User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 10 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PlevtaC.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    I have played this game from beta, and I must say this game is great. With the creation of a live event roleplaying game, talking to movie characters feels like you really are. This game is most certainly not for everyone, and I can't say it's better than worlds of warcraft, I can say that it was much more polished when launch day came than wow was. The combat system isn't I have played this game from beta, and I must say this game is great. With the creation of a live event roleplaying game, talking to movie characters feels like you really are. This game is most certainly not for everyone, and I can't say it's better than worlds of warcraft, I can say that it was much more polished when launch day came than wow was. The combat system isn't rock paper sisors, i know this because any of the three combat icons can beat any other one...... If you are a Matrix fan or are looking for an alternative to Wow or City of Heros, this is the game for you. Expand
  2. RigorMortis
    Mar 30, 2005
    9
    I'm taking off a point only because of the bugs. Everything else about this game is first rate. Don't listen to the haters. Either they're bound and determined to dislike the game because they think--without ever playing it--that it's a cheap attempt to ripoff Matrix fans, or they played a little during beta without knowing what the hell they were doing and jumped to I'm taking off a point only because of the bugs. Everything else about this game is first rate. Don't listen to the haters. Either they're bound and determined to dislike the game because they think--without ever playing it--that it's a cheap attempt to ripoff Matrix fans, or they played a little during beta without knowing what the hell they were doing and jumped to the stupid conclusion that the game is broken. There are some people out there with reasonable complaints, and you should listen to them, but as for the rest, ignore them. Matrix Online is a great game if you give it a chance. Expand
  3. Mykal
    Apr 20, 2005
    8
    This game is a lot of fun to play. Simple as that. It isn't bug free, it isn't the greatest thing since pong, it is a game that you can easily jack into and loose yourself in for a few hours. I'm not a huge fan of the films. (Heck I am a huge Star Wars fan and I can admit that SWG was a POS) So I think my opinion is fairly unbiased. I am a gamer more than anything and there This game is a lot of fun to play. Simple as that. It isn't bug free, it isn't the greatest thing since pong, it is a game that you can easily jack into and loose yourself in for a few hours. I'm not a huge fan of the films. (Heck I am a huge Star Wars fan and I can admit that SWG was a POS) So I think my opinion is fairly unbiased. I am a gamer more than anything and there are fun things to do in MxO... I think the game is worth trying. Expand
  4. TomM.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    My first MMO and it is really cool. The events that take place are awesome and give me a feel that the world is really alive.
  5. JakeJ.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    WOOT. What a nice change from the usual drivel
  6. MikeR.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Phenomenal game. Breakthrough in MMO combat.
  7. TroyP.
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Their End of Beta event was the best gaming experience I have had in 20 years of gaming, and they just announced they are going to have a Live Event team. I guarantee that their next events are going to be seminal gaming occasions. [Ed: Hmmm....]
  8. JohnnyNightmare
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    End of Beta was awesome. I'm in the game now (lvl 7 Spy, lvl 6 Martial Artist) and having a lot of fun. Being able to change your skill set at any time is incredible. Combined with cool combat and an amazing story and the game is just great.
  9. MarkL.
    Mar 27, 2005
    9
    To know the matrix is to know freedom.
  10. JoyceE.
    May 10, 2005
    9
    I love the cyberpunk world and the events that are taking place with live actors. Add a depth I have not enjoy in other games. The community is great too.
  11. MikeA.
    May 8, 2005
    9
    Good game, happy days ahead!
  12. MastaTY
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    I've been playing this game online for a while and like it very much. You have so many options to choose from as far as building your character and once you do chose you can always change again. Example you can switch from Proxy Master to Arbalest very easily! Be warned you must go through the ability tree and find out what you would like to be so your character is more powerfull in I've been playing this game online for a while and like it very much. You have so many options to choose from as far as building your character and once you do chose you can always change again. Example you can switch from Proxy Master to Arbalest very easily! Be warned you must go through the ability tree and find out what you would like to be so your character is more powerfull in your chosen ability tree. Yes, the game is addicting. If you dont like conflict please go with a non hostile server! as PVP is always on the hostile servers!! The game is not bug free but you tell me which online game isnt?! Right? Anyway, there are several live events going on that carry the story forward such as Morpheus's Assasination. Vampires and Werewolfs runnin around tryin to kick ur arse! Also, Niobe will jack in once in a while and give you special tips about future events or even special missions! There are so many things to do in The Matrix Online but beware once you reach level 50 all youll want to do is gank people and wait for the next event, maybe recruit some more people to your faction OR start another character in another server. In any event, the exciting thing about the game is that they are still adding on more abilities and activities to do. This game has drastically improved since the BETA and i expect more exciting stuff from it. The Devs are very receptive to the bugs that are reported to them and are diligent to fixing them and to add more content. I cant believe the new Citadel Coder ability, its sick! Last event Redpills had to fight these huge monsters made out of flies it was just chaos in MegaCity. I wonder if they are going to collect all of the live events and make a movie out of it?? Hmmmmm!! and a side note i dont blame anyone for tryng to make a lil extra money. This is America where the dollar is the God most people Trust. Peace! Expand
  13. ClaytonM.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    I have to give this game a 10 because it is finally a step in the right direction for the Matrix franchise and it is a valiant attempt at growing a stale and insular genre of video games. I was in the beta test for the last week of it, and I can honestly say that this game is something NEW to the MMORPG genre and DIFFERENT and believe it or not quite FUN. If you are expecting some I have to give this game a 10 because it is finally a step in the right direction for the Matrix franchise and it is a valiant attempt at growing a stale and insular genre of video games. I was in the beta test for the last week of it, and I can honestly say that this game is something NEW to the MMORPG genre and DIFFERENT and believe it or not quite FUN. If you are expecting some standard run of the mill MMORPG like EQ or WOW gameplay experience this is not for you. Mxo has a team of live actors in the game role playing as the major characters and moving the story along - which is absolutley awesome. I am totally compelled by the fact that this game is telling a continuing story and that it dovetails right from the end of the third film. Having 20 people paid to be live actors in the game and letting me participate in the story is just fantastic. It's like being able to jump into a live tv show and join in. The dev team has shown their commitment to this game and more importantly the community many times and frankly, I've found the MxO community to be the best, most mature group of people out of any of the MMORPG's I've played. Even if you don't like the Matrix fiction that much I still reccomend this game because the gameplay stands on its own. I've encountered very little problems with the game so far and nothing outside of what you would expect for the launch of a new MMORPG title. You should get into this game NOW before you miss out on the unfolding story. Clayton Expand
  14. JoeDirt
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    BEST GAME EVER! Huge cities, great combat, and spectacular missions!
  15. PeteG.
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    I am new to this type of game, but I like Matrix stuff and so I figured I would try it. I preordered and got into the game on last friday and I have been playing it ever since! I had no idea how fun a PC game like this could be. Plus its like I'm in the Matrix. I was just playing and one of the characters from the movie was in the game talking to a group of people. Totally cool. I I am new to this type of game, but I like Matrix stuff and so I figured I would try it. I preordered and got into the game on last friday and I have been playing it ever since! I had no idea how fun a PC game like this could be. Plus its like I'm in the Matrix. I was just playing and one of the characters from the movie was in the game talking to a group of people. Totally cool. I dunno. I like to consider myself a casual game player but this game has me so hooked I seem to be playing it more than I could have anticipated. Does this make me hardcore? I definitely give this game a solid 10, since it is the best game I've ever played of this type and it is not all about dragons and dungeons which is kind of played out and aimed at kiddes. This just seems more adult. Anyway, the game is cool. Definitely worth buying and trying out for while. This was the first game I preordered in my life and I have to say that I'm glad I did it. Other games I like: Halo 2 GTA: San Andreas Madden Football Grubbs Expand
  16. RusselT.
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    Best MMP Evah!! Teh graphics are awesome, the interlock system rules over traditional combat in other MMPs. Night clubs are the place to hang out and listen to RFZ. It does have it's problem like most MMPs in early stages of being released, but makes up for it in story content.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. The unique fighting system keeps things lively—martial arts and gun battles play out by aligning "moves" on an action bar—but whether or not there are enough Matrix fans out there to populate this huge, lush world remains to be seen.
  2. The overly cryptic and many-layered interface, particularly the combat and leveling systems might well appeal to the more hard-core gamers out there. However, this facet of the game is so very difficult to learn even the basics of, that it may drive away the casual gamer—quite a strange choice for a game that’s doubtless counting on broad fan appeal for its bread and butter.
  3. Simply put, only the most dedicated fan of the film franchise will glean any enjoyment from the most recent Warner-produced debacle, and experienced fans of MMO's will find nothing here to concern them.