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended.

    Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a
    blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination.

    Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike.

    It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet.
    Expand
  93. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination. Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike. It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet. Expand
  94. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    So far the best of all Elderscrolls titles. Skyrim: best engine; Oblivion: bad design, level scaling; Morrowind: best music, world and atmosphere. This game is so beautiful and rich. Simply one of the best RPGs ever made, if not the best. Play it as fully dedicated mage to gather it's full potential.
  95. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    It's an experience that anyone who's played it doesn't want to describe. No description could do it justice. Let's just say it's awesome and then have you go give it a try.
  96. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    In my opinion there is no better game. It is more diverse in magic, clothing/armor, weapons, skills, and dungeons than in any other modern RPG I've ever seen. The few loading screens that do happen (when entering dungeons/buildings, not when entering towns by foot) are very quick. The "invincible essential characters" that limits the player greatly in it's predecessors is nonexistent, meaning that you can kill absolutely anyone in the game (although, it will still effect gameplay). There are definitely glitches in the game, but Bethesda has such great mod support that it's hardly a problem after a few downloads. Expand
  97. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    I am relatively young player: when Morrowind was released I played only some educational games for kids. Still I had a chance to play it before the release of Oblivion, and still I have that oldschooler feeling "Why can't they just rerelease it with better graphics?".
    Though, it is not just nostalgia, since Morrowind there were no game with such rich mechanics (except Dwarf Fortress,
    okay) and a balance between complexity and casualty: you had not to try a number of times to complete some quest, but had a permanent feeling that 5 minutes ago you did something wrong and do not understand your stats well enough.
    The world was huge, maybe, honestly, way too huge, but there was not assumed that you complete 100% of the game, it was pretty much another life to live, and you just couldn't make it all.
    And yes, some part of me misses cliff racers.
    Expand
  98. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Game offers large variety of armor and weapons, huge load of different gameplay aspects and a large island to explore. Some people consider the ''must make'' choices as cons for the game, but I prefer them as replay value. The DLC's add nice touch and the modding community keeps the game still very alive.
  99. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This game is absolutely adored by users, and there's a good reason for it.

    You'll have to invest your time in learning how the game operates, and in reading a lot of what characters have to say, both implicitly and explicitly. You'll have to spend a lot of time trying to mitigate your travel time. The combat may actually be one of the worst systems to have ever been used for a
    first-person viewpoint. Many of these things would condemn other videogames to a hell of mediocrity.

    It doesn't matter. This game had one of the biggest ingame world's of its time, and which is still large even by today's standards. The various biomes of the game are imaginative and well thought out, even if the graphics displaying them haven't quite held up over time. The characters are varied and intriguing, and the story is vastly, vastly, VASTLY superior to that of the many other video games that have come both before and after it.

    If you can't find some measure of engagement in this game, then that's okay. Not everyone will be able to penetrate its stumbling blocks. Yet for those of you can get past the cliff racers and dice-rolling, there's a story to be had here. You'd be remiss in letting it go.
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. One of those games that just visually takes your breath away. It has some of the most detailed, and well realistically rendered environments and characters ever seen in a computer game.
  2. The Elder Scrolls tech support forum is overflowing with user complaints about compatibility issues. At any rate, this is still the biggest, deepest, most detailed RPG to hit the PC since Daggerfall, and for that, earns high marks.
  3. This is a game that can stay on your hard drive for six months, still offering new experiences.