The Orange Box Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1325 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Games included in The Orange Box compilation: The original Half-Life 2 - The player again picks up the crowbar of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, its resources depleted, its populace dwindling. Freeman is thrust intoGames included in The Orange Box compilation: The original Half-Life 2 - The player again picks up the crowbar of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, its resources depleted, its populace dwindling. Freeman is thrust into the unenviable role of rescuing the world from the wrong he unleashed back at Black Mesa. And a lot of people - people he cares about - are counting on him. Half-Life 2: Episode One - The player reprises his role of Dr. Freeman, who must immediately face the repercussions of his actions in City 17 and the Citadel. Freeman reconnects with Alyx Vance and her robot, Dog, as they continue their support of the resistance's battle against the Combine forces. Half-Life 2: Episode Two -- the second installment in Valve's episodic trilogy advances the award-winning story, leading the player to new locations outside of City 17. Portal - a pioneering type of single player action game that rewrites the rules for how players approach and manipulate their environment – much like how Half-Life 2's Gravity Gun reinvented the way gamers interact with objects in the game. Team Fortress 2 - an all-new version of the legendary title that spawned team based multiplayer action games. The game's daring new art style features the most advanced graphics of any Source-based game released to date. [Valve Software] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    The Orange Box offers everything any fan of first-person shooters could possibly want: some of the best single-player gaming ever in the shape of Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two; wonderful innovation from Portal, and the most refined, downright fun team-based online FPS currently available in Team Fortress 2. If that doesn't warrant a 10 out of 10, nothing does.
  2. You get 5 outstanding games that give you a little bit of everything, action, story, puzzles, multiplayer, and just flat out addictive content. If you own a decent PC, a 360 or a PS3...you would be doing yourself, gamers, and the wonderful developers a great injustice by not buying The Orange Box. Not only is it possibly the best bargain in gaming history, but arguably the best FPS experience of all time.
  3. 95
    Damn you Valve. That's what rival game publishers must be thinking.
  4. 95
    Not only do you get the best single player first person shooter ever created, you also get the two next chapters, a 3D puzzle game that also happens to live in the Half-Life universe and a terrifically fun team-based multiplayer first-person shooter. This is a lot of game in one package for only 50 dollars.
  5. The Orange Box is a mix of conceptually different products that when combined, provide great entertainment on so many different levels.
  6. The Orange Box reminds me of those knife sets sold on late-night TV, where if you act now you get a vegetable chopper and a cutting board. Besides Episode 2, Portal and Team Fortress 2, the package includes the original Half-Life 2 and Half-Life 2: Episode 1. But no cake. If someone tells you the Orange Box comes with cake, remember that whatever else you choose to believe, the cake is most definitely a lie.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 235
  1. AlekseyT.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    All is simple, Valve has made a correct step towards to gamers. 5 games at the price of one! License games in aggregate with service Steam All is simple, Valve has made a correct step towards to gamers. 5 games at the price of one! License games in aggregate with service Steam give a heap of positive emotions. Expand
  2. TomJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Fantastic set of games, it's just simply odd that you can get this *set* of fantastic games for the price so many lesser games Fantastic set of games, it's just simply odd that you can get this *set* of fantastic games for the price so many lesser games individually sell for. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    What's that, you need to be convinced that 5 games for the price of less than one is worth it? Shame on you. Not only does this master pieceWhat's that, you need to be convinced that 5 games for the price of less than one is worth it? Shame on you. Not only does this master piece come with Half life 2 and the first two episodes, which have amazing single player story value, it also comes with Portal, possibly the most innovative game of the year! Then on top of that, when you have to get your multi-player fix, you have one of the most diverse, fun and chaotic team based shooters on the market! Valve really know how to make you think you're stealing from them. Expand
  4. JacobH.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Insane value. HL2 is 3 years old and still has leading graphics. The single-player games can present a seriously difficult, but Awesome game. Insane value. HL2 is 3 years old and still has leading graphics. The single-player games can present a seriously difficult, but not impossible, challenge to the player. TF2 is a very unique and endlessly fun multiplayer. If you don't buy this, you're either a complete idiot or you live under a rock. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    half life 2(including all the episodes) is one of my favorite games ever made- It's in my TOP 3! and to that one guy who is comparinghalf life 2(including all the episodes) is one of my favorite games ever made- It's in my TOP 3! and to that one guy who is comparing halo 3, one of the worst games ive ever played, to half life 2, you haven't played this game yet. when u go on steam, you dont have to buy the games! its just like the xbox live marketplace(yes, i have and xbox and u could buy half life for it) but you can buy full games on it. i agree with you when you say that if you lose your account all your games are gone, and you can't reenter any codes you got with the game disk. but valve will probably fix that. i also have to say, if u think there is nothing innovative about half life, then tell me, whats innovative about halo? there's a sword made of energy? Gee, that's never been done before in any sci fi book, movie, game ect. and if you hate steam, go and complain to the companys, not in a review for a game that would kick halo 3's arse any day of the week. sure, halo was fun for the first few weeks it came out, but it got real old real fast. Expand
  6. May 14, 2012
    10
    My last but not least boxed PC game purchase. Thank you Valve for creating such an amazing collection and the digital era opened by Steam.My last but not least boxed PC game purchase. Thank you Valve for creating such an amazing collection and the digital era opened by Steam. This is a must have collection for any Valve/FPS fan. Expand
  7. MessiahL.
    Oct 21, 2007
    0
    Here's an idea: don't shove medicine down people's throats if you are unwilling to take it yourself. Quit under-rating Halo 3 Here's an idea: don't shove medicine down people's throats if you are unwilling to take it yourself. Quit under-rating Halo 3 because you don't own a 360, and quit hyping up the Half-Life franchise like it's full of innovation. What, exactly, aside from the gravity gun, is innovative about Half Life 2? It's possibly one of the most HEAVILY scripted and narrow games I've ever played. Is it good? Hell yes. But so is Halo. So quit trashing another good franchise just because you're a spoon-fed fanboy. I've built several of my own machines and Half-Life 2 looked gorgeous on ALL of them, but I've also owned an Xbox in my time, and I'm willing to concede that Halo is just as good as a series. My biggest complaint is with Steam. Yes, maybe steam users are stupid enough to put their money into what is obviously going to be a monopoly, but I'm not. The only Steam games I will ever purchase are Valve games, because Steam is all you can play them on. So go ahead, put money into something like this and watch as the market is monopolized and you have to pay for every game through Steam, keeping in mind that if your account was ever lost for whatever reason, all your games would be gone. Sadly, people don't think ahead, they've got the sheep mentality and it's going to screw us all. Expand

See all 235 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.