User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 274 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 274

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    The Lord of the Rings, Battle for Middle-earth II, Is an Extremely good RTS game. That any RTS player should give a try. Its campaign is good good with voices and music. Outstanding game play I never get tired of going back and playing a match in multiplayer or even a little of campaign. With the Create a Hero and War of the Ring It gives more game play. The create a hero is Amazing I would be sitting there making heroes with strategy's for each one, But sooner or later I would have 100 heroes and never use a majority of my strategy's. As the game is great go play it and if you don't like it then you aren't a fan of Lotr. Well thats fine but that dose not mean its not a great game. The balance is very good but still some mess ups there. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Perhaps lacking in originality or innovation, I find the gameplay itself to be simply outstanding. Aside from Starcraft, I haven't spent as much time in an RTS, replaying and replaying - most of that comes from the depth of material drawn from the films, giving one an immersive experience that I don't believe another LotR game has matched.
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    lotr on his best cool story with the north thats just awsome to fight with the story isnt that long but you keep playing with some new modes that could bin a lilte better but its still fun its a bitty that ea had to this up and now we cant play online and we cant buy this game anymore only on amazon for 500 dollars but still this game is great with lots of maps you can play like you wound and make your own herous that awesome you can than level them up the graphics are nice to you dont have that much options but its good like this its epic like this lets hope that we get a part 3 i am hope so much ea or sombody els Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    I'm surprised with the number of low ratings. I'm a big fan of the rts genre, and while I was skeptical when I first bought Battle for Middle-earth 2, I found it to be an amazingly enjoyable game. Even today, it still looks stunning. I have no idea what some of the people are talking about when they say it isn't original. I haven't played any game like it, the armies are vast (much bigger than in games like age of empires, command and conquer, and warcraft 3), and the heroes powerful. If you're a fan of rts games, I would rate this an 8 for you; if you're a fan of the Lord of the Rings books, I would give this a 10. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    The game itself has a fun campaign (not as good as the first BFME game as they made it linear) good gameplay and excellent music and artwork. SUCKS that EA discontinued the online version even though it was played regularly
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    This RTS went deeper into tolkiens lore with the campaign and units from its predecessor. One of my favorite strategy games of all time. Its a lot of fun controlling great battles of middle earth and seeing who plays out as victor.
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    Great game for Lord of the Rings fans, not that great RTS. The online servers used to be very unstable and the balance... well, there was no balance. The graphics were great, can't deny that. What wasn't all that great was the post release support. It took forever for a patch to come out that didn't really fix anything and soon after, support died all together. I'm not going to deny that I still had a huge amount of fun with this game and the player made scenarios were great. Expand
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    6
    After playing and enjoying the first Battle for Middle Earth, I was excited about this game, but ultimately was disappointed. The game succeeds in taking us to previously-unseen places and allowing us to command new forces, but for all the glamour I never found it particularly compelling. I suppose that's what happens when it lacks the known characters of the original but fails to create new memorable characters or story. I did like that unlike its predecessor this game allows you to (mostly) freely build structures instead of using nodes, but this is small comfort. This was definitely a game that I finished more out of duty than enjoyment. Expand
  9. Oct 11, 2013
    6
    This game is a sheer joy to play. They did a lot of things right in this game like the sound effects and the semi-RPG elements with the units and character, but they also did a lot of things wrong like the "power up" ability. 1st off they take way too long to recharge and also they are really expensive so you'll generally have to wait a long time before you can buy another one.
  10. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    The sequel to the incredible Battle for Middle-Earth. I don't really believe the game is anywhere near as good as its predecessor. The campaign modes are mediocre, at best, but the Skirmish and the create-a-character bring some new stuff into this game. I also really don't like the way the factions are decided (Humans, Elves, Dwarves, etc.). I prefer the old style of the original game (Mordor, Isengard, Rohan, Gondor). I also prefer the idea of their being castles instead of having fortresses with builders. Overall, okay game, but nowhere near as good as the original. Expand
  11. Dec 2, 2013
    4
    This game had great potential, but its AI, unit balance and online Lags are some of the worst i ever seen. The original BFME was just better, the biggest let down here is story mode. The main problem is that AI is absolutely broken. It never upgrade troops and just swarm, multiplayer could save it, but again unit balance is so poor that you will quickly go play online Starcraft, Warcraft 3. CnC 3 or dawn of war. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. While Battle for Middle Earth 2 has taken a step back from its more avant-garde predecessor, it's a welcome one. If it wasn't for the woefully sub-par AI, this game would earn an easy, unreserved recommendation. But rolling over the AI time and time again in single-player just gets old, and if you don't have the appetite for online play, you'll end up pushing it to the back of the drawer and hoping for a patch.
  2. Innovative, fun to play and a joy to watch. A breath of fresh air in the stale real-time strategy genre. [Mar 2006]
  3. The Battle for Middle-earth II improves on 2004's game with a better strategic mode and a much broader scope that encompasses the whole of Middle-earth.