The Godfather II PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 58
  2. Negative: 11 out of 58
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    5
    I really saw a lot of potential in this game. The first two thirds, certainly, showed great potential, but in the end it just fell flat. I felt for much of the game i was given a tour of this great game world, but not enough freedom to interact with it. It's a fantastic setting, great characters, music, the feel of everything, but it was just lost potential. Too much time being led aroundI really saw a lot of potential in this game. The first two thirds, certainly, showed great potential, but in the end it just fell flat. I felt for much of the game i was given a tour of this great game world, but not enough freedom to interact with it. It's a fantastic setting, great characters, music, the feel of everything, but it was just lost potential. Too much time being led around on scipted sequences, driving from place to place, barely any shops or businesses to interact with, and not enough combat or shooting sequences. I think with this setting, they could have made a game to beat grand theft auto. But instead, it seemed like like a lot of polish but not enough under the hood. Expand
  2. MarcG
    May 3, 2009
    5
    Not a bad game but the graphics while nice to look at are dated. The play was fun at first suffered the same repetitiveness of GF1. It was way too easy but if youre a fan of the movies then this will be fun to play just based on that. Just dont expect too much from it and you'll be fine.
  3. SD
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    This game is fine if viewed as a respectable third person shooter with a few bells and whistles. The scenario - The GF2 - is essentially a bonus, the plot wafer thin, and variety somewhat lacking. If proper family development, upgrades that really make a difference, and some more serious challenges had been included, it could have been a great game. As it is, what it amounts to is aThis game is fine if viewed as a respectable third person shooter with a few bells and whistles. The scenario - The GF2 - is essentially a bonus, the plot wafer thin, and variety somewhat lacking. If proper family development, upgrades that really make a difference, and some more serious challenges had been included, it could have been a great game. As it is, what it amounts to is a shooter. That said, though, it is competently done, and the combat is fun for short periods at a time, so it's not a disaster by any means. Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2013
    5
    Its pretty much like the previous game, except reskinned to look like the 50's. They should have remade everything from scratch but instead we have the same average looking graphics, repetitive side missions. Decent gameplay, the gunplay is your standard fair but the improvements here is being able to overview the city what stores and businesses can provide something for the family and newIts pretty much like the previous game, except reskinned to look like the 50's. They should have remade everything from scratch but instead we have the same average looking graphics, repetitive side missions. Decent gameplay, the gunplay is your standard fair but the improvements here is being able to overview the city what stores and businesses can provide something for the family and new made men to recruit into the family. The melee combat is a bit better than before which adds a series of combo's. While this sounds good what lets it all down is the game is ridiculously easy. Theres health potions that fall from every enemy you kill and your health regenerates. You can take over the city on your own you don't even need any made men to come with you...
    Multiplayer is terrible. Its wasted potential.
    Collapse
  5. Dec 21, 2014
    6
    The Godfather II The Game is a game based on the movie The Godfather II, developed the EA Redwood Shores and published by Electronic Arts (EA). The game manages to bring some events in the film, but little changed. In my opinion the story is not as well written as the film, and not really attract me somehow. Cities of the game are very small. A city in Godfather 2 is as GTA San AndreasThe Godfather II The Game is a game based on the movie The Godfather II, developed the EA Redwood Shores and published by Electronic Arts (EA). The game manages to bring some events in the film, but little changed. In my opinion the story is not as well written as the film, and not really attract me somehow. Cities of the game are very small. A city in Godfather 2 is as GTA San Andreas Village in. Anyway, the game is not very good. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    Its pretty much like the previous game, except reskinned to look like the 50's. They should have remade everything from scratch but instead we have the same average looking graphics, repetitive side missions. Decent gameplay, the gunplay is your standard fair but the improvements here is being able to overview the city what stores and businesses can provide something for the family and newIts pretty much like the previous game, except reskinned to look like the 50's. They should have remade everything from scratch but instead we have the same average looking graphics, repetitive side missions. Decent gameplay, the gunplay is your standard fair but the improvements here is being able to overview the city what stores and businesses can provide something for the family and new made men to recruit into the family. The melee combat is a bit better than before which adds a series of combo's. While this sounds good what lets it all down is the game is ridiculously easy. Theres health potions that fall from every enemy you kill and your health regenerates. You can take over the city on your own you don't even need any made men to come with you...
    Multiplayer is terrible. Its wasted potential.
    Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. PC Gamer
    79
    The Godfather II doesn't trip over the ambition of its design - it balances the different genre aspects extremely well - but nagging graphics issues weigh it down, causing quest characters and family members to disappear or distort in-game and in cutscenes, sometimes requiring me to load old saved games to progress. [Apr 2009, p.82]
  2. Play (Poland)
    70
    It has its moments - managing the family business and conquering the cities one building after another is compelling, as is the decent crime story told within. But this game looks dated, as if the GTA IV never happened. Roaming the city and the brushoffs with the police feel awkward, like an afterthought. [Mar 2009]
  3. PC Zone UK
    61
    The Godfather II is an improvement over its predecessor, though that's hardly a gratuitous compliment. How about this - The Godfather II is surprisingly not as plain as you might have thought it would be, all things considered. [May 2009, p.70]