The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8420 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    In its worst moments Skyrim stumbles over its confused artificial intelligence, shutting itself down and its half-done inventory system. In its best ones Skyrim is the king of the new age of the genre.
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    97
    Let me clear things up by assuring you that none of the quest bugs, graphical issues, gameplay glitches, or unexplained crashes I've encountered can change the fact that I played this amazing RPG for well over 100 hours in the past couple weeks and absolutely loved it.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is like a music album that has a few tracks that you aren't particularly fond of, but rest of the music is pure aural blliss that you can't help but think of the album as close to perfection as possible.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    You will have to spend dozens of hours to fully explore Skyrim. Like any other Bethesda game, it has its share of imperfections and broken promises, but it's exciting and fascinating nevertheless. Wait for a couple of patches to come out, download the best mods, tighten the screws in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file, and you're good to go for a virtual Christmas vacation.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    Keep Calm and Love Skyrim. That's all I wanted to say. But I must type a hundred and fifty characters so I will be typing this - Haters gonnaKeep Calm and Love Skyrim. That's all I wanted to say. But I must type a hundred and fifty characters so I will be typing this - Haters gonna hate but once I shout on them, they fly away. Enough? Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    (first few paragraphs are the summary) Well having given it a 10 it is obvious I thought the game was great. There is more game play content(first few paragraphs are the summary) Well having given it a 10 it is obvious I thought the game was great. There is more game play content compared to previous games and the game world is believable (so far as fantasy can be). The game play has been streamlined to distill much the tedious things out, which may put off some hardcore fans but if the give it a go and compare with the previous games they'll realize it is for the better.

    Overall its a dam good game. If you don't like morrowind or oblivion then you won't like this game since free form RPGs probably aren't your thing so you should probably play something quite linear like the witcher 1 or 2. If you do like the previous games you may first feel a little upset with a few of the minor changes but once you realize why there in there you'll notice it does in fact provide a better game play experience. The vast majority of people having graphical problems are either on PS3 or very low end systems. There are a few crashes but for me at least they are rare (every 3 hours or so) and it is very quick to get back into the game. But with the quality Bethesda provides with all their games there is no doubt that patches will be released to tweak these problems and they don't impact on the games fun factor at all.

    The graphics are very nice and up there with any other fantasy setting game around and a nice upgrade over previous titles (I only compare with fantasy games as realism in graphics isn't the style they generally go for, meaning it is ridiculous and idiotic to compare graphics between this and battlefield 3 as the graphical styles are completely different, however it can be compared with The Witcher 2 and is probably equal though a little better than it in graphic wise).

    All of the complaints about the graphics I've seen are more because they dislike the graphical style (fantasy with a very slightly cartoon appearance) but the graphics are actually really nice. Of course the PS3 version of the game has graphical glitches, but that is more difficulty issues with the PS3 architecture than anything else. I haven't had any major graphical problems over 3 different PC setups and it all runs very smoothly. The only poorer aspect of the graphics from me is perhaps the particle effects for some of the fire effects but its a moot point and as a graphics programmer I can be a little picky there. The only major glitches I've seen are to do with animation transitions but again its kind of moot and doesn't break the immersion of the game.

    The AI path-finding also seems to have undergone an overhaul for the better. The AI is very good at navigating the game world and even in the few instances when it gets stuck it sorts itself out very quickly. There is still the problem of being able to trick it by placing yourself in a position it can't get too (such as on a cliff) and shooting it from afar, but that is really kind of cheating anyway and is an AI problem that will always be around for these games (other games get around it by simply preventing the player from moving to those locations, they can't do that in elder scrolls as it goes against their design philosophy of being able to go anywhere).

    Storyline wise the game is much better than oblivion (on par with morrowind which I enjoyed) and the voice acting throughout the game is head and shoulders above oblivion. Again with any elder scrolls game its the world and side quests that make up the meat of the game and here they don't disappoint.

    The combat system that takes about 20-40 mins to an to get used to but once you do you quickly realize how much better it is. There is actually some depth to it now rather then just hack and slash like oblivion (though it did try to be different). It is much easier to get the hang of than the Witcher though. The auto leveling system is also better since like the famous MMM mods you can still run into creatures of a higher level. it good still do with some more tweaking so that less weaker creatures appear (most bandits seem to be quite low level) but it is dam fun killing them so doesn't ruin the game at all.

    The gameplay has also been improved with the addition of small gameplay elements such as a crafting system, overhaul of skills (for the better), roleplaying aspects (not something I really enjoy but nice addition all the same) like chopping firewood to earn a little extra gold and many more things. I particularly like the new spell, enchantment and alchemy systems which have more depth but are simpler to play with.
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10 minutes and is not a steaming pile of bugs, pretty up everything, make the faces cooler and make just about everything better and you have skyrim. This game is a masterpiece, its the game that we have been waiting for in 2011, (Most titles this year have been bad to say the least) This game would deserve a perfect 10 if not for the super lame secondary main quest which is the civil war, you can kill the final boss in one hit, I understand that level scaling is bad in most cases, but in some cases things have to be level scaled. The annoying part is, the civil war is about the length of the dragon questline! this game would get a 9.7 in my book now, thanks to that one little detail, but since metacritic forces me to round up my score, 10 it is!
    Also, if you really want to complain about the crappy interface of how you painfully select everything and how its built for a controller, do one of the two following things : get a mod, or use a controller, we all have USB ports!
    Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    I've spend houndreds of hours on this addicting game. One of the few times a PC version is better than the console versions and that is theI've spend houndreds of hours on this addicting game. One of the few times a PC version is better than the console versions and that is the way it SHOULD be. Steam workshop makes this game have tons of extra fun. But on its own the game is worth your while. If you like a good story or combat system that has tons of choices this is it.

    It does have some flaws, and with the steamworkshop you can find other developers who agree with how you think the game should have been to fix what you think were poor balance choices. This makes for an almost ideal experience.

    Issues arise with strange glitches at times, however overall the sheer amount of things to do certainly outshines what annoyances you encounter.

    A must purchase for mature gamers with a sense of adventure.
    Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2011
    8
    As a true elder scroll fan, I can promise to any reader reading this review will not see a biased/unrelated/ranting review here. I was longAs a true elder scroll fan, I can promise to any reader reading this review will not see a biased/unrelated/ranting review here. I was long looking forward to skyrim, after experiencing Oblivion I honestly thought Bethesda could not surpass this. After playing many hours of Skyrim I feel I can speak true to other fans, or any other gamer who seek an excellent FPRPG experience. Lets start out visually; Skyrim I must say is stunning (if you have the power for it), even on a medium setting. What really strikes out is the atmosphere. You will see snow dust blowing, trees waving, beautiful water detail falling from cliffs and all sorts of wildlife running from and after you.. Skyrim honestly made me feel as if I was actually in the wild. The characters were mediocre, slightly better then those from oblivion with some flaws on texturing when they speak. Character creation, although very similar to oblivion, is very detailed as well, customizing everything from your nose, to the amount of dirt thats exposed on your skin. Now to gameplay; Skyrim has many different aspects to its gameplay that many gamers such as myself can pick out for a thorough review. First combat. I can definitely say that bethesda perfected combat in skyrim. No longer is it running around hacking and slashing. There are more fluid techniques one can use and it actually feels that you need to study your opponents moves. From using your shield to push them back to parrying them. Spells are excellent in which you now hold down to attack and dual wield. All in all the combat in skyrim is flawless. A huge draw back in this game is the character leveling. There are many perks one could use in this game but I feel there is alot left out. No matter if its a sword or mace, the mechanics only care if its one handed or two handed. Character strength and athletics no longer matter and any race can be a good spell caster if you devote your points to it. It feels that you can be anyone and excell in anything, which is fine, but it takes the fun out of being a character specific class. One thing I felt fell short was the GUI. The interface can be quite aggravating compared to oblivion which was much more organized. Some highlighted conversation selections will not work, the map controls are bit tedious to work with, and the inventory screen is quite bland. On to the story/quest/replay values. So far (I will not spoil anything) the story line is excellent. All the characters have a different personality, the voice acting is excellent, there are literally hundreds of quests and you will never become bored. AI town civilization is also greatly improved. Characters have better dialogue with each other and it feels like an actual simulation. To sum it all up, If you are an elder scrolls fan, Skyrim should not be an option just get it you will be satisfied. If you enjoy in depth RPG's that take on a more action style gameplay, Skyrim will satisfy you. If high replay value is what you are looking for, look no more. Skyrim, I can easily say, definitely meets expectations to a brand new Elder Scrolls title Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    I really really really really REALLY want to like this game, but i can't for some reason, I'm serious, the graphics are decent, the music isI really really really really REALLY want to like this game, but i can't for some reason, I'm serious, the graphics are decent, the music is epic and the world looks very open and fun, but for some reason, i get bored with it, Maybe it's because of the quests, but i'm not sure, I love Bethesda in general, Fallout 3 happens to be one of my favorite game, but skyrim, not really, still, i've spent a good 30 hours in it and i've had a few moments where i had an absolute blast playing it. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2015
    0
    This game without mods - 4/10
    This game with mods - 10/10
    This game with paid mods - 0/10 Congratulations for destroying the biggest
    This game without mods - 4/10
    This game with mods - 10/10
    This game with paid mods - 0/10

    Congratulations for destroying the biggest modding community in the world in one day, Valve.
    Expand

See all 2306 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.