The Longest Journey PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Longest Journey Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 443 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic 3-D adventure spanning over 150 unique locations across two distinct and detailed worlds. [Funcom]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Who would expect a previously unknown Norwegian developer to create such an absorbing and compelling adventure game? The Longest Journey is, quite simply, one of the best adventures ever made.
  2. Daily Radar
    100
    The best adventure game in years. That's one of the easier ways to describe The Longest Journey. It's also the longest, the most rewarding and the most mature.
  3. 100
    An adventure masterpiece...the best adventure game I've ever played.
  4. An engrossing and highly entertaining adventure game with characters that you can care about, an involving storyline to keep you hooked, and settings and characters that are both beautiful and bizarre.
  5. TLJ is a masterpiece and one of the best Adventures to be released during the past few years. Unfortunately it should be avoided by people who are violently repelled, for themselves or their offspring, by some extremely crude language.
  6. PC Gamer
    90
    The pinnacle of classic, point-and-click adventure gaming. [Feb 2001, p.97]
  7. Definitely not the kind of game everyone will appreciate and, in fact, may be unplayable after five minutes for some gamers.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. CarlosTheBear
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece! This game is over 10 years old and could teach nearly all modern developers how to tell a story. Sod next-gen physics and fancy Masterpiece! This game is over 10 years old and could teach nearly all modern developers how to tell a story. Sod next-gen physics and fancy graphics, this is engrossing. No game since Ico has had me actually caring for characters like this one has. Even if you don't like the genre (I myself am a racer/fps guy) this is a must buy. Expand
  2. TomB.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    The Longest Journey is a masterpiece. It has one of the most interesting storyline of any game I've ever played (except for perhaps The Longest Journey is a masterpiece. It has one of the most interesting storyline of any game I've ever played (except for perhaps Planescape: Torment). The environments are rich, varied, and interesting. The puzzles aren't up to the level of those in Riven and Myst, but they are challenging and fun. This game is undoubtedly one of the best adventure games since Myst. Only Syberia has topped it since its release. Expand
  3. BogdanD.
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    Man, this game is awesome...even after finishing it for the 4th time, i kinda feel like starting it all over again ;)... A well-deserved 10 Man, this game is awesome...even after finishing it for the 4th time, i kinda feel like starting it all over again ;)... A well-deserved 10 for FunCom and for this baby... Expand
  4. WayneB.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Sarah hamilton did a super job!
  5. MarkH.
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    Very good game, quite challenging.
  6. Jan 8, 2017
    9
    The Longest Journey is an amazing story adventure game and perfects the point & click genre. In terms of story, the game excels and the worldThe Longest Journey is an amazing story adventure game and perfects the point & click genre. In terms of story, the game excels and the world is equally incredible as it incorporates both sci-fi & fantasy elements. The Longest Journey is imaginative in its way of creating a diverse and unique universe filled with lore and characters that remain memorable. April Ryan is fantastic as the game's leading protagonist. She is well written and stands out as a main character. The world is truly great from the moment the player enters the futuristic world of Earth, being set about 300 years into the future. Sci-fi alone is done so well in this game and so is the fantasy aspect inspired by classic medieval lore with a fantastical touch.

    While filled with great lore and characters, the adventure filled game play can seem slow at times due to April's walk speed and this requires a bit of patience. This may be a problem as it can make the game experience seem a tedious one. Nonetheless, despite this The Longest Journey features amazing voice acting and dialogue coupled with a very well written script. This game is a true classic and really is one of the greatest adventure games ever made; nothing since has really compared to the degree of detail evident in the game's story structure and lore. Scale-wise, it is a series filled with imaginative lore containing creatures and characters from different worlds and backgrounds. This all combines to make an outstanding story adventure. The Longest Journey is the first of the Dreamfall series and anyone interested in fantasy, or sci-fi with an emphasis on narrative should definitely experience this game.
    Expand
  7. ShawnT.
    Jun 30, 2007
    0
    This is the lamest game ever invented the only reason why i bought it is because it got such a high metascore. Please do not buy this game This is the lamest game ever invented the only reason why i bought it is because it got such a high metascore. Please do not buy this game unless you are looking for something to help you fall asleep. Trust me this is a stupid game and you will hate it. I have played thousands of games and this one falls at the bottom of my list. I wish I could get my money back! Collapse

See all 85 User Reviews