User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1597 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kevin
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    You cannot beat the value of this collection. The whole Half-Life 2 series to date is unparalleled, Portal is one of the most original and fun games ever, and Team Fortress 2 is the best multiplayer experience i've ever had. Buy this game.
  2. GuyW.
    Dec 31, 2007
    8
    A great package.....TF2 is a well crafted multiplayer experience, however it needs many more maps. Portal is a nice change of pace from your typical FPS gameplay. HL2 episode one is a joy to play until you realize how short it is. getting HL2 and HL2 episode one in the package is good but I suspect most people buying Orange Box already have those games. Valve does allow you to gift them A great package.....TF2 is a well crafted multiplayer experience, however it needs many more maps. Portal is a nice change of pace from your typical FPS gameplay. HL2 episode one is a joy to play until you realize how short it is. getting HL2 and HL2 episode one in the package is good but I suspect most people buying Orange Box already have those games. Valve does allow you to gift them to others though. Overall I don't think it's the greatest game deal ever but that's not to say it isn't worth getting. Expand
  3. AlexM.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Every game in the Orange box is great gaming expierience. Portal is much better than i thought before buying, because of the extreme new gameplay. Team Fortress 2 is just fun to play and Episode Two is another well done Half Life part.
  4. TimW.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Perfect. This Pack is seriously the best money I've spent since I got a PC. TF2 is the best in between things multiplayer game ever, you can jump on for 15 minutes, have a blast and jump out -- no long round times waiting. Ep2 while not perfect, is still the continuation of a wonderful story. Portal is the best single player game I've played (and funny to boot) since Half-Life. Perfect. This Pack is seriously the best money I've spent since I got a PC. TF2 is the best in between things multiplayer game ever, you can jump on for 15 minutes, have a blast and jump out -- no long round times waiting. Ep2 while not perfect, is still the continuation of a wonderful story. Portal is the best single player game I've played (and funny to boot) since Half-Life. Added bonus of HL2 + HL2 Ep1. Expand
  5. JohnE.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just so damn short. I hope that the reason episode 2 is so short is because they are investing all of their time into episode 3 because that game is going to have to be the most awsome climax in history. Expand
  6. DavidT
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Great games. The tf2 is addicting I play for about 3 hours a day. Then, portal is another entertaining game I played for about 18 hours straight until I was forced to sleep. Only played a little bit of Half-Life but I like the first one, so the second one seemed better. Great games.
  7. MichaelP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Great Package! I personally bought it for Team Fortress 2. I also had been waiting for portal which turned out to be better than it used to be. The Three Half Life games were good as expected. After buying it I was hit with fresh material for about a month of gaming. (Playing 4hrs a day, 5 or 6 times a week.) First of all Team Fortress 2 was a great multiplayer experience to play with Great Package! I personally bought it for Team Fortress 2. I also had been waiting for portal which turned out to be better than it used to be. The Three Half Life games were good as expected. After buying it I was hit with fresh material for about a month of gaming. (Playing 4hrs a day, 5 or 6 times a week.) First of all Team Fortress 2 was a great multiplayer experience to play with friends. Portal is creative, and Half Life is a great, mod-able game. I was overall impressed, the only thing I wish was in TF2 was a ladder or ranking system. A couple more game modes would also be nice, but overall an excellent deal. One of the best games of the year. Expand
  8. AndrewG.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    You're pretty much a gaming idiot if you do not buy Orange Box. TF2 is shaping up to be one of my favorite games ever. Portal was extremely fun (if for a very short time), and my friend watches me play the episodes in the HL series just because the story is told so well. One of the best purchases I have ever made.
  9. JoeL.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    It's an amazing game collection, to be sure. Pick it up. Do it. I don't want to seem like I think it's the best package of games in the world. It's not. But it's...it's creative to a point where any other game attempting something new is left in the dust. With the integration of new types of gameplay in portal, new uses of celll-shading, as in TF2, or in the It's an amazing game collection, to be sure. Pick it up. Do it. I don't want to seem like I think it's the best package of games in the world. It's not. But it's...it's creative to a point where any other game attempting something new is left in the dust. With the integration of new types of gameplay in portal, new uses of celll-shading, as in TF2, or in the gritty realism expected of most fps' with a twist of incredible storyline and maneuverability in hl2, this is most certainly a box worth picking up. Just don't count on cake. Expand
  10. JonasH.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    For what you could want from an FPS collection this is ultimate. Not only are you entertained for hours of chronological gameplay through the masterpiece Half-Life 2 and Episode One and Two. You are also given, in my opinion one of the best multiplayer games in time and several hours of challenging gameplay through the most innovative puzzle game ever, Portal. This was most definitely For what you could want from an FPS collection this is ultimate. Not only are you entertained for hours of chronological gameplay through the masterpiece Half-Life 2 and Episode One and Two. You are also given, in my opinion one of the best multiplayer games in time and several hours of challenging gameplay through the most innovative puzzle game ever, Portal. This was most definitely worth the ~70$ I paid, and had it cost $100 I still would have felt comfortable I had made a good deal. Indisputably the best buy you could make! Expand
  11. JoshW.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    This is perhaps the best deal in gaming ever, an aspect commonly overlooked when producing a game, and it doesnt just win there, superb top par graphics STILL after so many years, amazingly easy to run. Each game packed full of excitement, action and "WOW!", the new cinematic physics system really showing its prowess in Portal and HL2, and Team Fortress being a great online addition to This is perhaps the best deal in gaming ever, an aspect commonly overlooked when producing a game, and it doesnt just win there, superb top par graphics STILL after so many years, amazingly easy to run. Each game packed full of excitement, action and "WOW!", the new cinematic physics system really showing its prowess in Portal and HL2, and Team Fortress being a great online addition to their growing list of source based mp titles. Portal is fun throughout, and is an innovative fps experience, HL2EP2 continues where the game left on, and with amazing graphics, continued immersive gameplay and truely groundbreaking cinematic physics - this game is the most polished i have played this year. Truely remarkable. This is just a must buy for any pc owner, with a spec that even settles on low. Expand
  12. BenjaminE.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Superb graphics and model engine. Brilliant character themes fand gameplay for Team Fortress 2. Portal is most original. The Half-Life series continues...to blow me away!
  13. AlexF.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Half-Life is, simply, the best FPS I've ever played. And I've played a lot. Besides the incredible graphics (in my opinion full motion video is the only next step they can go from this) you have a storyline that you enjoy following. Only the first Deus Ex rivals HL2 in the storyline complexity department. And Deus Ex did not have a charming character like Alyx Vance to keep you Half-Life is, simply, the best FPS I've ever played. And I've played a lot. Besides the incredible graphics (in my opinion full motion video is the only next step they can go from this) you have a storyline that you enjoy following. Only the first Deus Ex rivals HL2 in the storyline complexity department. And Deus Ex did not have a charming character like Alyx Vance to keep you company most of the way. Alyx is a character I truly see as groundbreaking and I hope Episode 3 whenever it arrives doesn't mean the last we'll see of her. Portal deserves most of the raves it's getting. I don't consider it the best game of all time, but it is the first first-person game I've ever seen that combines the addictiveness of Tetris with the immersiveness of FPS. And the ending song is worth the effort alone. I don't do multiplayer online games, so I can't comment on TF2, but Ep2 and Portal alone are worth the money if you already have the first two HL installments (as I do). And if you are new to HL I agree with the sentiments above that this could well be the best deal in gaming since the first three Doom games were reissued on one disc. The only sad thing is that I bought these games with the full understanding that Steam's anti-piracy system basically ties the game's lifespan to the lifespan of Steam. Once it's gone, I worry we'll never be able to visit the world of Half-Life2 and Portal again. Please, Valve, if you ever decide to discontinue Steam or "upgrade" it to something no longer compatible with the current HL games, PLEASE issue a patch to let us break the Steam link so we can continue playing these games! Expand
  14. MikeK.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    A work of pure genius. Perfect exposition, great characterisation, real emotional engagement, absolute enjoyment. Valve are the unmatched masters of PC game development, long may they remain so.
  15. ThaTyger
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    A must have gamebox for every shooter fan. It includes the entire HL2 serie's so far, and tops it off with Team Fortress 2. The box is very, very cheap for the quality it offers. You get the complete HL2 single player experience with loads of awesome gameplay that will keep you going for several hours. And you get one of the best team based multiplayer shooters as well. The one A must have gamebox for every shooter fan. It includes the entire HL2 serie's so far, and tops it off with Team Fortress 2. The box is very, very cheap for the quality it offers. You get the complete HL2 single player experience with loads of awesome gameplay that will keep you going for several hours. And you get one of the best team based multiplayer shooters as well. The one little downside is that if you have HL2 and Eps 1 you will get them again. You can't leave them out for an additional discount! But in return Valve gives the posibility to give the game away to someone. I went for the downloadable version (as it is Expand
  16. RobS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Great game, excellent value for money, although episode 2 was a bit cut-short I though. Portal blew my mind. TF2, best multiplayer this year.
  17. SeanL.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    There are few games that offer the quality that is present in each one of the games that come in the Orange Box. For those that have never played any of the Half-Life games, getting all the current ones is a great deal for only $50 - less than what it costs to get one iteration of the Halo series. For those that have followed the chronicles of Gordon Freeman through the years, Portal, There are few games that offer the quality that is present in each one of the games that come in the Orange Box. For those that have never played any of the Half-Life games, getting all the current ones is a great deal for only $50 - less than what it costs to get one iteration of the Halo series. For those that have followed the chronicles of Gordon Freeman through the years, Portal, Team Fortress 2, and Episode 2 make it worth the money anyway. My pick of the five (or really, three) is definitely Portal - although it is short, it is deliciously short - in such a way that it does not break a brilliant concept by extending it past its prime. The last level leads you on a merry chase and culminates in a thrilling (and hilarious) battle, followed by what are the best credits in that last five years, without a doubt. Although the first time through the game isn't too hard, coming back and trying some of the advanced levels and bonus challenges will try even those that consider themselves intellectual gamers. It ends, of course, but it's an ending that leaves a pleasant feeling in you - almost like the aftertaste of cake, if you will. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is an excellent continuation of the Half-Life series. The graphics have been updated, and although they probably won't blow anyone's mind away, they don't look dated - an achievement for an engine built in 2004. The storyline progresses smoothly, with its fair share of tense moments and heart-pounding battles. The score is excellently done, always adding to the mood rather than distracting players from the game. The finale is epic as promised, involving striders, hunters, a stripped down Camero, and a lot of explosions. Although the gameplay itself hasn't changed, more of a great concept is as better than a shabby new one. Finally, we have Team Fortress 2. Given the history behind Half-Life and its connection to good multiplayer games (Counterstrike, Day of Defeat, Team Fortress Classic - even though they all started out as mods) you should expect nothing but the best, and the best it is. While this won't tear away the fans of ultrarealism that play America's Army because it's sponsored by the U.S. Army, this offering of the Orange Box will pretty much tug in any other multiplayer shooter gamer. It has something for everything - the sniper for those that adore Counterstrike's AWP, the Heavy for those that like lugging around a machine gun, a scout for those Unreal Tournament players that don't stop moving, or even the medic, for the precious few that enjoy healing others. Most importantly, it mixes a lot of gameplay into a gigantic smorgasboard of fun - with unique personalities behind the characters, hilarious taunts, and a nice kill cam so you always know why you died (and hopefully don't repeat your mistakes). Competitive leagues like cevo and CAL have already added it to their list of games; it's a great multiplayer game because it's fun to watch and play. Given that Half-Life 2 and Episode 1 have both been reviewed numerous times, I won't do that here. However, I would like to note a couple things that I don't know if too many other reviewers have picked up on. The first is achievements. The replay value added to the game by adding side objectives that give you achievements when you complete them is an excellent touch. Good job, you beat the game. But did you take the gnome from the start of the game to the end? How about beating that level in Portal with four portals instead of eleven? It's good you got that opposing sniper in 2fort, but you're still a long way from getting 25 headshots, aren't you? The achievements are varied in both objective and difficulty, ranging from simply completing the game to doing insane feats that require expert tracking, hunting, and shooting skills. They're icing on a great cake that can double the replay value of the game. The other feature of the Orange Box first debuted on the tech demo Half-Life 2: Lost Coast. It was called developer commentary, and it's a great treat for anyone remotely interested in the design and production of these games. In each game, the developer commentaries remark on the design of the map, the technology that goes into it, and the overall production process. A varied and in depth look into how games are made is not something that comes standard these days, which is why it's more impressive that Valve has chosen to share with us these pearls of thought. A release like The Orange Box restores my faith in games. In an industry where the average joe will shell out $50 for a few days of mediocre gameplay, The Orange Box will gives us months, at the least, of excellent story, gameplay, and more. Expand
  18. AndrewS.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Definitely worthy of 10/10, the Orange Box combines 5 great games for the price of one! Even if you only want two of the games in this package, buy it! Portal is the GREATEST game that I've ever played even though its so short, and EP2 is awesome. TF2 is the best multiplayer game that I've ever played because all the classes are fun and balanced.
  19. T.S.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Portals, Ep. 2, TFT2, Ep 1, HL 2. Under $60. PERFECT PACKAGE. The HL series revolutionized AI in a way which had never been thought of and the physics engine is still being used years after coming out. The reason PC gamers feel superior to console gamers is now out and some of those poor folk stuck to gamepads are going to join the crazy folk with their keyboards and mice. A facelift Portals, Ep. 2, TFT2, Ep 1, HL 2. Under $60. PERFECT PACKAGE. The HL series revolutionized AI in a way which had never been thought of and the physics engine is still being used years after coming out. The reason PC gamers feel superior to console gamers is now out and some of those poor folk stuck to gamepads are going to join the crazy folk with their keyboards and mice. A facelift gives the newest additions to the HL franchise the graphics update they sorely need while the intense firefights, perfect sound design (sans the music. Never could get behind that damned score) and moments which put Oscar winning movies to shame with their virtual performances, makes HL the king of the FPS hill. I understand Messiah L.'s opinion. Some people hate steam. This is irrelevant. I hate most retail stores, does that mean I am going to give a game a lower score? HL 2 is the definitive reason for sticking to PCs and is a must buy for any gamer. Expand
  20. BertD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    The orange box is a great package with the best games. As Messiah down below stated here you see how child'ish and stupid people can be. A dumb x360 fanboy as i see it. Half life 2 Episode 2 is the most innovating game of the series. Why? All the situations you are dropped into are brand new. I had great fun playing it and i'm still playing it over and over and over again. The orange box is a great package with the best games. As Messiah down below stated here you see how child'ish and stupid people can be. A dumb x360 fanboy as i see it. Half life 2 Episode 2 is the most innovating game of the series. Why? All the situations you are dropped into are brand new. I had great fun playing it and i'm still playing it over and over and over again. Compared to Halo 3 it's nothing. The Halo games are overhyped and unbalanced in the storyline with the weapons and other stuff. Halo has never beaten what Half life and Half life 2 made: a legendary reputation with quality games and a huge still growing community of gamers, mappers, modders, fans and more. Everybody would know this if they would not be so close minded and played by the illussion of a hype that is bound to die in a few months. The community of the Half life games or maybe say all the sourcegames is kept alive because of the succes of the series. Counter strike, Half life 2 and more have a huge community of gamers that Halo will never beat. Expand
  21. BrettB.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best compilation of all time. All 3 half life games are the top FPS of our time and portal and TF2 both are great games. Anyone saying that the half life series has no story obviously has no imagination or just got droped afew times as a child.
  22. JamesR.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the best game package I've ever bought. Episode 2 now gives much more realistic and engaging combat encounters with incredible pacing. Taking you through a vareity of hugely detailed environments this game looks absolutely beautiful and the new cinematic physics creates many unforgettable moments as you progress through the game. As part of this package, the length of Without a doubt the best game package I've ever bought. Episode 2 now gives much more realistic and engaging combat encounters with incredible pacing. Taking you through a vareity of hugely detailed environments this game looks absolutely beautiful and the new cinematic physics creates many unforgettable moments as you progress through the game. As part of this package, the length of this game felt perfect and with such a high level of detail, replayability is very high. Portal is a perfect side-game. Every second of play is thoroughly enjoyable and leads to the most rewarding ending sequence I've experienced in a game. All of my expectations about this game were exceeded and they weren't low. Finally Team Fortress 2 is like an answer to my prayers for the perfect multiplayer game. Everyone in the game just ends up having fun together no matter what style of play you prefer with a game that is totally balanced and with outstanding visuals. Although more maps is something to look forward to I don't feel that less maps has any bad effect on the game. Every round is hugely engaging involving teamwork and tactics you could only dream of from a server with 24 random players without any of the frustration which arose from many other multiplayer games. Expand
  23. AaronS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    One of the best pc games to ever come out. EP 2 takes you deeper into the half life story with a cliff hanger ending that has you begging for EP 3 to come out. TF2 is a mp game that gets it all right. Thoe i do miss the nades the game makes up for it with the loads of classes to chose from. Portals is the best puzle game ever. Get all these PLUSE half life 2 and ep1 for 60 its the deal of One of the best pc games to ever come out. EP 2 takes you deeper into the half life story with a cliff hanger ending that has you begging for EP 3 to come out. TF2 is a mp game that gets it all right. Thoe i do miss the nades the game makes up for it with the loads of classes to chose from. Portals is the best puzle game ever. Get all these PLUSE half life 2 and ep1 for 60 its the deal of a life time most new games cost around 50 and your getting 3 new and 2 classics this is not to be passed up! Expand
  24. StefanBleijenbergh
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Half-life2 is a great game with a creative story and psyics to make you go "wow!!"

    @ Messiah L. Where not rating Halo 3 here.. nor are we compairing these two games.. to vote a zero while stating in your comment that it is infact a good game shows you didn't consider to accually rate THIS game.. ..but just talking about halo. Also you call people who enjoy these game sheep
    Half-life2 is a great game with a creative story and psyics to make you go "wow!!"

    @ Messiah L. Where not rating Halo 3 here.. nor are we compairing these two games.. to vote a zero while stating in your comment that it is infact a good game shows you didn't consider to accually rate THIS game.. ..but just talking about halo.
    Also you call people who enjoy these game sheep wich in my oppinion is very childish..

    Oh yeah and think about this.. I'm 14!
    Expand
  25. ChristianM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    An awesome deal for all this games including Half-Life 2. Even thou its still old, its still a legend. Portal was a fine mind puzzle game. Team Fortress is the best multiplayer game ive played in a while. Half life 2 Episode Two was awesome too and im looking foward to Episode three!
  26. ChrisN.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Portals was the most fun I've had playing a videogame in so long.. And it honestly has the best ending credits song.. Ever.
  27. DavidK.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    All of the new items have their place, and the old items will really satisfy anyone who hasn't played them (since they can be given as gifts) Some people would just sell two of these games for $50-$60. Valve is giving you 5. Even though every one of these games is contender for a GOTY award somewhere, each one of them is $10. TF2 is ludicrously fun and has been named "an easy pick All of the new items have their place, and the old items will really satisfy anyone who hasn't played them (since they can be given as gifts) Some people would just sell two of these games for $50-$60. Valve is giving you 5. Even though every one of these games is contender for a GOTY award somewhere, each one of them is $10. TF2 is ludicrously fun and has been named "an easy pick over Halo 3 multiplayer", Portal is the first game that reviewer Yahtzee has said "These words sound ludicrous coming out of my mouth, but I can't think of any criticism for it. I'm SERIOUS, this is the most fun you'll have with your PC until they invent a force-feedback codpiece." Expand
  28. FrederikL.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    I used steam and bought this a few weeks before it was released (Pre-Purchased) i only had Half-Life 2 and one of my friends wanted to try it. Whit the box then on Steam if you own Half-Life 2 or Ep1 then you can give the extra one free to a friend, that's what i did. Although i love portal i think i spend around 1 hour or so on completing it all now, did it around 20 times, but I used steam and bought this a few weeks before it was released (Pre-Purchased) i only had Half-Life 2 and one of my friends wanted to try it. Whit the box then on Steam if you own Half-Life 2 or Ep1 then you can give the extra one free to a friend, that's what i did. Although i love portal i think i spend around 1 hour or so on completing it all now, did it around 20 times, but still it's awesome alot of websites where mappers are making Maps (What a surprice...) you can find alot of bonus maps for Portal and the advanced test chambers are very cool. For me who pre-purchased on Steam i got Team Fortress 2 (Beta) before the actual release and a week before the release i could pre-download both Ep2 and Portal (I could download Ep1 instantly). So i would say that this package contains 5 games based on one or the best gaming engine ever made. Source. Expand
  29. JoelR.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Easily the best package deal in the history of gaming. All of these games are incredible in their own right. Portal is the most innovative puzzle game I've seen in a very long time. Half-Life 2 and the expansion episodes are textbook brilliance as far as first-person shooters go. Team Fortress 2 is amazingly fun. Even if you already own Half-Life 2 and HL 2 episode 1 it is a great value.
  30. JacobH.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Insane value. HL2 is 3 years old and still has leading graphics. The single-player games can present a seriously difficult, but not impossible, challenge to the player. TF2 is a very unique and endlessly fun multiplayer. If you don't buy this, you're either a complete idiot or you live under a rock.
  31. BarneyG.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    To Crusader: Even though the Black Box was cancelled, the orange box is selling at the same price that the Black Box was intentionally going to be sold at, so you actually get the bonus of free XMas prezzies for your mates. :) As a whole package or seperate, these games are all amazing but seeing as we are obviously rating the Orange Box in general and the obvious deal, I have to give it To Crusader: Even though the Black Box was cancelled, the orange box is selling at the same price that the Black Box was intentionally going to be sold at, so you actually get the bonus of free XMas prezzies for your mates. :) As a whole package or seperate, these games are all amazing but seeing as we are obviously rating the Orange Box in general and the obvious deal, I have to give it a 10. It not only gave me a few days of hardcore gaming playing through Portal and HL2:Ep 2 and the TF2 beta but now that TF2 is officially released, it now provides me with hours upon hours of entertainment (between school work anyway). Expand
  32. BrandonT.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Sorry to those who dislike Valve, for what most likely small crowd that may be, but this is just what to expect from the popular gaming company these days. They've nailed what gamers desire in a game. Not only have they developed what I think to be the greatest FPS of all time, Half-Life 2, they've been able to break into a whole new style of gaming with Portal, and its just Sorry to those who dislike Valve, for what most likely small crowd that may be, but this is just what to expect from the popular gaming company these days. They've nailed what gamers desire in a game. Not only have they developed what I think to be the greatest FPS of all time, Half-Life 2, they've been able to break into a whole new style of gaming with Portal, and its just magnificent. Toss in a refreshed Team Fortress 2, been a while since something has been done with that one, and you've got a rock-solid gaming package for any gamer, casual to the most experienced. It's hard to expect anything less than this from Valve. Anyone looking for a well-rounded mix of games, The Orange Box should be your first choice. Great work, Valve! Expand
  33. DannyV.V.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This box is downright awesome. Portal is the most innovating game ever, everyone already knows that half-life 2 is amazing, and so are episodes one and two. Team fortress 2 is also a blast.
  34. MaxW.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Although all three games are epic, "The Orange Box" is not a game per se, how then is it rankable? All three games should be taken into consideration seperately not collectively. Otherwise all games developers would sell boxed sets and going by what is said here, would do very well. I did buy this boxed set and have only good things to say about it.
  35. DylanP.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Even after purchasing Half-Life 2, Episode One, The Orange Box is still of great value with the single-player gameplay Episode Two and Portal, giving you many hours of sheer delight as you continue to push forward as Gordon Freeman, still on a quest with Alex to get to her father. Portal, developed under Valve by the team that created Narbacular Drop, brings a polished, comical, 3D rat Even after purchasing Half-Life 2, Episode One, The Orange Box is still of great value with the single-player gameplay Episode Two and Portal, giving you many hours of sheer delight as you continue to push forward as Gordon Freeman, still on a quest with Alex to get to her father. Portal, developed under Valve by the team that created Narbacular Drop, brings a polished, comical, 3D rat maze that will test your reflexes as you attempt to perform split-second actions. Team Fortress 2, the long-anticipated sequel, will become your next multiplayer FPS. All in all, amazing gameplay for amazing value. Whether you own a PC, XBOX 360, or (in November) a PS3, if you have played HL2, get it, if you don't yet own HL2, get it, NOW! Expand
  36. ToxicNinja
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    A seriously epic set of games. Easily 30 hours worth of game not including the commentary or multiplayer which alone is 5 hours for the commentary and unlimited for the awesome multiplayer that is team fortress 2.
  37. TommyN.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    5 amazing games in 1 box. Half-Life 2 is awesome. But Portal, it's genius! Portal might be complicated to me, there puzzle is great! Team Fortress 2, their new classes are awesome. Team Fortress 2 has the best maps that are bigger than the old Team Fortress. Excellent. Thanks to Valve.
  38. RichardHermann
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    VALVe has done it again. Episode two is another thrilling, cliffhanging, deep story installment of the Half Life series; Portal, spoilers, gives insight into another facet of the storyline never before seen, and Team fortress two is an all out cartoony war between the red and the blue for survival.
  39. WillT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Ok, the value of this game was Awesome! (Way to go Valve!) However portal was beat in 2 hrs. and the Ai had to die from level one. Episode two followed at 4 hours. Aside from some short gameplay times this box roxs!
  40. HenryU.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    A bargain and a blast to play.
  41. MaxM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Even though im not big on the multiplayer and EP2 doesnt stirr me up much, pOrtal alone makes this worth the experience. While it is extremly short, it still beats hundreds of other fps in gameplay value - simply because after the same old gameplayconcept squeezed till the last drop and the some more pOrtal finally creates an immersion in completly new ways.
  42. PeterH.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Pure entertainment excellence. Very well refined. I was very pleased with how TF2 turned out. Extremely straightforward gameplay, very player friendly. Portal was an outstandingly skilled work of art; it produces many small moments of accomplishment and it's humor was a terrific surprise. Episode 2 was much more satisfying than EP1, so I'm happy.
  43. AlanD.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Aside from being a bit short, Portal is by far the most fun I've had in quite awhile.
  44. SeanR.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Very fun and intense, story is told to u in the usual way.
  45. E.Cook
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    You have to got to be kidding me! Valve released a bundle of games for the price of one???? Have I hit a gaming lottery? Everyone take note: This is the best deal on the planet. You not only get a variety of games, but they have been created with the best engine on the planet! As long as Valve continues to produce games, they will have my money. Period.
  46. BryceR.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing! This is the best deal out there! I love Half life 2 and i can't believe it all comes in one package! I've never played the first Team Fortress, but I am totally addicted to this! I play it every single day for a long time. Portal is just plain addictive. It really makes you think hard about how to go about moving along, even though i dont understand the plot Absolutely amazing! This is the best deal out there! I love Half life 2 and i can't believe it all comes in one package! I've never played the first Team Fortress, but I am totally addicted to this! I play it every single day for a long time. Portal is just plain addictive. It really makes you think hard about how to go about moving along, even though i dont understand the plot behind it, yet... it is still amazing! Expand
  47. DoisK.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Words cannot describe the awesomeness of this awesome package. You'll have to experience it for yourself.
  48. JarretA.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This game rocks, the Ending Song had me laughing so hard it hurt !!
  49. MikeN.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    If I'm rating the value of the Orange Box, then It's a 10. You get 5 amazing games for only $50. Now that is a screaming deal. If I'm rating the games then read the following. HL2 Ep2: 2 new enemies and the best gameplay since HL2. Things are starting to feel a little old though. 8/10 Portal: One of the best games I've played in a long while. Very fun and a great If I'm rating the value of the Orange Box, then It's a 10. You get 5 amazing games for only $50. Now that is a screaming deal. If I'm rating the games then read the following. HL2 Ep2: 2 new enemies and the best gameplay since HL2. Things are starting to feel a little old though. 8/10 Portal: One of the best games I've played in a long while. Very fun and a great ending, if a little short. 8/10 TF2: A very fun multiplayer expierence. I can see this game sticking around for quite a while. Small map selection right now though. 9/10 Expand
  50. Sveins.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    So nice , its just like playing in a movie.
  51. MadsG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is a brilliant game. Both fun, entertaining, and with a well written story. Blew my mind.
  52. MarkM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Half Life 2 Episode 2 is an extremely well scripted and thought out game. Portal is a great puzzle game. Team Fortress 2 is fun to play and has a great style which sets it apart from other multiplayer FPS games. And we mustn't forget Peggle Extreme, this addictive little puzzle game is a welcome bonus.
  53. Wil
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is easily the best packaged deal I've ever bought. Especially since I've never played any of the Half-Life2 games. Go get one, all the top games inside work out to like 12 bucks each.
  54. ThorstenH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Epsiode2 is the best Game i have ever played. It`s amazing! Portal is something new and really funny!
  55. AlexS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    AMAZING collection of outstanding games! Worth every second of the wait!
  56. ChrisC.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    A bundle of pure gaming goodness, featuring some of the best games every made (including THE best game ever made), Portal, Team Fortress 2, Peggle Extreme, and all at a standard price. Gaming has never seen a day like this, and I reckon there won't be one for quite a while to come.
  57. BradS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Had this been a full game, it would have EASILY taken game of the year award.
  58. MattH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    I'm currently loving this game. Many of the battles take place in open areas with myriad of places to take cover in or where enemies could be lurking. It makes the game feel extremely non-linear and makes the large fights much more fun. This is the most fun I have had since 2004.
  59. KarlS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Brilliant, well worth the wait! All classes bring something new to the table, I still can't decide whether no grenades was a wise choice though, 9 out of 10!
  60. DryPenguin
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Great fun, enjoyable art direction and certainly with the mod community growing, even more fun to follow launch.
  61. DenisS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Produced with love. They are love gaming and money. And, yes, they have style!
  62. NikG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is gonna be the best game of the year, team fortress 2 is amazing and different, portal just fantastic i really enjoy the puzzle solving and episode 2, lets just say i can't waite for episode 3!
  63. AlekseyT.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    All is simple, Valve has made a correct step towards to gamers. 5 games at the price of one! License games in aggregate with service Steam give a heap of positive emotions.
  64. KyleW.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    An absolutely perfect game utalizing the source engine and todays more advanced graphics. An unbeatable deal, an amazing game, plus the extras, how could you go wrong?
  65. JakeF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Coming from an old school QWTF player, this game is the best thing to happen in 9 years.
  66. UltraJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    What more can I say? 10!!!!!!!!!!!!! Loved HL1 and HL2, Portal was an excellent and unique experience, cant wait to see new challenges!
  67. HernandezE.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Wonderful. Finally TF returns with proper glory. Now all we need is CTF with runes.
  68. RandyM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This game set is magnificent. The fun in Portal, the suspense in Episode 2, and the fiendish teamplay in Team Fortress 2 are well worth the low price of the pack.
  69. MarkP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Each of the games are brilliant, but I must say, it's a 10 out of 10 because I'm still laughing from the end credits music on Portal. Hilarious!
  70. JoeG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Best sequel to a game ive ever seen. The action is non-stop from beginning to end and the cut-scene and character interactions are INCREDIBLE!!
  71. DiegoN.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Best quality at lowest price. Each bit worth the money. 100% art.
  72. AnnaK.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Well so far I've played Portals and have to say that I loved the game from start to finish. Doing the challenge missions now and the advanced and having a blast with those. I really cannot wait for the SDK. I've not really had a chance to play the other games aside from that (dling HL2 to beat it this time around xD) But from what I've heard the price was also very nice Well so far I've played Portals and have to say that I loved the game from start to finish. Doing the challenge missions now and the advanced and having a blast with those. I really cannot wait for the SDK. I've not really had a chance to play the other games aside from that (dling HL2 to beat it this time around xD) But from what I've heard the price was also very nice since I got four new games for 45 dollars. This game definitely deserves the 10 I gave it. Expand
  73. MatthewH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Amazing game! So addicting, i just cant stop playing!
  74. AloP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    This is just awsome! its only downside is that its short but on the upside its filled with action and a great storyline.
  75. JesseB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Best thing that valve has ever made but this beats the rest of their best things. 9 years for this epic thing is worth it. Good Job Valve!
  76. ThomasM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Great game, it really makes you think. Very well done. One of the hardest games I have had the played. Controls are easy game play is well done. Easy to play, Hard to master
  77. TaylorS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Great action sequences, entertaining story line and characters. But another cliffhanger. Arghhhhh! My only real complaint was it was too short.
  78. JulioA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This is the best package of all time, Half Life 2: Episode Two is the best FPS in the history
  79. JonathanV.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This was the best in the series by far. They really got their coreography down. The cinematics and graphics were AMAZING! I was very impressed. Can't wait for the third, shame that right as they get great at developing the game, the series'll be over. Oh, this is the first Half life with an ending that wasn't an explosion in your face! Very impressive, it's worth the This was the best in the series by far. They really got their coreography down. The cinematics and graphics were AMAZING! I was very impressed. Can't wait for the third, shame that right as they get great at developing the game, the series'll be over. Oh, this is the first Half life with an ending that wasn't an explosion in your face! Very impressive, it's worth the $50. Portal was a blast too. Expand
  80. AdamO.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    All 3 (new) games in this box are absolutely outstanding.
  81. TrevorY.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    I just purchased portal and im allready hooked!! best game ever played!!
  82. DanielF.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The incredible game package added to the amazing price makes this box a must have for any gamer. Portal is simply one of the best games ever made. The idea is so well implemented that you can do anything you can imagine. Team Fortress 2 a cartoonistic fps that will make you go wild. Half-Life 2 Episode Two..simply no words.
  83. MikeM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Brilliant collection, every game in here is a AAA title, and all for £25, bargain
  84. AndrewC.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Portal and TF2 rock, excellent value, excellent games
  85. JamesH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic- some of everything in terms of genres, but all of the best in those fields, and some mind-blasting storytelling and gameplay with Portal.
  86. Will
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    It would have been a 10 if the story was longer (beat it the first night it was released in roughly 3 hours ) and the plot a bit more involved . but the real meat of the game is going to be in community made maps . for its few flaws its still groundbreaking and one of my all time favorite games . and ive only had it a few days .
  87. MikeD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Brilliant, simply brilliant. Contains 3 of the best games this year, portal, episode 2 and team fortress 2.
  88. DavidWebb
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    A incredibly fun pack of games. I haven't finished Half-life Episode 2 yet, though I'm well into it. Portal is absolutely wonderful! I love Portal! It's pure candy. The Orange Box is amazingly good fun. I recently built a new desktop system that has the ability to run the Orange Box's games wide open and still provide better than 80 fps. I'm so glad that I did. My A incredibly fun pack of games. I haven't finished Half-life Episode 2 yet, though I'm well into it. Portal is absolutely wonderful! I love Portal! It's pure candy. The Orange Box is amazingly good fun. I recently built a new desktop system that has the ability to run the Orange Box's games wide open and still provide better than 80 fps. I'm so glad that I did. My old desktop could never have played these games and they are great. The folks at Valve have hit an out-of-the-park grand-slam home-run! Expand
  89. Slackiller
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Fun game, pretty balanced. I miss the grenades.
  90. KaiS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    8
    Fun and unique game, but sometimes a bit too challenging.
  91. lukaszrudnicki
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    How often do u play a PC game and think "i've never doen this before", and it's fun. I ahven't done that since I was finished with quake 1 and the respective mods. Granted iportal can be completed in under 7 hours, so can episode 2. Regardless, portal alone deserves a 10, for novelty and lots of fun. Then you add even MORE items to the orange box. 10 is an understatement.
  92. JonM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This game is so much fun! It is seriously one of the best games I have played in some time!
  93. JohnB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Value, thats it. Amazing games, lots of fun. All bring something to the table for a great low price.
  94. Petrovski
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The best package ever produced for fans of the first person shooter, not only for price but for remaining true to what the genre is supposed to be. Put simply, this package is just pure, unadulterated, fun!
  95. TimP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Really nice game, awesome feeling and awesome story. Loved the game all the way through. Although it was too short and too easy. My expectations were too high it seemes, but I will give it a 9
  96. Sickboy
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    An incredible package. Portal alone is an inspired piece of entertainment engineering and achieves a rare transcendence that few films, novels, albums and games can.
  97. HomerSimpson
    Oct 11, 2007
    8
    Half-Life 2 isn't THAT great anymore - just compare it to Ep 2. Portal's way cool, but SO short. TF2 will be good for awhile, but it's hard to allocate time away from H3 for it.
  98. MikeO.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    worth the money, only weak link is HL2:Episode 1 but the other games are just amazing.
  99. AaronJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The value alone is worth a 10 - Team Fortress 2 is wildly fun, Portal is extremely innovative, and from what I've experienced of Episode 2 so far, looks amazing.
  100. RobinG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    I finished Episode two and portal in less than 9 hours This fact does not mean that the orange box was a bad deal Episode two continues a brilliant story and everyone who likes the hl story MUST buy this game Portal has a very short playtime but there's a chance, that there will be a large community creating new maps for it, the idea behind the game is really cool and the game itself I finished Episode two and portal in less than 9 hours This fact does not mean that the orange box was a bad deal Episode two continues a brilliant story and everyone who likes the hl story MUST buy this game Portal has a very short playtime but there's a chance, that there will be a large community creating new maps for it, the idea behind the game is really cool and the game itself is addictive Team Fortress 2 is one of the best multiplayer games i ever played even if you have the worst stats in the world the game is still fun because of its grapics and its gameplay. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. PC Gamer
    94
    Leave it to Valve to deliver the goods on such an ambitious game package...The Orange Box is one of the finest compilations of gaming content ever produced. [Nov 2007, p.58]
  2. 95
    Not only do you get the best single player first person shooter ever created, you also get the two next chapters, a 3D puzzle game that also happens to live in the Half-Life universe and a terrifically fun team-based multiplayer first-person shooter. This is a lot of game in one package for only 50 dollars.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box offers everything any fan of first-person shooters could possibly want: some of the best single-player gaming ever in the shape of Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two; wonderful innovation from Portal, and the most refined, downright fun team-based online FPS currently available in Team Fortress 2. If that doesn't warrant a 10 out of 10, nothing does.