User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2099 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Baaj
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Prepare to give up your social life and significant others and be immersed in the world of Cyrodill! A few bugs aside, this is truly the best game out there to date. You'll need a really powerful system to get this game running at its best though.
  2. vendingmaching
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    The BEST game i have EVER played in my entire life. The caves are the best part and the graphics are awesome.
  3. RoGuE
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I have been playing this game now for over 3 years. I absolutely love it. It never gets boring, what, with all the different abilities, characters and secrets out there!! What the hell is with those poor, lifeless, cynical souls who give Oblivion a 0/10? Well, I have a message for you braindead people: This game is one of the best ever made, simply because, it's simple to play, I have been playing this game now for over 3 years. I absolutely love it. It never gets boring, what, with all the different abilities, characters and secrets out there!! What the hell is with those poor, lifeless, cynical souls who give Oblivion a 0/10? Well, I have a message for you braindead people: This game is one of the best ever made, simply because, it's simple to play, understand, and enjoy. The plot is excellent and well tied-in with the other TES titles, the combat is very diverse and can be done in many different ways, most quests are interesting and fun with great rewards, and it always has a very challenging aspect. If you have not got this game, (you poor, poor people) then I suggest succumbering to the hype and getting it as soon as possible!! Expand
  4. RyanB
    Aug 7, 2010
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Graphics are amazing, almost no lag for the amount of detail is put into everything. Vast amount of weapons, armors, AI, and quests. The weapons have outstanding amount of detail, along with the armors and such. The only real disappointment I had about this game was the short main story. But the 200+ side quests more than make up for it. If I had played Best game I've ever played. Graphics are amazing, almost no lag for the amount of detail is put into everything. Vast amount of weapons, armors, AI, and quests. The weapons have outstanding amount of detail, along with the armors and such. The only real disappointment I had about this game was the short main story. But the 200+ side quests more than make up for it. If I had played through the main quest without stopping to do side quests it maybe would have taken 4-5 hours. But, with the Shivering Isles expansion and the other expansions available for all three consoles, I've played the game for over 50 hours in total. Overall, This game is spectacular. I'd give it a 9.8 out of 10. Expand
  5. Luke
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Are you kidding me if anyone gave this game a lower score then at 10 out of 10 they r nuts its just like morowind with a major graphicall over-hall. This game actualy has a physics engine and its over 100 hrs of gameplay which means ill never finish this one just like i never finished morrowind but at least ill have the time of my life plain it
  6. J.S.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    If I could give it an 11 then I would. I would then subtract a point for Bethesda not fronting these guys some more testers. Awesome job can't wait for the patch!
  7. HerbertH.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    I give this a ten because it's worth more than 9 and a half. Now notched up 100 hours (Level 26 "Nightblade") If you are into RPG's then onlt Balders Gate II beats it. Don't want to bore people with what I've done or where i've been - but suffice to say I've played for well over 100 hours - and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thats brilliant value for money (25 quid I give this a ten because it's worth more than 9 and a half. Now notched up 100 hours (Level 26 "Nightblade") If you are into RPG's then onlt Balders Gate II beats it. Don't want to bore people with what I've done or where i've been - but suffice to say I've played for well over 100 hours - and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thats brilliant value for money (25 quid from play.com) Oooh one bit of advice, don't get the"Collectors edition" , save the moeny and get the players guide - it's written by the game designers themselves and is brilliant. Expand
  8. KonradN.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Just brilliant, crashes alot but doesnt take long to load so I dont mind. There are so many paths you can take that this game is HUGE. Also you cant do everything because for example you may kill someone who later would give you a quest so there is a huge amount of replay value in there. Also you can go anywhere at any level, this does make the leveling up a bit pointless but its great anyway.
  9. Humb1estWalker
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This game is simply sweet. You know the types of games where it's like touching your car after driving for 4 days straight and than when you touch it, it burns of your fingers. Well Oblivion is like touching a car after driving it for 4 years straight and instead of burning of your fingers off you burn your self into ashes. Buy this game now playa!
  10. PhilP.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Hands down one of the best games I have ever played. And I have been playing games since the 2D side scrolling Duke Nukem games. Not only does it offer an easy 100+ hours of gameplay, it is fun and engaging all the way through. Not only does it have the main storyline, it has like 3 guilds, the dark brotherhood, and the arena to go through that could almost be a game in themselves. Throw Hands down one of the best games I have ever played. And I have been playing games since the 2D side scrolling Duke Nukem games. Not only does it offer an easy 100+ hours of gameplay, it is fun and engaging all the way through. Not only does it have the main storyline, it has like 3 guilds, the dark brotherhood, and the arena to go through that could almost be a game in themselves. Throw in physics oriented combat, and just the sheer coolness of the world and everything you can do with it (water walking shoes rock), and this game is light years ahead of other games of this genre. Not only that, but it pulls it all together with incredible polish. I can't recommend this game enough. The only downside is that it might be too long! Some players may lose interest and have to take a break from it. But do come back, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  11. AnonymousMC
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    This Game is incredible the best and most addictive RPG or game i've ever played.I've played over 630 hours of it. The choices are endless, thousands of items, weapons, armor, and spells and the good physics engine make the possiblilties endless. no two characters will be the same. . the only problems are the glitches but thats fixed eaily with the free patches atThis Game is incredible the best and most addictive RPG or game i've ever played.I've played over 630 hours of it. The choices are endless, thousands of items, weapons, armor, and spells and the good physics engine make the possiblilties endless. no two characters will be the same. . the only problems are the glitches but thats fixed eaily with the free patches at elderscrolls.com. and all the plugins and expansions left me playing this game for months. It's pure gaming freedom. 11 out of 10 in my opinion. Expand
  12. OskarS.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    This is a wonderful game with loads of options. If you get the expansions and download a few nice mods, the possibilities are almost endless! When you have learned to use the "TES 4 Mod Maker", you can modify the game in any way you like. Any RPG fans who doesn't require a multiplayer part would love this game!
  13. KC
    May 11, 2008
    10
    I wasn't an Elder Scrolls fan even for morrowind, but this is quite simply the best game I've had regardless of genre or platform I've played in a long while. the worlds and visuals are beautiful yet moderately taxing on any average system. My one and only bad, is the lack of super enemies towards the later part of the game that will allow the player to work his muscles on I wasn't an Elder Scrolls fan even for morrowind, but this is quite simply the best game I've had regardless of genre or platform I've played in a long while. the worlds and visuals are beautiful yet moderately taxing on any average system. My one and only bad, is the lack of super enemies towards the later part of the game that will allow the player to work his muscles on it. The gameplay is broad and open - the options available for the player at any point in the game makes this one strong contender for the RPG throne. Expand
  14. MalkeL.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    I have been playing games for 10 years now, and Oblivion is the only one I have ever played twice and did it for 8 months and loved every minute of it.
  15. AnonymousMC
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    I rofled when I read the comment and it said whats the point of buying horse. Well the point of buying horse is that u can fastly travel in wilderness where u cant fast travel...but I do admit that there could be more voice actors. But really someone really play game because it has cool voice actors?
  16. RobC.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    The trees in this game look realer than the trees in my backyard.
  17. Brian
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    The only complaint I've had with Oblivion is the texturing at a small distance is very low-quality, which makes you wince. Once you overlook that, however, the game is incredibly gorgeous, the combat is incredibly fun, it's incredibly deep, the music and sound effects (especially the arrow sounds changing depending on what type of surface it hits) are spectacular... incredible The only complaint I've had with Oblivion is the texturing at a small distance is very low-quality, which makes you wince. Once you overlook that, however, the game is incredibly gorgeous, the combat is incredibly fun, it's incredibly deep, the music and sound effects (especially the arrow sounds changing depending on what type of surface it hits) are spectacular... incredible game. Buy it. Expand
  18. TimN.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    This looks like one of those games that make a change in game history. Best aspects are the radient AI, physics engine, horse mounts and a cool thief system, other then that the content will let you play for hours, if you do manage to run out you can use the conrstuction set or download other people's mods. If you love RPGs then this is for you.
  19. HarryR.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Excellent rpg. Does everything it promises, looks good, and redefines the rpg genre. Be warned though, you'll lose a lot of time while playing.
  20. Darkside
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    its so cool it is way cooler then morrowind and that stole alot of my life i can see that this one will steal even more of my liife and i have only played it for a day. Aelius S. has no clue on what he is talking about. this game is exelent in every way and should not be compared to doom 3 which cant be compared to it becuse oblivion is better then that game.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Brilliant! The landscapes are stunning. It does for gaming what Lord of the Rings ddid for films.
  22. EricW.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    More than a video game, it is an alternate world to lose yourself in. Worth the price of the game just for the books and lore in the game, and that is just one small part of the whole.
  23. AaronF.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    It brings even the most expensive machines to their knees, requires a bit of tweaking to look its best, and isn't without a few balancing issues. But the beauty and immersion that it provides is unequaled in video games. Hands down the best looking game I have ever experienced. And with a healthy mod community busy balancing and improving the game, it will only get better in time. It brings even the most expensive machines to their knees, requires a bit of tweaking to look its best, and isn't without a few balancing issues. But the beauty and immersion that it provides is unequaled in video games. Hands down the best looking game I have ever experienced. And with a healthy mod community busy balancing and improving the game, it will only get better in time. Definitely worth it. Expand
  24. Keith
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    This game was awesome - so realistic - best RPG in years.
  25. CHRC.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Intelligent, epic and just down right fun. Looks great, sounds great. Oblivion gives you a sandbox world to do basically whatever you like.
  26. MatthieuR.
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    Do you remember what the biggest complaint was about Morrowind? Yep, that's right, everyone whined about how the game was "broken" because once you reached a certain level, you could kill anything in one hit. Well, they fixed that in Oblivion, and now everyone is whining about the fact that characters challenge you no matter what your level is... This is a great game, and if you Do you remember what the biggest complaint was about Morrowind? Yep, that's right, everyone whined about how the game was "broken" because once you reached a certain level, you could kill anything in one hit. Well, they fixed that in Oblivion, and now everyone is whining about the fact that characters challenge you no matter what your level is... This is a great game, and if you don't like the leveling of difficulty, you can always use cheats :) Expand
  27. NickK.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    I have been playing this game for "only" 30 hours so far and have only seen a small part of the game, but it is one of the best games I've ever played. I would have completed 3 games in this time and I'm still on the first part of the main quest so Oblivion is fantastic value for money. I have a relatively low end graphics card (Radeon X1300) but the frame rate is fine even with I have been playing this game for "only" 30 hours so far and have only seen a small part of the game, but it is one of the best games I've ever played. I would have completed 3 games in this time and I'm still on the first part of the main quest so Oblivion is fantastic value for money. I have a relatively low end graphics card (Radeon X1300) but the frame rate is fine even with HDR and other effects turned on. There are hundreds of user created add-ons already available on gamespot.com and other game sites which expand the game and improve the graphics even further and add extra items to find. The only bad thing about the game is the very occasional crashes after playing for a long time, but the game autosaves every time you go to a new location so I've only ever had to repeat a few minutes worth of gameplay. Hopefully a patch to fix this will be available soon. Otherwise I would highly recommend this game, even for people like me that have never played an RPG before. Expand
  28. SeanK.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Even ignoring all of the stunning production and stultifyingly overwhelimg creativity involved in crafting a true fantasy, which Oblivion is, the game still impressess by having the things that make RPGs fun for me: Building your character is a joy, playing with different classes is totally unigue, but equaly enticing, and the brilliant levelled world means that EVERY mission is a Even ignoring all of the stunning production and stultifyingly overwhelimg creativity involved in crafting a true fantasy, which Oblivion is, the game still impressess by having the things that make RPGs fun for me: Building your character is a joy, playing with different classes is totally unigue, but equaly enticing, and the brilliant levelled world means that EVERY mission is a challenge. The strange criticism about everything being too easy is bizzarre because there is a difficulty slide in the menu that gives you control over how hard the levelled enemies are. Frankly, I had fun in every mission of the game that I could find. It deserves the ten I'm giving it. Expand
  29. misteritisa
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    When Morrowind came out no one would've care.But when this one came out,every eyes envied this game.Seriously who would've thought a game will be this BIG,BEAUTIFUL,and still it was not complete(user can add mod they like to the game).This one for sure is one masterpiece.People who compare this game to Dark Messiah is an absolute retard.
  30. ChuckB.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    The deepest and most rewarding game I have ever played.
  31. RenanK.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    The best gamming experience i ever had !! Looks like you are in another world of freedom and fantasy without all the bureaucracy of normal life. Unfornately there are some people lower rating it because of morrowind, folks, please, dont compare this game to morrowind, rate this as a SINGLE game, or at least, if you compare and give it a low rating, i expect that you wont give a higher The best gamming experience i ever had !! Looks like you are in another world of freedom and fantasy without all the bureaucracy of normal life. Unfornately there are some people lower rating it because of morrowind, folks, please, dont compare this game to morrowind, rate this as a SINGLE game, or at least, if you compare and give it a low rating, i expect that you wont give a higher than 2 rating to any another game in world. Expand
  32. DanielM.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    A fine follow to morrowind. Those who expected the same experience from oblivion that they got from morrowind were expecting the wrong thing. Both games have their strong points. And both games deliver.
  33. AnonymousMC
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    After the truly outstanding Morrowind, I thought that nothing could possibly top it, but nevertheless anticipated Oblivion so much that the it was first thing I bought after an Xbox 360. After a mere 20 hours, I was hooked, and upon returning to Morrowind it just wasn't the same anymore - it couldn't compare. This is a complete and utter masterpeice, not to be missed - and forAfter the truly outstanding Morrowind, I thought that nothing could possibly top it, but nevertheless anticipated Oblivion so much that the it was first thing I bought after an Xbox 360. After a mere 20 hours, I was hooked, and upon returning to Morrowind it just wasn't the same anymore - it couldn't compare. This is a complete and utter masterpeice, not to be missed - and for some perspective, this is the first videogame I've ever rated a 10 in my life - and I'm a hardcore gamer! Expand
  34. StrikingJ.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    You people are fools complaining about difficulty. Try turning it down if you are a noob. It has a freakin' scroll bar for it under gameplay options. This game deserves a 10, none less. I would love to see this game in DirectX 10.
  35. chrisrhodes
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    i lvoe the way thestory line is set up in this gam... it bring u into the game and makes u want to keep playing... and with the exspanchion packs being sold it keep growing....there always soemthing to do.... but if u are looking for a good RPG game this is a must....

    ~Ðalis~
  36. GeorgeG.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Oblivion is the most amazing game I have ever played. The reply value is infinite, especially thanks to its ability to be easily modified, and its astonishing modding community. I have played for about 200 hours or so, And will be playing it for a long time more. There is so much to do, so many ways to do them, so many items to collect, and well, so much to do. I only wish for a game Oblivion is the most amazing game I have ever played. The reply value is infinite, especially thanks to its ability to be easily modified, and its astonishing modding community. I have played for about 200 hours or so, And will be playing it for a long time more. There is so much to do, so many ways to do them, so many items to collect, and well, so much to do. I only wish for a game exactly like this, but multiplayer, because adventuring in Tamriel with pals would be overwhelmingly fun Expand
  37. AnonymousMC
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    One of the best RPGs ever made if not the best. Hands down the best RPG for the 360 and i have no idea why this is not the number 1 game for it. It has countless hours of gameplay, though you can beat it in a very short time if you just do the main quest. This is the game that sold the 360 for me, if it wasnt for this I probably wouldnt have a 360 right now.
  38. AnonymousMC
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Dispite all the criticisms of people who doesn't understand the TRUE idea of this game, people, this game is one of the best(and more creaitive) game ever made so far in the history of gaming. Deep and immersive RPG/FPS style just makes you want to come back for more and more... Beats the crap out of Halo series with dumb mindless shooting gameplay. No doubt, Trust me, Buy this game,Dispite all the criticisms of people who doesn't understand the TRUE idea of this game, people, this game is one of the best(and more creaitive) game ever made so far in the history of gaming. Deep and immersive RPG/FPS style just makes you want to come back for more and more... Beats the crap out of Halo series with dumb mindless shooting gameplay. No doubt, Trust me, Buy this game, it worth every penny of the cost. And your pretty much set as a gamer. Expand
  39. MichaelS.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game the sheer size and detail of it is overwhelming,errors are minor and are over shadowed by the joy of the overall experience a must have!!
  40. DeonM.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    This is the best RPG on offer on any console.You become immersed in this little world and once you've played for a few hours your social life is on hold- I even got my friend who hated RPGs to play this and he cant stop calling me to tell me about this and that that happened on his epic little quest(like I haven't done it myself). Officially the best RPG since Final Fantasy 10, This is the best RPG on offer on any console.You become immersed in this little world and once you've played for a few hours your social life is on hold- I even got my friend who hated RPGs to play this and he cant stop calling me to tell me about this and that that happened on his epic little quest(like I haven't done it myself). Officially the best RPG since Final Fantasy 10, fullstop. Expand
  41. AnonymousMC
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    This game is by far the best RPG to offer to those who love Magick and Enchanting storys alltho the game has somewhat of a short campain the Mods made for this game keep more coming and coming with 100's of quest's in game and countless mods being made by fans Oblivion will never get boring to those who wait and give it a chance I myself have been playing this game for 2 yearsThis game is by far the best RPG to offer to those who love Magick and Enchanting storys alltho the game has somewhat of a short campain the Mods made for this game keep more coming and coming with 100's of quest's in game and countless mods being made by fans Oblivion will never get boring to those who wait and give it a chance I myself have been playing this game for 2 years and am not bored yet instead I love that Bethesda lets modders alter the game as they want in some feeling I think Bethesda gets a chuckle outa seeing how far we can make oblivion go therefor Im giving this game a 10 Expand
  42. Kronox
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Not even gonna speak long on this game, its virtues are obvious. This is an instant classic and a must own on whatever platform you play. Anyone who thinks this is a bad game simply hasn't a clue as to what a good game is and their review is worthless.
  43. CJW
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    Definitely the one of the best, if not the best game, I have ever played. A must play for fans of RPG's, or anyone who is looking for an RPG experience that isn't hardcore. Even though there's a couple of little niggles, it still fells finished, polished, and the DLC adds so much more depth to the game.
  44. AnonymousMC
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    1. To compare it to Fallout 3, unless you really would rather just go over a repeating landscape for a few hours and kill some enlarged animals along the way, this game has more content then any of you can make up. The DLC are broken, buggy and empty, quests arent really anything worth speaking of, and there's only about 7 of them (side quests) so that should explain itself. The main1. To compare it to Fallout 3, unless you really would rather just go over a repeating landscape for a few hours and kill some enlarged animals along the way, this game has more content then any of you can make up. The DLC are broken, buggy and empty, quests arent really anything worth speaking of, and there's only about 7 of them (side quests) so that should explain itself. The main quest had it's points, that's all that game has going for it unless you play it for the guts. 2. To Morrowind fans - Oblivion is VERY sorry for being user friendly. You guys are some of the most dogmatic idiots I've ever read of. 3. Leveling system - Propose a better one, don't just complain. There are plenty of other options for it if you play on PC and are willing to use mods. 4. Combat - Same as above. It's not great, but there ARE many ways you can make it fitting to you. 5. Quests - Wow. Show me an RPG that isn't just "go get this item, kill this group/person, investigate this/that, clear out this cave". There isn't one. Rating 10 to balance out some of the ridiculous, unexplained 0's. Will it make a difference, I doubt it. At least no one with any internet-savvy will take you seriously, and just know you're the regular drama loving fool. Expand
  45. [anonymous]
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    Truly one of the greatest RPG's ever made. You can be whoever you want, do whatever you want, have whatever you want and be either good or evil. This game is truly encapsulating. An master piece which even when you have completed the game, is impossible to put down.
  46. MorganGonzales
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    This game is the most beautiful game i have ever seen, from the perfect lighting to the forests. The gameplay looks even better with the new combat system that combines all the fighting elements and the ragdoll system as well as the traps and physics for them in the dungeons. The NPCs arent just generic characters they do everything from casting spells to sleeping when they feel like it,This game is the most beautiful game i have ever seen, from the perfect lighting to the forests. The gameplay looks even better with the new combat system that combines all the fighting elements and the ragdoll system as well as the traps and physics for them in the dungeons. The NPCs arent just generic characters they do everything from casting spells to sleeping when they feel like it, they really look to embody what every rpg has tried to do. But oblivion suceeds at it. Gonna be the best game of 2005 and probably top 10 of all PC games for awhile Expand
  47. ZacharyLocklear
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    I believe that this game will be much better than the third because the graphics seem almost real from what I have seen and I like that it will have a bigger land mass than the third. I just wish that they had made it have optimal cooperative gameplay.
  48. TImmah
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Perfect, but only because that's how I made it. The game Oblivion that comes in the box that you buy is nothing similar to the game you can end up with after browsing through all the mods available. I have customized almost every aspect of the game to suit my tastes and pacticular configuration. Not to mention correct and compensate for some really bogus deisgn ideas in the standard Perfect, but only because that's how I made it. The game Oblivion that comes in the box that you buy is nothing similar to the game you can end up with after browsing through all the mods available. I have customized almost every aspect of the game to suit my tastes and pacticular configuration. Not to mention correct and compensate for some really bogus deisgn ideas in the standard game, such as how everything levels up with you. Horrid, that. 1) Most textures have been replaced with higher quality (many 4Kx4K!) ones. Landscaping, buildings, equipment and character skins. 2) Most overly complex models (such as the 80-polygon grass) have been replaced with just as pretty, but much more frame rate friendly replacements. 3) Franseco's Level Up Mod turns Oblivion into the RPG style game it isn't. By gradually introducing new monsters and making certain battles minor, or epic. Also adjsuts the rate at which skills increase. a must have for traditional D&D fans. 4) Complete econmic overhaul, including a bank and supply and demand, there are several options available. I prefer powerful items to be expensive, and common items to be cheap. 5) Special Effects such as Parallax, Darker HDR nights, improved Sky boxes and complete weather overhauls! These make Oblivion look more like the work of art is truly is. 6) Added vegetaion and bugs and cats and dogs and mice and butterflies. You can instal a whole zoo of creatures to the cities or outdoors. 7) Quests for houses, weapons, armor, I have a house in every city! Filled with mad loot, mostly junk, but some funky items such as black lights and glowing orbs! 8) The days passed by too fast, I use a time-dilation mod. 9) An incredible dimensional pocket, so you can store anything and everything in either a lush beach, or a hellgate, or a fully equipped mages tower, with every reagent growing in flower beds! 10) A mod-manager that when installed, checks your mods against each other to see if there are any problems. I currently use 45 mods, some very comprehensive, such as a complete UI reskinning and a combat behavior mod that runs every few seconds. So far, no conflicts that hinder play! Best of all, I know there are going to be more fascinating mods of things I can't imagine yet, but I will probably say, "why didn't I think of that" in the future. Oblivion is the first game that I have had more fun with the more I play it, since I can constantly adapt it to how I want to expereince that world. I'm hooked! Expand
  49. Shawn
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    A very great open world RPG. The best so far =)
  50. HarmLokesz
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    This is a very special game. Did not expect that this was possible. The AI's really have a personality and express emotion. Don''t fall in love when you are married. Just sat there an a hill and watched the stars.
    - AMD 64 3500+ , ASUS 6600GT @ 1024 x 768
    One word "Perfect".
  51. DonS.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    Excellent game! Beautiful graphics that haven't, so far, caused game performance to suffer, engaging story line, fun combat system and a pretty seamless transition between outdoor areas. I played for nine straight hours after gettijng the game late in the afternoon. Half of the time I was so busy just soaking up the ambience that I'd have to back-track and actually explore and Excellent game! Beautiful graphics that haven't, so far, caused game performance to suffer, engaging story line, fun combat system and a pretty seamless transition between outdoor areas. I played for nine straight hours after gettijng the game late in the afternoon. Half of the time I was so busy just soaking up the ambience that I'd have to back-track and actually explore and interact. If it continues to live up to this early promise, it will sit atop my list of very best games! Expand
  52. HenryT.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    I've both PC & XBox360 version and I can tell you the PC version has the better graphics and resolution by far. Other than that a similar gaming experience. I'm just hooked, 1 more day to the weekend...
  53. ShoNuff
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Even with the minor sound issue I initially had with the game, this has got to be the foremost role-playing game on the market. I was cautiously optimistic after hearing the Bethesda folks made the main story easier to follow, but after 6 hours of game play, I can tell you it is still as open-ended as ever. I haven
  54. Betawatcher
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Excellent game, 12 hours in & haven't even touched the main quest.
  55. CarlosB.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Impressive game... it is really unexpective. La polla!!! este juego es la polla!!! ya os lo podeis comprar... los graficos estan de puta madre... Vale la pena... Un gran trabajo hay en este videojuego...
  56. FrankieP.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    It's true; PC specifications will dictate the choppy factor / framerate performance of this game. THAT is the ONLY determining factor in whether you get the most out of this game or not because if you do have a top-of-the-range machine, the design, gameplay, graphics and overall immersive quality of this game will put you in gaming heaven and have you shaking your head in the sheer It's true; PC specifications will dictate the choppy factor / framerate performance of this game. THAT is the ONLY determining factor in whether you get the most out of this game or not because if you do have a top-of-the-range machine, the design, gameplay, graphics and overall immersive quality of this game will put you in gaming heaven and have you shaking your head in the sheer wonder of it all. Yes; if this were a work of art, it would be the Mona Lisa of the gaming world - no question. If you only have a 2.4ghz processor with 768MB RAM and a low-end Radeon 9600XT graphics card (as I have) then the game will have you shaking your head in sheer frustration at not having the high end machine you wish you had. Don't get me wrong, there is still lots of fun to be had playing this game on a mid-range system - it's just that I feel I am missing out on the full quality of the game. (There is a noticeable framerate situation in parts of cities and towns and choppy chop chop shenanigens when a-galloping and a-roaming around on horse.) And the actual gameplay? Top notch!! It's not the type of game where you just jump in and hack and slash at all monsters around you (like Diablo and, to a lesser extent, World of Warcraft or Neverwinter Nights or Dungeon Siege) it is a game to be slowly savoured and enjoyed at a leisurely pace. Not sure whether to play a warrior orientated, magic orientated or marksman/thief orientated character? Then play 3 separate characters with each separate trait and have them join separate guilds and see how they pan out. (Personally, I have a warrior who I have sent out roaming various dungeons, a spellcaster who is following the main quest and a marksman / thief who is currently going out to kill someone for the Dark Brotherhood.) It is definitely the type of game where patience, and possibly a good session looking at the manual, will be rewarded. Think of it as a sumptuous gourmet meal to be taken slowly and to be enjoyed with fine wine. And the gripes? Ok, here are the nitpickings: 1) I am not good with hotkeys and would personally have preferred icons to press (a la WoW) when casting spells or changing weapons. Faffing about with menus just to figure out which spell to equip or to quaff a potion is a huge pain in my buttock framed arse. 2) When I pick a dainty flower I would like for it to disappear (and for it to perhaps respawn later) cos I often get confused as to whether I have picked a flower or not. Going up to a flower and finding out that I have already picked it is an inconvenience I could do without. 3) Why no mini-map? In fact, why make the maps so tightly packed and hard to navigate overall? I dunno, I just feel that I need a wider view and fuller maps to get to know my way around. Also, it is slightly annoying to have to press a keyboard key and then move the mouse to the map button to get a map up. Well, that's it. One thing I will add before i go is for those with the not so beefy rig to run this game: try window mode! Go to options, slide all those sliders up to max, then maybe run it at around the 800X600 resolution mark and then play the game in a window - at least then you'll get a mini impression at how those lucky baskets with big ones can run the game. Expand
  57. Czar
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Wow! I am not a big RPG fan but I am really enjoying this game. I tried to like Morrowind but couldn't get into it. Oblivion has sucked me in. I Upgraded my ATI 9700 Pro to a 7800 GS and it is like a different game. Very very cool. Must buy.
  58. GiancarloB.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    ROFL i loved Aelius comparison to doom 3 and halo 2..... aelius ur an idiot how can u ever compare an Rpg to a first person shooter. i found that u saying Doom 3 is a good game is funny because if u play it again it lacks alot... such things as AI interation and a story sirious theres no story... as for halo 2.... it was the same as halo 1 not a very good game to much of a hype . unlike ROFL i loved Aelius comparison to doom 3 and halo 2..... aelius ur an idiot how can u ever compare an Rpg to a first person shooter. i found that u saying Doom 3 is a good game is funny because if u play it again it lacks alot... such things as AI interation and a story sirious theres no story... as for halo 2.... it was the same as halo 1 not a very good game to much of a hype . unlike thos 2 games this game delivered wut they said it would. for people with a bad computer or playing it on a x box 360 u guys shouldnt complain because on a computer with a bad computer u cant really run this game at all very well. also if ur running it on x box 360 graphics r not as good as they can be and controls stink sorry to say =S. Expand
  59. ParkerB.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Visceral, gripping, and fun. Astoundingly good. Amazingly entertaining.
  60. RobX.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    Easily the most alive single player RPG ever. Just the fact that most NPC wander around doing their thing makes you feel more part of a "real" world. I'm running the game on a machine that barely meets "recommended" spec and I have to turn the graphics' detail level way down to get a somewhat decent framerate, but who cares when the gameplay itself is this excellent. Thumbs up!
  61. PieterD.
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    this game is going to rock. the graphics are awsome the gameplay is one of the best in years. this is going to be one of the best RPG's in years.
  62. JasonLong
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Despite various issues, this game is awesome. From a 30+ jaded gamer, this has me pretty hooked.
  63. LawrenceL.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Best game I have ever played, and I've been playing them since "Pong" was new.
  64. SeanB.
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    A fantastic game. A high point of my CRPG life. It surpasses expectations by creating an immersive, fun, gorgeous, realistic, and hugefantasy world. This game is the pinacle of RPGs. Quests are clever and intuitive going far beyond gofor missions and kill this missions. My favorites are the Clue-like murder house and the Shadow of Hackdirt (Lovecraft) quests. Morrowind has a deeper world, A fantastic game. A high point of my CRPG life. It surpasses expectations by creating an immersive, fun, gorgeous, realistic, and hugefantasy world. This game is the pinacle of RPGs. Quests are clever and intuitive going far beyond gofor missions and kill this missions. My favorites are the Clue-like murder house and the Shadow of Hackdirt (Lovecraft) quests. Morrowind has a deeper world, but frankly lacked polish. This is a diamond of a game with hundreds of hours of game time. Expand
  65. Ty
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    Amazing.
  66. MichaelJ.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    This game is simply marvelous. The graphics are stunning and there are heaps of RPG elements. Outstandng.
  67. JacobK.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    OMG. This is deff one of the best games i have evr tryed. i played for like 3 mins and already i was hooked. I loved the begging dungoun. cant wait to play more of it.
  68. BellinoP.
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played. Hands Down!
  69. PackerL.
    May 2, 2006
    10
    WOW !! I can't believe how great this game is.
  70. AndrewN.
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    Superb game. A real life eate. Although it's not perfect the little flaws do nothing to detract from a game that is vast in scope and enjoyment. You don't even have to play the story line - I've clocked 160+ hours and still haven't touched it. The side plots are more than enough to keep you entertained.
  71. Cocidius
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    this game rocks... It's not only a huge world which looks amazing and give you (almost) total freedom; It's modding system gives you the ability to mod all those pesky little bugs away :D The only downside is that is has a tendency to crash.
  72. Exos1stWalker
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    This game is so cool. Ignore what those other bastards say Oblivion deserves a 10. Bethesda has worked bloody hard on this game. The A.I. is so next-gen. The graphics are eye candy that you're eyes won't stop staring at (if you have the right graphics card). The combat is fun but the level scaling system really ticks me off so there's no use in leveling up. Sure there bugs This game is so cool. Ignore what those other bastards say Oblivion deserves a 10. Bethesda has worked bloody hard on this game. The A.I. is so next-gen. The graphics are eye candy that you're eyes won't stop staring at (if you have the right graphics card). The combat is fun but the level scaling system really ticks me off so there's no use in leveling up. Sure there bugs some are hell some are not so hell. But thats why patches were invented. The Pc version is 5% better than the X BOX 360 one beacause you can download stuff and create your own bonus content. Some things are really anoying like how an imperial gaurd on the other side of the island all of a sudden knows that you stole a horse. But nothing is perfect buy this game now. Expand
  73. TristanEdge
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played, and I'm not overreacting; I've played plenty of RPGs (and games in general). Graphics are simply beautiful - you can stand on a mountain overlooking a town and see a huge Imperial city in the distance. Gameplay was varied and enjoyable - several styles of combat, plenty of character interaction, some fun mini-games, and a whole hostOne of the greatest games I have ever played, and I'm not overreacting; I've played plenty of RPGs (and games in general). Graphics are simply beautiful - you can stand on a mountain overlooking a town and see a huge Imperial city in the distance. Gameplay was varied and enjoyable - several styles of combat, plenty of character interaction, some fun mini-games, and a whole host of back story in the form of books, letters, newspapers, and gossip. The world is pretty damned big - coastlines, rivers and bridges, mountains, forests, towns and cities, hamlets, dungeons, caves, ancient ruins... the map has a nicely spaced out feel to it, it's not too clustered. Each individual dungeon area seems different with its own traps, monsters, scenary etc... Realistic physics were a great addition - seeing an enemy fall down a cliff can be very satisfying. Level scaling was well implemented, as your enemy's levels match your own. The various addons that Bethesda are releasing look to make this game very enjoyable for a very long time to come! You MUST buy this game!! Expand
  74. AcharneA.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    The most stand up game ever made.
  75. SebastianM.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Immersive and extensive game play makes for a great - and lasting- experience; enhanced blending visuals.
  76. MikeD.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    This is a single player for World of Warcraft. Trust me, nothing got near World of Warcraft other than this game for the single player role playing game.
  77. BenA.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Simply the best game I have ever played, beats Halo or Gears of War Hands down. Simply eye popping - mind blowing visuals, a brilliant story. A must have for ANY RPG fan. Also fear not if your computer isn't good enough to run it, there is a mod called Oldblivion that alows older/worse computers to play the game!
  78. MichealW.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, good graphics and awesome gameplay and perfect sound by the game.
  79. ChristianS.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    The graphics of this game is outstanding. the quests is intense. the bugs bring it down, but the mods stand up for that mistake. this game has many of quests. there is 100s of hours of gameplay and you can roam around and get alot of good items.
  80. DamienN.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    ABSOLUTELY SUPERB! If you haven't bought it buy it this instant you haven't a clue what your missing out on! Ticks all the right boxes (GFX, SOUND, quantity of quests) and on top of that CPT Jean Luc Picard is in it to so BUY IT!
  81. TimothyM.
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    This is really one of the most addicting games ever created. The world is huge, there are tons of quests, and there are so many variations of characters. This is not the normal type of turn based RPG. This mixes the two worlds of RPG and FPS in a beautiful almost seamless way. There are few games that I have played and been sucked into. This is one of them.
  82. ConorL.
    May 12, 2007
    10
    Totally the best game on the PC that i'v played, Its also great on the 360 everythng about the game has a very good feeling to it and the graphics for a world that big is AMAZING.
  83. NoName
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Aside from a few bugs (all of which have been bypassed by some use of the ingame console), this game is perfection. I have only ever said that about 2 other games, (final fantasy 7 and 8), and i don't give 10's out lightly. So far i've played around 70 hours of Oblivion, and i haven't been bored for a minute. I cannot say that about any other game, and i feel that Aside from a few bugs (all of which have been bypassed by some use of the ingame console), this game is perfection. I have only ever said that about 2 other games, (final fantasy 7 and 8), and i don't give 10's out lightly. So far i've played around 70 hours of Oblivion, and i haven't been bored for a minute. I cannot say that about any other game, and i feel that after 1,000 hours of questing, i would still be telling you the same thing. Definitely worth a purchase, especially now after the release of lots of official plugins and patches, and also an ever growing community, committed to expanding the game further. World of Warcraft, eat your heart out! Expand
  84. MichaelC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece. This is not a game for everyone however, you have to like exploring, finding new things, talking with the NPCs to get random quests (such as my rats are being killed by something!). To all those who just pummeled it through the main storyline and got bored, that's not what the elder scrolls are all about, there are over 400 quests in total, go and explore, do the main A masterpiece. This is not a game for everyone however, you have to like exploring, finding new things, talking with the NPCs to get random quests (such as my rats are being killed by something!). To all those who just pummeled it through the main storyline and got bored, that's not what the elder scrolls are all about, there are over 400 quests in total, go and explore, do the main quests when you are head of all the guilds, found all of the master trainers, this game is about what you want out of it. If you are going to deliberately train your characters attributes at level 1, so no levelling up, then it's your fault, if you paly the game properly it is fantastic, just because you can screw up the game, doesn't mean you have to, it is sort of like loading up chapter 12 on half life 2, activating god mode, finishing it, and then calling half life 2 crap. The landscapes are fantastic, the AI does lack in some areas, you can run back and forth against some enemies and they will miss all thier attacks, but this doesn't detract from the overall experience, if you want to play an "oh look follow the arrow" game, then Oblivion isn't for you. This game is so excellent because it is so open, if you don't take advantage of that, that's your problem, not the game's. Expand
  85. P.S.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    This game was a bit of a disappointment, considering its predecessor, but even years later, few titles could hope to compare. It sacrificed some complexity and gameplay to become more accessible for the console crowd, but overall a pretty good game.
  86. JJ
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is simply one of the best games ever made. I lost my copy and have been thinking about getting it again to play it again, because there's no other RPG available right now that even comes close to being as well-crafted, entertaining, varied or just plain sprawling; nothing currently available of its calibre. And yeah, it's a hybrid RPG/FPS. Did I mention that it's Oblivion is simply one of the best games ever made. I lost my copy and have been thinking about getting it again to play it again, because there's no other RPG available right now that even comes close to being as well-crafted, entertaining, varied or just plain sprawling; nothing currently available of its calibre. And yeah, it's a hybrid RPG/FPS. Did I mention that it's one of the best games ever made? Perhaps the best Fantasy-Adventure RPG ever made? The story is excellent, the gameplay is fun, the graphics are stunning, the gameworld is huge and there's probably 200 hours of stuff to do in it should you attempt to see everything it has to offer-- on one character, on one path; and there are, of course, multiple paths. I think I'm gonna go get it again, and pick up the expansions to boot. Expand
  87. LiZard
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    It does not deserve a 10/10 if you play Vanilla Oblivion (no mods), but with enough mods, a nice overhaul, and tweaking a few of the .init files, it becomes a great experience. SO LET ME GET THIS STRAIGHT: I THINK THAT VANILLA DESERVES A 5/10!!! but really, everyone here on Meta either hates it or loves it. I like it, but I would never play it without atleast RealSleep and Alternate It does not deserve a 10/10 if you play Vanilla Oblivion (no mods), but with enough mods, a nice overhaul, and tweaking a few of the .init files, it becomes a great experience. SO LET ME GET THIS STRAIGHT: I THINK THAT VANILLA DESERVES A 5/10!!! but really, everyone here on Meta either hates it or loves it. I like it, but I would never play it without atleast RealSleep and Alternate start, arrive by ship. REPEAT!!! OBLIVION WITHOUT MODS GETS A 5/10!! I wouldn't play it vanilla unless it was on the 360. But just cause a few people's computers can't handle it, and because of the normal, no mod version of it doesn't help matters, everyone hates it. Give it a break. Fallout 3 almost completely ripped I AM LEGEND off. It isn't that good either. Expand
  88. AlexM
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    I playing games since 1993. I played evrything from Tetris to Baldurs Gate. And i have to say this is best game ever made.Best RPG ever made , Best 3D RPG ever made , Best Graphics ever made , Best modding system ever made. Best Lore ever made. Oblivion is just Brilliant , if u didnt liked this game then u have no taste in beautiful things.
  89. StephenS.
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    I can honestly say that this is my favorite game possibly created. Amazing graphics and game play, so many possibilities of character creation and everything is reflected on what you do in the game play world. If this was Co-op there would be no other game that could compete with this...
  90. AlexB.
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game of any genre on any system I have ever played. The graphics are phenomenal. The gameplay is solid. The storylines for the main quest and each of the guilds are excellent. There are TONS of side quests that can take you tens if not hundreds of hours to complete, and they are almost all very fun and have very good plots. The world is huge and filled with caves and Easily the best game of any genre on any system I have ever played. The graphics are phenomenal. The gameplay is solid. The storylines for the main quest and each of the guilds are excellent. There are TONS of side quests that can take you tens if not hundreds of hours to complete, and they are almost all very fun and have very good plots. The world is huge and filled with caves and dungeons and forests that are all completely exlporable. And don't forget the thousands of mods that can add many more hours of gameplay. The only flaw that even comes close to ruining the gameplay is that it might be too much for lower end PCs to handle, but its simple to change the settings to make it work better. Overall, there is absolutely no reason this is not in every RPG fan's collection. Expand
  91. Jamesm
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    While it does have some issues that come inherent with go anywhere do anything games that have a vast a scope as oblivion (compared to very scripted linear progression rpg's ie jrpg's) oblivion does well as a whole rahter than a sum of it's parts. Throughout the game enemies level as well to sustain a challenge all the way through (Pro tip:complainers who want a cake walk While it does have some issues that come inherent with go anywhere do anything games that have a vast a scope as oblivion (compared to very scripted linear progression rpg's ie jrpg's) oblivion does well as a whole rahter than a sum of it's parts. Throughout the game enemies level as well to sustain a challenge all the way through (Pro tip:complainers who want a cake walk once leveled can just turn the difficulty down). Great looking graphics and artistic design with most towns having thier own building design look. It all comes together very nicely, most dungeosn look the same but these arn't usually required and you'll easily get 80 hours of game play by completing the main missions and exploring the landscape. Expand
  92. JonG.
    May 28, 2009
    10
    As I write this, Oblivion has an average user rating of 7.5. That in and of itself is an absolute travisty. This is a great game. What more do you low raters want? You want the game designers to come to your house and stand on their heads for you? An enormous amount of great content was packed into this game. Also, it has an excellent modding community that is constantly changing every As I write this, Oblivion has an average user rating of 7.5. That in and of itself is an absolute travisty. This is a great game. What more do you low raters want? You want the game designers to come to your house and stand on their heads for you? An enormous amount of great content was packed into this game. Also, it has an excellent modding community that is constantly changing every aspect of the game - keeping it fresh (for free!). You can get this game for $20 now and have $2000 worth of content after a few hours online. Expand
  93. KevinR
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    People need i grow up and stop your crying, and if you really do not like the game go play something else... its not that hard to do people, or even if you think you can do better make your own game and stop putting down a game that was made for gamers like YOU!!!
  94. JackL
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    Oblivion isn't perfect, no game is. But I think a 10/10 score is for when it ticks the all the boxes for the player and it certainly does for me. It is surely a step down from Morrowind from an RPG perspective, but I think the game makes up for it with a simplified control system from that which is found in Morrowind and blinds you with copious amounts of bloom. The dialog is Oblivion isn't perfect, no game is. But I think a 10/10 score is for when it ticks the all the boxes for the player and it certainly does for me. It is surely a step down from Morrowind from an RPG perspective, but I think the game makes up for it with a simplified control system from that which is found in Morrowind and blinds you with copious amounts of bloom. The dialog is hopeless but you have to admit that it's alot better than having to read a novel each time you inqure about something. Graphics? Good on the consoles and better on the PC even by 2009 standards. The leveling system is fine and if you don't like it then reduce the difficulty, unless you don't dare to stoop so low as to do something like that. On the whole I think Oblivion tries appeal to a wider audience but ends up alienating some fans of older TES', but is still a very good game and should be tried at least. Expand
  95. NikitaG
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    This game is arguably the best game I have ever played in my life. The graphics are amazing, there are many revolutionary features, such as the voice overs, but the thing that really won me over was the depth. I bought this game in 2006, and I still play it today. Unmodded, the game has so much content its just mind blowing, and with along with mods, this game could easily last you This game is arguably the best game I have ever played in my life. The graphics are amazing, there are many revolutionary features, such as the voice overs, but the thing that really won me over was the depth. I bought this game in 2006, and I still play it today. Unmodded, the game has so much content its just mind blowing, and with along with mods, this game could easily last you several years. I have noticed that most people either love this game, or hate it. Oblivion's nonlinear and lack of 'in your face' action makes it boring for some people. But you owe it to yourself, give it a try if you have not. Expand
  96. DavidM
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Unmodded the game became tedious with the scaling levling system and I quickly put it down. Months later I modded out the scaling and over 100 hours of play.
  97. EthanKunz
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    This is probably the best game I've ever played, and I've played them all. While it has some minor flaws in npcs, it makes up for this in almost every other way. What really added to the game for me were the mods that hardcore gamers have been coming up with. I'm still playing it!
  98. MikeM
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. In order to fully appreciate it though you must have the game for the PC. The mod community is enormous and some mod creators are awesomely talented. 10 out of 10.
  99. JacobL
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    Oblivion, is simply brilliant game! The plot line is imersive, the gameplay is thrilling, the adventuring is invigerating! When it was first released, most common computer systems had a hard time playing it. But now, with rigs that can play Crysis at 250 FPS, Oblivion's graphics system is merly a tick on ones RAM. I recomend all action/adventure gamers imediatly go to there local Oblivion, is simply brilliant game! The plot line is imersive, the gameplay is thrilling, the adventuring is invigerating! When it was first released, most common computer systems had a hard time playing it. But now, with rigs that can play Crysis at 250 FPS, Oblivion's graphics system is merly a tick on ones RAM. I recomend all action/adventure gamers imediatly go to there local game store and pick up a copy! Bravo Bethesda for creating such a wonderful game! Expand
  100. LeviA.
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Ignore the whiny little kids with poor grammar skills that rated it low. They probably played it for about 20 minutes before stopping. The game may also require somewhat of an imagination too play. I have had this game for 4 years and still haven't completed the main quest and I still play it once every week. It is the best game ever made.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. It’s just so damned big. That’s what you’ll say after playing Oblivion for more than an hour. Or, for that matter, 50 hours.
  2. Oblivion is by far the closest I have come to playing D&D Sunday afternoons with my friends (yes, I did that, though I’m on medication now), all wrapped up in a stunning package with tens of thousands of lines of spoken dialog and good music.
  3. 100
    I honestly have to say that I am in favour of most of the changes and I think Oblivion is an awesome achievement from Bethesda.