The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2425 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Baaj
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Prepare to give up your social life and significant others and be immersed in the world of Cyrodill! A few bugs aside, this is truly the best game out there to date. You'll need a really powerful system to get this game running at its best though.
  2. TonyN.
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    This game is extremely big.Its like GTA San andreas in the past.Thats the kind of games I like because of their freedom.the AIs are well programed and graphics amazing.One of the best RPG games ever.
  3. MikeyP.
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    Amazing game. I just started and solved some quests (like 5 hours of play) and this game pushes you to play and pay with sleepless nights. It's hard to play Oblivion and have a job.
  4. toeknee
    Jul 6, 2006
    0
    Not fun, simpley a terrible game. Repetitive, leveling system is terrible, the weapons repair thing is terrible, everything looks the same, compass is terrible. Couldn't even play after like 10 minutes because the game is so bad. Do not buy this game. Do not play this game.
  5. vendingmaching
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    The BEST game i have EVER played in my entire life. The caves are the best part and the graphics are awesome.
  6. JohnR
    Jun 9, 2008
    6
    Like its predecessor "Morrowind" Oblivion is deeply flawed in a whole host ways and absolutely brilliant in a few. The game world itself is stunning to look at, truly huge (though perhaps not as huge as Morrowind's) and full of imaginative locations. It's such a pity that, just as is the case with Morrowind, it's populated by perhaps the dullest NPCs in computer gaming Like its predecessor "Morrowind" Oblivion is deeply flawed in a whole host ways and absolutely brilliant in a few. The game world itself is stunning to look at, truly huge (though perhaps not as huge as Morrowind's) and full of imaginative locations. It's such a pity that, just as is the case with Morrowind, it's populated by perhaps the dullest NPCs in computer gaming history. It seems that "speaking to people" in Tamriel consists in selecting from the same unbearably dull list of questions no matter whom you're addressing. It's honestly no more fun than navigating the telephone menu options when trying to find out your bank balance - and in fact that's what it reminds me of. I can't believe Bethesda didn't address this woeful shortcoming after Morrowind was panned for it. Bethesda simply have no idea how to give any personality or individuality to their NPCs and could learn a thing or two from all-round better games such as Baldur's Gate and Planescape : Torment in this respect. But even if this problem were resolved there's also the unbelievably generic location types : e.g every Oblivion Gate is the same, every Aeleid Ruin or Fort is virtually the same. Locations in general are as generic as are the NPCs : when you've seen one Aeleid Ruin, Oblivion Gate etc., you've seen them all. This isn't where the shortcomings end : what, for instance, is the point in my hacking my way through to the deepest reaches of a large dungeon only to find a best haul of a mere 250 gold pieces, a silver dagger and a couple of potatoes in the seventeenth barrel I (wearily by now) search, when I've already got 25000 gold pieces, much better weapons and all the food and herbs I could want ? I could also go on about the "improved" but still absolutely awful interface, the laughable voice-acting etc. but it wouldn't be fair. Oblivion is, strangely, quite enjoyable in some ways, mostly for the visual splendor of the distant landscapes ; but quests are in general dull, repetitive and unrewarding and the best thing you can do in this game - and what a game it COULD have been - is pick flowers and gape at the scenery. Disappointing and overhyped. Bethesda are developing Fallout 3 : RIP the Fallout series. Expand
  7. RoGuE
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I have been playing this game now for over 3 years. I absolutely love it. It never gets boring, what, with all the different abilities, characters and secrets out there!! What the hell is with those poor, lifeless, cynical souls who give Oblivion a 0/10? Well, I have a message for you braindead people: This game is one of the best ever made, simply because, it's simple to play, I have been playing this game now for over 3 years. I absolutely love it. It never gets boring, what, with all the different abilities, characters and secrets out there!! What the hell is with those poor, lifeless, cynical souls who give Oblivion a 0/10? Well, I have a message for you braindead people: This game is one of the best ever made, simply because, it's simple to play, understand, and enjoy. The plot is excellent and well tied-in with the other TES titles, the combat is very diverse and can be done in many different ways, most quests are interesting and fun with great rewards, and it always has a very challenging aspect. If you have not got this game, (you poor, poor people) then I suggest succumbering to the hype and getting it as soon as possible!! Collapse
  8. RyanB
    Aug 7, 2010
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Graphics are amazing, almost no lag for the amount of detail is put into everything. Vast amount of weapons, armors, AI, and quests. The weapons have outstanding amount of detail, along with the armors and such. The only real disappointment I had about this game was the short main story. But the 200+ side quests more than make up for it. If I had played Best game I've ever played. Graphics are amazing, almost no lag for the amount of detail is put into everything. Vast amount of weapons, armors, AI, and quests. The weapons have outstanding amount of detail, along with the armors and such. The only real disappointment I had about this game was the short main story. But the 200+ side quests more than make up for it. If I had played through the main quest without stopping to do side quests it maybe would have taken 4-5 hours. But, with the Shivering Isles expansion and the other expansions available for all three consoles, I've played the game for over 50 hours in total. Overall, This game is spectacular. I'd give it a 9.8 out of 10. Expand
  9. Luke
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Are you kidding me if anyone gave this game a lower score then at 10 out of 10 they r nuts its just like morowind with a major graphicall over-hall. This game actualy has a physics engine and its over 100 hrs of gameplay which means ill never finish this one just like i never finished morrowind but at least ill have the time of my life plain it
  10. BrandonM.
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    First off " Doom3 and HL2 were both superior games technically speaking. " Aelius I have both D3 and HL2 and the only thing and I mean the only thing I can think of that made one of these titles superior to oblivion was HL2 lip sync, it was much more advanced and the background textures looked more polished but with an engine trying to do as much as it can for the outside environments and First off " Doom3 and HL2 were both superior games technically speaking. " Aelius I have both D3 and HL2 and the only thing and I mean the only thing I can think of that made one of these titles superior to oblivion was HL2 lip sync, it was much more advanced and the background textures looked more polished but with an engine trying to do as much as it can for the outside environments and all ready some long load times on the xbox 360 (yes I did by the pc and have no problems there) there not going to include high res textures for everything but nothing else I could see was superior. Is the game buged? Yes, some problems with quests and the stealing system definatly needs to be changed because how are they going to know that a spoon I stole is in fact stolen when no one saw me do it? Have I heard of other problems, of course but at least most of them are not as severe as Morrowind when it was first released. The only major complaints I have is the removale of the minor skills (you only have major skills to level up on now) and many other skills are now gone, I don't feel that there is any less customization involved for the players as far as items go but it does feel less flexable for players to actually progress them the way that they want. The new way to use the speechcraft skill is indeed ludacrist, I also have a high end pc and the draw distance for the outdoor buildings needs to be looked into because all I see with building in my direct line of view is see popups when walking towards them but coming over hills or through the forest its fine because something is obscuring your view anyways. Those are my only rants about so what do I like? Literally everything else, so much so I can't describe them all in this vote! This maybe a spoiler but if you find something that can cast electrical damage, find the nearest body of water than cast it into the water and you will see an awesome effect. Why did I give this a 9 then when I like it so much? Simple even though the bugs are few and far between and there are some petty annoyances with some of the systems it does take away from the imerssion factor which is what any rpg tries to do with annoying but you can't like everything there is but don't let these problems distract from what is done really really well, besides what good is a pc game with out a patch? oh and mods too! Expand
  11. J.S.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    If I could give it an 11 then I would. I would then subtract a point for Bethesda not fronting these guys some more testers. Awesome job can't wait for the patch!
  12. GabrielM.
    Apr 30, 2006
    8
    The scaling sistem here is a complete nonsence. Advancing from lev1 to lev8 is o shock :(. Also the story is vast but a bit absurd in some parts. The good part is that you have incredible graphics and sound and a extremely detailed world (that is IF you have a super rig!)
  13. JohnD.
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    This game is like a drug you cant stop playing. the graphic are imerse the AI could be better. Inever thought any game could be this good.
  14. FrankC.
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    As everyone says, it's simply fantastic. The quests are engaging, and the voice acting is good. The engine is a marvel. Here's what I'd say though - unless you can download 3DMark and break 4000, with a CPU score of over 900, I wouldn't attempt it. If you don't know how to overclock your rig, it might be a good time to learn. It's simply not the same game As everyone says, it's simply fantastic. The quests are engaging, and the voice acting is good. The engine is a marvel. Here's what I'd say though - unless you can download 3DMark and break 4000, with a CPU score of over 900, I wouldn't attempt it. If you don't know how to overclock your rig, it might be a good time to learn. It's simply not the same game without the eye candy, the shadows and water and mist and reflecting surfaces, etc. THe world is big, and it's rich and you can't help but find things to do. Unlike Morrowwind, you won't get bored. Expand
  15. UNI
    Apr 5, 2006
    8
    So stupid AI, technical problems etc. The game is good but not perfect.
  16. HerbertH.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    I give this a ten because it's worth more than 9 and a half. Now notched up 100 hours (Level 26 "Nightblade") If you are into RPG's then onlt Balders Gate II beats it. Don't want to bore people with what I've done or where i've been - but suffice to say I've played for well over 100 hours - and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thats brilliant value for money (25 quid I give this a ten because it's worth more than 9 and a half. Now notched up 100 hours (Level 26 "Nightblade") If you are into RPG's then onlt Balders Gate II beats it. Don't want to bore people with what I've done or where i've been - but suffice to say I've played for well over 100 hours - and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thats brilliant value for money (25 quid from play.com) Oooh one bit of advice, don't get the"Collectors edition" , save the moeny and get the players guide - it's written by the game designers themselves and is brilliant. Expand
  17. StevenS.
    May 6, 2006
    7
    Cool game, good graphics. Expected more variety on spells and weapons. Scaling system sucks big time making the world adapt to you and not vice-versa how it is supposed to be.
  18. MartinK.
    Jun 11, 2006
    5
    It really falls short of expectations. The whole game feels flat, not to mention the repetitive Oblivion planes. Level scaling TOTALLY ruins any kind of challenging gameplay, lucky that mods can fix that. There are,like, ten different armors in the game. C'mon. The graphics and the optimisitation is great. If you know how to handle an options menu, trust me, you won't have It really falls short of expectations. The whole game feels flat, not to mention the repetitive Oblivion planes. Level scaling TOTALLY ruins any kind of challenging gameplay, lucky that mods can fix that. There are,like, ten different armors in the game. C'mon. The graphics and the optimisitation is great. If you know how to handle an options menu, trust me, you won't have problems with a system barely above minimum specs. But any game that is unplayable without mods does not deserve more than 5 points. Expand
  19. Marko
    Jun 20, 2006
    0
    The greatest dissapointment of all times and Iam not overreacting. I played all Elder Scroll games and as a great fan I could not wait for this game to come out. Great graphic is great but the whole world is repetitive, Oblivion is 50% bigger than Morrowind but all u have is forrests and hills in Morrowind u had swamps, deserts, islands and many more, dungeons and caves are every 100m and The greatest dissapointment of all times and Iam not overreacting. I played all Elder Scroll games and as a great fan I could not wait for this game to come out. Great graphic is great but the whole world is repetitive, Oblivion is 50% bigger than Morrowind but all u have is forrests and hills in Morrowind u had swamps, deserts, islands and many more, dungeons and caves are every 100m and they all look the same, physics are just for decoration, and level scaling is worst part of the game, why level when the enemy is always same strenght as you and its easier to finish game as level 1 than 30, a game that needs to have 2GB of mods installed to be playable does not deserve anyones attention. Dont play this better wait for Gothic 3 until than play Gothic 2, Arx Fatalis, Morrowind or anything. Expand
  20. Predator
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    The biggest game ever.So many thing to do.10 means that the game is perfect,but no game is perfect.It has little problems like crashing,glitches and bugs but almost all of that is fixed in the new patch.
  21. KonradN.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Just brilliant, crashes alot but doesnt take long to load so I dont mind. There are so many paths you can take that this game is HUGE. Also you cant do everything because for example you may kill someone who later would give you a quest so there is a huge amount of replay value in there. Also you can go anywhere at any level, this does make the leveling up a bit pointless but its great anyway.
  22. SteephenD.
    Jul 6, 2006
    1
    Developers need to remember gameplay is the most important thing in a game. The graphics are only cool if they improve an already fun game. They don't make a game fun by themselves. No one will care about the graphics if they are too bored to ever star the game. Get it?
  23. DanielO.
    Jul 6, 2006
    2
    Atrociously bad game. i was real disappointed.
  24. Humb1estWalker
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This game is simply sweet. You know the types of games where it's like touching your car after driving for 4 days straight and than when you touch it, it burns of your fingers. Well Oblivion is like touching a car after driving it for 4 years straight and instead of burning of your fingers off you burn your self into ashes. Buy this game now playa!
  25. PhilP.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Hands down one of the best games I have ever played. And I have been playing games since the 2D side scrolling Duke Nukem games. Not only does it offer an easy 100+ hours of gameplay, it is fun and engaging all the way through. Not only does it have the main storyline, it has like 3 guilds, the dark brotherhood, and the arena to go through that could almost be a game in themselves. Throw Hands down one of the best games I have ever played. And I have been playing games since the 2D side scrolling Duke Nukem games. Not only does it offer an easy 100+ hours of gameplay, it is fun and engaging all the way through. Not only does it have the main storyline, it has like 3 guilds, the dark brotherhood, and the arena to go through that could almost be a game in themselves. Throw in physics oriented combat, and just the sheer coolness of the world and everything you can do with it (water walking shoes rock), and this game is light years ahead of other games of this genre. Not only that, but it pulls it all together with incredible polish. I can't recommend this game enough. The only downside is that it might be too long! Some players may lose interest and have to take a break from it. But do come back, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  26. AnonymousMC
    Feb 10, 2007
    6
    WAY too much hype. The main storyline is terrible, very linear and also short, the main quests are too repetitive. There is hardly any nice stuff to get and not nearly enough armor to choose from. The autoadjustment of levels does more bad than good. The graphics need a lot of hardware power, the setting is too common for my tastes and everything looks too similar. What remains isWAY too much hype. The main storyline is terrible, very linear and also short, the main quests are too repetitive. There is hardly any nice stuff to get and not nearly enough armor to choose from. The autoadjustment of levels does more bad than good. The graphics need a lot of hardware power, the setting is too common for my tastes and everything looks too similar. What remains is exploring the world, many nice sidequests and good combat. But if both story and setting are simply boring as hell, what's the point? Expand
  27. DarkE.
    Apr 5, 2007
    7
    Good fun, and huge world, but hugely overrated by the gaming press. Very weak main storyline and the combat could have been better. Sneak and Magic system satisfying although slightly disappointing.
  28. AsbjørnS.
    May 22, 2007
    5
    TES IV: Oblivion is a mainstreamed version of TES III: Morrowind. Most of what made Morrowind such a great game has been simplified in Oblivion and the "role" in this RPG is hardly visible. The beauty, the complexity, the political intrigue, the dialogues, the history/lore, the geographical regions and their unique history have all been removed and left is only a repetitive console TES IV: Oblivion is a mainstreamed version of TES III: Morrowind. Most of what made Morrowind such a great game has been simplified in Oblivion and the "role" in this RPG is hardly visible. The beauty, the complexity, the political intrigue, the dialogues, the history/lore, the geographical regions and their unique history have all been removed and left is only a repetitive console version of a PC RPG. Expand
  29. BakaD.
    Jun 22, 2007
    3
    Oblivion is Morrowind with hundreds of bugs fixed. The game also graphically declines, it has loads of the 'good stuff' but it doesn't use it properly leaving environments lackluster and dull. There are a few parts that have an epic 'appeal' but thats only due to the use of lighting. Now I played Morrowind and although the 'level by usage' idea is Oblivion is Morrowind with hundreds of bugs fixed. The game also graphically declines, it has loads of the 'good stuff' but it doesn't use it properly leaving environments lackluster and dull. There are a few parts that have an epic 'appeal' but thats only due to the use of lighting. Now I played Morrowind and although the 'level by usage' idea is innovative... it is very broken. Removing the skill leveling part fixes many problems (Either 5 5 5 level or get screwed. Then there's the problem with spells/magical things in the game. Not only do all things magical share the same animations, but all magical abilities transpher down to alchemy and enchanting... essentally making "gear farming" worthless, or even being a mage since alchemy effects are often more powerful than what you can cast. The game has a very limited selection of voices... most annoying is when I hear barius' voice. Now I don't care if a few civies share the same voice... but don't EVER use the same voice as a main story thingy. There are a few other problems (voices not matching with characters for one) with voices, but there are more pressing issues... like the limited interaction with the environment. use of physics without any USE of them. (Like dropping crates on enemies) infact, physics serves no use except to be there. Vampirism is one of the best things, but I really dislike the way it's done. Having to drink blood just to keep from 'changing' when wandering about, not beingable to sulk in dark corners durring daytime (infact, shade has no effect on health loss) The end result is Oblivion is what Morrowind 'should' have been... but not fully fixed. It's fun... for a while... till you realize that there's nothing else compelling you besides the nagging aspect of the storyline. Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    This Game is incredible the best and most addictive RPG or game i've ever played.I've played over 630 hours of it. The choices are endless, thousands of items, weapons, armor, and spells and the good physics engine make the possiblilties endless. no two characters will be the same. . the only problems are the glitches but thats fixed eaily with the free patches atThis Game is incredible the best and most addictive RPG or game i've ever played.I've played over 630 hours of it. The choices are endless, thousands of items, weapons, armor, and spells and the good physics engine make the possiblilties endless. no two characters will be the same. . the only problems are the glitches but thats fixed eaily with the free patches at elderscrolls.com. and all the plugins and expansions left me playing this game for months. It's pure gaming freedom. 11 out of 10 in my opinion. Expand
  31. iiiearsiiiears
    Sep 16, 2007
    7
    Beautiful Graphics that beg for a 7 series nvidia card. The hundreds of hours of play during many dozen missions will keep this disk installed on your machine for several weeks. Certainly worth a try. There are a couple of minor irritations one of them is the 200+ hr bug that can corrupt your inventory and the second also at around 200+ hours that will cause door and flame animations to Beautiful Graphics that beg for a 7 series nvidia card. The hundreds of hours of play during many dozen missions will keep this disk installed on your machine for several weeks. Certainly worth a try. There are a couple of minor irritations one of them is the 200+ hr bug that can corrupt your inventory and the second also at around 200+ hours that will cause door and flame animations to slow down. Expand
  32. ErraticCommunist
    Sep 3, 2007
    6
    Oblivion is a game that tries to hide all of its faults under the surface. It actually gained such fame only because of success of its predecessor. The leveling system, the Radiant AI, the copy/pasted locations, unoptimized engine, STILL lots of bugs, frequent crashes, mediocre PC port, unplayable classes (esp. those that have, for example, Speechcraft as their primary attribute), plus Oblivion is a game that tries to hide all of its faults under the surface. It actually gained such fame only because of success of its predecessor. The leveling system, the Radiant AI, the copy/pasted locations, unoptimized engine, STILL lots of bugs, frequent crashes, mediocre PC port, unplayable classes (esp. those that have, for example, Speechcraft as their primary attribute), plus this game demands old video card sacrifices to run properly. And it tries to hide all these flaws under pretty graphics. If TES V goes the same way, it'll be deathbashed the moment it's released. The next game after the failure gets the punches. And yet though flaws are horrible, Oblivion is still a fun game to play. There is pretty neat gameplay, but it would've been much better if not for the tons of flaws hindering it. Expand
  33. 5-HT
    Feb 2, 2008
    9
    This is a fine combination of action, RPG and FPS. The sounds are great, as are the graphics. My only complaint is the fact that the PC version is prone to crashing. The expansion packs are also great. If it ran consistently, I'd give it a solid 10. Save yourself some money in the long-run, and buy the game of the year edition.
  34. OskarS.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    This is a wonderful game with loads of options. If you get the expansions and download a few nice mods, the possibilities are almost endless! When you have learned to use the "TES 4 Mod Maker", you can modify the game in any way you like. Any RPG fans who doesn't require a multiplayer part would love this game!
  35. KC
    May 11, 2008
    10
    I wasn't an Elder Scrolls fan even for morrowind, but this is quite simply the best game I've had regardless of genre or platform I've played in a long while. the worlds and visuals are beautiful yet moderately taxing on any average system. My one and only bad, is the lack of super enemies towards the later part of the game that will allow the player to work his muscles on I wasn't an Elder Scrolls fan even for morrowind, but this is quite simply the best game I've had regardless of genre or platform I've played in a long while. the worlds and visuals are beautiful yet moderately taxing on any average system. My one and only bad, is the lack of super enemies towards the later part of the game that will allow the player to work his muscles on it. The gameplay is broad and open - the options available for the player at any point in the game makes this one strong contender for the RPG throne. Expand
  36. MalkeL.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    I have been playing games for 10 years now, and Oblivion is the only one I have ever played twice and did it for 8 months and loved every minute of it.
  37. g
    Sep 10, 2008
    2
    I can't understand all the 10/10 ratings here. Quests and caves are more interesting than that of Morrowind, but that's where the good parts end. Boring samey world, boring characters, boring story, boring combat and utterly terrible levelling system. Graphics are ok but I suspect they were toned down for actual release to run better on lower end PCs - it takes a while to edit I can't understand all the 10/10 ratings here. Quests and caves are more interesting than that of Morrowind, but that's where the good parts end. Boring samey world, boring characters, boring story, boring combat and utterly terrible levelling system. Graphics are ok but I suspect they were toned down for actual release to run better on lower end PCs - it takes a while to edit the various files and install mods to get it looking great again. Radiant AI is hilariously broken and basically offers the only entertainment this game has to offer, apart from maybe the Dark Brotherhood missions. It's bizarre that they hired Patrick Stewart and Sean Bean to do voices (although both are underused and mostly uninteresting) then hired about three more to do every other voice in the game. Despite all the assurances I'm pretty sure Fallout 3 is gonna end up a massive disappointment for pretty much the same reasons - Bethesda just haven't a clue on how to make a truly engaging and interesting RPG. Expand
  38. AnonymousMC
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    I rofled when I read the comment and it said whats the point of buying horse. Well the point of buying horse is that u can fastly travel in wilderness where u cant fast travel...but I do admit that there could be more voice actors. But really someone really play game because it has cool voice actors?
  39. GordonP
    Jun 18, 2009
    1
    Worst RPG I ever played. Nice scenery, but....: 1) Huge motivation killer: All enemies are leveling up with you. So you dont have a motivation to level up and improve your character, in order to be able to travel to more diffiult regions, to fight more difficult enemies. => Even the opposite happens: In reality you you are relatively leveling DOWN with each level-"up" you gain, because Worst RPG I ever played. Nice scenery, but....: 1) Huge motivation killer: All enemies are leveling up with you. So you dont have a motivation to level up and improve your character, in order to be able to travel to more diffiult regions, to fight more difficult enemies. => Even the opposite happens: In reality you you are relatively leveling DOWN with each level-"up" you gain, because the monsters are better leveling-up than you (unless you are very very carefull, that you are leveling up only very very slowly). This is the most stupid motivation killing concept you could ever image. To be successfull in this game, you have to think extensive about the leveling-system and rouls. And thats definitely not what I want. If I like such stuff, then I go buying a strategy game. Because of this game mechanic I can not give more than two stars. 2) Small motivation killer for me:: A allways accessible difficulty slider in the game. Instead that improving your character is the only possibility to have a chance against very strong enemies, with that slider you can kill from the first second on the strongest enemies. Of course, I dont have to use this slider - but anyway, I dont like its presence. I like the old games, which were hard and with only one difficult-setting. So you know exactly what you have to do, if you want to succeed. No pain, no gain :-) For this difficulty-slider 1 point discount. Thats why I give a 1 . Expand
  40. ET
    Jun 9, 2009
    5
    I don't know why people love this game so much. The only good thing about it seems to be nice scenery. That's it. If you like green meadows, hellish landscape, and dungeons, buy this game. Mabye a few fun quests here and there too. They're rare. The copy-paste scenery, along with the copy paste weapons effects, along with the scaling level system and fast travel effectively I don't know why people love this game so much. The only good thing about it seems to be nice scenery. That's it. If you like green meadows, hellish landscape, and dungeons, buy this game. Mabye a few fun quests here and there too. They're rare. The copy-paste scenery, along with the copy paste weapons effects, along with the scaling level system and fast travel effectively means you're just playing the same 5 minutes of the game over and over again. All the spells of the same class look exactly the same. The realisim is completely borked too. What, throw a physics engine in and you get to call it realistic these days? You can fire 20 arrows into a guy's head and he'll lose 1/2 his health. Hrm, mabye make the arrows bounce off instead based on armor class? Or decrease their accuracy/power based on skill? No, let's just make them do less damage. Kudos, Bethesda. Expand
  41. TheChosenOne
    Jan 15, 2010
    6
    Lets get one thing straight; Oblivion has clearly been dumbed down for the consoles, and IS easily inferior in every way but graphics to its predeccessors. The plot is simple, dull, repetetive and stinks of a certain well-known film Franchise down to the voice actors, most of the loot is randomised(so stupid its hard to believe), most NPC's have 5 dialog options at best, and the Lets get one thing straight; Oblivion has clearly been dumbed down for the consoles, and IS easily inferior in every way but graphics to its predeccessors. The plot is simple, dull, repetetive and stinks of a certain well-known film Franchise down to the voice actors, most of the loot is randomised(so stupid its hard to believe), most NPC's have 5 dialog options at best, and the combat has been reduced to the depth of a Turded Salt Ayre. The most annoying thing though by far, is the content thats been removed. An RPG without Spears? Come on Bethesda, theres no excuse, its pathetic. Another brilliant series down the drain because of console gamers inert brains. Great. Expand
  42. DaveO.
    Oct 1, 2006
    5
    I'm wasting little time here with more commentary on the game itself. It's already been done to death, dug up, and flogged repeatedly from every possible angle and point of game design philosphy that could be imagined. Clearly, under the light of any form of truly objective scrutiny, Oblivion (for the PC at least) is at best an average RPG. What has truly amazed and disappointed I'm wasting little time here with more commentary on the game itself. It's already been done to death, dug up, and flogged repeatedly from every possible angle and point of game design philosphy that could be imagined. Clearly, under the light of any form of truly objective scrutiny, Oblivion (for the PC at least) is at best an average RPG. What has truly amazed and disappointed me is the rabid fanboi-ism displayed by some of professional gaming press prior to, upon, and shortly after its release. I bought it, based on my experience with Morrowind, and partly because of the hype, and was bitterly dissapointed. I also happen to work in a large tech call centre (+150 people) mostly populated by insane gaming nutcases, (love 'em) and they have also largely panned this game. (and yes, I do have a VERY high-end PC, I am one of those gaming nutcases) Jebus guys, there is even one review in this list that spends most of it's time crying over the faults, and still comes up with a....90%! Get real, and respect your gaming public. Expand
  43. AmberD.
    Oct 1, 2006
    7
    Despite this plot being a mockery of the one before it (The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind), it is an amazing game. Graphics are astounding, when at their highest. I am aware that the system requirements for this game are, to be blunt about such matters, bullshit. On a 2gb Intel processor, you will not be able to run this game. At the least, I recommend a 3.7 Athlon. I am running it at Despite this plot being a mockery of the one before it (The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind), it is an amazing game. Graphics are astounding, when at their highest. I am aware that the system requirements for this game are, to be blunt about such matters, bullshit. On a 2gb Intel processor, you will not be able to run this game. At the least, I recommend a 3.7 Athlon. I am running it at GeForce 7300 LE 512 meg graphics, of course, so you can understand that I am biased to the graphics because I can have it at highest settings Expand
  44. RobC.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    The trees in this game look realer than the trees in my backyard.
  45. Brian
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    The only complaint I've had with Oblivion is the texturing at a small distance is very low-quality, which makes you wince. Once you overlook that, however, the game is incredibly gorgeous, the combat is incredibly fun, it's incredibly deep, the music and sound effects (especially the arrow sounds changing depending on what type of surface it hits) are spectacular... incredible The only complaint I've had with Oblivion is the texturing at a small distance is very low-quality, which makes you wince. Once you overlook that, however, the game is incredibly gorgeous, the combat is incredibly fun, it's incredibly deep, the music and sound effects (especially the arrow sounds changing depending on what type of surface it hits) are spectacular... incredible game. Buy it. Expand
  46. Jeremy
    Mar 22, 2006
    7
    The economy is still broken. A vendor selling items costing as much as 5000gp only has 1000gp cash on-hand? How does that make sense? I stopped playing Morrowind when I found loot that could not be sold anywhere in the universe. Idiotic.
  47. Cactus
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    Aelius makes a good point about the production values with some of the voices, but most of this game is grat and the gameplay is excellent, with massive regions, on-the-fly loading acrosss large maps, and amazingly fun and detailed combat. Even better, it's running fine on my 9800pro with some pretty nice graphics, though certainly not as pretty as say the XBOX 360 version. Aelius makes a good point about the production values with some of the voices, but most of this game is grat and the gameplay is excellent, with massive regions, on-the-fly loading acrosss large maps, and amazingly fun and detailed combat. Even better, it's running fine on my 9800pro with some pretty nice graphics, though certainly not as pretty as say the XBOX 360 version. Definately work a pick up. Expand
  48. TimN.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    This looks like one of those games that make a change in game history. Best aspects are the radient AI, physics engine, horse mounts and a cool thief system, other then that the content will let you play for hours, if you do manage to run out you can use the conrstuction set or download other people's mods. If you love RPGs then this is for you.
  49. HarryR.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Excellent rpg. Does everything it promises, looks good, and redefines the rpg genre. Be warned though, you'll lose a lot of time while playing.
  50. Darkside
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    its so cool it is way cooler then morrowind and that stole alot of my life i can see that this one will steal even more of my liife and i have only played it for a day. Aelius S. has no clue on what he is talking about. this game is exelent in every way and should not be compared to doom 3 which cant be compared to it becuse oblivion is better then that game.
  51. JamieS.
    Mar 23, 2006
    8
    Oblivion is a great game. If you like RPG's, you HAVE to buy this game. But there are some bad points too. First the good: The world is huge and interesting. The trees, grass, water and geometry are interesting. The menu systems/inventory management works well. I'm looking forward to playing it for a long time. It's a quantum leap graphically over any RPG around currently. Oblivion is a great game. If you like RPG's, you HAVE to buy this game. But there are some bad points too. First the good: The world is huge and interesting. The trees, grass, water and geometry are interesting. The menu systems/inventory management works well. I'm looking forward to playing it for a long time. It's a quantum leap graphically over any RPG around currently. Now the bad: They cheated us. The game-review screenshots you saw are NOT WHAT THE GAME LOOKS LIKE. I have an XFX 7800 GS card. I pumped all the settings up to max, all the view distances up to max. And it still doesn't look like the review screenshots. In the reviews, the world view scales beautifully, textured as far as the eye can see, and grassed and planted too. But in the real game, the only thing you can see in the distance are trees and general geometry. Grass and even ground textures disappear and are replaced by what looks like blurry green muck. ANd you know how they boasted in the video preview about the markers that appear on the map to show you places of interest? Well ,the truth is, they HAD to put them in - because buildings disappear at such a short distance that, looking across river to a hillside where a building is supposed to be (no more than 100 meters away!) --- it's invisible! Completely missing! THAT'S the real reason for the map "markers". Basically, it looks like what they tried to do - and what they showed us in the video previews - just isn't possible on todays hardware (And I've got a fairly modern system; I bought the video crd 3 weeks ago for oblivion). The problem is, they seem to be guilty of what a lot of game makers do these days - showing impossibly beautiful screeen shots to capture our interest, only to present us with a downgraded actual game experience later on (Oh yeah - whatever happenedto the shadows??? Check the first dungeon to see what I mean!!) Don;t let my review put you off. It's stilla GREAT game any ROG lover must have. But for god's sake guys, stop cheating us in the previews with graphcis that don;t match the final product. (SOny did this with PS2, AOE 3 did this, and so did many others. WOnder what gothic 3 will REALLY look like compared to it's beautyiful screenshots?) Expand
  52. [Anonymous]
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Brilliant! The landscapes are stunning. It does for gaming what Lord of the Rings ddid for films.
  53. EricW.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    More than a video game, it is an alternate world to lose yourself in. Worth the price of the game just for the books and lore in the game, and that is just one small part of the whole.
  54. JamesD.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    Morrowind was one of my favorite games... Oblivion improves on it in every single way exept one! The awsome leveling system from Morrowind returns. Alchemy is a joy to perform. I have a top of the line gaming PC, and I would say it is absolutely the best looking game ever, the Oblivion Gates are the best effect I've seen in a game. The fighting system is more fun than oblivion, and Morrowind was one of my favorite games... Oblivion improves on it in every single way exept one! The awsome leveling system from Morrowind returns. Alchemy is a joy to perform. I have a top of the line gaming PC, and I would say it is absolutely the best looking game ever, the Oblivion Gates are the best effect I've seen in a game. The fighting system is more fun than oblivion, and magic is lots of fun. The new journaling system makes figuring out what to do on a quest after a long break easy. No complaints except: 9 instead of 10 because the menu system is perhaps the worst menu system ever on a Windows XP game. At level 20 you have 50 spells to cast, but you have to scroll through them 7 at a time with only 8 hot keys. Swapping dagger for a bow is tedious (my hot keys are used up for magic already). Basically, the menu interface of Oblivion is terrible, but at least the game pauses while you suffer thru the 1980's console reject screens. The interface is so bad I would have given the game a 5 my first couple days playing... but I've gotten used to it. Expand
  55. AaronF.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    It brings even the most expensive machines to their knees, requires a bit of tweaking to look its best, and isn't without a few balancing issues. But the beauty and immersion that it provides is unequaled in video games. Hands down the best looking game I have ever experienced. And with a healthy mod community busy balancing and improving the game, it will only get better in time. It brings even the most expensive machines to their knees, requires a bit of tweaking to look its best, and isn't without a few balancing issues. But the beauty and immersion that it provides is unequaled in video games. Hands down the best looking game I have ever experienced. And with a healthy mod community busy balancing and improving the game, it will only get better in time. Definitely worth it. Expand
  56. patchman
    Mar 28, 2006
    5
    i will agree with all the other reviews that this is a great looking game BUT there are some serious issues regarding stability on some PCs. 60% of will play this game with no issues but the other 40% of us are have some mojor crashing problems that just makes the game unplayable. check out the various forums for this game to find out how bad these bugs are, untill oblivion is patched upi will agree with all the other reviews that this is a great looking game BUT there are some serious issues regarding stability on some PCs. 60% of will play this game with no issues but the other 40% of us are have some mojor crashing problems that just makes the game unplayable. check out the various forums for this game to find out how bad these bugs are, untill oblivion is patched up correctly with a proper patch then i can only give this game a 5/10 and thats being generious for a game that i am unable to play. Expand
  57. Keith
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    This game was awesome - so realistic - best RPG in years.
  58. CHRC.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Intelligent, epic and just down right fun. Looks great, sounds great. Oblivion gives you a sandbox world to do basically whatever you like.
  59. MatthieuR.
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    Do you remember what the biggest complaint was about Morrowind? Yep, that's right, everyone whined about how the game was "broken" because once you reached a certain level, you could kill anything in one hit. Well, they fixed that in Oblivion, and now everyone is whining about the fact that characters challenge you no matter what your level is... This is a great game, and if you Do you remember what the biggest complaint was about Morrowind? Yep, that's right, everyone whined about how the game was "broken" because once you reached a certain level, you could kill anything in one hit. Well, they fixed that in Oblivion, and now everyone is whining about the fact that characters challenge you no matter what your level is... This is a great game, and if you don't like the leveling of difficulty, you can always use cheats :) Expand
  60. megatron
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    its one of the best prg that i ever saw,in my life and i have seen a lot..played the morrowind,it took me a lot of time which i wont regret on neglecting other real time expieriences,something that i ll probably do with oblivion also..great game...Also something to mention to giancarlo b,and all other pc fan boys;maybe if u looked at the xbox360 version on a 52" something monitor u wouldits one of the best prg that i ever saw,in my life and i have seen a lot..played the morrowind,it took me a lot of time which i wont regret on neglecting other real time expieriences,something that i ll probably do with oblivion also..great game...Also something to mention to giancarlo b,and all other pc fan boys;maybe if u looked at the xbox360 version on a 52" something monitor u would nt be happy with the result....i trashed my friends pc version,with no antialising and hdr at the same time running has at 1024*768....on 6800 ultra,with newst drivers,2gigabyte ram and amd anything at full,(sorryyyyyy!!!)playing my xbox version on my 1600*1200 pc monitor at 1280 p wtih a component 2 vga transoder....my mate is still gathering the pieces of his jaw from the ground....and he version was at least choppy,(the horse ride,.....yuk...)As for the controls,i can still beat most of pc wannabe either mouse,or joypad...if you practice it will come....and i come clean at both(although i still b lieve that mouse key +fps,are currntly the best combination) ....just 2 set somethings straight....and 4 the record,try not compering cheap tv or oversyzed set ups with a smaller pc monitor,cause u would b surpised how auful a good image shows at three to 4 times bigger screen..now matter the resolution...try hooking up the pc on a 36 or bigger monitor with the same resolution and u ll see what i mean...support games,not tech specs.. Expand
  61. MichaelL.
    Apr 20, 2006
    8
    Oblivion Elder Scrolls is the best RPG to date. It is brilliant but it is not the next-gen RPG we were expecting. Graphics are superb but once again I think that screenshots were slightly misleading and the graphics were not as good as expected. Don't get me wrong I love this game and have not been able to stop playing it. You never get bored as the game provides so much freedom, so Oblivion Elder Scrolls is the best RPG to date. It is brilliant but it is not the next-gen RPG we were expecting. Graphics are superb but once again I think that screenshots were slightly misleading and the graphics were not as good as expected. Don't get me wrong I love this game and have not been able to stop playing it. You never get bored as the game provides so much freedom, so much so that it's actually overwhelming. There are irritating bugs and glitches in the game e.g. finding the mouse arrow to "close" lock picking, but they aren't enough of a problem to put the game down. Oblivion: Elder Scrolls has set a higher standard for RPG's and games of the future and I think that Bethesda has done a great job! Expand
  62. NickK.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    I have been playing this game for "only" 30 hours so far and have only seen a small part of the game, but it is one of the best games I've ever played. I would have completed 3 games in this time and I'm still on the first part of the main quest so Oblivion is fantastic value for money. I have a relatively low end graphics card (Radeon X1300) but the frame rate is fine even with I have been playing this game for "only" 30 hours so far and have only seen a small part of the game, but it is one of the best games I've ever played. I would have completed 3 games in this time and I'm still on the first part of the main quest so Oblivion is fantastic value for money. I have a relatively low end graphics card (Radeon X1300) but the frame rate is fine even with HDR and other effects turned on. There are hundreds of user created add-ons already available on gamespot.com and other game sites which expand the game and improve the graphics even further and add extra items to find. The only bad thing about the game is the very occasional crashes after playing for a long time, but the game autosaves every time you go to a new location so I've only ever had to repeat a few minutes worth of gameplay. Hopefully a patch to fix this will be available soon. Otherwise I would highly recommend this game, even for people like me that have never played an RPG before. Expand
  63. DeathKnight
    Apr 2, 2006
    9
    I hated morrowind but this game is AWESOME. I would have given it a 10 but the graphics engine sucks(at least for me. I have 6600GT). I can run farcry with all settings high and game runs extremely smooth but even with all settings set to minimum oblivion still stutters. Other than that the game is perfact a must have rpg fans.
  64. JoeK.
    May 21, 2006
    7
    GREAT GAME!
  65. B.W.
    May 25, 2006
    7
    There is so much wrong with this game: Crash bugs galore, awful scaling difficulty system (it's harder now at lv35 than it was when i was lv1), the leveling up system is flawed, the same spell effects STACK if cast from different spells. The game is great until all of this stuff gets under your skin.
  66. JordanM.
    May 26, 2006
    8
    This game is top-notch in its immersion and inter-personal depth. Unfortunately, it suffers from mayn quality-of-life issues and combat which starts as thrilling but quickly becomes stale as you become accustomed to it. What should have been official patches have instead been provided by the mod community, which is thankfully well-supported by Bethesda's development tools. One can This game is top-notch in its immersion and inter-personal depth. Unfortunately, it suffers from mayn quality-of-life issues and combat which starts as thrilling but quickly becomes stale as you become accustomed to it. What should have been official patches have instead been provided by the mod community, which is thankfully well-supported by Bethesda's development tools. One can tell, on a low-end machine, that the visuals weren't designed to be scaled down from the ideal. Roughly speaking, the graphics settings are Very High, High, and Off (not Low... Off), and this could put off people who are low on processor speed, RAM, or video card power. In the end, this game will captivate you utterly with its charms for a week or so, bringing joys you have never before experienced or perhaps even thought possible. Then, you'll likely peter out and rarely play it ever again. But that first week is ever-so-sweet, and I still recommend it. Expand
  67. SeanK.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Even ignoring all of the stunning production and stultifyingly overwhelimg creativity involved in crafting a true fantasy, which Oblivion is, the game still impressess by having the things that make RPGs fun for me: Building your character is a joy, playing with different classes is totally unigue, but equaly enticing, and the brilliant levelled world means that EVERY mission is a Even ignoring all of the stunning production and stultifyingly overwhelimg creativity involved in crafting a true fantasy, which Oblivion is, the game still impressess by having the things that make RPGs fun for me: Building your character is a joy, playing with different classes is totally unigue, but equaly enticing, and the brilliant levelled world means that EVERY mission is a challenge. The strange criticism about everything being too easy is bizzarre because there is a difficulty slide in the menu that gives you control over how hard the levelled enemies are. Frankly, I had fun in every mission of the game that I could find. It deserves the ten I'm giving it. Expand
  68. MarkW.
    May 8, 2006
    7
    The AI is not what it is cracked up to be, get used to hearing "I saw a Mud Crab the other day" and "I hear the Fighter's Guild is looking for recrutes". It's not uncommon to beat a foe because they are to stupid to get around a rock or obsticle. As mentioned the game punishes your character for leveling up and if thats not enough dreadful things happen in your sleep (so why The AI is not what it is cracked up to be, get used to hearing "I saw a Mud Crab the other day" and "I hear the Fighter's Guild is looking for recrutes". It's not uncommon to beat a foe because they are to stupid to get around a rock or obsticle. As mentioned the game punishes your character for leveling up and if thats not enough dreadful things happen in your sleep (so why level up?). The graphics are good...but the characters look like crap. It's full of little annoying bugs like characters that have different voices each time they speak. There are also annoying balance problems, like It took about 30 min. to find 10 nimroots (rarest in the game Ha !)....It took me 4 hours to find 5 simple garlic cloves. The game crashes often enough (on a rock solid computer). The story just doesn't make sense if your trying to pay attention to it. Horses are a joke as well as the game controlls. Things that improved are: battle, travel and graphics. Everything else is worse or the same. You will probably buy this and play it and wish you had your money back after the new wears off. Expand
  69. BasS.
    Jun 6, 2006
    4
    This game dont deserve all marks,it s so boring and his predecessor is really better than this.
  70. GregE.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    One of the best RPGs in years. Stunning landscapes, detailed indoor scenes, decent AI, and a great story make this a great game. While not perfect, it is a close as a RPG has yet come.
  71. LeeT.
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    A free-form non-linear game that offers so many choices of adventuring and so many options to do the quests. I was impressed with the challenge it provided and the graphics were superb. My only complaint is with the levelling system, being too slow and it takes a long time to level up. Plus some of the monsters in the game level up with you or 3-4 levels above you making this one of the A free-form non-linear game that offers so many choices of adventuring and so many options to do the quests. I was impressed with the challenge it provided and the graphics were superb. My only complaint is with the levelling system, being too slow and it takes a long time to level up. Plus some of the monsters in the game level up with you or 3-4 levels above you making this one of the hardest games to play for non-experienced users. The storyline, the content, the extras, all account for a very remarkable game. Expand
  72. GregB.
    Jul 20, 2006
    1
    Boring, feeble control of the character. All you have to do is h the make the character jump into the air to watch him float upwards although he still appears to be standing up in the same exact position, but his body is now above the ground, and then "slowly descend back to the earth". Oh, uh oh, did you fall a bit too far without investing enough "spell points" into your JUmp attribute? Boring, feeble control of the character. All you have to do is h the make the character jump into the air to watch him float upwards although he still appears to be standing up in the same exact position, but his body is now above the ground, and then "slowly descend back to the earth". Oh, uh oh, did you fall a bit too far without investing enough "spell points" into your JUmp attribute? Oh no, did yu take damage? This has to be the most feeble game I have ever played. Completely unrealistic. Perform the same stupid looking sword swing. Lame physics. The same stupid looking enemies to defeat, few and far between. Is this thing in slow motion? Everything is so S...L....O...W. Laughable storyline about, uh-oh, don't say it.. CULTS. A completely dorky game from obviously completely dorky writers. Thank you Jim Henson for the lesson in making every NPC look like a a movie as they tell you the next boring, predictable part of the stoyline. I would have been fine reading it w/o a close up. Am I gay now? where I need to see every person up close, and why does everyone look like an old geezer? Dear lord, learn how to make a game that is not irritating. This game is nothing more than irritating. Expand
  73. DarkBrotherhood
    Jul 6, 2006
    9
    Most immersive gaming experience ever. How many other games can boast 80 - 100+ hours of playability?
  74. JakeL.
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    fantastic. i could play it for hours.. one of the best games I have ever played.
  75. SHODAN
    Nov 10, 2007
    2
    Big, blunt vapid world inhabited by simple and shallow characters. Cliche, repetitive plot with no deep or subtle meaning. The game is shiny, but the actual design is poor. Once the bloom fades it can be seen for what it really is: totally uninspiring fast food for the masses.
  76. misteritisa
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    When Morrowind came out no one would've care.But when this one came out,every eyes envied this game.Seriously who would've thought a game will be this BIG,BEAUTIFUL,and still it was not complete(user can add mod they like to the game).This one for sure is one masterpiece.People who compare this game to Dark Messiah is an absolute retard.
  77. JackF.
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    Not a deep CRPG, more like a mindless action adventure. Not a worthy successor to TES2: Daggerfall and TES3: Morrowind, in my honest opinion. The term 'dumbing down' that the fans came up with, is not far from truth.
  78. MattiM.
    May 18, 2007
    6
    CS:S Rocks.
  79. ChuckB.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    The deepest and most rewarding game I have ever played.
  80. EdS,
    Jun 29, 2007
    2
    This game is boring and clunky. The movement is slow and bouncy/floaty. You can't sell things without a stupid mercantile skill. Everything is tedious. I can't believe an online mmorpg loads and runs faster than this bloated boring game. Oblivion is terrible.
  81. RenanK.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    The best gamming experience i ever had !! Looks like you are in another world of freedom and fantasy without all the bureaucracy of normal life. Unfornately there are some people lower rating it because of morrowind, folks, please, dont compare this game to morrowind, rate this as a SINGLE game, or at least, if you compare and give it a low rating, i expect that you wont give a higher The best gamming experience i ever had !! Looks like you are in another world of freedom and fantasy without all the bureaucracy of normal life. Unfornately there are some people lower rating it because of morrowind, folks, please, dont compare this game to morrowind, rate this as a SINGLE game, or at least, if you compare and give it a low rating, i expect that you wont give a higher than 2 rating to any another game in world. Expand
  82. DanielM.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    A fine follow to morrowind. Those who expected the same experience from oblivion that they got from morrowind were expecting the wrong thing. Both games have their strong points. And both games deliver.
  83. AnonymousMC
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    After the truly outstanding Morrowind, I thought that nothing could possibly top it, but nevertheless anticipated Oblivion so much that the it was first thing I bought after an Xbox 360. After a mere 20 hours, I was hooked, and upon returning to Morrowind it just wasn't the same anymore - it couldn't compare. This is a complete and utter masterpeice, not to be missed - and forAfter the truly outstanding Morrowind, I thought that nothing could possibly top it, but nevertheless anticipated Oblivion so much that the it was first thing I bought after an Xbox 360. After a mere 20 hours, I was hooked, and upon returning to Morrowind it just wasn't the same anymore - it couldn't compare. This is a complete and utter masterpeice, not to be missed - and for some perspective, this is the first videogame I've ever rated a 10 in my life - and I'm a hardcore gamer! Expand
  84. StrikingJ.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    You people are fools complaining about difficulty. Try turning it down if you are a noob. It has a freakin' scroll bar for it under gameplay options. This game deserves a 10, none less. I would love to see this game in DirectX 10.
  85. chrisrhodes
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    i lvoe the way thestory line is set up in this gam... it bring u into the game and makes u want to keep playing... and with the exspanchion packs being sold it keep growing....there always soemthing to do.... but if u are looking for a good RPG game this is a must....

    ~Ðalis~
  86. Bruno
    Jul 14, 2007
    0
    No matter how good is everything in Oblivion. The leveling system makes this game unplayable for me. I uninstalled it 2 days after i bought it, because this is the first RPG I ever played that actually wants to stay level 1 to be strongest (setting up major skills those you never use and improve abilities only that can't level your character up -- so you basically stay lvl 1 with No matter how good is everything in Oblivion. The leveling system makes this game unplayable for me. I uninstalled it 2 days after i bought it, because this is the first RPG I ever played that actually wants to stay level 1 to be strongest (setting up major skills those you never use and improve abilities only that can't level your character up -- so you basically stay lvl 1 with maxed out abilities you use) This is extremly broken and it's a reason why there are so many 0% and 100% user scores. Expand
  87. AnonymousMC
    Jul 2, 2007
    3
    Truly a bad joke of a game. I don't think I can stand another "So, yeah - the current plot hook is [X], so you have to go to the next completely generic [cave/ruin/oblivion gate] [Y], [kill the foozles/retrieve the item [Z]/both]" quest - an this little template has basically described 75% of the quest content of Oblivion. If only the combat system was any good... Well, it's notTruly a bad joke of a game. I don't think I can stand another "So, yeah - the current plot hook is [X], so you have to go to the next completely generic [cave/ruin/oblivion gate] [Y], [kill the foozles/retrieve the item [Z]/both]" quest - an this little template has basically described 75% of the quest content of Oblivion. If only the combat system was any good... Well, it's not - think about your typical FPS, and remove all the fun and the challenge (even if, for some strange reason, you are losing you can always gulp on an unlimited number of healing potions - six every time you open your inventory, with closing and opening of it taking less than a second of game time, since the game pauses on inventory screen). Also, don't kid yourself that it's a good RPG, 'cause it has stats. They don't matter. In fact, the best thing you can do if you want to munchkinize your character is give him the exact opposite of the skills you want to use - that way you will still advance fairly quickly, but not in level. Why is this good? Well, thanks to the oh so brilliant level scaling, the world's monsters will stay in "noob mode", while you are getting more and more powerful. The downside of this is that the scaled random loot will be pretty pathetic, but given how easy it is to outclass the scaled monsters in damage dealt/damage received even with steel equipment, this doesn't matter very much.

    The game has LOTS of issues, like uninspired writing and soul destroying blandness and genericness of the towns (and ignoring previous TES lore to boot - wasn't Cyrodill supposed to be tropical jungle?), terrain and monsters, the supposedly great AI that makes the NPCs emergently admire walls (and it's pretty much all it does), the inconsistent voices of NPCs, the linearity (true, you can do a quest for most of the factions (except for those for which it was deemed you cannot - the Blackwood Company comes to mind as the most illogical of those) at any moment, the quest sequences of those factions are completely linear), the "become the head of the guild and be done with it" factor, the lack of conflict between joinable factions (it goes as far as allowing you to be the guildmaster of all) even though the death of the emperor with no known heir would be THE opportunity for power grabs, the "oh so there are Oblivion gates popping all over the place, but since they're not quest related we all ignore them", the inconsistent [Rumors]/"You are the hero of [town name]!"/[Other option]/"Who are you noob?" dialog, and the dumb minigames (I would nominate the persuasion minigame as a winner here)... I was going to finish this comment with "but I think the boring and repetitive are what killed it for me", but really, all those issues did their part in it - and there's STILL more that I don't care to describe. I'd say - avoid this game.
    Expand
  88. GeorgeG.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Oblivion is the most amazing game I have ever played. The reply value is infinite, especially thanks to its ability to be easily modified, and its astonishing modding community. I have played for about 200 hours or so, And will be playing it for a long time more. There is so much to do, so many ways to do them, so many items to collect, and well, so much to do. I only wish for a game Oblivion is the most amazing game I have ever played. The reply value is infinite, especially thanks to its ability to be easily modified, and its astonishing modding community. I have played for about 200 hours or so, And will be playing it for a long time more. There is so much to do, so many ways to do them, so many items to collect, and well, so much to do. I only wish for a game exactly like this, but multiplayer, because adventuring in Tamriel with pals would be overwhelmingly fun Expand
  89. SK
    Jul 20, 2007
    3
    Household of four RPG gamers, who had played Morrowind for years. Eagerly snagged Oblivion copies the first week. But....After two months, no one cared to continue. Put aside, with only one person (the stubborn one) finishing the Main Quest. A game that looks great for awhile (hence all the great previews by the magazines) but really doesn't have much depth, just lots of repetition. Household of four RPG gamers, who had played Morrowind for years. Eagerly snagged Oblivion copies the first week. But....After two months, no one cared to continue. Put aside, with only one person (the stubborn one) finishing the Main Quest. A game that looks great for awhile (hence all the great previews by the magazines) but really doesn't have much depth, just lots of repetition. A vapid, showy failure. Perhaps player mods will make something of this. Or the expansion packs. But no one here has loaded the game again. Expand
  90. SavvasV.
    Aug 13, 2007
    8
    I got bored after I finished the mail quest (which was too easy and too short). No more armor, weapons and skill challenges. The expancion bored me also. It hasn't reached the Morrorwind magic. They should have a look at Gothic for some good elements.
  91. MatthewS.
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    This game is very fun with tons of missions and things to do. But every once and a while you run into a bug or problem. but is still is a lot of fun and recommend it to all gamers.
  92. AnonymousMC
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    One of the best RPGs ever made if not the best. Hands down the best RPG for the 360 and i have no idea why this is not the number 1 game for it. It has countless hours of gameplay, though you can beat it in a very short time if you just do the main quest. This is the game that sold the 360 for me, if it wasnt for this I probably wouldnt have a 360 right now.
  93. ArneB.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    With mods this is one of the best games out there. Out of the box the game lacks because of some stupid features (like the leveling system which is completely retarded), however, the thousands of mods make this a fantastic game. Somewhat steep hardware requirements to enjoy all the graphical eyecandy. Recommended
  94. Cameron
    Feb 29, 2008
    7
    Why do people hate Oblivion and say things like oh theres no effort into it? Dude watch the DvD for the making of it they use a whole new constrution set not rip the old morrowind the textures are great for one of the first games on 360 so don't bag games that you don't know anything about and the leveling system is about having a balanced charcter god some people are annoying Why do people hate Oblivion and say things like oh theres no effort into it? Dude watch the DvD for the making of it they use a whole new constrution set not rip the old morrowind the textures are great for one of the first games on 360 so don't bag games that you don't know anything about and the leveling system is about having a balanced charcter god some people are annoying making games is hard work! Expand
  95. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Dispite all the criticisms of people who doesn't understand the TRUE idea of this game, people, this game is one of the best(and more creaitive) game ever made so far in the history of gaming. Deep and immersive RPG/FPS style just makes you want to come back for more and more... Beats the crap out of Halo series with dumb mindless shooting gameplay. No doubt, Trust me, Buy this game,Dispite all the criticisms of people who doesn't understand the TRUE idea of this game, people, this game is one of the best(and more creaitive) game ever made so far in the history of gaming. Deep and immersive RPG/FPS style just makes you want to come back for more and more... Beats the crap out of Halo series with dumb mindless shooting gameplay. No doubt, Trust me, Buy this game, it worth every penny of the cost. And your pretty much set as a gamer. Expand
  96. JG
    Apr 2, 2008
    2
    This game is very boring and very repetitive. Reasons below. Side Quests: Type 1) Fetch an item from dungeons. Type 2) Follow someone and watch what they're doing. Again, and again, and again. Main Quest: Must enter "Oblivion World" and fetch 'sigil stone'. Again and again and again... Levelling: Unintuitive and tedious. Bad combo. Combat: Like a first-person shooter, using This game is very boring and very repetitive. Reasons below. Side Quests: Type 1) Fetch an item from dungeons. Type 2) Follow someone and watch what they're doing. Again, and again, and again. Main Quest: Must enter "Oblivion World" and fetch 'sigil stone'. Again and again and again... Levelling: Unintuitive and tedious. Bad combo. Combat: Like a first-person shooter, using sword or spells instead of a gun. I wanted an RPG, not a shooter. Expand
  97. MichaelS.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game the sheer size and detail of it is overwhelming,errors are minor and are over shadowed by the joy of the overall experience a must have!!
  98. WTF
    Jul 11, 2008
    1
    Maybe I kill slef. I didn't really give this game that much of a chance, I admit this, but I just could not get into it. I tried so hard to enjoy it, mainly because a friend of mine said it was good, but this was to no avail. The only moment I enjoyed was creating my character, but even that seemed lacking. I apologize to the people who like this type of game, but I think I'dMaybe I kill slef. I didn't really give this game that much of a chance, I admit this, but I just could not get into it. I tried so hard to enjoy it, mainly because a friend of mine said it was good, but this was to no avail. The only moment I enjoyed was creating my character, but even that seemed lacking. I apologize to the people who like this type of game, but I think I'd rather go play in traffic. Expand
  99. Mareus
    Jul 10, 2008
    0
    I would never give any game 0/10, unless it was really completely unplayable, but Oblivion deserves it just because it is overhyped and those 10/10 scores are also very unrealistic. The game has so many flaws it cannot possibly be 10/10. Even with 16 gb of mods it is still just an average game and the success of this average game due to it's shiny graphic and hype from Bethseda can I would never give any game 0/10, unless it was really completely unplayable, but Oblivion deserves it just because it is overhyped and those 10/10 scores are also very unrealistic. The game has so many flaws it cannot possibly be 10/10. Even with 16 gb of mods it is still just an average game and the success of this average game due to it's shiny graphic and hype from Bethseda can only mean RIP for Fallout 3. Expand
  100. JohnyB.Good
    Jul 10, 2008
    0
    This 10/10 crap must be corrected for the sake of future gaming. Fallout 3.. rest in peace. *cries*
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. It’s just so damned big. That’s what you’ll say after playing Oblivion for more than an hour. Or, for that matter, 50 hours.
  2. Oblivion is by far the closest I have come to playing D&D Sunday afternoons with my friends (yes, I did that, though I’m on medication now), all wrapped up in a stunning package with tens of thousands of lines of spoken dialog and good music.
  3. 100
    I honestly have to say that I am in favour of most of the changes and I think Oblivion is an awesome achievement from Bethesda.