User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 272

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    Dragonborn DLC.

    Pay 20 Euro if you want an 1½ hours long main quest which is poorly done. Walk on a island that i smaller than Shivering Isles start area. Quests that require killing of NPC's without any further questions or thinking or awareness. Minigames puzzles that could be done with major brain damage. Choice-less quests that force you into roleplay as Bethesda see fit.

    Sorry
    but Bethesda have become EA and this will be the last game/DLC i will ever buy from Bethesda again, sadly. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    The new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it's time for Bethesda to focus on a new singleplayer game rather than an MMO, if that's the reason for this lackluster DLC.
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    part 5 on almost same game and to easy to kill dragons even I play hard If them should have do more changes on this "same game" maybe that should was a good beginning.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    What do we need when the whole world of Skyrim has been studied thoroughly? It's simple: new tasks and place of their performance, new enemies, new weapons, magic and shouts. Dragonborn has it all! And you can finally ride the dragon! This DLC should have all fans of Skyrim.
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    Dragonborn is an over-priced and belated effort to put a bit of interesting writing into otherwise lack-luster and stone-dull realm of Skyrim. To some extent it succeeds. There are some fun new monsters and fun new places. However the total content of this expansion is pretty limited and it would be a decent addition to the game once it finds its appropriate pricing at around $5. What Skyrim needs is not more expansions as obvious ploys by the developer to rip off its customers: Skyrim needs a major overhaul of the terrible control scheme, the lack-luster skill trees and the boring-as-hell inventory and crafting. The game remains a yawn fest and one of the most horrible mis-conceived PS2 ports ever inflicted upon PC gamers. Tod Howard needs to get an inkling of professional pride and TOTALLY REBUILD the character development system, the UI and the control scheme so that it can bring the mediocre Skyrim back to the level of Oblivion, which was so MUCH better in all these areas. The reverance and awe with which this game is reviewed by so many punters is baffling. Skyrim remains far below the standard of its predeccesor. So many gamers seem to think that the volume of mods made by guys with no connection to Bethesda somehow redeems the game and Bethesda. The mods don't redeem the game in the slightest. On the contrary: they expose just how lazy and uninspired the developers ARE with this game. If all the best parts of the games were made by modders (and they are) that reflects BADLY on Bethesda and shows what a Playstation 2 botch-job they gave us here! Yeah Dragonborn is pretty good. Too little. Too late and too far from the core weaknesses of the game. Bethesda has made a fortune from this game. They should re-invest a serious amount of that money into retooling the base engine design to make it the game it SHOULD have been on release. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    The new island of Solstheim is cool and beautiful. Lots of new quests and content in this game. Much better than Dawnguard, which I thought was pretty fun too. Let's hope Bethesda continues to make quality DLC for Skyrim like Dragonborn.
  7. Feb 18, 2013
    2
    I've loved Dawnguard, but I can't say the same about Dragonborn... unfinished, buggy, annoying and... ugly... there is no "magic" anymore, basically it ruined whole Skyrim for me. There are better free mods than this. And riding dragons? Worst experience ever... NOT RECOMMENDED!
  8. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Dragonborn adds quite a bit; weapons, armor, shouts, new enemies and retooled areas. The only criticism I can level at it is that yes, Solstheim is basically the same environment as Skyrim, and we have indeed been here before during Bloodmoon. The game manages to make up for it in many ways though, with a continuation of Solstheim's history, some unique, quest-related areas, and several easter eggs. In the end, it felt more like a homecoming than a rehash. Updated to add: I've gone through the main quest and most of the sidequests, and there's no sign of Radiant AI busywork. Every quest and location seems to have it's own specific story. That's definitely worth another point! Collapse
  9. Feb 21, 2013
    3
    I would reall love to enjoy the DLC because content-wise it´s an very nice addition to Skyrim with interesting characters and quests to stumble upon. Also, it´s a little more challenging than you might expect, which ist also a good thing. Many nice little things, but...
    The downside is however that this DLC seems very unfinished and very flawed with regard to bugs and crashes. The sheer
    number of crashes makes it impossible to enjoy let alone really play the game. Several areas to the east of the island Solstheim are practically inaccessilbe because of 100% crashes there. This refers to a fresh install with no mods on Win7 64. I would love to give this DLC a good rating, but in this state I just can´t... There´s just no excuse for such game-breaking bugs and crashes in an already rather buggy game and especially not at a price of 20€. Expand
  10. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    While i really like Skyrim and have put over 150 hours into it this DLC was somewhat bleak. The main questline was too short and too easy(was rolling on master). Too few new items and not that many new skills or functions. If there werent any mods i would probably not buy this.
  11. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    What can beat the nostalgia of Morrowind? Bethesda brings us one of the best expansions since Shivering Isles and kudos to them for it. Say what you want, this DLC has it all- new shouts, an enormous Solstheim, new armors, etc. I say you should go and get this DLC right now if you loved Skyrim. Don't listen to the haters that gave the DLC a zero, because they obviously haven't tried it out themselves. You will be drawn in as I was. Expand
  12. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Awesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and different and it brings back a lot of memories from Morrowind. There are tons of side quests (which was a good feature) and an entertaining "main" quest line. Definitely the best DLC for Skyrim thus far... I hope that Bethesda continues to make great games and DLCs. (No Horse armor please) Expand
  13. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    I am giving it a 6. I like the Morrowind-settings, the campaign is what is expected not too long, just about the size I suspected. I like how the conversations aren't as bland and basic, and I guess the armor-sword collectors will be in for a treat. Now, the negatives: 1. Bethesda still didn't fix many graphical glitches like the striped shadows problem and some other slowdowns, especially in ruins and dungeons. 2. Low resolution textures. I'm sure the XBOX and PS3 people are happy, since their machines can't handle anything more high tech than 2008, but for the PC guys- it's still a letdown. I know about the high-res rexture pack, but that isn't covering everything. The game continues to lack any improvements, such as displacement-depth effects or ambient occlusion, (google them if you don't know what I'm talking about) and various other visual effects, which have been standard for years in many other games. There are still no real location based damage system, which have been around since ....Half Life? I'm basically whacking into the air and the person front of me gets damaged, without any feel of impact or being wounded, based on where my sword strikes. 3. Animations are missing frames, sometimes there are glitches, which cause certain characters to slide around, instead of walking or running. 4. Too much useless clutter. I'm not sure what's the point of able to pick up a broom or a wooden bowl. They are useless and pointless, beside being a "detail". Why would anyone want to pick them up? And it's not just the worthless clutter, but things, that are worth gold. After a while, I can't sell anything I owe. Having hundreds of pendants, necklaces, rings etc...I can't sell them, because the merchants don't have the cash for it, and what they have for sale is useless for me. And anyway, what am I gonna do with all that gold? I'm already at 50,000 gold and I am only at level 35 and there is nothing I want to buy! It seems like what's worth something are the metals (if you do smithing) leather, and perhaps ingredients for potions. But even those will be abundant at one point and you won't need more of them. Especially if you already own the best of all the equipment you have found or crafted. I assume, that anyone, who has bought Dragonborn, have already gone to a certain level on the main land, and they aren't starting off with a low level character on the island. So, that makes many things useless, depending on how far you have gotten in Skyrim. ...And to add the fact, that most people have already downloaded dozens of mods..Dragonborn rather seems like a quick rush-through, just of the sake of seeing some new stuff. Once the uniqueness of the ash covered island with its mushrooms and armored guards wears off, it just becomes bland and boring. Perhaps modders will add more content, but you really have to be a hardcore fan to hold out too long, even if you have held out with a supply of mods since the release of Skyrim. Bethesda needs to leave this ancient graphics engine they use for over 6 years now, and start making the next sequel, and no that shouldn't be the even uglier looking MMO, or they will loose their fanbase support for good. Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Well so far Skyrim, Dawnguard, and Hearthfire have been complete disappointments. So here is a place I am familiar with. I load the game hoping for the best. I take my first step to see they have completely ruined the place I once loved. So it is off to a bad start and it isn't getting better. The main quest had FOUR quests in it and it was even worse than Skyrim or Dawnguard's storyline. Than comes flying on dragons and I don't know how such a thing could be so screwed up! I mean come on you can't even control it. How is that riding a dragon? The map was smaller than it was in Morrowind's Bloodmoon. So somehow it shrank. This feels like a worse version of the Shivering Isles I mean Dragonborn isn't even a fraction of the size. So both Dawnguard and Dragonborn have been worse copies of Oblivion's major expansions. Overall this expansion deserves a 2/10 for being lacking and dull. And by no way is it worth $20. Expand
  15. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    You can clearly see that Bethesda rushed this one out. Bad voice acting for the main character, repetitive quests and boring too. And just ruins the game with, horrible looking new armor and a shout that just completely destroys the purpose of the game. Just a huge disappointment. The only fun was Solsthiem, beautiful and wonderful music from Morrowind, but remains bad with all the flaws.
  16. May 28, 2013
    1
    When I found out that Dragonborn DLC will grant you the ability to fly dragons I went all Tom Cruise on Oprah's couch. I had always wanted to have the ability to actually fly a dragon in the sky. It was the perfect match for being Dragonborn... the new king of the dragons in Skyrim. After finishing this DLC once again I became disappointed. I had NO controls over the dragon other than to tell it to attack. If I wanted to travel I would've had to fast travel, and that's totally against my Role-playing rules. The voice acting for Miraak (The primary antagonist) was poorly done. I wish I had the option to mute this NPC and just leave the subtitles on. It's just that bad. I also stumbled across game-breaking glitches. In order for me to fix the DLC I had to download a MOD from Skyrim Nexus that did the trick. Nowhere did Bethesda ever released a patch to fix these well known issues. This clearly indicates just how little this company cares for the products that they sell to the public, and so why should I give their product a high rating when they themselves don't care? Dragonborn was rushed just like Dawnguard and Skyrim. Shame on Bethesda for ruining this potentially great game. This DLC was nowhere worth the 20 dollars. Wait for a Steam sell to purchase it. Expand
  17. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    I loved this DLC way better then the previous Cave DLC. There were a few issues I had though and the briefness of the main story was one of them. I know it is becoming harder and hard to release DLCs with sizable content these days given the level of detail needed in them but I felt that was no excuse in this case. The issue I had was with the dungeons, there simply aren't enough of them on the island and the ones that are are mostly quest based or too short to be of significance. That being said what Dragonborn doesn't deliver on quantity it does on quality, I didn't find one bug in my play through of the main quest or otherwise. Nostalgia brings me back to those Morrowind roots and reminds me how good that game was but at the same time is unique enough to not feel like a ripped off consumer. If there was any one issue that annoyed me for being overlooked it was the actual physical size of the island itself and the excessive mountains. The island is about half the physical size it was back in Morrowind and I don't remember it being quite so overrun with mountains (over half the island which makes for fairly tedious travel). Overall I think the DLC is great but not fantastic much like Morrowind itself I felt like it was missing so many pointless quests (I know this is something most people like but it bugs me that there are almost no "I want this guy dead" or "there's rats in my basement" quests.) that you just sort of do the main story and then never have to visit the place again which makes me a little sad because the island it self it really nice. In summary the DLC is worth a play through but at the same time once you are done, You're done. Don't expect more then five or six side quests. Expand
  18. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    How some gave this a "0", I don't know. Maybe these peopel have some psycological affectations that makes them only assign negative superlatives to everything? In any case, this is a very good DLC with some issues. There is a very good amount of content and about 20-30 hours of quality questing (maybe not $20 worth, but definitely good for a DLC.) The voice acting and writing are also well done. While the new enviroments are good and a welcome change from drudging through Skyrim, the atmosphere and color scheme is uncommonly drab surprising considering the setting is supposed to have more of a Morrowind feel. Some new materials and gear, but there could be more and most is paltry compared to even mediocre mods out there. All and all, a welcome addition if you're pining for quality gaming in Skyrim. Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    I found it miles better and enjoyable DLC compared to Dawnguard which I found very forced and dull at times like doing chores towards the end of it. This is worth the money if you like anything related to Elder Scrolls Skyrim game wise and lore wise.
  20. May 24, 2013
    8
    One of the best DLC i ever played. But it got some pretty bad bugs (like Miraak freeze and you devour soul of near dragon). Still there are fan made patches out that fix these bugs.
  21. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    There is so much extra content that this DLC provides, it's absolutely amazing. New weapons are amazing, armor is very unique, and there are AMAZINGLY good new abilities. The only downside to this is that the main questline is way too short and not very difficult at all.
  22. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    Awesome. DLC that satisfies both the die-hard Elder Scrolls fans with the nostalgia of Morrowind and new-comers to Skyrim with amazing features, such as dragon-riding and some interesting new shouts.
  23. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    It is not a DLC, it is an expansion. The latest expansion "Drgaonborn" takes you to a small island off of Morrowind called Solstheim. half of this island is covered in ash and the other half is like Skyrim. that makes it a very unique and fun place to explore. It adds a few sets of armor weapons, spells, and shouts. But the real highlight of this expansion is the side quests. I was able to spend 10 to 20 hours of the DLC roaming around and finding side quests to do before I even started the main quest line. The main quest line is brief. I enjoyed because it had to do with the normal main quest line in Skyrim. It great because of the dark side that it had with the black books and apocrypha. It also had a epic battle at the end with Miraak. at the end of the main quest line it added a feature that I always wanted, you can spend dragon souls on any perk in a perk tree. There is still a lot of other things that you can do that I have not mentioned. You can become a house owner in the city of Raven Rock, you can ride dragons, you can stop the ash spawn, craft stalhrim armor, you can kill where-bears, and you can fight for or against little riekling goblin things. Overall this is the best DLC/Expansion since Bethesda's shivering Isles for elder scrools IV oblivion. I you dont have it get it, this DLC/expansion is a must have. I give it a 10/10 without a doubt. Expand
  24. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    I was hooked for the duration of the main quest, but once I had killed the evil villain I realised that I had just played it so much because I wanted it to be over and done with. The dungeons were set in a hellish realm that I didn't enjoy at all, and the dragon riding was a bore. On the upside, it was fun exploring the new island and seeing weapons that I hadn't bumped into before. But upon completing the main questline, I just felt empty. It's a shame that Bethesda forgot what made Skyrim so good; a multitude of quests and a story that never really ended. Expand
  25. May 2, 2013
    8
    We all loved The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, it's great environment, exciting story, and flawless gameplay.
    Dragonborn DLC on the other side isn't as awesome as the game is, the story and the new stuff is great, like the new dimension, Apocrypha, new shouts, and new dragon races. This all makes the game more enjoyable,but the main thing is that is unbelievably short, I could finish it in 1-2
    hours, while the past DLC, DawnGuard in 1-2days, is significantly shorter, if it wasn't that short it would have been a perfect experience, but...not enough. Expand
  26. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    A very good extension that gives us back the Solstheim from Morrowind. As a Morrowind fan I loved this expansion very much It has a lot of content, new quests, powers, shouts and exploration, and a fairly large new worldspace. It's worth it.
  27. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game world is so detailed and beautiful it is amazing. Love the quests love the main story. love the DLC there is nothing wrong with this game at all! simply amazing
  28. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    I give it a meh,
    the game play was pretty normal, the new enemies are nicely textured, spooky, and veritable opponents.
    Riding a dragon was both interesting and confusing in terms that while I can soar the skies of Skyrim I can also manage to fly backwards underneath Whiterun.
    By far though my favorite part of this wasn't the adorable pygmies, flying jellyfish, or the volcano, it was
    the perk reset. I can not express how happy I was presented with this, it felt like a real burden lifted from my shoulders as I have placed many perks poorly in my first few weeks playing. Expand
  29. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    Despite a lame main quest that was way too short, Dragonborn is probably a worthwhile expansion to buy, because of the various interesting side quests and the new type of nature that Solstheim comes with. However, the expansion is buggy, to the point of being nigh on unplayable at points, and thus it's probably not worth your purchase on a console, as they ironically don't have access to the console, nor any mods. Expand
  30. Aug 14, 2014
    8
    This is excellent DLC but I'm undecided; is it great on its own merits or is it great because I'm getting severe Morrowind/Bloodmoon nostalgia from it? A lot of the easter eggs were great, and the Lovecraftian Hermaeus Mora stuff was great ... but it's still buggy, though if you want/need more Skyrim buy it without hesitation. Mod and patch immediately.
  31. May 1, 2013
    6
    It is a good add-on. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a higher score is dragon-riding. That thing is just ugly and ridiculous. I know that Bethesda is a hard-working people, trying to feed their families, but this? Any manager who made abomination like this into a game should be shot. Survivors should be shot again. Because when you make something that big and you good at it, you can't doing something just to please the fans and make just a little more money. Because it is not something interesting and creative, it is prostitution. Such decisions make a huge number of old fans to doubt you. Expand
  32. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    After a disappointing experience with Dawnguard i was worried that Dragonborn might be underwhelming, luckily Dragonborn is far better than Dawnguard and definitely adds really nicely to the base game with some fresh experiences. Dragonborns main storyline may be poorly thought out but the rest of the island of solstheim makes up for it, there are new enemies and a real morrowind vibe especially in the mainly Dunmer settlement of Raven Rock which adds some greatly appreciated variation to nordic Skyrim.

    While Dragonborn is no shivering isles its unfair to dismiss it based on that comparison, it does add some interesting quests to the game and some cool looking armour and weapons.
    Expand
  33. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Nice bought it these days and i tought it was awesome New everything, new foes, new map, new storyline, pretty better than dawnguard!! Best dlc that i have ever bought!!!
  34. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Another decent DLC for a good game: a whole large island to explore, new story line, new quests, new enemies, new locations, nice atmosphere. If you liked Skyrim you definitely need to check this out.
  35. Jan 10, 2014
    4
    This is a rubbish DLC, the main guy who you have to chase after is about as scary as pikachu. Nothing more to be said other than that clearly most of these reviewers are easily pleased.
  36. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    The ultimate DLC. Featuring a short (but exceptional) story. Featuring new music as well as music from the Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. While Solstheim is small, it is an excellent world space featuring unique landscapes. This DLC also adds the Daedric Realm of Apocrypha, which acts as linear puzzle dungeons which I always enjoyed exploring. However, it is over-priced, and some of the quests limit you to making one-response answers. I would recommend this DLC if you have played The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - Bloodmoon as you will feel a recognisable, yet still new and unique feeling of nostalgia. Many of the armours added are not as good as end-game armours, meaning that it would be ideal to play this DLC at mid-level.
    I would recommend installing the "Unofficial Dragonborn patch" if you own this on PC, as it fixes numerous bugs which may be considered game breaking.
    Expand
  37. Apr 11, 2014
    5
    I spent 250+ hours in the land of Skyrim ( and all its DLC) . The problem with the all the DLC and Skyrim as a whole it is just not memorable enough. When I think about my experiences in Dragonborn all I can think about is ash, the colour green, a talking black blob and a expanding sword that acts like a whip.
  38. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    Definitely the best of the Skyrim DLC. You get a new island to roam around on and a ton of new content to enjoy. It's still unfortunate that the quests are super generic and boring. Half of the main quest line is going through some other dimension where everything looks the same and you have to solve lame puzzles. Easily some of the worst moments of my time playing Skyrim. The rest of the DLC is basically on par with the base game except you don't have as many annoying dragon encounters to deal with. If you liked the base game, you should like this as well. Expand
  39. Aug 2, 2014
    5
    You didn't think that you were the only one, he was the first - Dragonborn! Well, so I killed that legendary Dragonborn, he didn't even survive one weekend and honestly, after all the praise for this DLC I'm left a bit disappointed the exactly same way I was on my first visit to Solstheim in Bloodmoon. After fantastic DLC that was the Dawnguard, I was hyped to return to some Morrowind roots and while some of the features such as Red Mountain in the distance, remnants of Redoran or simply the Silt Strider work very well, this all seem to me like a Bloodmoon v2.0 with Skyrim graphics. New additions such as dragon riding were especially bad and while it was still kinda ok and worth playing through for that typical TES experience and new content as a completionist, I don't think it was really necessary and I was glad it's over when I was done with it. 5/10 Expand
  40. Sep 17, 2014
    4
    Not a bad game, but awfully XBOXED. The controls are pretty dumbed down. It is made to work with a game controller, so don't bother aiming, and you only really need 2 buttons. The GUI is terrible and very basic. No stats at all, no overview of anything, everything is a single list. Everything you do is tedious.

    Every elder scrolls game before it is better (even Arena). But it is
    definitely prettier than the others.

    Its almost like an old turn based RPG where you have a pretty good story, the backdrops for combat are pretty, but the combat itself is very basic and repetitive, and no room for creativity. (And all you need is a 4-way controller and a select button).

    Some of the plentiful mods can improve the game a lot. But others will break it by destroying the last remaining challenge, or ruining the atmosphere by being silly.

    It is pretty disappointing to see the elder scrolls series becoming more of a simple XBOX platform game, than the immersive, huge and advanced RPGs it started with.
    Expand
  41. Nov 14, 2014
    0
    dlc or waste of time?? buggy dlc with boring story 0/10 P.S. I deleted it when mirak started to steal my dragon soulss :( .
  42. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    Dragonborn adds quite a bit; weapons, armor, shouts, new enemies and retooled areas. The only criticism I can level at it is that yes, Solstheim is basically the same environment as Skyrim, and we have indeed been here before during Bloodmoon. The game manages to make up for it in many ways though, with a continuation of Solstheim's history, some unique, quest-related areas, and several easter eggs. In the end, it felt more like a homecoming than a rehash. Updated to add: I've gone through the main quest and most of the sidequests, and there's no sign of Radiant AI busywork. Every quest and location seems to have it's own specific story. That's definitely worth another point! Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 30, 2013
    80
    Feels like a focused Bethesda, no longer stretched too thin in its task of crafting a world the size of Skyrim. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    88
    Despite a rather ho-hum main quest, Dragonborn is crammed with enough side quests and new stuff to be an exciting add-on.
  3. Feb 28, 2013
    75
    If you compare Dragonborn’s price on Steam to that of the original game, you’d think they’re offering you a third of Skyrim. Naturally, this isn’t the case – the island of Solstheim is not so action-packed. Yet a sandbox, even a small one, is way more enjoyable than a handful of new locations and random quests from Dawnguard.