User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 946 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 946

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    4
    Beyond overrated, don't listen to these nostaliga goggle wearing retards. It's awful, and has aged awfuly.

    This game literally has no redeeming qualities other than the setting, and that isn't saying much.
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    2
    I am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasyI am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasy world post nuclear apocalypse. There is so much reading to do that after a while you feel you should be curled up on the sofa with a Tolkien trilogy and a good glass of wine instead of trying to play a game. As a result tedium sets in very quickly and with the by today's standards rather ugly and disjointed graphics it just becomes too much of slog to get to the end. I think you either love or hate this game. The haters are obviously the minority but we do exist - sorry! Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    3
    There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going,There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going, but later devolve into fetch quests that require you to go to the other side of the world to steal something and then travel back. Guild advancement is unrewarding. I usually got 10 times more loot & gold from thoroughly exploring the area i was sent to than I received from the quest reward. Combat tends to be a damage race of spamming left click while cycling magical weapons. I didn't like this game 10 years ago when I first played it and I don't like it now. With enough mods the bad graphics (even for it's time) can be fixed, but I wouldn't recommend playing it since better games of it's type have come out since. Expand
  4. DustinB.
    Oct 25, 2006
    3
    God was thing game boring. Unless you enjoy wandering across vast empty spaces filled with identical monsters and npc's jumping to raise you 'acrobat' skill, skip it. They designers created a vast world but didn't bother to create any compelling reasons to visit any of the various locals. For the most part they all look the same and contain the same generic monsters God was thing game boring. Unless you enjoy wandering across vast empty spaces filled with identical monsters and npc's jumping to raise you 'acrobat' skill, skip it. They designers created a vast world but didn't bother to create any compelling reasons to visit any of the various locals. For the most part they all look the same and contain the same generic monsters and npcs. It also has some of the most repetitive and uninteresting combat I've ever seen. Quests are boring and nearly identical. Overall this game feels like a poorly made MMO only it's missing the second 'M' and the 'O'. The 'massive' monicure certainly applies, but it ends up just feeling empty and pointless. Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After about three hours of solid gameplay, I made a good conculsion:

    This game might have been good in 2002, but now it's a disgrace to Bethesda's name and title.
    Expand
  6. DavidL
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    This game is so overrated... Even if the world is vast and things like that, it's so deeply flawed that I won't even give a 1/10. The fighting system gives me nightmares, when I try to kill something I have to try to swing my weapon about 10 times to actually hit the thing. This game has an extreme amount of bugs, so many that this review would be longer than the bible if I This game is so overrated... Even if the world is vast and things like that, it's so deeply flawed that I won't even give a 1/10. The fighting system gives me nightmares, when I try to kill something I have to try to swing my weapon about 10 times to actually hit the thing. This game has an extreme amount of bugs, so many that this review would be longer than the bible if I wrote them down. Many Morrowind fans say that this game is better than Oblivion, but it simply is not. If you're reading this review, don't buy this game. Ever. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    Morrowind's combat is broken. It has no quest system. To get into cities you have to levitate into them-not walk through a door. There is no fast travel. It is a tedious and **** game, do not recommend to anyone.
  8. SalmanA.
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if 15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if anything. I understand that there may be a good game in here, but there's just too much misery to go through to get to it. This isn't even counting the horrible bugs abd technical issues. Expand
  9. huntercreed
    Oct 28, 2007
    1
    THIS GAME SUCKS to many fucking glitches its bullshit i sat there for 3 hours had some good shit
    then hit a glitch on a table and it saved and i couldnt move had to reset twice fuck this game ive already broken it into 18 peices and burned it its case it being melted as well AS I SAID THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!!!
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. One of those games that just visually takes your breath away. It has some of the most detailed, and well realistically rendered environments and characters ever seen in a computer game.
  2. The Elder Scrolls tech support forum is overflowing with user complaints about compatibility issues. At any rate, this is still the biggest, deepest, most detailed RPG to hit the PC since Daggerfall, and for that, earns high marks.
  3. This is a game that can stay on your hard drive for six months, still offering new experiences.