User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1134 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2016
    0
    this has got to be the most overrated game on the PC

    the combat is awful and uneralistic the cities feel like set pieces with no soul the world just feels empty and uninteresting every dungeon is depressingly flavorless walk/run speed is obnoxiously slow graphics are OK with all the MGE mods etc. but the animations etc have not aged well even the guards won't attack monsters that
    this has got to be the most overrated game on the PC

    the combat is awful and uneralistic
    the cities feel like set pieces with no soul
    the world just feels empty and uninteresting
    every dungeon is depressingly flavorless
    walk/run speed is obnoxiously slow
    graphics are OK with all the MGE mods etc. but the animations etc have not aged well
    even the guards won't attack monsters that run into town

    i have to say i've tried 3 times now to somehow get into this game and it is a no-go....

    if you want something to compare this game to, go play Gothic 3 which is light years ahead of this game in character, storyline, graphics and everything else..Gothic 3 (2006) came out 4 years after Morrowind (2002) but feels 20 years ahead in everything

    that fact that so many people seem to adore this game makes me wonder..it really does
    Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    2
    I am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasyI am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasy world post nuclear apocalypse. There is so much reading to do that after a while you feel you should be curled up on the sofa with a Tolkien trilogy and a good glass of wine instead of trying to play a game. As a result tedium sets in very quickly and with the by today's standards rather ugly and disjointed graphics it just becomes too much of slog to get to the end. I think you either love or hate this game. The haters are obviously the minority but we do exist - sorry! Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    3
    There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going,There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going, but later devolve into fetch quests that require you to go to the other side of the world to steal something and then travel back. Guild advancement is unrewarding. I usually got 10 times more loot & gold from thoroughly exploring the area i was sent to than I received from the quest reward. Combat tends to be a damage race of spamming left click while cycling magical weapons. I didn't like this game 10 years ago when I first played it and I don't like it now. With enough mods the bad graphics (even for it's time) can be fixed, but I wouldn't recommend playing it since better games of it's type have come out since. Expand
  4. DustinB.
    Oct 25, 2006
    3
    God was thing game boring. Unless you enjoy wandering across vast empty spaces filled with identical monsters and npc's jumping to raise you 'acrobat' skill, skip it. They designers created a vast world but didn't bother to create any compelling reasons to visit any of the various locals. For the most part they all look the same and contain the same generic monsters God was thing game boring. Unless you enjoy wandering across vast empty spaces filled with identical monsters and npc's jumping to raise you 'acrobat' skill, skip it. They designers created a vast world but didn't bother to create any compelling reasons to visit any of the various locals. For the most part they all look the same and contain the same generic monsters and npcs. It also has some of the most repetitive and uninteresting combat I've ever seen. Quests are boring and nearly identical. Overall this game feels like a poorly made MMO only it's missing the second 'M' and the 'O'. The 'massive' monicure certainly applies, but it ends up just feeling empty and pointless. Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After about three hours of solid gameplay, I made a good conculsion:

    This game might have been good in 2002, but now it's a disgrace to Bethesda's name and title.
    Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    Morrowind's combat is broken. It has no quest system. To get into cities you have to levitate into them-not walk through a door. There is no fast travel. It is a tedious and **** game, do not recommend to anyone.
  7. DavidL
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    This game is so overrated... Even if the world is vast and things like that, it's so deeply flawed that I won't even give a 1/10. The fighting system gives me nightmares, when I try to kill something I have to try to swing my weapon about 10 times to actually hit the thing. This game has an extreme amount of bugs, so many that this review would be longer than the bible if I This game is so overrated... Even if the world is vast and things like that, it's so deeply flawed that I won't even give a 1/10. The fighting system gives me nightmares, when I try to kill something I have to try to swing my weapon about 10 times to actually hit the thing. This game has an extreme amount of bugs, so many that this review would be longer than the bible if I wrote them down. Many Morrowind fans say that this game is better than Oblivion, but it simply is not. If you're reading this review, don't buy this game. Ever. Expand
  8. SalmanA.
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if 15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if anything. I understand that there may be a good game in here, but there's just too much misery to go through to get to it. This isn't even counting the horrible bugs abd technical issues. Expand
  9. huntercreed
    Oct 28, 2007
    1
    THIS GAME SUCKS to many fucking glitches its bullshit i sat there for 3 hours had some good shit
    then hit a glitch on a table and it saved and i couldnt move had to reset twice fuck this game ive already broken it into 18 peices and burned it its case it being melted as well AS I SAID THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!!!
  10. Jul 23, 2016
    2
    ok so i am going to start with listing the positives: the artstyle is the good (just google why. my opinion on the artstyle basically belongs to the entire human race as well) ok now for the **** parts: the combat is awfull with you having to move for diferent attacks and therefore mising all the time and even with the always use best attack on you miss anyway becuse unless you are levelok so i am going to start with listing the positives: the artstyle is the good (just google why. my opinion on the artstyle basically belongs to the entire human race as well) ok now for the **** parts: the combat is awfull with you having to move for diferent attacks and therefore mising all the time and even with the always use best attack on you miss anyway becuse unless you are level 10000000000 in the weapon you are using then you will miss a lot no matter if you are a mele guy. traveling is complete torture becuse even if you are sprinting then you still walk in a decently brisk pace and becuse stamina drains so fast then you will have to rest every milimeter (by the way no fast travelling). and the interference is so unintuntutive that a nuclear reactor would burst into laughter. i could go on and on about why this game i so bad but have **** to do like say deleting this **** tragedy of a game from my steam library. (sorry if there are typo's im terrible at spelling). Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. One of those games that just visually takes your breath away. It has some of the most detailed, and well realistically rendered environments and characters ever seen in a computer game.
  2. The Elder Scrolls tech support forum is overflowing with user complaints about compatibility issues. At any rate, this is still the biggest, deepest, most detailed RPG to hit the PC since Daggerfall, and for that, earns high marks.
  3. This is a game that can stay on your hard drive for six months, still offering new experiences.