User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8799 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2016
    8
    Well, I'm a fan of Skyrim, I have played it like 7 times(full game) but I have to be honest, the game is not perfect and has a lot of troubles. Your actions doesn't really have a impact in the game(being the lider of the companion, thieft guild, etc), the leveling sistem is BS, the variety of weapons,armors and enemies are so poor, bugs, etc etc etc.
  2. R77
    Jul 23, 2016
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time, still feels fresh and new after five years.

    The Good: - The world itself feels alive like few other games have accomplished. The depth of activities, characters, and lore makes this one of the most immersive experiences ever. - The gameplay is intuitive, and the core interfaces are all friendly to heavy customization. Nearly everything can be
    One of the greatest games of all time, still feels fresh and new after five years.

    The Good:

    - The world itself feels alive like few other games have accomplished. The depth of activities, characters, and lore makes this one of the most immersive experiences ever.
    - The gameplay is intuitive, and the core interfaces are all friendly to heavy customization. Nearly everything can be modded, and the library of mods out there is terrifyingly extensive.
    - The sounds and visuals are fantastic. Even on low system settings, the cracks in the wallpaper rarely show.
    - The freedom to play your own way is one of the hallmarks of Bethesda games, and in Skyrim you're almost immediately free to go do whatever you want.

    The Bad:

    - There are a few glitches around, but it wouldn't be Bethesda if there weren't. Compared to the recent PC editions of Fallout, though, Skyrim is relatively clean, and I only ran into one unexplained crash in over 90 hours.
    - Companion AI still leaves a lot to be desired, especially when they keep running into the path of your spells and arrows.
    - The Dawnguard DLC makes it way too easy for shopkeepers and other useful-but-not-essential townspeople to die.

    Skyrim is one of the most impressive games ever, and holds up incredibly well after half a decade.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2016
    10
    Skyrim is one of the best rpgs of all time and why you may ask,simple because it does best what many other rpgs failed to do and that is to roleplay.this game allows you to be your character and make your character into whatever you want to,if you want to make him a magician who is good at casting spells you can or make a character who knows how to kick some butt i mean who is good atSkyrim is one of the best rpgs of all time and why you may ask,simple because it does best what many other rpgs failed to do and that is to roleplay.this game allows you to be your character and make your character into whatever you want to,if you want to make him a magician who is good at casting spells you can or make a character who knows how to kick some butt i mean who is good at combat well you can anything that you want can be achieved in skyrim.i gotta be honest with you guys when i stepped out of the tutorial sectioni was absoloutely stunned by the gorgeous scenery i mean it was breathtaking no other game has made me so connected to its world as skyrim.the side content is absoloutely fantastic its creative like for example you go into a gold mine to find gold but instead you find a book you feel disappointed but if you read that book it will tell you an intresting story and a place where you can find some treasure but it doesn't end there when you go to that location you'll find an other intresting story and this is what makes it great.well many people complain about mediocre combat system well they need to give this game a chance a see through it because the other elements in this game overshadow the combat system and besides this is not an action rpg so you don't expect a good combat system from this game.well that's not even half of the features in this game but i've only played 35 hours so there is a bunch of stuff for me to do and iam not going to write everything i've discovered in fear of leaving something behind my final verdict for this masterpiece is 10/10 it really deserves it the only big problem i've had is the constant crashing Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2016
    4
    The game really is just a walking simulator with boring side quests and a cliche main quest. The combat system is awful. The sword fights are just long repeated clicks until the enemy is dead and the magic is just hold until enemy is dead. The game does look beautiful, and wandering around is pretty relaxing, but I wouldn't call this a "game". Very overrated...
  5. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    Gameplay : 8
    Graphics : 7
    Story : 7
    Sound : 7
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  6. Jul 4, 2016
    0
    This game really sucks and is really bugged!!! Don't buy it, and mods sucks are just craps and reskins!!!
    The worst game i've ever played!!! Worst game ever and you can't climb any mountain and mostly of them are just empty mountains.
  7. Jul 3, 2016
    10
    This game is just plain awesome and I can't think of many negative things about it. First of all, the graphics are still acceptable and good in 2016 which can be made even greater using mods. The gameplay is extremely fun and I don't think anyone would find themselves bored playing this masterpiece. There is always something to do, the game just refuses to end! Also, it has a fair priceThis game is just plain awesome and I can't think of many negative things about it. First of all, the graphics are still acceptable and good in 2016 which can be made even greater using mods. The gameplay is extremely fun and I don't think anyone would find themselves bored playing this masterpiece. There is always something to do, the game just refuses to end! Also, it has a fair price for that amount of content. The only negative thing I can think of about it would be paying for mods. Yeah that's a shame but I just can't understand how someone can find this game boring even without mods. I've finished the main story on PS3 years ago and I bought it for PC and I didn't feel the need to fill it with 1000+ mods even though I could. I just have 3-4 mods which add a search tab on the item menu, map etc. Nevertheless, this is still one of the best games ever without mods and I think mods just add some extra flavor which you can absolutely go without and have tons of fun hours. Expand
  8. Jun 23, 2016
    0
    this game is BS it cant be played on mac it sucks because I cant just download windows for my mac osx for free so this is 10/10 besides for the fact that it cant be used on mac
  9. Jun 14, 2016
    9
    the game is great, what i like the most is the big world and immersion in this game. for example every npc is different at each other like a real person, unlike another sandbox game that npc is just a copy paste at each other.
    the reason i dont give skyrim 10 is because of lack of the story and repetitive gameplay. Also skyrim graphic is very dull, luckily there are many mods that improve
    the game is great, what i like the most is the big world and immersion in this game. for example every npc is different at each other like a real person, unlike another sandbox game that npc is just a copy paste at each other.
    the reason i dont give skyrim 10 is because of lack of the story and repetitive gameplay. Also skyrim graphic is very dull, luckily there are many mods that improve the graphic quality in skyrim
    Expand
  10. Jun 10, 2016
    8
    I like Skyrim. I played it for hours, and I will always play it. I play on PC, so, the graphics dosn't matter. I love the musics, but the story is... flat. Here the resume of Skyrim : Hello, i'm Alduin and I come here to ate yo... WHAT THE F??! FUS RO DAH !!!!!! *credits*
    Cool, but easy. 8/10 -Metacritic
  11. Jun 7, 2016
    10
    I liked it. I mean seriously, what are you doing on here reading about this game? Go play it. Then go onto google, look up Skyrim rule 34, and then ruin your life one messed up picture at a time.
  12. Jun 4, 2016
    6
    hninhidndnihsiudhidiyndyunidnidhinduihidhhudhuddyhydhhdhydhdydhyhdhydhdyhddhyudyuhduyhdhdyuhdyhdyhdyihdhydyudhduydyhdyiyhdhdyudydhyudhdiduyhdiyhdyhudhdyudhiydhiydhyid
  13. Jun 4, 2016
    9
    For everyone that likes and want deep and atmospheric music in a Middle Ages game like this. The Story is very good and the DLC 's have a brilliant story too. Many References to older Elder Scrolls. You have mods in the Steam Workshop if you want to expend your game. It is worth buying especially today. If you play this game for real without cheats and just enjoy the game and theFor everyone that likes and want deep and atmospheric music in a Middle Ages game like this. The Story is very good and the DLC 's have a brilliant story too. Many References to older Elder Scrolls. You have mods in the Steam Workshop if you want to expend your game. It is worth buying especially today. If you play this game for real without cheats and just enjoy the game and the soundtrack you will never forget the experience you made with the game. The Soundtracks are so good, atmospheric and emotional. Brilliant game
    9/10 because of waiting for TES-6... haha
    Expand
  14. Jun 2, 2016
    10
    There is only one reason why this game in 2016 is still being played, FIVE years after it's release. -=Mods=- Yes, mods. Mods is what makes this flawed game great. Bethesda even gives you their own creation tools for you to tinker with every aspect of the game. Want something that isn't possible with the creation tools? Write a script! Install SKSE if you reach Bethesda's scripting limits.There is only one reason why this game in 2016 is still being played, FIVE years after it's release. -=Mods=- Yes, mods. Mods is what makes this flawed game great. Bethesda even gives you their own creation tools for you to tinker with every aspect of the game. Want something that isn't possible with the creation tools? Write a script! Install SKSE if you reach Bethesda's scripting limits. It has nearly an astronomical ammount of mods on the nexus (or steam). This and only this is why Skyrim deserves a perfect 10.

    Without mods, Skyrim is just a slightly above average game. Especially on day 1 it was painly obvious it was developed for consoles. It had a really incredibly terrible user interface (which was fixed by a mod eventually) and on day "2" Bethesda came with some badly needed high resolution texturepack.

    The story isn't all that extraordinary and can be played through in under 40 hours. The combat gets predictable after a while and a mod is needed to make it interesting again. The gameplay is quite fun, but the vanilla levelling system, skills and perks are flawed. The quests given throughout the game are just OK. Enemy AI doesn't make sense most of the time. Since an arrow in their face shouldn't fall under "must have the wind". And dragons making angular turns isn't also something i would call realistic.

    But, everything is fixable with mods. And because Bethesda designs the game around the ability to mod it, it deserves a perfect 10.
    Expand
  15. Jun 1, 2016
    9
    Wow.... One of the best RPG ever. Incredible beauty world and lore. Good crafting and leveling. If only missions was varied I would give 10/10. But I love this game.
  16. May 29, 2016
    5
    Overated game fixed by mods. If you look without mods it will be like this:

    1. Poor story 2. Bethesda has history with hiring worst voice actors in history of gaming. Why is that I really dont know but Skyrim is no exception. 3. Side quests mainly kill this and that. 4. No cinematic in the game at all. (Bethesda learn form CD projekt red) 5. Dialogues are joke. 6. No interaction
    Overated game fixed by mods. If you look without mods it will be like this:

    1. Poor story
    2. Bethesda has history with hiring worst voice actors in history of gaming. Why is that I really dont know but Skyrim is no exception.
    3. Side quests mainly kill this and that.
    4. No cinematic in the game at all. (Bethesda learn form CD projekt red)
    5. Dialogues are joke.
    6. No interaction with characters
    7. Very poor combat system.
    8. Not very good balanced.

    Will be 6.5 or 7/10 but Ill give 5 to lower fan base hype.

    Once again Bethesda learn from CD projekt red and witcher games.
    Expand
  17. May 25, 2016
    0
    This is very good gameplay but it has bad influence to people.
    It gives subconscious demonic messages it has names of real life demons to game gods or game humans that you
    interact with, also the name dragonborn what does it really mean, it is refering to antichrist ,who will show himself as a saviour (but the truth is that he cant even save himself),so the dragonborn ingame is the
    This is very good gameplay but it has bad influence to people.
    It gives subconscious demonic messages it has names of real life demons to game gods or game humans that you
    interact with, also the name dragonborn what does it really mean, it is refering to antichrist ,who will show himself as a saviour (but the truth is that he cant even save himself),so the dragonborn ingame is the saviour of skyrim from the dragons.
    weapons and armor that you wear and use in game have the 666 on them if you look carefully also many other demonic symbols in artfacts buildings doors everywhere ,necklaces and many other things
    its not the first time i see this in a game but i think bethesda is gone too far with it
    bethesda you could make this game the best ever ,but no you had to put all this demonic stuff in it and make us discuss with your evilness.
    I TOTALLY DONT RECOMMEND THIS GAME ESPECIALLY FOR CHILDREN UNDER 20 YEARS OLD I REGRET BUYING THIS GAME i feel ive been decieved
    heres some videos i found in youtube about this matter you should check them out
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCGnwvUBrYU
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCGnwvUBrYU
    Expand
  18. May 25, 2016
    9
    I was able to get the complete download from Amazon for a very reasonable cost, as soon as I logged in I was instantly hooked! This game is a great way to spend a few hours or less, having a virtual world to explore by your self makes you appreciate all the detail that went into the game design. Controls are a little different than online MMORGs but easy to manage. I expect that I willI was able to get the complete download from Amazon for a very reasonable cost, as soon as I logged in I was instantly hooked! This game is a great way to spend a few hours or less, having a virtual world to explore by your self makes you appreciate all the detail that went into the game design. Controls are a little different than online MMORGs but easy to manage. I expect that I will keep this and Oblivion for as long as i am able to. I gave the game less than a 10 due to the "Steam" factor, I would prefer a stand alone deal. I initially got the disk and was forced to download ALL the content anyway, a time consuming process I had hoped to avoid....I am liking Steam more now but resented being forced to use their service to play the game. Expand
  19. May 23, 2016
    9
    So Skyrim is my third favorite elder scrolls game so here are the pros and cons

    The Pros: +Perks +Dual Wielding +Better Archery +The Graphics were amazing back in 2011 +The Smithing is cool +Mods +Main Quest was cool +Tons of side and misc quests +Werewolves are back for the first time since Morrowinds Expansion Bloodmoon and they are in the main game Cons: -No Mysticism
    So Skyrim is my third favorite elder scrolls game so here are the pros and cons

    The Pros:
    +Perks
    +Dual Wielding
    +Better Archery
    +The Graphics were amazing back in 2011
    +The Smithing is cool
    +Mods
    +Main Quest was cool
    +Tons of side and misc quests
    +Werewolves are back for the first time since Morrowinds Expansion Bloodmoon and they are in the main game

    Cons:
    -No Mysticism
    -Classes are gone
    -some spells from oblivion didnt return like water walking or the unlock lock spells
    -Guild questlines are slightly worse than oblivion's guild questlines
    Expand
  20. May 16, 2016
    4
    this is just sandbox and very boring

    if your mod it its fun in begin its will welcome boring again

    story 1/10

    all dungeon are same

    4'/10 with mods
  21. May 15, 2016
    10
    10/10 Skyrim tem uma excelente historia, bons mods, cenario espetacular, sistema de combate excelente, nao vejo outro rpg para pc que possua um conjunto melhor que Skyrim.
  22. May 12, 2016
    10
    10/10 for the gameplay
    10/10 for the level of detail put into the game.
    10/10 for content and the extremely large amount of replay-ability
    10/10 for big **** statue mods
    10/10 for the best modding community
    5/10 for main story
    10/10 for side quests.
  23. May 9, 2016
    9
    An authentic jewel, full of nice gameplay, incredible story and addictive, and re-playable.
    i love this game, with all kind of mods in pc version we have hundreds of hours of fun
  24. Apr 29, 2016
    9
    "Epic" might be the word one is looking for when he tries to describe The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, but somehow, this wonderfully addictive RPG is not absolutely flawless.
  25. Apr 27, 2016
    8
    This is one of my favorite games of all time! If you for some reason haven't played this masterpiece yet, buy it now!! (believe me you won't regret it) The only reason I didn't rate this game a 10/10 is because if feels like they sacrificed some quality for (even) more quantity.
  26. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    norm nioniniuhbuyog8888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888
  27. Apr 10, 2016
    7
    For an Oblivion's successor I would wish:

    - Fighting art included, where proper striking/blocking combination is as important as character stats. - Sorcerer's battles with massive lightning effects, spanning over whole screen, casting complicated spells with some key combination found in an ancient book hidden in the last corner of an abandoned elf mine. Freedom of dressing where
    For an Oblivion's successor I would wish:

    - Fighting art included, where proper striking/blocking combination is as important as character stats.
    - Sorcerer's battles with massive lightning effects, spanning over whole screen, casting complicated spells with some key combination found in an ancient book hidden in the last corner of an abandoned elf mine.

    Freedom of dressing where player's own ideas in plate armour combinations or different armour layers can contribute to his advantage over opponents.

    Characters react to situations and are not all scripted. Not much is needed, but when right after dragon attack an old lady casually asks, if I fancy a chatter, is the mood ruined.

    Unfortunately it stayed where Oblivion ended. At least we got:

    Real sized dragons (yes they did it!!)
    Wonderful graphic ovehaul
    Expand
  28. Apr 7, 2016
    9
    This game deserves all the hype it gets. Skyrim is a massive, beautiful world with thousands of things to do.

    The quests, combat, exploration, and character customization are superb. The only flaw I can point out is the bugs, which can be frustrating from time to time, but mods can eliminate most. Bought on sale for $14. Played for 8 months, logging 371 hours. The epitome of a
    This game deserves all the hype it gets. Skyrim is a massive, beautiful world with thousands of things to do.

    The quests, combat, exploration, and character customization are superb.

    The only flaw I can point out is the bugs, which can be frustrating from time to time, but mods can eliminate most.

    Bought on sale for $14. Played for 8 months, logging 371 hours.

    The epitome of a good game.
    Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    This is what you call an open-world game. You go anywhere and do anything. As you explore the different areas, you'll see npcs doing their chores, going to bed at night, living out their day-to-day lives, wild creatures, fishes in the water, bandits, everything.. And DRAGONS!!! The world is alive!! The world is so beautiful. A truly immersive experience you wouldn't want to miss. It is aThis is what you call an open-world game. You go anywhere and do anything. As you explore the different areas, you'll see npcs doing their chores, going to bed at night, living out their day-to-day lives, wild creatures, fishes in the water, bandits, everything.. And DRAGONS!!! The world is alive!! The world is so beautiful. A truly immersive experience you wouldn't want to miss. It is a much more in depth open-world as compared to newer games like Fallout 4, or the not-so-open world games like MGSV and The Witcher 3. Play good or bad. Join the thieves guild or be an assassin with the Dark Brotherhood. Play with magic or swing your sword while running around like a crazy person. You can get married or adopt a child. It's all entirely up to you!!.

    When you are given a quest, it's up to you on how you want to approach the situation. You want to fight everyone, you can. Sneak pass and play stealth, Yup. Set up traps, go archer? Magical spell so you can feel like Harry Porter or whatever? Or you might be even lucky enough to talk your way through in some cases. All is possible. Everything rarely feels scripted or linear and It doesn't demand that you approach it the way they want you to (ie MGSV and TW3). Story and side quests are mostly well written. It requires quite a few decision making and your decisions actually do change the world. It's bizarre. Characters are well designed too. The armour, the weapons are sooo awesome. They look nice and feel nice. Crafting is so addictive. Do not leave them out when playing this game. Music is nice (though I think Oblivion has better music). You can create your own character, male or female, have different races to choose from (not forced to play as random old man). And mods!!! The mods add so much. The graphics mod will make this game better looking than games lots of newer games.

    Overall, Skyrim is a game on a different level. It's the ultimate game to date that doesn't feel outdated in terms of the gameplay. Slap on a graphics mod and you will have the ultimate package. More than 500 hours spent on this game. Best! 10 out of 10!!
    Expand
  30. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    Skyrim is a masterpiece. It's one of my favourite games of all time even 4 years after release I'm still enjoying every second I spend in Skyrim. I hated myself for just playing Skyrim on ps3 as my fun was quadrupled when I got it on the PAC, mainly because of the modding community. I'll now talk about how good Skyrim is.

    The Story The story in Skyrim isn't really talked about that much
    Skyrim is a masterpiece. It's one of my favourite games of all time even 4 years after release I'm still enjoying every second I spend in Skyrim. I hated myself for just playing Skyrim on ps3 as my fun was quadrupled when I got it on the PAC, mainly because of the modding community. I'll now talk about how good Skyrim is.

    The Story The story in Skyrim isn't really talked about that much because people tend to get side-tracked from Skyrim's story due to the huge open world of Skyrim. The plot of Skyrim is that u play as a prisoner who is about to be executed along with some other storm cloaks. However lucky for you a dragon attacks the city and kills nearly everyone in the city and destroys most of it. You and a member of the imperials escape though and the open world of Skyrim is then opened up to you. You then need to find out why the dragons are coming back and stop them. After doing a few quests you discover you are one of few people to be called a "Dragonborn" which is basically a person who slays dragons and absorb their souls. The story in my opinion is one of the let downs Skyrim has. I know I have seen this sort of plot before and it seems just boring. I didn't really care about why the dragons are coming back I just wanted to stop them. Thank god that the quests you're put on are better than the plot.

    The characters Like most Bethesda games I don't particularly think that the characters really stood out. People just seem to be people. There isn't much else to say about it I didn't really care much about people I just thought they were people going about their business. The exception is actually the playable character. I seem to like the playable character more than most of the people living in Skyrim which is saying something as the main character is the only character that isn't given a personality. The personality is forged by the player. If they want their character to be a cold hearted murderer who works for the dark brotherhood they can make them be that, they want them to be the civil protector of Skyrim they can do that as well, if you want them to settle down have a family with a wife and kids and a house you can make them do that (Well with the hearthfire DLC)

    Graphics and sfx The graphics in Skyrim are great I only wish my computer was able to handle the ultra graphics setting so I'll need to settle with high quality. However I do have a few complaints about the graphics. The graphics seem to make some parts of Skyrim particularly the snowy areas of Skyrim look rather drab and bland. I also thought they could have made the water look a bit better. In the end I decide to get mods to fix my problems so there now doesn't seem to be much to complain about graphics wise

    The sound is fantastic. Sound changes depending on the scenery you're in you can listen in on other people's conversations if you're in towns you can even get quests if you listen to the conversations.

    Enjoyment I really enjoyed my time in Skyrim and I still visit it every once in awhile. All quests seemed fun and some of the side quests seemed to have better plots than the actual main plot of Skyrim. I also seem to like the DLC plots more than the main plot of Skyrim.

    I even had fun just running around exploring all of Skyrim

    Final Verdict No matter weather you've played previous elder scrolls games before or you're not into open world games I recommend Skyrim to literally anyone I can find

    Skyrim is a must buy, even more of a one if you get a deal on it, DLCs are also worth it too however I might wait till the Hearthfire DLC has a discount on it as it doesn't add as much as the Dawnguard or Dragonborn DLCs.
    Expand
  31. Mar 21, 2016
    9
    Overall, this is the best Elder Scrolls title. There are bits of Morrowind and Oblivion that I like better, but overall Skryim wins the crown. Some people confuse streamlining with simplification, but they are different. The game is streamlined in regards to the mechanics, but it is not dumbed down or anything like that. The streamlining tightens up the game and gets rid of much of theOverall, this is the best Elder Scrolls title. There are bits of Morrowind and Oblivion that I like better, but overall Skryim wins the crown. Some people confuse streamlining with simplification, but they are different. The game is streamlined in regards to the mechanics, but it is not dumbed down or anything like that. The streamlining tightens up the game and gets rid of much of the useless grinding that is too common in many RPGs.

    This by far the most immersive TES title Bethesda has made, and with the addition of many superb mods, one can almost lose themselves in the gorgeous world.
    Expand
  32. Mar 18, 2016
    10
    will not mince words. Skyrim became one of the best modern games because a community of amazing and talented people made post release modifications. These transformed an expansive game into a full and rich experience that could be enjoyed for hundreds of hours. THEN THEY BURNED IT TO THE GROUND. NO PAID MODS. 1
  33. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Hands down my favorite game of 2011
    and 2012
    and 2013
    and 2014
    and 2015
    and 2016

    Amazing game on it's own, with an experience enhanced by DLC and Mods.
  34. Mar 10, 2016
    8
    there's dragons, swords, bows, axes, maces, sneaking, thieving, extortion, fire, ice, necromancy, skeletons, zombie warriors, shouts, mean old men, war, bandits, invisibility, high elves, dark elves, wood elves, nords, redguards, human cat men, smugglers, drugs, mad gods, AND THE CHEESE! TO DIE FOR!

    Now STOP RIGHT THERE CRIMINAL SCUM and buy this game.
  35. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    When I got this game for x-mas in 2011, I did not leave my computer for a good 3 days. I played hundreds of hours in Skyrim, and thousands with modded Skyrim.

    This is not Oblivion. This is not Morrowind. But I'll be damned if anyone can play this game without having fun. Expansions are overpriced, so get the legendary edition instead ;)
  36. Feb 29, 2016
    10
    10 simply because it dragged me in when it was released..and I never bothered with its bugs or bad ai or some poor graphics some people said...I only can remember me playing the game for 2 weeks making a score of 155 hours played..Same as morrowind did back then (althought I was much younger to understand what I was playing)..I could say its one of the best games

    In the negatives id put
    10 simply because it dragged me in when it was released..and I never bothered with its bugs or bad ai or some poor graphics some people said...I only can remember me playing the game for 2 weeks making a score of 155 hours played..Same as morrowind did back then (althought I was much younger to understand what I was playing)..I could say its one of the best games

    In the negatives id put the gearing that makes u almost invincible ;p
    Expand
  37. Feb 28, 2016
    10
    I got this bundled with Bioshock Infinite a few years ago and didn't think much of it after a few minutes. A few months later I tried it out again and vanished for no less than 9 months, a denizen of Skyrim. Easily the best game I have ever played, particularly with mods. Characters, landscapes, story, immersion, and exploration are second to none. I can't say any more than what'sI got this bundled with Bioshock Infinite a few years ago and didn't think much of it after a few minutes. A few months later I tried it out again and vanished for no less than 9 months, a denizen of Skyrim. Easily the best game I have ever played, particularly with mods. Characters, landscapes, story, immersion, and exploration are second to none. I can't say any more than what's already been said. Expand
  38. Feb 25, 2016
    8
    The whole game is very decent, still Bethesda isn't able to create immersive world that you would like to be drag into, after game play i quickly forgot this one.
  39. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    I had this game since the beginning. Beat it multiple times, played with mods and quit altogether because I stopped having a life. It is the reason why I avoid 80hr+ rpgs in general. It's been 5 years now and I still feel like it was released yesterday. If you get addicted easily, you might want to stay away from it.
  40. Feb 9, 2016
    10
    This game make forgot my time. so funny Somtimes I don't go anywhere for play this game. if you wnat funny on your life, play this game then. good. Thank you.
  41. Jan 31, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game pros. Graphics detail dungeons awesome towns and cities cons .dragonbourn dumming down small world defenitly worth the money just buy it Expand
  42. Jan 31, 2016
    9
    Skyrim follows the same conventions as the previous TES games really good world design, good graphics for its time and a good soundtrack, however Skyrim expresses these conventions more than any other TES game with it's massive dense world design and 3 years old undated graphics, I'll admit that the soundtrack might not be as good as the previous games because most of it is unoriginal. ISkyrim follows the same conventions as the previous TES games really good world design, good graphics for its time and a good soundtrack, however Skyrim expresses these conventions more than any other TES game with it's massive dense world design and 3 years old undated graphics, I'll admit that the soundtrack might not be as good as the previous games because most of it is unoriginal. I could go on about the good points of Skyrim but that is covered very well by other reviewers.

    I'll be the first to admit Skyrim is a no way near perfect game but most of the bad points about Skyrim can be protested, the combat for example, lots of people say "Why can't Skyrim have combat like Chivalry or Shadow Warrior well that’s because Skyrim is a console game as well as a pc title and it would be near to to impossible to make the melee combat as complex as Chivalry’s because there are only so many buttons on a controller plus the demographic that would play the game on console wouldn't appreciate the hardcore melee combat in a game like Chivalry and finally if they were to make the combat more player skill focused like Chivarlry it would make stat based weaponry pointless and stat based weaponry is a vital component of an TES game and most RPGs. I'll accept the complaint that what you do in Skyrim doesn't affect anyone or anything for example when you defeat Alduin dragons will still spawn, the only difference is that npc's will have different dialogue.

    Skyrim is a game you will either love or find okay it all depends on if you can get over the shallow combat and if you're prepared to have to face the odd repetitive dull quest (if not just mod it).
    Expand
  43. Jan 31, 2016
    5
    How to play Skyrim: Accept a quest, fast travel to an area, do one of three things (kill someone, talk to someone, get an item), return to the quest-giver, and get a leveled item and another quest. Repeat.

    A nice followup to Oblivion. Fun, but nothing innovative or special.
  44. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    11/10 actually, I've played over 250h of Skyrim so far and I must say It's the game I mostly want to continue when I come back home from work.

    It's exciting how much you can actually just be yourself and the world around you reacts to very little details of your choices. This game could be even higher rated if there wasn't that paid mods problem in the past, but I'm glad I can freely
    11/10 actually, I've played over 250h of Skyrim so far and I must say It's the game I mostly want to continue when I come back home from work.

    It's exciting how much you can actually just be yourself and the world around you reacts to very little details of your choices.

    This game could be even higher rated if there wasn't that paid mods problem in the past, but I'm glad I can freely install any mod now, even through Steam 's Workshop.

    It's the most amusing game that I'm still playing, and probably one of the most exciting games I've played so far.

    Waiting for "The Elder Scrolls VI: Cyrodill" or something with Dwemer, Talos and the Brass Tower.
    Expand
  45. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is easily one of the best games of its genre to date, maybe overall. Add relevant mods and you'll definitely get all the fun and experience that you can ask from one game in possibly hundreds of hours of game play.
  46. Jan 27, 2016
    8
    8/10 without mods, 11/10 with mods.
    A true role-playing experience where you can get lost on a near endless string of exploring, questing, and doing whatever the heck you want to. Create a character to your liking and just have fun. The story is good, the combat is fun, the dialogue and quests are fantastic, but don't be afraid to get distracted and loose yourself by following a goat
    8/10 without mods, 11/10 with mods.
    A true role-playing experience where you can get lost on a near endless string of exploring, questing, and doing whatever the heck you want to. Create a character to your liking and just have fun. The story is good, the combat is fun, the dialogue and quests are fantastic, but don't be afraid to get distracted and loose yourself by following a goat around town while constantly dropping cheese rolls and brooms on it for a whole afternoon.
    Expand
  47. Jan 25, 2016
    10
    Even today, after six years, Skyrim Legendary Edition proves a game at the last exit. The strength of the game is the accurate aesthetic objects and environments. when you take up arms (beautiful), you have the feeling it physically in his hands, and when you wander in the landscape, you have the feeling of being free in a vast world to explore. There are a lot of bugs, but it's so niceEven today, after six years, Skyrim Legendary Edition proves a game at the last exit. The strength of the game is the accurate aesthetic objects and environments. when you take up arms (beautiful), you have the feeling it physically in his hands, and when you wander in the landscape, you have the feeling of being free in a vast world to explore. There are a lot of bugs, but it's so nice that all is forgiven. Simply a crucial game, a must! Bethesda is working on the next episode; I hope it is not a disappointment as Skyrim Online and Bethesda has more courage than in Fallout 4 where virtually nothing has changed compared to Fallout 3. Expand
  48. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    This is it. Bethesda had finally done their homework by listening to their fans, researching into what worked and not thus far in this most complicated genre of all, what made Morrowind so much deeper and more memorable than Oblivion -- and they released what is probably their best and most consistent game yet. All things considered, it is also among the best role-playing games ever made.This is it. Bethesda had finally done their homework by listening to their fans, researching into what worked and not thus far in this most complicated genre of all, what made Morrowind so much deeper and more memorable than Oblivion -- and they released what is probably their best and most consistent game yet. All things considered, it is also among the best role-playing games ever made. But Bethesda needed all their blood, sweat and tears, all the hard experience from Arena to Fallout 3 to pull this feat.

    Skyrim is best described as a distinctive, homogeneous experience in a dynamic open world. I think it is best played in huge chunks, in a wide-eyed, semi-meditative state, which is a prerogative of open-world RPG's, this pinnacle genre in video gaming. I'll try to break down the best components of this experience:

    - As much as the vast open-world formula permits it, Bethesda creates free-roaming NPC's with true characters -- even if only some of them really stick out and even fewer are memorable. As expected, characters who are relevant to the main plot are fleshed out the most: Ulfric Stormcloak, his second-in-command Galmar, Esbern, and our clandestine associate Delphine, perhaps most of all. What is great though is that some of the less important characters end up being quite memorable too: Ancano, the mysterious Thalmor emissary in the College. Madanach, the disgruntled leader of the Forsworn. Kodlak Whitemane, the Companions' elderly foreman who even writes a lengthy diary that we can discover. And when I finally lost my loyal sidekick Lydia in some dungeon after days of doing quests together, I felt a genuine sense of emotional loss (even if she wasn't one of the more memorable NPC's), a very rare feeling in computer games.

    - Politics are realistic, complex, convoluted, frustrating, as they should be. The internal and external struggles of the various factions are not sugarcoated for the player, it's all laid out as it is, and we need to figure our own way around the relations. The Empire, the Thalmor, the Stormcloaks, the Forsworn, the Blades, the Greybeards -- all their destinies are intertwined in a realistic way, all have their respective agendas that the player needs to figure out with minimal to no hand-holding. The fact that Skyrim's political landscape is not simplified for easier digestion is one of my favorite aspects of the game. It's a subtle, mature feature not advertised with hype, yet it helps the immersion tremendously.

    - Many of the conversations are deep and involving -- for a Bethesda game. They are excellently written and are often quite long, which is taken for granted from some other developers like Obsidian, but it's a very pleasant surprise coming from this developer who were once notorious for their drone-like NPC's and deadpan dialogues. The crucial negotiation scene in High Hrothgar reminded me of the Castle Never trial scene in NWN2, as it achieved the same kind of tension, gravity and drama, which is awesome for a mostly non-scripted open-world role-playing game. Skyrim is probably the very first open-world RPG that lives up to the challenge posed by Obsidian's offerings in terms of dramatization and tension.

    - Many of the quests are creative, exhilarating and unorthodox. The main plot line is haunted by a sense of wonder and is graced by many (scripted) scenes that are bound to be remembered as some of the most memorable scenes in gaming: the first dragon hunt at the Whiterun guard tower; the reading of the Elder Scroll on the mountaintop; the dragon trapping in Dragonreach; the greeting and cheering of a dozen flying dragons after the final battle. And Blackreach, a vast, eerie, otherworldly cavern with abandoned structures is one of the top five ingame locations I have encountered in a game EVER. Outside of actual real-life adventure travel, it is probably only open-world RPG's that are capable of achieving this sense of wonder, since it presupposes the element of boundless exploration in an intriguing region. It also presupposes a capability of sensing wonders in the players themselves, something that many jaded gamers of today seem incapable of -- in real life or virtual.

    - Some towns are architecturally awesome and feel alive with daily bustle. Markarth and Whiterun, especially. I liked the vibe of Solitude and Riften as well. Again, this would not be such a feat in a "hands-off", closed-world RPG, but the fact that even towns are awesome and realistic in Skyrim makes the end product all the more irresistible.

    So the game is not only huge and open-ended, but it includes characters, quests, books and towns with the high quality of smaller scale closed-world games: it's a culmination of the best of both worlds, not unified successfully until now.
    Expand
  49. Jan 16, 2016
    10
    Прекрасная игра!Купил по акции со всеми дополнениями до этого играл на пиратке в году этак в 2011.
    Однозначно стоит своих денег!Как по мне одна из лучших игр когда либо созданных!
  50. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim is a masterpiece. It's one of my favourite games of all time even 4 years after release I'm still enjoying every second I spend in Skyrim. I hated myself for just playing Skyrim on ps3 as my fun was quadrupled when I got it on the pc, mainly because of the modding community. I'll now talk about how good Skyrim is.

    The Story
    The story in Skyrim isn't really talked about that much because people tend to get side-tracked from Skyrim's story due to the huge open world of Skyrim. The plot of Skyrim is that u play as a prisoner who is about to be executed along with some other storm cloaks. However lucky for you a dragon attacks the city and kills nearly everyone in the city and destroys most of it. You and a member of the imperials escape though and the open world of Skyrim is then opened up to you. You then need to find out why the dragons are coming back and stop them. After doing a few quests you discover you are one of few people to be called a "Dragonborn" which is basically a person who slays dragons and absorb their souls. The story in my opinion is one of the let downs Skyrim has. I know I have seen this sort of plot before and it seems just boring. I didn't really care about why the dragons are coming back I just wanted to stop them. Thank god that the quests you're put on are better than the plot.

    The characters
    Like most Bethesda games I don't particularly think that the characters really stood out. People just seem to be people. There isn't much else to say about it I didn't really care much about people I just thought they were people going about their business. The exception is actually the playable character. I seem to like the playable character more than most of the people living in Skyrim which is saying something as the main character is the only character that isn't given a personality. The personality is forged by the player. If they want their character to be a cold hearted murderer who works for the dark brotherhood they can make them be that, they want them to be the civil protector of Skyrim they can do that as well, if you want them to settle down have a family with a wife and kids and a house you can make them do that (Well with the hearthfire DLC)

    Graphics and sfx
    The graphics in Skyrim are great I only wish my computer was able to handle the ultra graphics setting so I'll need to settle with high quality. However I do have a few complaints about the graphics. The graphics seem to make some parts of Skyrim particularly the snowy areas of Skyrim look rather drab and bland. I also thought they could have made the water look a bit better. In the end I decide to get mods to fix my problems so there now doesn't seem to be much to complain about graphics wise

    The sound is fantastic. Sound changes depending on the scenery you're in you can listen in on other people's conversations if you're in towns you can even get quests if you listen to the conversations.

    Enjoyment
    I really enjoyed my time in Skyrim and I still visit it every once in awhile. All quests seemed fun and some of the side quests seemed to have better plots than the actual main plot of Skyrim. I also seem to like the DLC plots more than the main plot of Skyrim.

    I even had fun just running around exploring all of Skyrim

    Final Verdict
    No matter weather you've played previous elder scrolls games before or you're not into open world games I recommend Skyrim to literally anyone I can find

    Pros
    + Great graphics
    + Huge world
    + Great sound
    + Good combat
    + Variation in enemies
    + Good side quests
    + Great DLCs
    + Build your character the way you want to

    Cons
    - Snowy areas look bland
    - Uninteresting characters

    Final verdict: 10/10

    Skyrim is a must buy, even more of a one if you get a deal on it, DLCs are also worth it too however I might wait till the hearthfire DLC has a discount on it as it doesn't add as much as the Dawnguard or Dragonborn DLCs
    Expand
  51. Jan 7, 2016
    10
    What is funny is my friend gave me this game (Xbox 360) a few years back because he didn't like or even play it.. I played it for all of 10 minutes before deciding "its not for me.."

    Fast-forward 2-3 years later I built my first PC which is a Beast (I7-4690k, GTX 970, 16GB RAM) and I can't stop playing this game. I didn't considered myself a RPG gamer but man this game is Awesome and Epic!
  52. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    My favourite game of all time so far. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim may not be completely perfect, but I have put hundreds of hours into Skyrim and I still continue to discover new locations, quests and I haven't even finished what the DLC has to offer! Not to mention the mods for this game are fantastic. The best thing about Skyrim is the huge open world that, while it may not have the bestMy favourite game of all time so far. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim may not be completely perfect, but I have put hundreds of hours into Skyrim and I still continue to discover new locations, quests and I haven't even finished what the DLC has to offer! Not to mention the mods for this game are fantastic. The best thing about Skyrim is the huge open world that, while it may not have the best graphics, looks fantastic in terms of its scale. The gameplay, while simplified from past games, is fantastic and balances out the appeal of the game, it is easy for casual players to learn, while also being complex enough for more hardcore players. Skyrim is a true example of the very best video games of all time, dethroning games such as The Walking Dead, Batman: Arkham City and Super Mario 64, to name a few masterpieces. Expand
  53. Jan 3, 2016
    9
    25 hours spent on this game. Was pretty good. Drawbacks are some glitches, some strange physics in the game when players are on mountains. On good side : scenario, history and what is behind the story, fights, freedom of movements. Good too to find it a 5sgd on steam. That's worth.
  54. Jan 2, 2016
    10
    Nearly perfect game after applying the mods. Amazing Atmosphere and realistic graphics.

    Graphics: 9
    Game play : 9
    World Design: 10
    Content: 10
    Immersion: 10
    Story: 9
  55. Jan 1, 2016
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time. Even without mods this game has almost everything an RPG- Fan could ask for.

    A massive open world, decent combat mechanics, great story- and questlines.

    Graphics for a 2011 release are decent.

    The only thing i sort of dislike is the dumbed down skill system.

    If Skyrim had Morrowind´s skill system skyrim would be a 10/10.
  56. Jan 1, 2016
    10
    эта игра с прекрасным сюжетом идеальной графикой но иногда с такими глупыми багами над которыми можно только смеяться но все же есть и критические вроде бага с Эсберном
  57. Dec 26, 2015
    8
    Skyrim is a good game on its own, but even better on its own. To be honest, I can't give Skyrim a review as I've never played the vanilla (non-modded) game. I'll still give it a positive review however, simply because the worldspace is incredible and the RPG aspect is also great. And yes, the modding is great on it, it's too bad so many good reviews are simply based on the moddingSkyrim is a good game on its own, but even better on its own. To be honest, I can't give Skyrim a review as I've never played the vanilla (non-modded) game. I'll still give it a positive review however, simply because the worldspace is incredible and the RPG aspect is also great. And yes, the modding is great on it, it's too bad so many good reviews are simply based on the modding community and not on the game itself - it's what I love/hate about BGS, they allow us to openly mod it to our hearts content but at the same time they almost completely depend on the modding community for all their games and we never get a spec of respect/shout-outs/compensation or anything. Hell we don't even get a "thanks for being the reason we're making millions off the games." Expand
  58. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    Played this game for almost 500 hours.

    Mods gallor and constant player content make this game a true timeless masterpiece.

    Will play it for years to come. Great game and great developer.
  59. Dec 20, 2015
    9
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  60. Dec 19, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. battle system is terrible
    game is similar to hack and slash game. it is not rpg game
    bugs is everwhere. i could not finished game. i tried more times and i could defeat alduin but he did not help me. it is only 1 example
    Expand
  61. Dec 18, 2015
    6
    A good game but buggy and stupid. There's absolutely no need to use your brain in this game, Some said that even the bugs are funny but when they spoil my game I just say: What a piece of garbage.
  62. DKR
    Dec 15, 2015
    1
    Holy bejeebus. This is - without question - THE most overrated game OF ALL TIME. I can't f*** get away from this game; ITS EVERYWHERE! Sites, discussions, Steam sales, articles; you can't escape it! Why?!

    The only reason I can come up with that this game is such a blockbuster is because: we have a new and ignorant generation that has never seen a rich RPG before. I'm gettin' old, so I
    Holy bejeebus. This is - without question - THE most overrated game OF ALL TIME. I can't f*** get away from this game; ITS EVERYWHERE! Sites, discussions, Steam sales, articles; you can't escape it! Why?!

    The only reason I can come up with that this game is such a blockbuster is because: we have a new and ignorant generation that has never seen a rich RPG before. I'm gettin' old, so I remember when RPG's were deep, complex experiences that didn't even have voice acting yet. Still, these games immersed you in worlds and experiences you will never forget. Mario RPG, Final Fantasy (4, 6, 7, 8 specifically) Chrono Trigger...THESE were RPG's. They were stories of rich, vibrant, and lively characters with backstories that made you care about them, and tied them together with imaginative writing, complex battle systems, and music from the GODS.

    Then comes Skyrim. The world is flat, empty, generic, lifeless, and the combat is more dated than the NES. I knew it was bad from the confusing monologue in the opening from the narcoleptic Russian whose voice actor couldn't remember what accent he was imitating.

    Once you get away from the beautiful mountains, everything is colorless, stale, and boring. The whole game is washed out in palettes of brown, grey, and pale blue. Every village/city looks EXACTLY the same. It has ZERO style or substance at all. Even the weapons you get look very vanilla. It's a fantasy game! Where's the fire swords and icy staves and s***?!

    Classes are useless cuz you can just be everything at once. Where's the diversity? Where do your decisions matter? They don't really matter in dialogue, either. At least I couldn't tell cuz the writing is so chaotic and poor. Characters were so uninteresting, I can't recall a single one, tho I can still name every char from all the above RPG's I listed.

    Straight mage specs are STILL useless. You go oom WAY too fast, and do pitiful damage, while melee can 2 shot everything and never die. Stealth can 1 shot, crouch, vanish, rinse, and repeat until they clear a room. There's no mechanics to the fights. Run in range, mash your attack button and your potion button til you puke. I'm not kidding: that's it. That is the depth of this game's combat. I'm sorry, but if you find this fun past the 8hr mark, you have ADD. It's mindless and tedious; a game for idiots.

    ALL OF THAT is if you can EVEN PLAY IT! Bugs, glitches, and crashes are a more threatening hazard than anything you'll face in game. Enemies sinking thru floors, dragons flying backward, save files corrupting, quest NPC's falling out of buildings to their deaths, unkillable mobs, player clipping into rocks which forces restarts, NPC's running off mid-dialogue, BUGS BUGS BUGS! You can't play 3min w/o running into a game-breaking glitch that you have to mod/cheat your way past. I spent 75% of my playtime just bug fixing. I'm not a play tester; I'm a customer.

    Skyrim isn't even an RPG! Why is it rated as one?! A beat-em-up with some progression is NOT an RPG! It stands for ROLE PLAYING GAME! It's about you playing a role in an immersive story! "u r da chozn one go kill eryting xd" IS NOT A STORY, it's filler!

    "BUT DA MODZ MKE IT ASUMMM! 11/10!!" Great. I'm glad the modders are amazing and create cool stuff, but THAT'S THE *** MODDERS! The GAME is a horrendous mess in any way that I approach it. How illogical can you be to give a clusterbomb of horrific, unfinished game "design" a 10/10 JUST BECAUSE YOU MOD IT!? That's like buying a Bieber album but burning your own music over it, then going "I love this album from Bieber 11/10 stop reading the negative reviews and just buy it!"

    The critic reviews are obviously bought-out, which used to be unthinkable, but nowadays, it's standard practice for a AAA title to set aside some of it's budget to buy positive reviews. Seriously, think about it: how many times can you call the next CoD "the best cod yet"? 8x? 12x? 20x? I remember way back in 2005, critics were sick to DEATH of FPS's. Most likely, the standard of gaming has just fallen this low, because 10 years later, they're all the rage. What a tragedy...

    This gen of kids think they got it all figured out. Buy this bug-ridden, unfinished, poorly designed "RPG" that ignores 2 decades of lessons from the past, mod/don't mod it, mash 2 buttons while fighting the same enemy for 3k (yes: three thousand hours), leave 1 line joke reviews ("ruined my life 5 starz") that get thousands of "likes", downvote all the negative reviews or leave a negative review of "stop reading negative reviews buy buy buy!!", and net the "creators" nearly one BILLION dollars gross profit, then blame "corporate greed" for the grand decline of gaming. Ah, humanity...

    Meanwhile, Double Dragon Neon (console) - a modern classic - is forgotten in the sea of CoD clones.

    After playing FO3, I had high hopes cuz I loved that game, but everyone calls it "Oblivion with guns".
    If that's true, then Skyrim is CoD with magic.

    By idiots, for idiots.
    Expand
  63. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    I love this game, spend my whole entire summer playing it, the amount of work that was put into this game was no joke. 10/10 one of the best game I've ever play
  64. Dec 1, 2015
    9
    Background:
    I've played a little bit of Morrowind (no more than 10h) and a lot of Oblivion (but I've never completed the main quest).
    Regarding Skyrim, I've completed the main quest, the 4 guilds (The Companions, College of Witerhold, Thieves Guild and Dark Brotherhood) and very few side quests. What I enjoyed: - The story of main quest : it really made me feel like having a
    Background:
    I've played a little bit of Morrowind (no more than 10h) and a lot of Oblivion (but I've never completed the main quest).
    Regarding Skyrim, I've completed the main quest, the 4 guilds (The Companions, College of Witerhold, Thieves Guild and Dark Brotherhood) and very few side quests.

    What I enjoyed:
    - The story of main quest : it really made me feel like having a significant impact in world of Skyrim. In my opinion this is a great story!
    - Roaming around, climbing mountains, discovering new places, the feeling of empowerment when I reached the peak of the highest mountain for the first time.
    - Fus Roh Dahing enemies while they were giving me a speech on how I couldn't beat them xD.
    - Wielding the Thief's Guild's an Dark Brotherhood's influence to do whatever I pleased :P.

    What I didn't enjoy:
    - The crashes - omg this game crashed so much!
    - The save file corruption - this is a big one. I had to save on a new file every single time because once a save file got corrupted it was impossible to load the game from it. This happened on occasion.

    Conclusion:
    If you like Bethesda's RPG's and you can forgive the technical shortcomings Bethesda's titles always come with than you'll have a great time playing Skyrim :).
    Expand
  65. Nov 24, 2015
    9
    Discover An Awesome Open-World Fantasy RPG

    Overall: 85% (119.4/140) Atmosphere: 9.5/10 Graphics: 9.4/10 Level Design: 9.8/10 Sound: 9.8/10 Balance: 7.1/10 Controls: 7.5/10 Fighting System: 8.6/10 Mysteries: 9.3/10 Animations: 8.4/10 Artificial Intelligence: 6.7/10 Replay Value: 8.8/10 Story: 7.3/10 Tutorial: 3.5/5 Variety in Items: 9.7/10 Cost-Benefit Ratio: 3/4
    Discover An Awesome Open-World Fantasy RPG

    Overall: 85% (119.4/140)

    Atmosphere: 9.5/10
    Graphics: 9.4/10
    Level Design: 9.8/10
    Sound: 9.8/10

    Balance: 7.1/10
    Controls: 7.5/10
    Fighting System: 8.6/10
    Mysteries: 9.3/10

    Animations: 8.4/10
    Artificial Intelligence: 6.7/10

    Replay Value: 8.8/10
    Story: 7.3/10
    Tutorial: 3.5/5
    Variety in Items: 9.7/10

    Cost-Benefit Ratio: 3/4
    System Requirements: 1/1
    Expand
  66. Nov 20, 2015
    2
    + huge world
    + nice graphics
    - random, one-dimensional quests with binary choice (take it/don't take it) - forgettable NPCs - i remember only jarl of Whiterun (guess why), but no idea what was his name - bugs, crashes, glitches - aesthetics and functionality of UI (KB&M user PoV) - "perk" trees - gamebreaking items (+100 sneak) - short and unispired storyline - trashcanning ES
    + huge world
    + nice graphics

    - random, one-dimensional quests with binary choice (take it/don't take it)
    - forgettable NPCs - i remember only jarl of Whiterun (guess why), but no idea what was his name
    - bugs, crashes, glitches
    - aesthetics and functionality of UI (KB&M user PoV)
    - "perk" trees
    - gamebreaking items (+100 sneak)
    - short and unispired storyline
    - trashcanning ES lore simply to introduce the most generic creature ever - a dragon

    I don't get sandboxes. I really don't. It's boring, grindy hack'n'slash. Burn it with fire.
    Expand
  67. Nov 18, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim 1. olmayı hak ediyor. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim 1. olmayı hak ediyor. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim 1. olmayı hak ediyor. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim 1. olmayı hak ediyor. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim 1. olmayı hak ediyor. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim 1. olmayı hak ediyor. Expand
  68. Nov 15, 2015
    10
    What can I say? Everyone knows this game perfectly by now. I've been palying it for the last 4 years and haven't had a moment of boredom (yet :b). Mods made what wasn't already great about it stand out like the rest of the game. 10/10 Would keep playing if it wasn't for university.
  69. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    This game has its flaws, but gameplay, world design, quests, modding, etc. sends it right back up to a 10! It takes some time to get into it, but when you do, it's the best game ever. I have 650+ hrs logged, and it's my favorite game of all time!
  70. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    STORY:
    4.5/5

    GRAPHICS:
    4/5

    GAMEPLAY:
    3.5/5

    FLAWNESS-NESS:
    1.5/5

    Too many bugs to count :( Not One, but TWO questlines broke due to bugs! There is an ongoing joke about Bethesda not having quality inspection, and sometimes, I believe they're right.

    >>> OVERALL
  71. Nov 13, 2015
    8
    This game has a lot of flaws that Bethesda games tend to have, being immersion the most notorious in my opinion. Magic system feels bland, most perks are boring, especialization tends to always be either sword and shield or sneak based. Combat is dull and difficulty is very artificial, and graphics weren't that good even for 2011.
    And despite having quite a lot of flaws, it's still a very
    This game has a lot of flaws that Bethesda games tend to have, being immersion the most notorious in my opinion. Magic system feels bland, most perks are boring, especialization tends to always be either sword and shield or sneak based. Combat is dull and difficulty is very artificial, and graphics weren't that good even for 2011.
    And despite having quite a lot of flaws, it's still a very fun game, with hours and hours of gameplay and different stories. It's a must play if you like RPG's. Sadly Bethesda games don't age well and nowadays it remains fun if you mod it
    Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2015
    9
    One of the best RPG games I've ever played in my life is amazing how a game will certainly be difficult to understand gotye year out, they say bad this game
  73. Nov 10, 2015
    9
    Yes, Skyrim may have some annoying bugs and visual glitches, but the immeasurable amount of fun I have playing it is undeniable. Once you get sucked into the beautiful world of Skyrim, you will be lost there for dozens and dozens of hours.
  74. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    Better graphics then Fallout 4 69/10 . a
  75. Nov 8, 2015
    10
    This is probably one of the best games ever, although it is not perfect in any way.
    Graphics are beautiful compared to the prequel Oblivion, an animations just got a lot better, making gameplay a lot better. Although that, gameplay could be still better, its still someway floaty
    World in Skyrim is BEAUTIFUL, and random encounters make up for pretty memorable experiences, like the one i
    This is probably one of the best games ever, although it is not perfect in any way.
    Graphics are beautiful compared to the prequel Oblivion, an animations just got a lot better, making gameplay a lot better. Although that, gameplay could be still better, its still someway floaty
    World in Skyrim is BEAUTIFUL, and random encounters make up for pretty memorable experiences, like the one i had with the encounter of a giant and a dragon. Magic is also really fine, and sidequest are like... infinite.
    There are a lot of secrets, too.
    The only real flaw i found to this date is de horse riding, really laggy and buggy
    Although, PC mods make up for that issues, making PC Skyrim the best game ever (until Witcher 3, of course)
    10 out of 10
    Expand
  76. Nov 4, 2015
    9
    The best game of 2011, very good history, awesome enviroments, dragons, talking dogs,lot of things to do,spells,the map is gigantic and full of surprises, you can add mods ... it is an awesome experience, a must have
  77. Oct 30, 2015
    9
    Um dos melhores RPG que já joguei. Um mundo imenso para explorar, você decide qual rumo seguir na história, diversas classes/raças, várias habilidades, vários itens para usar e equipar, trilha sonora épica demais. O jogo não possui um bom frame rate em nenhum PC por conta do tamanho, mas é aceitável. Os gráficos não são muito bons, mas não são ruins.

    História: 10/10 ou ??/?? (você
    Um dos melhores RPG que já joguei. Um mundo imenso para explorar, você decide qual rumo seguir na história, diversas classes/raças, várias habilidades, vários itens para usar e equipar, trilha sonora épica demais. O jogo não possui um bom frame rate em nenhum PC por conta do tamanho, mas é aceitável. Os gráficos não são muito bons, mas não são ruins.

    História: 10/10 ou ??/?? (você decide seu rumo, mas a história principal é ótima).
    Gráficos: 7/10
    Jogabilidade: 8/10
    Desempenho: 9/10
    Trilha sonora: 10/10 (uma das melhores dos games).
    Expand
  78. Oct 26, 2015
    0
    I knew what was coming when the hype for nothing reached its climax.

    This is so badly rehashed and bland, it lacks any appropriate description.

    And the mechanics are still utterly broken.
  79. Oct 23, 2015
    5
    Lo he intentado jugar demasiadas veces como para decir que no me engancha lo más mínimo. No sé porque... Sé que para la gente que le guste este estilo de juego es bestial, pero a mi no me llega y es algo que en realidad me duele, porque sé que no me está llegando un juego que seguramente sea una obra maestra.
  80. Oct 20, 2015
    10
    One of the best Games i've ever played. Mod support, interesting Story/Campaign. Big map to explore. Does need Mod's but that's fine since alot of them still getting updated even 4 Years after the Games release.
  81. Oct 18, 2015
    8
    Skyrim is overall a pretty good game similar to the previous games in the Elder Scrolls series, personally I don't find it as much fun as Oblivion or Morrowind, the bleak and depressing landscape certainly doesn't help, but there is still a lot of things to do and see. There are also a lot of mods available to improve the game.
    Definitely a game you should have if you've enjoyed the
    Skyrim is overall a pretty good game similar to the previous games in the Elder Scrolls series, personally I don't find it as much fun as Oblivion or Morrowind, the bleak and depressing landscape certainly doesn't help, but there is still a lot of things to do and see. There are also a lot of mods available to improve the game.
    Definitely a game you should have if you've enjoyed the previous games or like action / rpg games.
    Expand
  82. Oct 14, 2015
    10
    Its almost 4 years and my obsession is never ending with this game. So haunting are the atmosphere and characters that it won't let go. Still i am discovering things in this masterpiece. There so much left to do in this game already. Witcher 3 is the only title that grabbed me as much as Skyrim, Suffice to say that SKYRIM is the very definition of an epic and legendary RPG genre. This oneIts almost 4 years and my obsession is never ending with this game. So haunting are the atmosphere and characters that it won't let go. Still i am discovering things in this masterpiece. There so much left to do in this game already. Witcher 3 is the only title that grabbed me as much as Skyrim, Suffice to say that SKYRIM is the very definition of an epic and legendary RPG genre. This one stands tall Expand
  83. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    I've spent countless hours playing skyrim, first on PS3 and now on PC, and I'm still in love with it. Obviously, it has some flaws - minor glitches, potentially dull storyline, and shallow characterisation - but this is all made up for by the incredible depth of the world, and the countless hours of gameplay that there is from the game and DLC alone. Even if that gets too boring for you,I've spent countless hours playing skyrim, first on PS3 and now on PC, and I'm still in love with it. Obviously, it has some flaws - minor glitches, potentially dull storyline, and shallow characterisation - but this is all made up for by the incredible depth of the world, and the countless hours of gameplay that there is from the game and DLC alone. Even if that gets too boring for you, the huge number of mods there are give the game new life. Even after four years, Skyrim still has an incredible and dedicated modding community that add thousands of hours of new gameplay to an already fantastic game. It would be a travesty to give it anything lower than 10/10. Expand
  84. Oct 6, 2015
    9
    One thing to keep in mind when reading the negative reviews is that they were all posted within the same few days, about the same topic. "Paid mods". This is clearly an attack from some fool (or fools) who want that changed. These mods are completely optional and only further a story line you make yourself.

    As for the game, I'd give this a solid 9. I love the story behind the game, and
    One thing to keep in mind when reading the negative reviews is that they were all posted within the same few days, about the same topic. "Paid mods". This is clearly an attack from some fool (or fools) who want that changed. These mods are completely optional and only further a story line you make yourself.

    As for the game, I'd give this a solid 9. I love the story behind the game, and I also like how your not attached to the main story in an open world. At any point, you can stop what your doing and do some side quests for awhile, and then come back to the main aspect whenever you feel like it.
    Expand
  85. Oct 4, 2015
    9
    Un juego, bueno no, un juegazo, una obra maestra, una joya, un imprescindible, tiene muchos nombres pero todos tienen algo en común, es uno de los mejores juegos que mis manos han tenido la suerte de tocar. Skyrim es un juego de mundo abierto con un mapeado enorme, gigantesco, con misiones principales y secundarias por todas partes, no te aburriras en este mundo matando a nigromantes,Un juego, bueno no, un juegazo, una obra maestra, una joya, un imprescindible, tiene muchos nombres pero todos tienen algo en común, es uno de los mejores juegos que mis manos han tenido la suerte de tocar. Skyrim es un juego de mundo abierto con un mapeado enorme, gigantesco, con misiones principales y secundarias por todas partes, no te aburriras en este mundo matando a nigromantes, brujos, hechiceros, soldados, elfos, reyes y dragones . Una lastima que tiene muchos bugs (no molestos ) sin estos bugs el juego era de nota 10 . !!! FUS RO DAH !!! Expand
  86. Oct 1, 2015
    10
    In my opinion, Skyrim is one of the best open world games out there. That being said,It's a lot of kick A fun. It's a game that you can change the story at any time.You will not be disappointed.
  87. Sep 26, 2015
    8
    Terrible companions hold back this game a lot, and the graphics are not that good without mods. Also, the story was uneven at times in their quality, like how the Thieves Guild storyline would be mediocre, the Companions storyline would be utter garbage, then the Dark Brotherhood and Main Quest storyline would be excellent. Nevertheless, Skyrim is a good game even with its flaws.
  88. Sep 23, 2015
    9
    I only installed this game because of reputation for visual fidelity, and I'd just bought a new graphics card. Years later, I bought a true beast of a graphics card (AMD R9 390 8GB) just to play Skyrim, a game that originally cost me 10 UK pounds. I've never got very far in it to be honest, I travelled the 7000 steps just once. I've logged hundreds of hours, but mostly that was justI only installed this game because of reputation for visual fidelity, and I'd just bought a new graphics card. Years later, I bought a true beast of a graphics card (AMD R9 390 8GB) just to play Skyrim, a game that originally cost me 10 UK pounds. I've never got very far in it to be honest, I travelled the 7000 steps just once. I've logged hundreds of hours, but mostly that was just retreading familiar ground, after tweaking my mod setup again. At one point I'd broken the game so badly I had to re-install from scratch and took the opportunity to switch from NMM to Mod Organiser, and then S.T.E.P Advanced. Now I have over 500 mods and 240+ plug-ins.

    Fully modded, it is a breathtakingly beautiful game, of rare scope and ambition.Mods only add to that, it becomes a game of "what do you want to play?" I even lately started to watch a Role Played "Let's Play" on YouTube GamerPoets Channel. It's amazing in itself, as it doesn't feel like a game, more like watching a TV serial.

    As a game it's not what it was when it was released, but it has also become so much more. If you're a gamer, you owe it to yourself to play this, especially in modded form on a decent, (by 2015 standards) PC.

    I gave it a 9.0 as by default it does have bugs and it can be a bit unstable, though again with mods you can get it to behave, and spend hours playing without issue.
    Expand
  89. Sep 19, 2015
    10
    Best game ever in my opinion. The game absorbs me as I play it. Never feeling sick of it, there is always a world to discover in Skyrim. Fun quests, fun features.
  90. Sep 13, 2015
    10
    A masterpiece in every regard. The most engrossing game I have ever played up until now. Years have passed and Skyrim is still the pinnacle of a video game world.
  91. Sep 12, 2015
    9
    Skyrim has a level of immersion to it not seen in many games that came before it. The map is huge as are the places to visit and the characters to interact with. Thanks to a huge community you can mod virtually anything and everything about the game. You think of it and someone made a mod for it.

    the game is 4 years old now but due to its community hold its own against todays graphic
    Skyrim has a level of immersion to it not seen in many games that came before it. The map is huge as are the places to visit and the characters to interact with. Thanks to a huge community you can mod virtually anything and everything about the game. You think of it and someone made a mod for it.

    the game is 4 years old now but due to its community hold its own against todays graphic standards.

    Overall a great game.
    Expand
  92. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    Deep, with a fascinating Lore, immense world to explore and amazing graphics for his era, it's not one of the best rpg games, but of all time. Go deep in Skyrim, you will not be regretful!
  93. Sep 4, 2015
    0
    Probably the most overrated game in video game history...Skyrim redefines the word "SHALLOW" when it comes to video games and puts a new light on "Integrity" of our dear, bribed and conditionally blind professional "journalists".
    Poor main story, unimaginative to the bone, poorly presented, poorly executed, poorly paced, and like with all Bethesda games, with 0% characterization or any
    Probably the most overrated game in video game history...Skyrim redefines the word "SHALLOW" when it comes to video games and puts a new light on "Integrity" of our dear, bribed and conditionally blind professional "journalists".
    Poor main story, unimaginative to the bone, poorly presented, poorly executed, poorly paced, and like with all Bethesda games, with 0% characterization or any noticeable impact on the world.
    Horrible fetch X/kill Y side quests, repeated endlessly in a loop that comprise at least 75% of the game's "content"...there is no story here, no tangible reward, no unique dialogue or lore to discover, just mindless, generic grind.
    World is a theme park of dungeons, bandit camps and filled with babbling idiots who repeat the same inane nonsense on a loop...there is no sense of cohesion or place, no gripping atmosphere...it feels more like a Lego Box with toys stuffed into it to make it seem "full", rather than something designed with underlining vision behind it. Everything is copy pasted over another and by this I mean EVERYTHING...characters, dialogue, environment, music, quests...the game feels soulless to the core and more based on endlessly repeating algorythm, rather than handcrafted work of art with attention to detail and expressive characters/quests/environments. Skin deep is all you're getting out of Skyrim.
    Not a single line of engaging dialogue...Skyrim not even once made me laugh or cry or provoke emotional reaction of any kind. To put it bluntly: Skyrim is a game where you can get drunk with a God of Debauchery and STILL find yourself bored to death. Even Robots have more passion and creativity than people from Bethesda, when it comes to writing.
    Completely shallow rpg mechanics, dumbed down to the core, offering very little sense of character progression. Unbalanced and clumsy game play to the extreme, all basic combat mechanics are poor: hit reactions, animations, camera, combat sounds, AI, no dodge, no lock-on system. All crafting skills, spells, stealth: game breaking. Majority of perks are useless and nothing more than passives. Just spam your attacks like a brainless idiot ...that's the whole "strategy".
    Hillarious marriage "system"...embarassing to anyone who ever got laid, or even had any kind of contact with the opposite sex.
    Poor voice acting, small number of voice actors and except for a main theme song, completely uninspired sound track. Very basic sound design that even makes forests feel completely lifeless.
    Worst puzzle design of all time, practically designed to mock player's intelligence.
    Poor horse riding, absence of any good mini games.
    Freedom to do whatever you want!...Hah! More like play around in artificially level scaled Lego Box without a focused, engaging main storyline and filled with "quests" and "characters" completely disconnected from one another. Nothing you do ever has any kind of impact on ANYTHING.
    Ton of bugs, issues, crashes, glitches...Bethesda never lets you down.
    Comically bad user interface.
    No cinematics or cutscenes of any kind.
    Very limited interaction with the environment...only direction movement and jump/levitate when glitched...no climbing the ladders or jumping over ledges or anything similar.
    Very shallow "replayability"...how many lines did my Redguard have with other npc's regarding his background. Two. How many on my end? None.
    Only cosmetic and very minor gameplay changes that in the end affect "nothing".
    Freedom to be whovever you want! Hah!...No matter what skills you grind, your race is, who your "spouse" is, where your house is or whether you pick Imperials or Stormcloaks...everyone ends up in the end with the same generic MMO drone, that doesn't have even a single, discernable personality trait. Just like in the intro, where player has no dialogue options or shows any reaction even to the unfortunate situation that his HEAD is about to be CHOPPED OFF .
    In the end, I can say I played my share of good games, bad games, great games and anything in between. But there is no game that managed to leave the same impression such as Skyrim when finishing it after more than 150 hours...ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.
    And that's exactly the score I'm giving it.
    Expand
  94. Sep 1, 2015
    9
    The Elder Scrolls series have enjoyed of a great fan base and TESV Skyrim proves another hit in the collection.

    This time around Bethesda has looked for new gamers and the gameplay differs from that of the hardcore Daggerfall or Morrowind. While the latter prove somewhat of a slow burn to reach the fun of TES, Skyrim loses no time in launching the player into action. I myself love
    The Elder Scrolls series have enjoyed of a great fan base and TESV Skyrim proves another hit in the collection.

    This time around Bethesda has looked for new gamers and the gameplay differs from that of the hardcore Daggerfall or Morrowind. While the latter prove somewhat of a slow burn to reach the fun of TES, Skyrim loses no time in launching the player into action. I myself love Morrowind and also can live with Skyirm.

    While the plot of Skyrim, as those of the previous installments of TES, is not jaw dropping, it is engaging and a good excuse to lose yourself in the other gameplay possibilites and quests. You are the Dragonborn and your destiniy is to stop the dragons from coming back to rule the world. You are the only one who can permanently kill dragons by absorbing their souls. Through your quest you will have different challenges and will meet various characters. Once the main quest is done, you are still free to do what you want in Skyrim: join the civil war by choosing a faction, become the archmage of Winterhold, become a bandit, join the companions (instead of Fighters Guild); well enjoy the open world. You can ignore the main quest if you lilke.

    Leveling in Skyrim is more simplistic this time. For hardcore fans of TES, Skyrim shoud be burned for being "less complex" in the leveling system. However, you can still have a deep role playing experience and master the skills you want depending on your character and style of play.

    In the graphics department, and considering the vanilla status of all TES games, Skyrim is the best looking game. Surely Oblivion had good landscapes, but the dungeons and caves were very repetitive in scope and design.

    Immersion. TES games are strongly immersive. However, Skyrim offers a better immersion with NPCs. While in Morrowind you got the same list of questions with same list of answers from NPCs, except from those of the main quest, Skyrim follows the standard of Oblivion but with more natural conversation options. Once you exhausted the conversations, the NPCs won't be offering the same lame list of tourist guide like as in Morrowind.

    Combat. Skyrim offers the best combat systm in TES series. Whether you are fond of bow and arrow, sneak attacks, close combat, magic combat, you will always have a chance. It is dynamic and satisfying. No longer you feel you are ruled by the rol of adice and by a set of stats, guessing if you are hiting an opponent or not.

    Open world. Skyirim is more generic than Morrowind. However, it is varied and easy to the eyes. And certainly is more varied than the land of Cyrodiil in Oblivion.

    Flaws: buggy, but all of TES games come with thier share of bugs, and nothing that patches and mods cannot solve.

    Enchanting and Alchemy are not as deep as they used to be in Morrowind. Still, nothing that will divert from the experience.

    While Skyirim may be punished by hardcore Morrowind fans for being "over simplistic" you cant ignore the rpg fun you will experience in the beautiful, open and dangerous land of Skyrim with more freedom than ever before, and with better combat.
    Expand
  95. Aug 29, 2015
    10
    If you haven't played this absolute gem, or at least never tried it, you should die. This is an amazing mix of adventure, action and roleplay, character creation is absolutly wonderful, there is a vast open world, ready for you to be discovered, full of secrets and danger, fun side quest that are realy worth your time (so is the main quest). Excellent theme song and in-game music andIf you haven't played this absolute gem, or at least never tried it, you should die. This is an amazing mix of adventure, action and roleplay, character creation is absolutly wonderful, there is a vast open world, ready for you to be discovered, full of secrets and danger, fun side quest that are realy worth your time (so is the main quest). Excellent theme song and in-game music and sound, there are only a few voice actors, but they are al ok. The game can perhaps be a little time consuming and may be a little bit boring at certain points, yet the long length is one of the many highlights. Sometimes there are a few glitches, but I only noticed most of them after my third or so playthrough (you can play this game over and over btw). If you're paying it on pc, there are certaintly some good and useful/ bug-fixing/ graphic-enhancer mods. This game is surely one of the best and my absolute, all- time favorite masterpiece. Expand
  96. Aug 28, 2015
    8
    This game rocks, but it also has a few key issues.

    Lacks the customization and great story like Morrowind, but combat has been improved and fighting dragons is a lot of fun. There is a ton of content here and the world is amazing! My main gripes about this game are the voice acting, lack of difficulty and bugs. As with all Elder Scroll games, it has a ton of bugs which is a huge
    This game rocks, but it also has a few key issues.

    Lacks the customization and great story like Morrowind, but combat has been improved and fighting dragons is a lot of fun. There is a ton of content here and the world is amazing!

    My main gripes about this game are the voice acting, lack of difficulty and bugs. As with all Elder Scroll games, it has a ton of bugs which is a huge pain and eye sore. As for the difficulty, once you get crafting down the game becomes incredibly easy and this also deters from the fun of exploring because you will not get any loot better than what you can make. I think Bethesda only hired about five voice actors for this game. There are waaaaaaay too many characters who sound the same throughout this huge world! Seriously hire more voice actors! After about 100 hours this game becomes boring, but that being said, this is a game you can easily put 100 hours into so its gotta be good!

    Not as great as Morrowind, but better than Oblivion, Skyrim is definitely a must have for RPG and adventure gamers!
    Expand
  97. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    Best RPG of all time, Kudos to its modding community. It is the only game that encourage players to create their own talent on mobs and showcase on skyrim due to their creation kit, it is the best. It is time to change your review from negative to positive, they had removed paid mods once again. The game doesn't deserve the negative review, it is just their wishful thinking. They hadBest RPG of all time, Kudos to its modding community. It is the only game that encourage players to create their own talent on mobs and showcase on skyrim due to their creation kit, it is the best. It is time to change your review from negative to positive, they had removed paid mods once again. The game doesn't deserve the negative review, it is just their wishful thinking. They had realize their stubbornness and greediness and they won't do that again. Expand
  98. Aug 25, 2015
    7
    Yeah maybe the game is huge but what else...not much. Boring, really. One can play through a game like Oblivion only so many times. Skyrim is very similar, only the story is even worse. As a gamer I expect the devs to treat me with respect that dictates them trying a bit harder than just adjusting and changing 10% of the recent game and release it as new title. I expect new story, I expectYeah maybe the game is huge but what else...not much. Boring, really. One can play through a game like Oblivion only so many times. Skyrim is very similar, only the story is even worse. As a gamer I expect the devs to treat me with respect that dictates them trying a bit harder than just adjusting and changing 10% of the recent game and release it as new title. I expect new story, I expect to be immersed, I expect great, interesting quests and characters. Nothing besides the music is above average in Skyrim plus I had to deal with the horrid console interface. What a joke.
    You can mod this game to hell and back and then it gains some color but vanilla Skyrim is a pale experience. Rating it based on mods would be giving credit to Bethesda instead where it is really due - the mod community. I feel that Skyrim brought me mediocre entertainment and in that term it is no better than Risen 2, yet it presents slighly higher production values, for example music and larger world.

    Story
    I hoped it would be something different, a lot better than Oblivion but I was dissapointed. The same jailed cutscene I can understand, that is TES franchise trademark so to say. But everything other besides that featured in the game. The Dovakhiin hero role playing is a lot worse than any TES earlier games. I literally had to force myself to sit through this and I consider the time lost forever.

    Graphics/Gameplay
    Dated on premiere day. Same console bull_____. Bad user interface ensures a pc player has trouble with smooth, fast action gameplay. The inventory is all over the place. Really a pain.
    Gaining skills and abilities has been changed for far far worse than in TES : Oblivion. It makes developing the character a chore and a needless, uninteresting grindfest. Few quests are good, hundreds do not deserve to take any self-respecting gamers` time.
    Actor models are horrific, bland robots. They did nothing to even help me submerge in the game`s world. They act in an incredibly scripted way, they are pathetic in showing any emotions at all, even the actor conversations are terrible.
    Maps/locations are huge and pretty, I give it that. But I haven`t come into anything remotely different than with any other rpg title. The same caves, same jail buildings, same castles, same tunnels I went through countless times before. The only thing that caught my attention are the open grounds like say waterfalls and some awesome sightseeing spots in the mountains.
    In the above locations are the same enemy types, all uncreative. I never came to meet an enemy I wouldn`t be able to characterise (strenght/health/magic etc.) at the plain first sight. Same ole spiders/zombies/thieves/monks/trolls/lions etc. What a waste of development time.

    Music
    Beautiful music, easily the strongest feature of Skyrim. Goes well with all character scenes. I caught myself exploring only due to the orchestra of different quite epic tunes.
    Expand
  99. Aug 23, 2015
    10
    The PC version of Skyrim is hands down one of the best improvements you could get over the console versions of the game. Console commands make it possible to do the impossible, such as fly at maximum speed all the way across Skyrim's vast map (not recommended, can crash the game), customise your character after completing "Unbound", spawning layer upon layer of cheese wheels, change NPCThe PC version of Skyrim is hands down one of the best improvements you could get over the console versions of the game. Console commands make it possible to do the impossible, such as fly at maximum speed all the way across Skyrim's vast map (not recommended, can crash the game), customise your character after completing "Unbound", spawning layer upon layer of cheese wheels, change NPC genders and race to make them weird hybrids, and so much more. Also, you have the mods. So MANY mods. In fact, there are so many that it extends Skyrim's replayability to about a decade or more. A couple of gems include swearing Mudcrabs, a laugh track that plays when people die or lockpicks break, playable giants, new races, fully open locations (meaning no loading screens whatsoever when going into buildings), playable NPCs, new armour and weapon additions, lightsabres, and even graphical mods that go far beyond what any console is capable of handling, and that's just barely even scratching the surface. After all I've said, and if you have the specs to run it, PC Skyrim is a gem you don't want to miss out on. Expand
  100. Aug 21, 2015
    9
    This game is amazing. Very good storyline, replay value, soundtrack etc. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is the glitches because there are so many and at times can be frustrating.
  101. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    To those who can't believe how somebody could rate this game so low, I know exactly how you feel, about the game and the rating. I couldn't possibly care any less though.:)
    Good WRPG is all about choices/options and involved/enjoyable character development. An epic, well written story helps as well. This game does not have any of this.
    With a large world to explore, it first felt like a
    To those who can't believe how somebody could rate this game so low, I know exactly how you feel, about the game and the rating. I couldn't possibly care any less though.:)
    Good WRPG is all about choices/options and involved/enjoyable character development. An epic, well written story helps as well. This game does not have any of this.
    With a large world to explore, it first felt like a lot was possible. Cave exploration, ruin exploration, underwater exploration, fight X creature, find a random town and talk to random denizen, etc. After about 10 hours, it became more obvious that, yeah there is a lot you can do on the side, just none of it was all that interesting. At a certain point it just felt like I was playing offline MMO, in that the game allows you to do so much but it's just done so poorly.
    I know that the graphics aren't the most important part of a game like this but Skyrim don't even look average. I would never be so ridiculous as to say that I would buy a game just based on the visuals, but this game look like heavily moded Oblivion.
    Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    Unfortunately, Skyrim trips and falls on its own (most probably, to make the cool-sounding deadline of 11-11-11) and just before it reaches perfection as the ultimate specimen of its genre, it self-destructs in a crucial aspect of game design: the interface and the peripheral components (inventory, journal, map, etc)... but that is not to say that Skyrim is anything but a truly majestic, epic RPG that will suck you right in its cosmos.
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]