The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9288 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    In its worst moments Skyrim stumbles over its confused artificial intelligence, shutting itself down and its half-done inventory system. In its best ones Skyrim is the king of the new age of the genre.
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    97
    Let me clear things up by assuring you that none of the quest bugs, graphical issues, gameplay glitches, or unexplained crashes I've encountered can change the fact that I played this amazing RPG for well over 100 hours in the past couple weeks and absolutely loved it.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is like a music album that has a few tracks that you aren't particularly fond of, but rest of the music is pure aural blliss that you can't help but think of the album as close to perfection as possible.
  5. Dec 16, 2011
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    You will have to spend dozens of hours to fully explore Skyrim. Like any other Bethesda game, it has its share of imperfections and broken promises, but it's exciting and fascinating nevertheless. Wait for a couple of patches to come out, download the best mods, tighten the screws in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file, and you're good to go for a virtual Christmas vacation.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Best game ever,Bethesda once again did a wonderful job.I have 150 hours in it and still haven't completed all quest or discovered all placesBest game ever,Bethesda once again did a wonderful job.I have 150 hours in it and still haven't completed all quest or discovered all places BEST GAME OF ALL TIME GOOD JOB BETHESDA FOR THE BEST RPG OF ALL TIME. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    After playing all of the older elder scrolls games and many other RPGs, i was ecstatic to hear about Skyrim, and it did not disappoint. withAfter playing all of the older elder scrolls games and many other RPGs, i was ecstatic to hear about Skyrim, and it did not disappoint. with all of the rich lore and masterful graphics, Skyrim takes the franchise to a whole new level. after spending over two hundred hours on this game i am not in the least bit board, and i will continue to play until TESO comes out. I highly recommend this game to all gamers. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10 minutes and is not a steaming pile of bugs, pretty up everything, make the faces cooler and make just about everything better and you have skyrim. This game is a masterpiece, its the game that we have been waiting for in 2011, (Most titles this year have been bad to say the least) This game would deserve a perfect 10 if not for the super lame secondary main quest which is the civil war, you can kill the final boss in one hit, I understand that level scaling is bad in most cases, but in some cases things have to be level scaled. The annoying part is, the civil war is about the length of the dragon questline! this game would get a 9.7 in my book now, thanks to that one little detail, but since metacritic forces me to round up my score, 10 it is!
    Also, if you really want to complain about the crappy interface of how you painfully select everything and how its built for a controller, do one of the two following things : get a mod, or use a controller, we all have USB ports!
    Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    my complaints are that absolutely broken stealth system and the face that it is too easy to get rich quick in the end I merely adjusted mymy complaints are that absolutely broken stealth system and the face that it is too easy to get rich quick in the end I merely adjusted my gameplay and purposely made it financially harder for my self). The "Epic" battles are pitifully small, and the plots are rather short, other than that the game is pretty good, with solid gameplay and an immersive atmosphere that makes it easy to get into. It gave me many hours of enjoyment. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Skyrim is a great game, one of the best RPG games out there. Unfortunately it obviously has it flaws. If I wrote this review beforeSkyrim is a great game, one of the best RPG games out there. Unfortunately it obviously has it flaws. If I wrote this review before 'finishing' (maybe ~50 hours in) I would have given it a 9 or a 10. But so many flaws come into mind. Many quests are bugged. You have to google the issue and find out something is bugged and correct it manually with console commands (if possible). Just one of dozens of examples is when the quest contains reading a certain journal/book but you found it much earlier it will bug out and make you unable to ever finish the questline unless you do your own research and try to manually fix it with console commands. This has happened WAY TOO OFTEN. The other MAJOR flaw are the boring quests. There are some really nice and interesting quests out there who tell a beatuiful story and it is really fun doing the quests, but far too many quests are simply like this: 'I lost my sword/flute/whatever, go to the dungeon, kill all enemies, at the end there is a chest with my lost item in it, return it to me'. Far too many of those. No story, nothing. Uber boring and so many of these quests. At the end of the game around level 50 I just quit because 99% of the quests seem to be these boring catch quests without story. Overall still a good game with awesome graphics, some great stories. The mainquest is a huge letdown also. The endboss is too easy and the "mainstory" ends abrupt with no rewards. I finished ~110 hours in. The first 50-80 hours were awesome. Then was the time when only boring quests were left. Still recommend buying, but don't expect a flawless game as it is certainly not. Also some other major bugs with followers and equipments or leveling ruined a lot for me if it wasn't for manually googling fixes and console commands. 8/10 Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    Skyrim does a very good job of giving you a huge world to explore, unfortunately the scale might be its greatest downside as well. It feelsSkyrim does a very good job of giving you a huge world to explore, unfortunately the scale might be its greatest downside as well. It feels like not enough butter spread over too much bread. There are little to no memorable characters besides dragons and there are very few genuinely interesting quests to partake in. In my 85 hours spent wandering the lands of Skyrim, no particular moment truly stands out to me. I find this to be rather disappointing after playing Oblivion... I'll never forget my skooma escapades or my quests for the Madgod, but my memories of yelling at some wrinkly old men on top of a mountain are already fading. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2015
    0
    I loved the community, which made mods cause they loved the game.
    Valve destroyed that in one night, together with Bethesda.
    I've translated
    I loved the community, which made mods cause they loved the game.
    Valve destroyed that in one night, together with Bethesda.
    I've translated mods and worked on other mods, never wanted a penny for it.

    Valve eat **** and die, same Bethesda.
    Expand

See all 2315 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.