Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7930 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    In its worst moments Skyrim stumbles over its confused artificial intelligence, shutting itself down and its half-done inventory system. In its best ones Skyrim is the king of the new age of the genre.
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    97
    Let me clear things up by assuring you that none of the quest bugs, graphical issues, gameplay glitches, or unexplained crashes I've encountered can change the fact that I played this amazing RPG for well over 100 hours in the past couple weeks and absolutely loved it.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is like a music album that has a few tracks that you aren't particularly fond of, but rest of the music is pure aural blliss that you can't help but think of the album as close to perfection as possible.
  5. 90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    You will have to spend dozens of hours to fully explore Skyrim. Like any other Bethesda game, it has its share of imperfections and broken promises, but it's exciting and fascinating nevertheless. Wait for a couple of patches to come out, download the best mods, tighten the screws in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file, and you're good to go for a virtual Christmas vacation.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    I swear, this is the best game that I have ever played. Finally, a game can stand on its own without a multiplayer component, which shows thatI swear, this is the best game that I have ever played. Finally, a game can stand on its own without a multiplayer component, which shows that it is still possible to make a solely single player game. It feels like I'm playing an offline, better looking version of World of Warcraft, which is good, because who wants to play with other people, they just get in the way anyway. I have literally put in over 20 hours of game play without putting a dent in the main story, which is phenomenal by the way. Dragons make the game exciting to the point where the game is challenging but not impossible, giving that perfect balance of challenge and experience. Expand
  2. efx
    Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Damn i had so much fun playing this game was completely immersed for 8 hours straight today. So much possibilities, endless world pure fun.Damn i had so much fun playing this game was completely immersed for 8 hours straight today. So much possibilities, endless world pure fun. Sure PC version could be better its quite lazy console port but still GOTY. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10 minutes and is not a steaming pile of bugs, pretty up everything, make the faces cooler and make just about everything better and you have skyrim. This game is a masterpiece, its the game that we have been waiting for in 2011, (Most titles this year have been bad to say the least) This game would deserve a perfect 10 if not for the super lame secondary main quest which is the civil war, you can kill the final boss in one hit, I understand that level scaling is bad in most cases, but in some cases things have to be level scaled. The annoying part is, the civil war is about the length of the dragon questline! this game would get a 9.7 in my book now, thanks to that one little detail, but since metacritic forces me to round up my score, 10 it is!
    Also, if you really want to complain about the crappy interface of how you painfully select everything and how its built for a controller, do one of the two following things : get a mod, or use a controller, we all have USB ports!
    Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    I would love it if it didn`t feel numbed down compared to oblivion.

    Great graphic, big world with alot of npc`s, yet to me it didn`t feel
    I would love it if it didn`t feel numbed down compared to oblivion.

    Great graphic, big world with alot of npc`s, yet to me it didn`t feel alive as the morrowind.
    Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    not the perfect rpg, but one of the best for sure! of course the game being a bethesda game results in massive bugs, lags and glitches. if younot the perfect rpg, but one of the best for sure! of course the game being a bethesda game results in massive bugs, lags and glitches. if you look over that its an awesome game! the combat system is almost perfect, the story line in the first total 50 hours of gameplay are amazing, but after that you see that the rest of the game, the last 50% of it, were almost the same as the first half. i loved it, even that i'm a fallout fanboy, lol. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    In its own right, Skyrim is a shallow but passable RPG, but compared to previous Elder Scrolls titles it's a huge disappointment. The level ofIn its own right, Skyrim is a shallow but passable RPG, but compared to previous Elder Scrolls titles it's a huge disappointment. The level of casualization is simply depressing less equipment slots, more linear dungeons, no stats besides health/mana/stamina, less skills etc. The combat is actually a step up from Oblivion, and yet is still very basic and mindless. The first two or three dragon fights blew my mind, but it didn't take long to notice the looping patterns every single dragon would follow and how easy it was to exploit that. They soon became a chore. The main questline had a ton of potential but it's just so lacking and by the end I couldn't care less about it. I didn't care for many of the sidequests either, and the much-hyped infinite quests where nothing more than fetch quests. All in all, Skyrim is a nice-looking but barren and shallow sandbox that makes modding a near necessity. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2015
    0
    Paid mods.....Bethesda are as much a part of it as valve.

    I loved this game, and I loved the mods. This is a money grab pure and simple.
    Paid mods.....Bethesda are as much a part of it as valve.

    I loved this game, and I loved the mods. This is a money grab pure and simple.

    Greed Greed Greed Greed Greed Greed Greed Greed Greed
    Expand

See all 2258 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.