Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Given a new agreement with The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Tolkien Enterprises that grants EA the rights to develop games based on the books, in addition to a separate agreement that allows for games based on the New Line Cinema films The Lord of the Rings, The Battle for Middle-earth II will introduce players to depths of the fiction never before explored by EA. With all new content from J.R.R. Tolkien's original fiction, delve deeper than ever before and engage in new battles that go beyond the award-winning movie trilogy. Wage war in the North and assume command of the most storied civilizations in all of Middle-earth history -- the Elven and Dwarven armies -- or fight on the side of Evil with heroes and creatures that have never been seen in The Lord of the Rings films. Defend or overtake never before seen lands such as Dol Guldur, The Misty Mountains, and Mirkwood as you unleash powerful new weapons and abilities - summon dragons, cause volcanoes to erupt, or bring down a cataclysmic lightning strike. But beware, with greater power comes greater adversity. Your enemies, commanded by a powerful new AI system, possess a greater tactical edge and more powerful spells. Will your armies have the fortitude to persevere? [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Innovative, fun to play and a joy to watch. A breath of fresh air in the stale real-time strategy genre. [Mar 2006]
  2. 90
    Improves upon the original in several fundamental ways. Most importantly, it allows you to build your fortresses and buildings anywhere on the map, rather than pre-set building zones, opening your strategy up and allowing for a lot more variation in gameplay.
  3. 90
    Battle for Middle-earth II is proof that EA was serious about getting back into the good graces of serious RTS fans.
  4. The Battle for Middle-earth II improves on 2004's game with a better strategic mode and a much broader scope that encompasses the whole of Middle-earth.
  5. What we have in The Battle For Middle Earth 2 is a good title, very good at times, that could become rather great with some patching.
  6. 80
    The hottest RTS game this year, and one of the most rewarding Lord of the Rings title available.
  7. 70
    My biggest concerns, though, rest with how multiplayer is balanced. The heroes are simply far too powerful; in one game, three heroes utterly destroyed an entire enemy army. Things get even worse when playing with One Ring enabled.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 71
  2. Negative: 23 out of 71
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Perhaps lacking in originality or innovation, I find the gameplay itself to be simply outstanding. Aside from Starcraft, I haven't spent as much time in an RTS, replaying and replaying - most of that comes from the depth of material drawn from the films, giving one an immersive experience that I don't believe another LotR game has matched. Expand
  2. JamieM.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Any enthusiast of either Tolkien related games, RTS Gaming or general Online Gaming should definitely get this game. The game has kept some of the elements of the first game, and really built on them and improved both the game dynamics and the strategic depth in the gameplay. You can see that the games are not estranged totally from one another, but the sequel has definitely surpassed any level of skill or fun that the original had. If you liked the original then this game will definitely give you a run for your money, and I can guarantee you'll enjoy it more. Now, if you were very critical of the first game and thought it was lacking in many serious departments (the Hardcore RTS Gamer, for example) then I think you'll be very surprised (in a good way!!) when you try this revamped and all round awesome sequel. The multiplayer is going places. It really is a true contender for inclusion in major LAN tournaments and pro leagues. With a few tweaks that EA have committed to making this game could be the next big thing. [OoE]LeTigre Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    The Lord of the Rings, Battle for Middle-earth II, Is an Extremely good RTS game. That any RTS player should give a try. Its campaign is good good with voices and music. Outstanding game play I never get tired of going back and playing a match in multiplayer or even a little of campaign. With the Create a Hero and War of the Ring It gives more game play. The create a hero is Amazing I would be sitting there making heroes with strategy's for each one, But sooner or later I would have 100 heroes and never use a majority of my strategy's. As the game is great go play it and if you don't like it then you aren't a fan of Lotr. Well thats fine but that dose not mean its not a great game. The balance is very good but still some mess ups there. Collapse
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    This RTS went deeper into tolkiens lore with the campaign and units from its predecessor. One of my favorite strategy games of all time. Its a lot of fun controlling great battles of middle earth and seeing who plays out as victor. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    6
    After playing and enjoying the first Battle for Middle Earth, I was excited about this game, but ultimately was disappointed. The game succeeds in taking us to previously-unseen places and allowing us to command new forces, but for all the glamour I never found it particularly compelling. I suppose that's what happens when it lacks the known characters of the original but fails to create new memorable characters or story. I did like that unlike its predecessor this game allows you to (mostly) freely build structures instead of using nodes, but this is small comfort. This was definitely a game that I finished more out of duty than enjoyment. Expand
  6. BradH.
    Mar 19, 2006
    2
    The original Battle for Middle-Earth was created to be something different in the RTS world. They changed the conventional menu system to "build plots" and ready built castles with fortifiable walls. With no builders to worry about, building could be done directly from a Expand
  7. JS
    Feb 14, 2006
    0
    Battle for Middle Earth II is so incredibly awesome (insert sarcasm here)

    I like the realism, where a stray dwarven axe flying through my
    base takes out five buildings on it's way off the map. It's also cool to play a game where all the super powers are less interesting rip-offs of C&C Generals:Zero Hour generals powers.

    Weak sauce.
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews