User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    6
    A budget offering that is priced around what its actually worth. Its a fairly amusing way to waste a couple of hours here and there. Very basic and little real depth but enough to be quite enjoyable for a short while. This is not a terrible game. I couldnt find any bugs at all. It is a a short afternoon's entertainment. Nothing wrong with it. But nothing great either. Just a bit tooA budget offering that is priced around what its actually worth. Its a fairly amusing way to waste a couple of hours here and there. Very basic and little real depth but enough to be quite enjoyable for a short while. This is not a terrible game. I couldnt find any bugs at all. It is a a short afternoon's entertainment. Nothing wrong with it. But nothing great either. Just a bit too simplistic to be engaging for more than a short time. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    8
    The Political Machine 2012 is a great Presidential campaign simulator. You choose your candidate or make your own and then start the race, it has board game like mechanics and is an addictive game.
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    This game is very addicting..... It starts where you can choose your candidate or make your own, than you are off to win the electorals... I love how you can get republican states to vote for you if you are a democrat, or vice- versa... The one thing is people dont play online very much ... However I recommend this game, add me on steam : Hulkpena , to play me online on this. Plus rightThis game is very addicting..... It starts where you can choose your candidate or make your own, than you are off to win the electorals... I love how you can get republican states to vote for you if you are a democrat, or vice- versa... The one thing is people dont play online very much ... However I recommend this game, add me on steam : Hulkpena , to play me online on this. Plus right now its half off.. Hurry up! Best 5 bucks I have spent in a while. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2012
    3
    The most fun I had with this game was customizing my candidate. The bare gameplay and uninteresting interface greatly reduced the fun factor and I didn't feel the choices I made were relevant or important as they should be when playing with such issues as rights and government spending. Politics are a crucial aspect of society and this game completely missed the point, dumbing them to aThe most fun I had with this game was customizing my candidate. The bare gameplay and uninteresting interface greatly reduced the fun factor and I didn't feel the choices I made were relevant or important as they should be when playing with such issues as rights and government spending. Politics are a crucial aspect of society and this game completely missed the point, dumbing them to a numb strategical board game. I love simulation games, but this isn't one. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    4
    I recognize someone could enjoy this kind of simulation, but are you serious? This has a higher user average than Mass Effect 3?
    What's wrong with this planet?
  6. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    The Political Machine 2012 gets its politics right, but taught me that politics is a messy game that should be avoided unless necessary. And without significant core gameplay changes to the first game, The Political Machine 2012 seems like it stumbles right out of the gate with lackluster replayability, static gameplay, and suffers from just not being fun. Unfortunately, I will be takingThe Political Machine 2012 gets its politics right, but taught me that politics is a messy game that should be avoided unless necessary. And without significant core gameplay changes to the first game, The Political Machine 2012 seems like it stumbles right out of the gate with lackluster replayability, static gameplay, and suffers from just not being fun. Unfortunately, I will be taking my votes, money, and time, elsewhere, and advise that you do the same.

    Full review at http://gamersrespite.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/101/
    Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    40
    Not serious to be legit, not funny enough to be, well, fun. [Oct 2012, p.78]
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    55
    Ultimately, TPM might give you the odd chuckle, but you're not really looking forward to it running for a second term in your office. [Dec 2012, p.67]
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    70
    It's a lot of work to get into politics, but it's also a lot to try and turn it into a simulation for us to play at home. I would never say this game is a perfect simulation of anything, but it does a great job of being a simple, accessible simulation game even for people who aren't really into that type of game.