Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary - the first Dragonborn. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    The new area could be more original but still Dragonborn itself is extremely rich and is a surprisingly dark add-on. [Jan 2013]
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    88
    Despite a rather ho-hum main quest, Dragonborn is crammed with enough side quests and new stuff to be an exciting add-on.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    87
    With new environments, enemies, and weapons, Dragonborn really delivers an expansion pack worthy of the Skyrim legacy.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    80
    Feels like a focused Bethesda, no longer stretched too thin in its task of crafting a world the size of Skyrim. [Apr 2013, p.93]
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Skyrim was such a wonderful game, and it was disappointing to see something as half-baked as Dawnguard serve as the only example of what Bethesda could offer for post-release support for this game. Dragonborn, however, is truly worthy of the Elder Scrolls name - even if it doesn't have characters casually pulling actual Elder Scrolls out of their back pockets and buying or selling them for a few thousand gold - as it adds the kind of large, epic feel you should be experiencing when playing an open-world RPG.
  6. Feb 28, 2013
    75
    If you compare Dragonborn’s price on Steam to that of the original game, you’d think they’re offering you a third of Skyrim. Naturally, this isn’t the case – the island of Solstheim is not so action-packed. Yet a sandbox, even a small one, is way more enjoyable than a handful of new locations and random quests from Dawnguard.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Awesome DLC! Though I didn't expect it to be as good as the Shivering Isles, It still was awesome. The whole new island is cool and different and it brings back a lot of memories from Morrowind. There are tons of side quests (which was a good feature) and an entertaining "main" quest line. Definitely the best DLC for Skyrim thus far... I hope that Bethesda continues to make great games and DLCs. (No Horse armor please) Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    A very good extension that gives us back the Solstheim from Morrowind. As a Morrowind fan I loved this expansion very much It has a lot of content, new quests, powers, shouts and exploration, and a fairly large new worldspace. It's worth it. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Dragonborn adds quite a bit; weapons, armor, shouts, new enemies and retooled areas. The only criticism I can level at it is that yes, Solstheim is basically the same environment as Skyrim, and we have indeed been here before during Bloodmoon. The game manages to make up for it in many ways though, with a continuation of Solstheim's history, some unique, quest-related areas, and several easter eggs. In the end, it felt more like a homecoming than a rehash. Updated to add: I've gone through the main quest and most of the sidequests, and there's no sign of Radiant AI busywork. Every quest and location seems to have it's own specific story. That's definitely worth another point! Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Another decent DLC for a good game: a whole large island to explore, new story line, new quests, new enemies, new locations, nice atmosphere. If you liked Skyrim you definitely need to check this out. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    Despite a lame main quest that was way too short, Dragonborn is probably a worthwhile expansion to buy, because of the various interesting side quests and the new type of nature that Solstheim comes with. However, the expansion is buggy, to the point of being nigh on unplayable at points, and thus it's probably not worth your purchase on a console, as they ironically don't have access to the console, nor any mods. Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    5
    I spent 250+ hours in the land of Skyrim ( and all its DLC) . The problem with the all the DLC and Skyrim as a whole it is just not memorable enough. When I think about my experiences in Dragonborn all I can think about is ash, the colour green, a talking black blob and a expanding sword that acts like a whip. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    The new shouts, the ability to reskill my character and flying dragons didn't really impress me. I think we're at an impasse here and it's time for Bethesda to focus on a new singleplayer game rather than an MMO, if that's the reason for this lackluster DLC. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews