Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6883 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    In its worst moments Skyrim stumbles over its confused artificial intelligence, shutting itself down and its half-done inventory system. In its best ones Skyrim is the king of the new age of the genre.
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    97
    Let me clear things up by assuring you that none of the quest bugs, graphical issues, gameplay glitches, or unexplained crashes I've encountered can change the fact that I played this amazing RPG for well over 100 hours in the past couple weeks and absolutely loved it.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is like a music album that has a few tracks that you aren't particularly fond of, but rest of the music is pure aural blliss that you can't help but think of the album as close to perfection as possible.
  5. 90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    You will have to spend dozens of hours to fully explore Skyrim. Like any other Bethesda game, it has its share of imperfections and broken promises, but it's exciting and fascinating nevertheless. Wait for a couple of patches to come out, download the best mods, tighten the screws in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file, and you're good to go for a virtual Christmas vacation.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10 minutes and is not a steaming pile of bugs, pretty up everything, make the faces cooler and make just about everything better and you have skyrim. This game is a masterpiece, its the game that we have been waiting for in 2011, (Most titles this year have been bad to say the least) This game would deserve a perfect 10 if not for the super lame secondary main quest which is the civil war, you can kill the final boss in one hit, I understand that level scaling is bad in most cases, but in some cases things have to be level scaled. The annoying part is, the civil war is about the length of the dragon questline! this game would get a 9.7 in my book now, thanks to that one little detail, but since metacritic forces me to round up my score, 10 it is!
    Also, if you really want to complain about the crappy interface of how you painfully select everything and how its built for a controller, do one of the two following things : get a mod, or use a controller, we all have USB ports!
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    GOTY? No - possibly game of the last ten years. I'm not inclined toward sandbox games - never found one I've really liked and I'm not inclinedGOTY? No - possibly game of the last ten years. I'm not inclined toward sandbox games - never found one I've really liked and I'm not inclined toward Bethesda, either; I was bewildered by Oblivion and found Fallout 3 painfully bad from a story, voice acting, and the game engine .

    But Skyrim? It stands apart - and above - almost anything else I've played. First, there is the vastness of the game world: almost beyond comprehension, with hills and mountains and streams and caves littering the landscape. And where most games have one or two major cities, this game has at least eight. More than that, however, is the amazing degree of meticulous detail packed *into* this world. NPCs notice when you drop objects, what armor you're wearing, what magic you're wielding, and engage in intelligent conversation with other random NPCs. Explore at night and you will find a half-dozen varieties of bugs (some bigger than others!) and even more plants. Further, you really *live* in this world - craft potions, smith weapons, enchant them with spells - even cook your own food for more health. You can also meld combat styles very easily - for instance, I play a heavy armor one-handed warrior who also throws around magic. The one clear downside is the UI - quite unintuitive and poorly though out, console or no console - but one of the huge strengths of this game is the army of modders and the mod tools Bethesda is releasing so that it can all be fixed. Even now, there are some amazing mods that significantly improve the graphics.

    Honestly, if you're a gamer of any stripe, not experiencing this game would be a tragedy.
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Absolutely worth the wait. I fully expect it to take GOTY honors which it absolutely deserves. Improved graphics, combat system, menuAbsolutely worth the wait. I fully expect it to take GOTY honors which it absolutely deserves. Improved graphics, combat system, menu navigation. Great story lines and another brilliant soundtrack. Have had the game freeze up twice in about 3 solid days of playing. A couple of graphic glitches here and there and some AI issues... Nothing that has diminished the experience for me. Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Really immersing game with really good graphics and awesome gameplay. Definitely worth the money. I didn't get this game until a while afterReally immersing game with really good graphics and awesome gameplay. Definitely worth the money. I didn't get this game until a while after it was released, and it lived up to my expectations. If you're looking for a good RPG with lots of fun content, Skyrim is your game. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    Been waiting for this game to come out for 3 years now. Ant i must say i got much much more than i expected. All thou this game requires goodBeen waiting for this game to come out for 3 years now. Ant i must say i got much much more than i expected. All thou this game requires good hardware to run on its true beauty i recommend this game to every one who loves previous Elder scrolls titles. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    The reason why I can't give Skyrim a better score is simple : Skyrim has been made for console. I was expecting so much. But once you begin toThe reason why I can't give Skyrim a better score is simple : Skyrim has been made for console. I was expecting so much. But once you begin to truly explore, it feel very repetitive and the control on PC are very so so.

    It's still a good game, but I can't give more than 7.
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2014
    0
    Without mods Skyrim is nothing but a mediocre hiking simulator...

    - clunky combat - laughably bad writing - mostly consists of garbage
    Without mods Skyrim is nothing but a mediocre hiking simulator...

    - clunky combat
    - laughably bad writing
    - mostly consists of garbage content ( fetch quests, c&p dungeons, kill x amount of y, etc. )
    - No matter how big a game is, that amount of bugs and glitches is simply not acceptable
    - really poor animations
    - the interface is basically unusable
    - etc.
    Expand

See all 1903 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.