User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Half life 2 and its two episodes are amazing, the game continually puts out exactly what any good FPS player needs. Portal is an amazing game, it has lots of potential to grow. The first few maps are very easy and teach the mechanics. After these scenarios the game becomes quite challenging, and actually involves a bit of knowledge in physics to figure out where you will land with your Half life 2 and its two episodes are amazing, the game continually puts out exactly what any good FPS player needs. Portal is an amazing game, it has lots of potential to grow. The first few maps are very easy and teach the mechanics. After these scenarios the game becomes quite challenging, and actually involves a bit of knowledge in physics to figure out where you will land with your portal. TF2 is just an awesome game, though it is best played on a server with friendly fire enabled. If friendly fired is enabled it makes life as a spy much more difficult as anyone can shoot you with no repercussions. Overall I give the pack a 10/10. A MUST HAVE! I suggest the source package, or the valve package if you do not have the other games associated with valve (DoD, CS, and the like). Expand
  2. PhilipD.
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    Very good package, for people who haven't already got Half Life 2 or Episode 1. For those who do, it's unfair that we had to spend £10 more on the Orange Box than we would have on the Black Box. Still, Valve's a business and their marketing has got another £10 out of me. Onto the games. TEAM FORTRESS 2 - It would be unfair for me to judge it, with me being a CSS Very good package, for people who haven't already got Half Life 2 or Episode 1. For those who do, it's unfair that we had to spend £10 more on the Orange Box than we would have on the Black Box. Still, Valve's a business and their marketing has got another £10 out of me. Onto the games. TEAM FORTRESS 2 - It would be unfair for me to judge it, with me being a CSS player. I'm not into Team Fortress, though the graphics are pretty, original and the gameplay is fast paced and exciting. Shame more coordination isn't shown at the moment on public servers, but it'll get there in time. Nice dam level. Portal - very good game, original, distorting and could get some 'non fps' players to buy the package. It's just like the simple puzzle games we all know and love, but with great graphics and strange voices (If you can get them working, I had to reinstall it). Half Life 2 Episode 2 - More of the same, really, but with more vulnerable characters and plot wists. Unlike Episode 1, it actually advances with the story line and the graphics look much better in some places. Same weapons, a coupld of new enemies, including one super cute dismembered fast zombie which I laughed out loud at when I saw it! Half life 2 and Episode 1 are also fantastic. In my opinion, I would rather see Half Life 3 than yet another episodic package. It might ake longer to come out, but we've been waiting over a year for this expansion alone. It's more of the same, gets finished within 5 hours and doesn't leave one hundredth the impact that Half Life 3 would. I'm not complaining about the quality, I just wish they could advance to Half Life 3. When I bought Half Life 2, I played no other game for several months. The multi player physics were revolutionary and the graphics and gameplay unbeatable. The Source Engine has a lot of expansion, though I just wish they could take the plunge and make the ultimate engine for Half Life 3, with real time lighting, env maps, super realistic physics etc. Other than that, great package- but after about 3 expansions it's going the same way as the Sims series. Please, Valve, finish there 3 episodic packages then start on Half Life 3. Expand
  3. Recoton007
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    An excellent package overall. At a great bargain price of $50, it is certainly worth the price. However, it would have been nice if gamers of the Half-Life series had a discount, if they already had HL2 and HL2:EP1. All in all, an excellent package, which is certainly worth the price. However, I'm convinced that the discontinued "Black Box" (which excludes the original 2 Half-LifeAn excellent package overall. At a great bargain price of $50, it is certainly worth the price. However, it would have been nice if gamers of the Half-Life series had a discount, if they already had HL2 and HL2:EP1. All in all, an excellent package, which is certainly worth the price. However, I'm convinced that the discontinued "Black Box" (which excludes the original 2 Half-Life games) would have been a much better bargain for PC gamers. A must buy if you are new to the series! Expand
  4. JohnS
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Every game included in the orange Orange Box is Uniquely amazing. The orange Box will set a new standard of quality and entertainment by which all games will ascribe to... only the Orange Box did it first!
  5. JodyO.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Ok, here is the deal. This IS the best deal of the century for a FPS fan. The content is amazing, and Team Fortress 2, Portal, and of course Half Life are all unreal. If you don't own this on the PC you really should! Here is my 1 complaint: A few years ago, Steam offered Halflife 2, along with every other game that Valve made. At that time, I spent like $70.00 or so to purchase that Ok, here is the deal. This IS the best deal of the century for a FPS fan. The content is amazing, and Team Fortress 2, Portal, and of course Half Life are all unreal. If you don't own this on the PC you really should! Here is my 1 complaint: A few years ago, Steam offered Halflife 2, along with every other game that Valve made. At that time, I spent like $70.00 or so to purchase that package. Valve did not offer an "upgrade" path so that the true early adopters of steam got any type of discount. Instead we had to buy Half Life 2 AGAIN, and several other games. They did give us the option to "gift" Half Life 2, but most everyone I know already has the game. Anyway, it is an awesome collection to have, and money well spent. I just wonder how the gameplay is on the 360! Expand
  6. AlfredG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Killer game, great value. Worth the money just for Team Fortress 2 and Episode Two! The rest is icing on the cake if you never played the 1st two installments of the series. Get it!
  7. E.Cook
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    You have to got to be kidding me! Valve released a bundle of games for the price of one???? Have I hit a gaming lottery? Everyone take note: This is the best deal on the planet. You not only get a variety of games, but they have been created with the best engine on the planet! As long as Valve continues to produce games, they will have my money. Period.
  8. SeanR.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Very fun and intense, story is told to u in the usual way.
  9. NikG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is gonna be the best game of the year, team fortress 2 is amazing and different, portal just fantastic i really enjoy the puzzle solving and episode 2, lets just say i can't waite for episode 3!
  10. AlanD.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Aside from being a bit short, Portal is by far the most fun I've had in quite awhile.
  11. BryceR.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing! This is the best deal out there! I love Half life 2 and i can't believe it all comes in one package! I've never played the first Team Fortress, but I am totally addicted to this! I play it every single day for a long time. Portal is just plain addictive. It really makes you think hard about how to go about moving along, even though i dont understand the plot Absolutely amazing! This is the best deal out there! I love Half life 2 and i can't believe it all comes in one package! I've never played the first Team Fortress, but I am totally addicted to this! I play it every single day for a long time. Portal is just plain addictive. It really makes you think hard about how to go about moving along, even though i dont understand the plot behind it, yet... it is still amazing! Expand
  12. DenisS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Produced with love. They are love gaming and money. And, yes, they have style!
  13. MaxB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    This is a very fun game. Too bad that it just takes a few hours to go throu the story line.
  14. JoeL.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    It's an amazing game collection, to be sure. Pick it up. Do it. I don't want to seem like I think it's the best package of games in the world. It's not. But it's...it's creative to a point where any other game attempting something new is left in the dust. With the integration of new types of gameplay in portal, new uses of celll-shading, as in TF2, or in the It's an amazing game collection, to be sure. Pick it up. Do it. I don't want to seem like I think it's the best package of games in the world. It's not. But it's...it's creative to a point where any other game attempting something new is left in the dust. With the integration of new types of gameplay in portal, new uses of celll-shading, as in TF2, or in the gritty realism expected of most fps' with a twist of incredible storyline and maneuverability in hl2, this is most certainly a box worth picking up. Just don't count on cake. Expand
  15. DavidT
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Great games. The tf2 is addicting I play for about 3 hours a day. Then, portal is another entertaining game I played for about 18 hours straight until I was forced to sleep. Only played a little bit of Half-Life but I like the first one, so the second one seemed better. Great games.
  16. KarlS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Brilliant, well worth the wait! All classes bring something new to the table, I still can't decide whether no grenades was a wise choice though, 9 out of 10!
  17. WillT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Ok, the value of this game was Awesome! (Way to go Valve!) However portal was beat in 2 hrs. and the Ai had to die from level one. Episode two followed at 4 hours. Aside from some short gameplay times this box roxs!
  18. MaxM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Even though im not big on the multiplayer and EP2 doesnt stirr me up much, pOrtal alone makes this worth the experience. While it is extremly short, it still beats hundreds of other fps in gameplay value - simply because after the same old gameplayconcept squeezed till the last drop and the some more pOrtal finally creates an immersion in completly new ways.
  19. DylanP.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Even after purchasing Half-Life 2, Episode One, The Orange Box is still of great value with the single-player gameplay Episode Two and Portal, giving you many hours of sheer delight as you continue to push forward as Gordon Freeman, still on a quest with Alex to get to her father. Portal, developed under Valve by the team that created Narbacular Drop, brings a polished, comical, 3D rat Even after purchasing Half-Life 2, Episode One, The Orange Box is still of great value with the single-player gameplay Episode Two and Portal, giving you many hours of sheer delight as you continue to push forward as Gordon Freeman, still on a quest with Alex to get to her father. Portal, developed under Valve by the team that created Narbacular Drop, brings a polished, comical, 3D rat maze that will test your reflexes as you attempt to perform split-second actions. Team Fortress 2, the long-anticipated sequel, will become your next multiplayer FPS. All in all, amazing gameplay for amazing value. Whether you own a PC, XBOX 360, or (in November) a PS3, if you have played HL2, get it, if you don't yet own HL2, get it, NOW! Expand
  20. RobS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Great game, excellent value for money, although episode 2 was a bit cut-short I though. Portal blew my mind. TF2, best multiplayer this year.
  21. AlexF.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Half-Life is, simply, the best FPS I've ever played. And I've played a lot. Besides the incredible graphics (in my opinion full motion video is the only next step they can go from this) you have a storyline that you enjoy following. Only the first Deus Ex rivals HL2 in the storyline complexity department. And Deus Ex did not have a charming character like Alyx Vance to keep you Half-Life is, simply, the best FPS I've ever played. And I've played a lot. Besides the incredible graphics (in my opinion full motion video is the only next step they can go from this) you have a storyline that you enjoy following. Only the first Deus Ex rivals HL2 in the storyline complexity department. And Deus Ex did not have a charming character like Alyx Vance to keep you company most of the way. Alyx is a character I truly see as groundbreaking and I hope Episode 3 whenever it arrives doesn't mean the last we'll see of her. Portal deserves most of the raves it's getting. I don't consider it the best game of all time, but it is the first first-person game I've ever seen that combines the addictiveness of Tetris with the immersiveness of FPS. And the ending song is worth the effort alone. I don't do multiplayer online games, so I can't comment on TF2, but Ep2 and Portal alone are worth the money if you already have the first two HL installments (as I do). And if you are new to HL I agree with the sentiments above that this could well be the best deal in gaming since the first three Doom games were reissued on one disc. The only sad thing is that I bought these games with the full understanding that Steam's anti-piracy system basically ties the game's lifespan to the lifespan of Steam. Once it's gone, I worry we'll never be able to visit the world of Half-Life2 and Portal again. Please, Valve, if you ever decide to discontinue Steam or "upgrade" it to something no longer compatible with the current HL games, PLEASE issue a patch to let us break the Steam link so we can continue playing these games! Expand
  22. JacobH.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Insane value. HL2 is 3 years old and still has leading graphics. The single-player games can present a seriously difficult, but not impossible, challenge to the player. TF2 is a very unique and endlessly fun multiplayer. If you don't buy this, you're either a complete idiot or you live under a rock.
  23. ChristianM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    An awesome deal for all this games including Half-Life 2. Even thou its still old, its still a legend. Portal was a fine mind puzzle game. Team Fortress is the best multiplayer game ive played in a while. Half life 2 Episode Two was awesome too and im looking foward to Episode three!
  24. StefanBleijenbergh
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Half-life2 is a great game with a creative story and psyics to make you go "wow!!"

    @ Messiah L. Where not rating Halo 3 here.. nor are we compairing these two games.. to vote a zero while stating in your comment that it is infact a good game shows you didn't consider to accually rate THIS game.. ..but just talking about halo. Also you call people who enjoy these game sheep
    Half-life2 is a great game with a creative story and psyics to make you go "wow!!"

    @ Messiah L. Where not rating Halo 3 here.. nor are we compairing these two games.. to vote a zero while stating in your comment that it is infact a good game shows you didn't consider to accually rate THIS game.. ..but just talking about halo.
    Also you call people who enjoy these game sheep wich in my oppinion is very childish..

    Oh yeah and think about this.. I'm 14!
    Expand
  25. JamesR.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the best game package I've ever bought. Episode 2 now gives much more realistic and engaging combat encounters with incredible pacing. Taking you through a vareity of hugely detailed environments this game looks absolutely beautiful and the new cinematic physics creates many unforgettable moments as you progress through the game. As part of this package, the length of Without a doubt the best game package I've ever bought. Episode 2 now gives much more realistic and engaging combat encounters with incredible pacing. Taking you through a vareity of hugely detailed environments this game looks absolutely beautiful and the new cinematic physics creates many unforgettable moments as you progress through the game. As part of this package, the length of this game felt perfect and with such a high level of detail, replayability is very high. Portal is a perfect side-game. Every second of play is thoroughly enjoyable and leads to the most rewarding ending sequence I've experienced in a game. All of my expectations about this game were exceeded and they weren't low. Finally Team Fortress 2 is like an answer to my prayers for the perfect multiplayer game. Everyone in the game just ends up having fun together no matter what style of play you prefer with a game that is totally balanced and with outstanding visuals. Although more maps is something to look forward to I don't feel that less maps has any bad effect on the game. Every round is hugely engaging involving teamwork and tactics you could only dream of from a server with 24 random players without any of the frustration which arose from many other multiplayer games. Expand
  26. BrettB.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best compilation of all time. All 3 half life games are the top FPS of our time and portal and TF2 both are great games. Anyone saying that the half life series has no story obviously has no imagination or just got droped afew times as a child.
  27. MysenShearer
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    It doesn't matter what kind of game this is. If it's from Valve, they will definately deliver. This is very well the best deal of the century. The long awaited Team Fortress 2, the fun and awesome looking Portal, and the continuation to the great Half-Life story, all for 50 bucks is the best deal ever. You won't get a better deal anywhere.
  28. MorganS
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    While the only game ive played so far is the beta of TF2, that game alone is easily worth the $45 pre-order. While TF2 is not a complete 10 at the moment, and does have a small number of maps to play, i can only guess that the number will incrase as players create new maps, and re-create the old maps. i personaly would only give TF2 a 9 of 10, but with the inclusion of episode 2 andWhile the only game ive played so far is the beta of TF2, that game alone is easily worth the $45 pre-order. While TF2 is not a complete 10 at the moment, and does have a small number of maps to play, i can only guess that the number will incrase as players create new maps, and re-create the old maps. i personaly would only give TF2 a 9 of 10, but with the inclusion of episode 2 and portal, i think its easily worth the one extra point. So far, the only things that bug me with this whole concept is that there is no discount for those of us who already have HL2 and episode one(allthough it is cool that they let us give them away). and the only reason i realy give TF2 a 9 out of 10 is due to a little class imbalance and the dislike of critical hits in the game. Expand
  29. EricE.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best packages of games I have ever owned/played! I had always wanted to play HL2 but never had the money. So I bought this on Black Friday for half price. I loved HL2 and both expansions. Excellent game just like the original. I also really enjoyed Portal and thought it was a awesome gem of a game hidden in the box. It was almost like opening a gift and finding This is by far one of the best packages of games I have ever owned/played! I had always wanted to play HL2 but never had the money. So I bought this on Black Friday for half price. I loved HL2 and both expansions. Excellent game just like the original. I also really enjoyed Portal and thought it was a awesome gem of a game hidden in the box. It was almost like opening a gift and finding money in the box as well! I am not much of a online fps player so TF2 isn't really my thing but I have played it for a few hours and it was fun even if I only lived for a maximum of 26 seconds at a time (really, that is my record). Expand
  30. MikeR.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    The orange box package is unlike any other package available. With TF2's awesome gameplay and HL2's unbeatable plot, the orange box rates in at a 10 on my scale. TF2 and HL2 are the cake, but the rest is a very sweet icing.
  31. ArthurL.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This must be the best collection made by the man. -Half-Life 2 -Half-Life 2:Episode One -Half-Life 2:Episode Two -Portal -Team Fortress 2 Never in this world they gonna make a game so good like Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two.
  32. ConnorC
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    This package is just amazing. 3 great games and there is something for everyone! Half life 2 for the amazing storyline gamers. TF2 for those multiplayer loving fans and portal I found fantastic! Valve really managed to make the puzzle game genre incredibly fun and it had a awesome and funny story to go with it! Top score!
  33. Mike
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Yeah... HL2 episode 2 lasted for 2 weeks and I was done. But I am still playing TF2 to this day!!! and its been months now! a great gteat package! Excellent!
  34. ChristopherF.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Valve's Orange Box is most definitely the best gaming package ever to be released.
  35. timpayne
    May 16, 2008
    10
    this is the first purchase worth 100% of my money and 100% rewarding in gameplay. The is 2 part immense single player boxed with a long awaited team based multiplayer that just keeps on pulling out more and more features. they need to re-review this game now that the medic update has been released.
  36. Lambu
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Yeah, this is the one of the best game package! HL is the best gameserie EVER!
  37. HelderV.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Funny addictive game, the developers are always updating and upgrading the game.
  38. BobB.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    Almost any game being sold for 10 dollars is amazing, but five of the best ever created for 10 dollars each is beyond description.
  39. MarcelB
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This mite be the best game of all time i mean like really first of all 5 games which are one of the top in the world second the price and third they fit perfectly together because first you do is play a epic and long fps campaign second you solve amazing puzzles because you finished the campaign and third you finished everything and you still have endless fun playing a multiplayer mode.
  40. JordanG
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Along with Perfect Dark this box set is the most amazign FPS experience ever. Even the Half-Life 2 package alone would get a 10 from me
  41. JJKingsly
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal package. TF2 is awesome, Portal is very, very good and Episode 2 rocks. Being able to gift out the other games to Steam accounts if already have them is cool also.
  42. ThomasGrønkjær-F.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The compilation gets 10/10 simply because its the deal of the century. Awesome games, and awesome storytelling!
  43. RobinG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    I finished Episode two and portal in less than 9 hours This fact does not mean that the orange box was a bad deal Episode two continues a brilliant story and everyone who likes the hl story MUST buy this game Portal has a very short playtime but there's a chance, that there will be a large community creating new maps for it, the idea behind the game is really cool and the game itself I finished Episode two and portal in less than 9 hours This fact does not mean that the orange box was a bad deal Episode two continues a brilliant story and everyone who likes the hl story MUST buy this game Portal has a very short playtime but there's a chance, that there will be a large community creating new maps for it, the idea behind the game is really cool and the game itself is addictive Team Fortress 2 is one of the best multiplayer games i ever played even if you have the worst stats in the world the game is still fun because of its grapics and its gameplay. Expand
  44. AaronJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The value alone is worth a 10 - Team Fortress 2 is wildly fun, Portal is extremely innovative, and from what I've experienced of Episode 2 so far, looks amazing.
  45. Sickboy
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    An incredible package. Portal alone is an inspired piece of entertainment engineering and achieves a rare transcendence that few films, novels, albums and games can.
  46. TimP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Really nice game, awesome feeling and awesome story. Loved the game all the way through. Although it was too short and too easy. My expectations were too high it seemes, but I will give it a 9
  47. Petrovski
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The best package ever produced for fans of the first person shooter, not only for price but for remaining true to what the genre is supposed to be. Put simply, this package is just pure, unadulterated, fun!
  48. DavidWebb
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    A incredibly fun pack of games. I haven't finished Half-life Episode 2 yet, though I'm well into it. Portal is absolutely wonderful! I love Portal! It's pure candy. The Orange Box is amazingly good fun. I recently built a new desktop system that has the ability to run the Orange Box's games wide open and still provide better than 80 fps. I'm so glad that I did. My A incredibly fun pack of games. I haven't finished Half-life Episode 2 yet, though I'm well into it. Portal is absolutely wonderful! I love Portal! It's pure candy. The Orange Box is amazingly good fun. I recently built a new desktop system that has the ability to run the Orange Box's games wide open and still provide better than 80 fps. I'm so glad that I did. My old desktop could never have played these games and they are great. The folks at Valve have hit an out-of-the-park grand-slam home-run! Expand
  49. MikeD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Brilliant, simply brilliant. Contains 3 of the best games this year, portal, episode 2 and team fortress 2.
  50. Will
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    It would have been a 10 if the story was longer (beat it the first night it was released in roughly 3 hours ) and the plot a bit more involved . but the real meat of the game is going to be in community made maps . for its few flaws its still groundbreaking and one of my all time favorite games . and ive only had it a few days .
  51. JamesH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic- some of everything in terms of genres, but all of the best in those fields, and some mind-blasting storytelling and gameplay with Portal.
  52. AndrewC.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Portal and TF2 rock, excellent value, excellent games
  53. DanielF.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The incredible game package added to the amazing price makes this box a must have for any gamer. Portal is simply one of the best games ever made. The idea is so well implemented that you can do anything you can imagine. Team Fortress 2 a cartoonistic fps that will make you go wild. Half-Life 2 Episode Two..simply no words.
  54. TrevorY.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    I just purchased portal and im allready hooked!! best game ever played!!
  55. AdamO.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    All 3 (new) games in this box are absolutely outstanding.
  56. JulioA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This is the best package of all time, Half Life 2: Episode Two is the best FPS in the history
  57. ThomasM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Great game, it really makes you think. Very well done. One of the hardest games I have had the played. Controls are easy game play is well done. Easy to play, Hard to master
  58. DiegoN.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Best quality at lowest price. Each bit worth the money. 100% art.
  59. JoeG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Best sequel to a game ive ever seen. The action is non-stop from beginning to end and the cut-scene and character interactions are INCREDIBLE!!
  60. MarkP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Each of the games are brilliant, but I must say, it's a 10 out of 10 because I'm still laughing from the end credits music on Portal. Hilarious!
  61. RandyM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This game set is magnificent. The fun in Portal, the suspense in Episode 2, and the fiendish teamplay in Team Fortress 2 are well worth the low price of the pack.
  62. HernandezE.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Wonderful. Finally TF returns with proper glory. Now all we need is CTF with runes.
  63. BenjaminE.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Superb graphics and model engine. Brilliant character themes fand gameplay for Team Fortress 2. Portal is most original. The Half-Life series continues...to blow me away!
  64. JonasH.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    For what you could want from an FPS collection this is ultimate. Not only are you entertained for hours of chronological gameplay through the masterpiece Half-Life 2 and Episode One and Two. You are also given, in my opinion one of the best multiplayer games in time and several hours of challenging gameplay through the most innovative puzzle game ever, Portal. This was most definitely For what you could want from an FPS collection this is ultimate. Not only are you entertained for hours of chronological gameplay through the masterpiece Half-Life 2 and Episode One and Two. You are also given, in my opinion one of the best multiplayer games in time and several hours of challenging gameplay through the most innovative puzzle game ever, Portal. This was most definitely worth the ~70$ I paid, and had it cost $100 I still would have felt comfortable I had made a good deal. Indisputably the best buy you could make! Expand
  65. BradS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Had this been a full game, it would have EASILY taken game of the year award.
  66. ChrisC.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    A bundle of pure gaming goodness, featuring some of the best games every made (including THE best game ever made), Portal, Team Fortress 2, Peggle Extreme, and all at a standard price. Gaming has never seen a day like this, and I reckon there won't be one for quite a while to come.
  67. AlexS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    AMAZING collection of outstanding games! Worth every second of the wait!
  68. ThorstenH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Epsiode2 is the best Game i have ever played. It`s amazing! Portal is something new and really funny!
  69. Wil
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is easily the best packaged deal I've ever bought. Especially since I've never played any of the Half-Life2 games. Go get one, all the top games inside work out to like 12 bucks each.
  70. MarkM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Half Life 2 Episode 2 is an extremely well scripted and thought out game. Portal is a great puzzle game. Team Fortress 2 is fun to play and has a great style which sets it apart from other multiplayer FPS games. And we mustn't forget Peggle Extreme, this addictive little puzzle game is a welcome bonus.
  71. MadsG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is a brilliant game. Both fun, entertaining, and with a well written story. Blew my mind.
  72. Sveins.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    So nice , its just like playing in a movie.
  73. MikeN.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    If I'm rating the value of the Orange Box, then It's a 10. You get 5 amazing games for only $50. Now that is a screaming deal. If I'm rating the games then read the following. HL2 Ep2: 2 new enemies and the best gameplay since HL2. Things are starting to feel a little old though. 8/10 Portal: One of the best games I've played in a long while. Very fun and a great If I'm rating the value of the Orange Box, then It's a 10. You get 5 amazing games for only $50. Now that is a screaming deal. If I'm rating the games then read the following. HL2 Ep2: 2 new enemies and the best gameplay since HL2. Things are starting to feel a little old though. 8/10 Portal: One of the best games I've played in a long while. Very fun and a great ending, if a little short. 8/10 TF2: A very fun multiplayer expierence. I can see this game sticking around for quite a while. Small map selection right now though. 9/10 Expand
  74. JarretA.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This game rocks, the Ending Song had me laughing so hard it hurt !!
  75. DoisK.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Words cannot describe the awesomeness of this awesome package. You'll have to experience it for yourself.
  76. MichaelP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Great Package! I personally bought it for Team Fortress 2. I also had been waiting for portal which turned out to be better than it used to be. The Three Half Life games were good as expected. After buying it I was hit with fresh material for about a month of gaming. (Playing 4hrs a day, 5 or 6 times a week.) First of all Team Fortress 2 was a great multiplayer experience to play with Great Package! I personally bought it for Team Fortress 2. I also had been waiting for portal which turned out to be better than it used to be. The Three Half Life games were good as expected. After buying it I was hit with fresh material for about a month of gaming. (Playing 4hrs a day, 5 or 6 times a week.) First of all Team Fortress 2 was a great multiplayer experience to play with friends. Portal is creative, and Half Life is a great, mod-able game. I was overall impressed, the only thing I wish was in TF2 was a ladder or ranking system. A couple more game modes would also be nice, but overall an excellent deal. One of the best games of the year. Expand
  77. RichardHermann
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    VALVe has done it again. Episode two is another thrilling, cliffhanging, deep story installment of the Half Life series; Portal, spoilers, gives insight into another facet of the storyline never before seen, and Team fortress two is an all out cartoony war between the red and the blue for survival.
  78. GamePlayer
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    This is one of the coolest packages out there. Only thing is.. half the games don't work on my computer. My computer has all the minamal features. I'm thinking on why the heck its not working and i can't figure out why. On the good side is.. well.. Half-Life: 2 is pretty good.
  79. ToxicNinja
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    A seriously epic set of games. Easily 30 hours worth of game not including the commentary or multiplayer which alone is 5 hours for the commentary and unlimited for the awesome multiplayer that is team fortress 2.
  80. Crusader
    Oct 16, 2007
    7
    A great deal for those who don`t own Half-Life 2 and/or Episode One. And for those who do [like me], since the Black Box was cancelled, it`s a ripoff. Considering that Portal is way to short, episode two is half the lenght of ep one. I don`t think it`s a good choice for us, poor owners of HL2/ep 1. ;) So, a 9/10 for those who got neither, never met one in my life though. And a 5/10 for A great deal for those who don`t own Half-Life 2 and/or Episode One. And for those who do [like me], since the Black Box was cancelled, it`s a ripoff. Considering that Portal is way to short, episode two is half the lenght of ep one. I don`t think it`s a good choice for us, poor owners of HL2/ep 1. ;) So, a 9/10 for those who got neither, never met one in my life though. And a 5/10 for those of us suckers, who bought HL2 and Ep. One long time ago, and now have to buy this, or go for Steam. No thanks;) Expand
  81. MikeK.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    A work of pure genius. Perfect exposition, great characterisation, real emotional engagement, absolute enjoyment. Valve are the unmatched masters of PC game development, long may they remain so.
  82. DannyV.V.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This box is downright awesome. Portal is the most innovating game ever, everyone already knows that half-life 2 is amazing, and so are episodes one and two. Team fortress 2 is also a blast.
  83. BrandonT.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Sorry to those who dislike Valve, for what most likely small crowd that may be, but this is just what to expect from the popular gaming company these days. They've nailed what gamers desire in a game. Not only have they developed what I think to be the greatest FPS of all time, Half-Life 2, they've been able to break into a whole new style of gaming with Portal, and its just Sorry to those who dislike Valve, for what most likely small crowd that may be, but this is just what to expect from the popular gaming company these days. They've nailed what gamers desire in a game. Not only have they developed what I think to be the greatest FPS of all time, Half-Life 2, they've been able to break into a whole new style of gaming with Portal, and its just magnificent. Toss in a refreshed Team Fortress 2, been a while since something has been done with that one, and you've got a rock-solid gaming package for any gamer, casual to the most experienced. It's hard to expect anything less than this from Valve. Anyone looking for a well-rounded mix of games, The Orange Box should be your first choice. Great work, Valve! Expand
  84. TimW.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Perfect. This Pack is seriously the best money I've spent since I got a PC. TF2 is the best in between things multiplayer game ever, you can jump on for 15 minutes, have a blast and jump out -- no long round times waiting. Ep2 while not perfect, is still the continuation of a wonderful story. Portal is the best single player game I've played (and funny to boot) since Half-Life. Perfect. This Pack is seriously the best money I've spent since I got a PC. TF2 is the best in between things multiplayer game ever, you can jump on for 15 minutes, have a blast and jump out -- no long round times waiting. Ep2 while not perfect, is still the continuation of a wonderful story. Portal is the best single player game I've played (and funny to boot) since Half-Life. Added bonus of HL2 + HL2 Ep1. Expand
  85. ChrisN.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Portals was the most fun I've had playing a videogame in so long.. And it honestly has the best ending credits song.. Ever.
  86. GuyW.
    Dec 31, 2007
    8
    A great package.....TF2 is a well crafted multiplayer experience, however it needs many more maps. Portal is a nice change of pace from your typical FPS gameplay. HL2 episode one is a joy to play until you realize how short it is. getting HL2 and HL2 episode one in the package is good but I suspect most people buying Orange Box already have those games. Valve does allow you to gift them A great package.....TF2 is a well crafted multiplayer experience, however it needs many more maps. Portal is a nice change of pace from your typical FPS gameplay. HL2 episode one is a joy to play until you realize how short it is. getting HL2 and HL2 episode one in the package is good but I suspect most people buying Orange Box already have those games. Valve does allow you to gift them to others though. Overall I don't think it's the greatest game deal ever but that's not to say it isn't worth getting. Expand
  87. T.S.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Portals, Ep. 2, TFT2, Ep 1, HL 2. Under $60. PERFECT PACKAGE. The HL series revolutionized AI in a way which had never been thought of and the physics engine is still being used years after coming out. The reason PC gamers feel superior to console gamers is now out and some of those poor folk stuck to gamepads are going to join the crazy folk with their keyboards and mice. A facelift Portals, Ep. 2, TFT2, Ep 1, HL 2. Under $60. PERFECT PACKAGE. The HL series revolutionized AI in a way which had never been thought of and the physics engine is still being used years after coming out. The reason PC gamers feel superior to console gamers is now out and some of those poor folk stuck to gamepads are going to join the crazy folk with their keyboards and mice. A facelift gives the newest additions to the HL franchise the graphics update they sorely need while the intense firefights, perfect sound design (sans the music. Never could get behind that damned score) and moments which put Oscar winning movies to shame with their virtual performances, makes HL the king of the FPS hill. I understand Messiah L.'s opinion. Some people hate steam. This is irrelevant. I hate most retail stores, does that mean I am going to give a game a lower score? HL 2 is the definitive reason for sticking to PCs and is a must buy for any gamer. Expand
  88. AndrewS.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Definitely worthy of 10/10, the Orange Box combines 5 great games for the price of one! Even if you only want two of the games in this package, buy it! Portal is the GREATEST game that I've ever played even though its so short, and EP2 is awesome. TF2 is the best multiplayer game that I've ever played because all the classes are fun and balanced.
  89. Adam
    Sep 27, 2007
    9
    I can't comment on Portal or Episode 2, but Team Fortress 2 is what this genre is missing... a seriously fun and competitive multi-player oriented FPS.

    Some people who claim to be old-school TFC players will cringe at the differences. But most of those people don't even realize how much TFC was against the grain of the first quake based iterations. Unlike Source versions
    I can't comment on Portal or Episode 2, but Team Fortress 2 is what this genre is missing... a seriously fun and competitive multi-player oriented FPS.

    Some people who claim to be old-school TFC players will cringe at the differences. But most of those people don't even realize how much TFC was against the grain of the first quake based iterations. Unlike Source versions of classic mods like Counter-Strike or Day of Defeat, TF2 has straight out declared superiority over it's predecessor.
    Expand
  90. redninja
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    I love this game. Best game and deal I've had the pleasure of playing. Much better than FPSs like the overrated Halo 2, Star Wars Repulic Comando and GoldenEye IMO. Half-life 2 is Awsome, Half-Life 2 Episode 1 is awsome, Team Fortress 2's awsome, and Protal's awsome (I haven't played Episode 2 yet if you're wandering.) Get it NOW if you don't have it.
  91. MikeZ.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Portal is one of the best puzzle games ever, Team Fortress 2 one of if not the best multiplayer shooters ever, and Episode Two is an awesome addition to an awesome series.
  92. RonaldA.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Orange box is the best for the best value ever!!
  93. CallumL.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    By far the best gaming deal of all time I highly recomend it to anyone its great espeacially the new team fortress2 updates they rock!!!
  94. JohnR
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    I've only just now finished Half-Life 2 and have to admit, despite being an old-school PC gamer and a fan mainly of RPGs and RTSs, that this game has to go down as one of the best I've ever played. My gripe is that, while The Orange Box is undoubtedly superb value - only the Infinity Engine compilations can rival it - it isn't really a game as such and shouldn't be I've only just now finished Half-Life 2 and have to admit, despite being an old-school PC gamer and a fan mainly of RPGs and RTSs, that this game has to go down as one of the best I've ever played. My gripe is that, while The Orange Box is undoubtedly superb value - only the Infinity Engine compilations can rival it - it isn't really a game as such and shouldn't be given a metacritic ranking of its own. Instead it's a compilation of games (Half-Life 2 + Episodes One and Two ; Portal and Team Fortress), the others already having their own separate rankings. All the same I'd advise anyone who has never played Half-Life 2 to get The Orange Box. Expand
  95. JeffG
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    The absolute best you can do with $30. 5 games, and I give a perfect 10 to every single one of them. I'll just give a short review of each game, shall I? Half-Life 2: The environments are all incredibly engaging and give that perfect feeling of eerie loneliness. The story is beautiful, it unfolds subtly, yet has a great impact. The characters are all beautifully designed and The absolute best you can do with $30. 5 games, and I give a perfect 10 to every single one of them. I'll just give a short review of each game, shall I? Half-Life 2: The environments are all incredibly engaging and give that perfect feeling of eerie loneliness. The story is beautiful, it unfolds subtly, yet has a great impact. The characters are all beautifully designed and interactions between them feel 100% real. Not only that, you find yourself genuinely caring about them. The pacing is phenomenal, the graphics still look great 5 years later. I could go on and on, but I'll just leave it at "Half-Life 2 is the absolute best game ever". Half-Life 2 Episodes 1 and 2: Episode 1 did a very good job of creating a scary environment environment, and the addition of Alyx as a companion makes the trek very fun. As I said, you really care for her, and her AI is the best there is anywhere. She seems totally real, and you begin to feel very glad you have her with you. The environment in Episode 2 was also fantastic, taking place in beautiful (yet eerily lonely) rural areas, and the open world battle at the end felt truly epic thanks to the inclusion of destructible environments. Portal: The story is perfect, the puzzles are a ton of fun, and the black humor is absolutely hilarious. The journey through the abandoned (And eerily lonely, damn Valve is good at that) Aperture research facility is gripping, and the ending battle is both epic and hilarious. There are absolutely no flaws in Portal. One could complain about length, but there are so many beautifully realized community made mappacks for it that you could play nonstop for a year and still have new content you haven't touched yet. Team Fortress 2: Incredible game, what all multiplayer games should be. The classes are all very different from each other, each requiring entirely different tactics, and they balance each other out perfectly. For example, the Heavy can mow down an entire team with his minigun, but he can easily be taken out by a single Spy. The game's unique design ensures that it will still look great 10 years from now. The characters are all incredibly charismatic and funny, and you can tell a lot of heart went into making the game. Expand
  96. JoshW.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This is perhaps the best deal in gaming ever, an aspect commonly overlooked when producing a game, and it doesnt just win there, superb top par graphics STILL after so many years, amazingly easy to run. Each game packed full of excitement, action and "WOW!", the new cinematic physics system really showing its prowess in Portal and HL2, and Team Fortress being a great online addition to This is perhaps the best deal in gaming ever, an aspect commonly overlooked when producing a game, and it doesnt just win there, superb top par graphics STILL after so many years, amazingly easy to run. Each game packed full of excitement, action and "WOW!", the new cinematic physics system really showing its prowess in Portal and HL2, and Team Fortress being a great online addition to their growing list of source based mp titles. Portal is fun throughout, and is an innovative fps experience, HL2EP2 continues where the game left on, and with amazing graphics, continued immersive gameplay and truely groundbreaking cinematic physics - this game is the most polished i have played this year. Truely remarkable. This is just a must buy for any pc owner, with a spec that even settles on low. Collapse
  97. AlexM.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Every game in the Orange box is great gaming expierience. Portal is much better than i thought before buying, because of the extreme new gameplay. Team Fortress 2 is just fun to play and Episode Two is another well done Half Life part.
  98. BMF
    Apr 7, 2011
    10
    The best gaming combo pack money can buy and for only 20 bucks. PierreB appears to be a little retarded so ignore his review and pick up this pack you wont regret it.
  99. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Needless to say the Orange Box is a Stellar product, all of it. Valve really knows how to put together games that PC gamers can get into and play. No dumb down mechanics or gameplay just good pc gamer core fun. I for one will look forward to any product Valve puts out because they take the time to explore what PC gamers want the demand. E'nuff said 10 baby!!!
  100. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    No complaints here. 5 great games in one package at a price of one retail game. Half-life 2 and two of its episodes are triple A class shooters with compelling stories and great writing, Team Fortress 2 is probably the best online FPS game I have ever played and Portal is a unique puzzle platformer that is incomparable with any puzzle game and is also one of the funniest games I have everNo complaints here. 5 great games in one package at a price of one retail game. Half-life 2 and two of its episodes are triple A class shooters with compelling stories and great writing, Team Fortress 2 is probably the best online FPS game I have ever played and Portal is a unique puzzle platformer that is incomparable with any puzzle game and is also one of the funniest games I have ever played. No complaints at all. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Leave it to Valve to deliver the goods on such an ambitious game package...The Orange Box is one of the finest compilations of gaming content ever produced. [Nov 2007, p.58]
  2. 95
    Not only do you get the best single player first person shooter ever created, you also get the two next chapters, a 3D puzzle game that also happens to live in the Half-Life universe and a terrifically fun team-based multiplayer first-person shooter. This is a lot of game in one package for only 50 dollars.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box offers everything any fan of first-person shooters could possibly want: some of the best single-player gaming ever in the shape of Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two; wonderful innovation from Portal, and the most refined, downright fun team-based online FPS currently available in Team Fortress 2. If that doesn't warrant a 10 out of 10, nothing does.