User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 469 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. JonasH.
    Sep 8, 2007
    8
    This game is rediculous, stupid and with no sense whatsoever - So how can you anything but love it? It's highly addictive and it has hours worth of online gameplay. However, a lot of bugs freezing the game, kind of ruins the experience. It sucks when your 500$ from winning the game, and suddenly: BSOD! But I rate by gameplay experience and not bugs!
  2. JasonO.
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    This game is great. It is very addictive and a new game that is very unique. Some people do not like this game because i think they are used to the regular type of FPS were you jsut shoot and kill. If you want to play this game, play it smart, as others have said do not treat it like another FPS and going around killing random people. Play this game with intelligence and skill. It takes a This game is great. It is very addictive and a new game that is very unique. Some people do not like this game because i think they are used to the regular type of FPS were you jsut shoot and kill. If you want to play this game, play it smart, as others have said do not treat it like another FPS and going around killing random people. Play this game with intelligence and skill. It takes a little while to get used to the game and figure out ships, weapons, and ways to kill but once you know what your doing this game is Great!. Play the Ship and Have Fun! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    very good game amazing game play and lots of fun especially with friends.
    very good idea of hunt drags you into funny moments and exciting ones.
    the bad graphic shouldn't bother anyone.
  4. BorisG.
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    Very nice game, great gameplay who lets you becoming parano. I just think that the game is too heavy, and graphics are a bit poor.
  5. BrianH.
    Aug 5, 2006
    8
    Ehh.... game is ok was fun for a couple days but altogether i think HL2 need some newer and more different mods.
  6. ZOMBIEREPELLENT
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    The best freakin game I've ever played!!!
  7. ReidP.
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    Great game, it's taking up my life!
  8. KM
    Aug 7, 2006
    9
    Very fun game, love it, good work all in all.
  9. MasonE.
    Sep 2, 2006
    8
    I was excited when I head that this game was about to be released. Yet, I was dissapointed. The release of the game had MANY bugs and problems. Exploits were easily found and for a while, the game was at a slow pace. The number of servers on the game are not as great as the rest of Steam's FPS's, showing how popular this game really is with the general gamer. On the positive I was excited when I head that this game was about to be released. Yet, I was dissapointed. The release of the game had MANY bugs and problems. Exploits were easily found and for a while, the game was at a slow pace. The number of servers on the game are not as great as the rest of Steam's FPS's, showing how popular this game really is with the general gamer. On the positive side, the game is truly unique game, finally on the Source engine. Though you do not have the freedom provided on the rest of the Source games, making just another game with better graphics and sounds. It's still a fun game and if you love the mod available on the original Half-Life GoldSource engine, this is a must buy. Expand
  10. Tyler
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This is simply not getting all the reviews it deserves. They just came out with a patch which added so many cool mew features, but even without the new patch I would have given this a 10. The most original FPS ever, with HUGE potential. Very underrated, but hopefully soon the player numbers will rise with this being released in more countries soon.
  11. StephenC.
    Nov 3, 2006
    9
    Not the best game out there today but very good for its 1st time - the cartoon graphics give it a good game to play if your into the adventurous type of gaming like "world of warcraft" did. can i just say to the others who rated this badly i can say most of you said there werent enough people online - surely everyone doesnt comment on this and the people who have altogether theres more Not the best game out there today but very good for its 1st time - the cartoon graphics give it a good game to play if your into the adventurous type of gaming like "world of warcraft" did. can i just say to the others who rated this badly i can say most of you said there werent enough people online - surely everyone doesnt comment on this and the people who have altogether theres more than 20 of you so thats good enough like a counterstrike server - I think most of you followed the others so rumour led to rumour. stop following other people and speak the truth as the game makers are reading these comments and dont take likely to liers. But enough of that, truly great game i recommend it for htman style and sims style players if you enjoy the thrill and hunt and virtual world of your own character like world of warcraft in graphics and adventure but without the eating drinking and sleeping to keep yourself alive - this is what makes the game realistic which is good for a game - different from counterstrike as not everything in that is realistic like you dont have breath like Battlefields 2 so you can keep running forever. the ship is a great game well worth its money, go buy it now and join the sensation Expand
  12. WillS.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Love this game, totally original and thoughtfully made. Don't be discouraged by the low numbers, well worth the $20!
  13. EricC
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Wow. Some people are making comments that just doesn't make sense. Let's take Seti Alpha 6, for example. He said it was missing any form of gameplay whatsoever....hmm...in the game you are assigned a certain person to kill with not too many witnesses or securtiy watching. You should use different weapons that are worth higher money because moeny is what can make you or break you.Wow. Some people are making comments that just doesn't make sense. Let's take Seti Alpha 6, for example. He said it was missing any form of gameplay whatsoever....hmm...in the game you are assigned a certain person to kill with not too many witnesses or securtiy watching. You should use different weapons that are worth higher money because moeny is what can make you or break you. All the while you have to watch your basic needs (eating, drinking, sleeping, etc) and watching out for someone else who's hunting you. Let's compare that to pretty much every other FPS out there: run around, kill people, occasionally complete an objective. I don't understand how Seti Alpha could say such a thing. Another thing he mentioned was bad graphics, I know they weren't amazing, but they're most definately not "boxes with ugly textures and lighting". The maps have very good detail, and besides, graphics aren't everything. Another person, Major Tom, gave it a low score mostly because of how litle people play it, and how short the story mode was. First of all, story mode was a simple add-on. This game is a multiplayer game, and you really shouldn't get it for story mode. As for the small smount of players...well... if people like Seti Alpha 6 (and many others) could write an honest review, because the bad ones will stop people from buying it. Besides, the amount of players is slowly rising, and many of the existing players are advertising it a lot. I understand why he was mad, since he didn't really know about the story mode being a small add on, but a score of 1 is pretty harsh. Please, buy this game, if you want unique gameplay, different from all the other games out there. Don't listen to poor reviews such as the one from Alpha, since he clearly has either only played the game for a couple minutes, or hates the developers for some reason. That is all. Expand
  14. ChronoG.
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    This is a great game. It masterfully blends existing concepts into a unique game. The game quickly becomes addicting through the thrill of hunting down your quarry. The graphics intentionally have a cartoon like feel to complement the light-hearted atmosphere of its murderess intent. As for the bugs, most of them have already been addressed.
  15. MichaelClarkson
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    Just the best game ever. The maps, the community, the gameplay, everything. (It sdid have some bugs in the start, that kinda ruined the gameplay. But that was sorted quickly.)

    Just a lovable, fully addictive game. :)

    BE SURE TO PICK IT UP ONCE IT COMES TO A STORE NEAR YOU! :D
  16. PaulL
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    Appearently there are people here who must have a gridge against the developers for some reason because the things they are saying are mostly untrue. Let's take Seti Alpha 6. He says the game is missing any form of gameplay whatsoever. Let's compare The Ship's gameplay to most other FPS's. You are assigned someone else to kill on the map with no security watching, andAppearently there are people here who must have a gridge against the developers for some reason because the things they are saying are mostly untrue. Let's take Seti Alpha 6. He says the game is missing any form of gameplay whatsoever. Let's compare The Ship's gameplay to most other FPS's. You are assigned someone else to kill on the map with no security watching, and with not too many witnesses or you will go to jail. You must take care of your needs (eating, sleeping, etc...) or you will suffer the consequence which is usually death. You have to find all the weapons from the beginning, and some weapons are worth more money to kill with than others. When you will with a weapon, it's MFK (money for kill) will go down, whereas if you don't use a weapon very much, it will have higher MFK. That isn't it all, but that's basically the jist of it. Let's compare it to other FPS's such as Halo or Counter-Strike: Kill everyone that isn't on your team, get the most powerful weapon, complete and objective occasionally such as rescuing hostages or capturing the flag. Wow, Seti Alpha 6 must really really hate the developers, or only played the game for two minutes to say something like that. I will admitt that the graphics aren't amazing, but they are certainly not boxes with ugly textures and lighting. Appearently this guy has an axe to grind, so just don't listen to his review. Another person complained about the story mode being too short and not enough people playing, but first of all, it was only intended to be multiplayer....singleplayer is only an add-on. It's not supposed to be long. As for there not being enough people, well it's about to be released in many more countries on retail within the next couple months, so that should help, plus the developers are soon going to start advertising it in some way. It would also help if people like Seti Alpha 6, and many many others, would just not make reviews if they can't make honest ones. I'd normally give this an 8 or 9, but I'm gonna try to boost this game's score a little bit. Expand
  17. jg
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    For purchase price, it's a great game. Different from anything out on the market -- but it isn't the sort of thing twitcher will like. I can't sit and play for 8 hours straight, but if there are folks on the servers, it is always good for a 2 hour session.
  18. Whiteknight
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Great game for a break from Counterstrike.
  19. AlekA.
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Excellent! Just excellent! Too much fun in great price!
  20. TomS.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    A Brilliant and innovative new style of gameplay, and was risky for a new company to invest in.They pulled it off very well and I find the game extremely addictive - it gets better the more you play it!
  21. MattK.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    The Ship's gameplay concept is new and refreshing compared to many other games on the market. With a bunch of friends, or a bunch of strangers, when played proper as with any game there are multitudes of hours of enjoyment. Loved it pre-source, love it even more post-source.
  22. rek075
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    The concept of a murder mystery coupled with a first person game engine is brought with the game 'The Ship'. While not everyone's cup of tea, those who are looking for something other than standard deathmatch or capture the flag gameplay may come to really enjoy this game. The price is definately worth the enjoyment I have gotten out of it.
  23. NeilB.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Great game. Great concept and design.
  24. ZacharyI.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    simply stunning and entertaining,i mean what other game lets you set your friend on fire with a flare gun,or lock em in a ffreeze or sauna and watch them slowly die?nothing beats how many ways you can kill people,did i mention killing your friend while their taking a poop? lol
  25. AdamW.
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    A Unique Multiplayer Psychological Thriller From the quickly paced hunt mode to the slower paced stalking of elimination mode, the ship provides some rather interesting gameplay. Far removed from the typical chaos of the first person shooter genre, this game takes a risky but rewarding approach to gameplay. You are hunting your quarry throughout several luxury cruise liners, payed by the A Unique Multiplayer Psychological Thriller From the quickly paced hunt mode to the slower paced stalking of elimination mode, the ship provides some rather interesting gameplay. Far removed from the typical chaos of the first person shooter genre, this game takes a risky but rewarding approach to gameplay. You are hunting your quarry throughout several luxury cruise liners, payed by the mysterious Mr. X to kill with the most entertaining and valuable weapons of the moment. Careful play and smart planning can help you win the day. If you get sloppy however, you may find yourself the victim of your hunter, or even your quarry. The hunter quarry system brings an interesting psychological aspect to the game. You must stalk your quarry without their knowing. Likewise, you must be aware of suspicious behavior as your hunter stalks you. Although you are not given the name or any information about your hunter, small clues in their behavior can help you identify them and save your life. Players stopping dead in their tracks when they talk to you, stalking you for several minutes while standing a few feet behind, tracing you to dead ends, etc. All of these are almost sure signs that this person intends to kill you. If you are quick and smart, you can turn the tables on them, sending them back to a cabin room without their chosen murder weapons, buying you some time to hunt your own quarry. Conversely, you must be careful not to give yourself away. Reading a book, sipping a soda, or just simply walking into another room can keep your quarry from being suspicious and earn you a kill. Catching them when they must meet a particular need can earn you quick and easy cash with the appropriate weapon. The needs system is also particularly interesting. Discouraging people from camping in safe areas, needs must be satisfied to avoid unpleasant consequences. From the need to eat and drink, to the need for conversation with other people, all make you temporarily vulnerable. The key lies in knowing when and where to satisfy these needs or you might find yourself dead but with very clean hands. Overall, the ship is an entertaining game. The scenarios in the game and the variety of weapons give a rather entertaining comedic effect to the whole game. Seeing someone chased down the hall is a hilarious experience as is opening a door to be pushed aside by someone quickly escaping their hunter. FOr the price of $20, I would highly recommend this game. Expand
  26. AndrewPowell
    Aug 11, 2006
    9
    Excellent game, though the poor method of finding game types and the fair number of idiot kill-everyone players on the servers keeps me from rating it a perfect 10.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Great game with good potential for the future (with more traps, objects, fun situation, etc...) NEEDS MORE ADVERTISING to bring more players!
  28. WillM.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    Overall, great grahpics, great music, great concept, and tons of fun. Although the game does lose its "newness" quickly and playing the same 7 or so maps becomes repetitive. But it still is well worth 20 dollars.
  29. MartinF.
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    Awesome fun game. Detracts from the traditional mantra that more players is better, and you get a real feeling of camaraderie on every server you get; I've found the inherently slow, thoughtful nature of this game attracts a more intelligent audience in general, which makes for some awesome games. Although it has various bugs and problems at the moment, they will surely be ironed out Awesome fun game. Detracts from the traditional mantra that more players is better, and you get a real feeling of camaraderie on every server you get; I've found the inherently slow, thoughtful nature of this game attracts a more intelligent audience in general, which makes for some awesome games. Although it has various bugs and problems at the moment, they will surely be ironed out post-release via steam, and several have already been directly addressed, so I have confidence in the team. Wonderful. Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    these people do not liek th egame because of its subtle bugs and problems. It is a great game, and it deserves a better rating because outer life will fix these problems . i have been talking to a guy from the ship forums and hes from outerlife. he says, the single player game is being worked on, so in a little while that will be out, and te bugs will be fixed.
  31. MarkV.
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    I love this game, especially its art deco. Loved the mod too all I can say are good things about this game. Although there are some bugs they will be fixed.
  32. Sr.Dela
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    This game is the freshest breath of air you'll get in our fps poluted air. I can't remember the last time I played a game this new and entertaining. If you're the typical hardcore CS:S style fps or the 'shoot anything that moves' type, this game may not be fore you. Why? Because it is, in fact, alot slower paced, seeing as you only kill one person who's name This game is the freshest breath of air you'll get in our fps poluted air. I can't remember the last time I played a game this new and entertaining. If you're the typical hardcore CS:S style fps or the 'shoot anything that moves' type, this game may not be fore you. Why? Because it is, in fact, alot slower paced, seeing as you only kill one person who's name is given to you. But, believe you me, you'll find your adrenaline pumping as you reach for your katana as you finally find your Quarry (prey) in a secluded area, then realizing your very own hunter is pulling out his axe right next to you ready to chop you away. This is a game about strategy as well as... well, in lack of a better term - quickness. The only reason I do not give this a perfect score is due to the fact that, yes, it has its bugs. For this alone I'd give it an 8 but the bugs are so trivial (and are currently being fixed) that it barely makes any difference to the game. This game is both funny, fun, and at times fast, and with the right group of people (which is mostly what you're gonna get. Don't worry, no "1337 h4xors" claiming they "pwn you" and calling you "n00b" everywhere. This currently is my personal favorite game and will become more so when the new patch comes out fixing all the bugs. Well, most, at least. And, sure, it used to be a free HL1 mod, but so was CS:S. And LIKE CS:S it's popularity and quality grew so great that it's now a standalone in the very beautiful Source engine. Which, IMO, they couldn't have picked a better engine, and you'll agree when you take a second from killing and look out at the beautiful water surrounding the Ships. So for only $20 it's a sure winner. But don't take my word for it. Try it out yourself. Expand
  33. DaffyG.
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    this game rules. its original, fun, and has a tone of replay value.
  34. ShaneS.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. I just got it tonight and have been busily exploring its many captivating nitches and corners. Just playing along with other people is great enough to get my attention, but the way this game plays, with such amazing things as shooting flare's at other players and hitting them with mannequin arm's, what game beats that? You could argue that other games have This game is amazing. I just got it tonight and have been busily exploring its many captivating nitches and corners. Just playing along with other people is great enough to get my attention, but the way this game plays, with such amazing things as shooting flare's at other players and hitting them with mannequin arm's, what game beats that? You could argue that other games have better graphics, but the word "better" is relative to each game's achieved world. I'd say the cartoony game is about as realistic as Tom and Jerry, as comical as Dane Cook, and plays like a James Bond game, stealth and mingling. Overall, great game. I love it! Expand
  35. SkyP.
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    Very original and fun. Maybe not for everyone if they crave hectic and fast paced action but if you are into psychology, or into suspenseful games, this is for you. I can see it getting old, but that could be easily solved if there are occasional updates with new content.
  36. AlexS.
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    A wicked game! Sound gameplay and graphics makes this a very addictive and comical murder game. Online mode is great too. 10/10 'Amazing'
  37. L.S.
    Aug 5, 2006
    8
    Nice idea, well done. Maybe a little slow, but it's a lot of fun
  38. GeorgeB.
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    Neat concept, good graphics, mild bugs here and there which should be fixed shortly ( I hope). It's fun, thats the whole point, I've been playing it for hours.
  39. ConspiracyTheorist
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Great game.
  40. BobJ.
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    I love this game!
  41. AmandaB.
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    Amazing game, just get's better every time you play it. After you get the hang of where to look for good weapons, it's one of the best games out there.
  42. AnthonyM.
    Jan 12, 2007
    9
    A Highly original game. One of the most unique concepts around to date.
  43. ConspiracyTheorist
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Great game.
  44. Dan
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    A great game, especially for the price, I just wish they added more ships/maps.
  45. QuintP.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    This Game Is Fantastic Cool, nice Graphics and cool weapons.
  46. Bryan
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Takes a little getting used to, But when you get a hang of it its extremely fun.
  47. AdamD.
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    This is the worst game ever I hated everything! its so stupid! I had to feed myself! What the heck?? Ok thats just stupid Why... WHY but then! I got addicted! And I played for hours... but I hated it, but it was addicting. But all you do is feed yourself. 95% of the game is fulfilling your needs. 5% is doing the 'hunt' which is just lame (I hate it!) But I liked the mystery This is the worst game ever I hated everything! its so stupid! I had to feed myself! What the heck?? Ok thats just stupid Why... WHY but then! I got addicted! And I played for hours... but I hated it, but it was addicting. But all you do is feed yourself. 95% of the game is fulfilling your needs. 5% is doing the 'hunt' which is just lame (I hate it!) But I liked the mystery kinda so it was a great game! I love it! Expand
  48. AndyK.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    I think this game is very good but i will have to give it a 1- point for graphics..... Hope the graphics improve on The Ship 2.
  49. VegarL.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    I love this game, took a little time to get used to it, but when you first get used to it, then it's addicting! I love hunting, and the teamplay modes are great!
  50. AlexB.
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    It's a very unique game, and I'd say its atleast worth what its asking for if you enjoy these murdermystery-ish type of games.
  51. Tim
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Simply Good.
  52. LeeR.
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    Very fun amusing game. Poor single player gameplay and storyline, but the best online game thats came out in a while.
  53. MarcB.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Heyyo, Awesome game. The needs system gives you better odds at getting your opponents, but must also watch your own needs and be careful to plan to relieve your needs without risk of dying yourself.. people who give it a low rating don't understand the complexity behind it. But hey, not every game's for everyone.
  54. CarlJ.
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    I would just like to say everything about this game is good it is unique the graphics are amazing gameplay is very exiting you can never get bored, the only reason people are giving bad votes on it is becouse they play the game just to constantly kill with no purpose if all you like to do is run around like a complete moron and just kill pixels then go and play runescape and run in the I would just like to say everything about this game is good it is unique the graphics are amazing gameplay is very exiting you can never get bored, the only reason people are giving bad votes on it is becouse they play the game just to constantly kill with no purpose if all you like to do is run around like a complete moron and just kill pixels then go and play runescape and run in the wilderness if you like a game with a purpose then this is the game for you! Expand
  55. FrederikMeringen
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    great game
  56. AlfonsoC.
    Oct 15, 2006
    8
    Its pretty good, specially when playing against friend. Lacking in some aspects, but fun anyway.
  57. Jaime
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Kick a** one of the best games I have ever played simply brilliant.
  58. RogerH.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Really cool and funny game. Some sorf of hitman but 200% more fun. Nice great game, try it !
  59. JeradL.
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    This is one of the most online addicting shooters I have ever played, next to Battlefield 2. The gameplay is completely original and whoever thought of the concept is a genious! The weapon variety is excellent and the gameplay is exciting and suspenseful at the same time. Stalk you later!
  60. Carstairs
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    I don't think I've ever played an fps game that has been such fun within a short space of time. The graphics suit the game and are quite nice to boot, the ship layouts logical and it doesnt take long, and theres nothing more fun than tracking your quarry all round the ship before stabbing them to death with a knitting needle.
  61. Makrocow
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    It was fun to play few hours. but the prize is too much for the game like this. I would buy it if it would be near 10$. Idea is not new but first time I see it in computer game. Planed Murder is always fun.
  62. JoeS.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    I've had so much fun with this game. All the secrets and the well-timed strategy make it a joy to play. Some of my friends have bought it and more are buying it each day. It's a great diversion from the run-of-the-mill FPS out there.
  63. KaseyM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    First, to Dale U., most people who rated at least a positive score played the first free weekend back around september. I did myself, and found the game to be very fun and innovative. Now on to the real review. This game works well with the needs system like the sims, and the objective of hunt or be hunted. However, there are some things the developers could have done to make this game First, to Dale U., most people who rated at least a positive score played the first free weekend back around september. I did myself, and found the game to be very fun and innovative. Now on to the real review. This game works well with the needs system like the sims, and the objective of hunt or be hunted. However, there are some things the developers could have done to make this game better. For example, they could have added an option to either eliminate needs on busy servers or make them increase at a very slow pace. (much slower than easy) Also, on some maps, weapon respawn could and should be much faster. (I often found myself struggling to find a weapon on certain maps because they respawned like once every 7 minutes or so.) However, despite these two minor flaws, this game is very fun and i highly recommend many people try it, especially with a free weekend coming up again in just a few hours! Expand
  64. LanceY.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    I enjoy the game a lot. If fast paced action is your preference you may not like the Ship so much but that's why there are many different kinds of games out there for everyone's different opinions. Outerlight went out on a limb and made a whole new type of game which is brave when it's a lot easier to say "well people like fast-paced shooting games so we'll make one of I enjoy the game a lot. If fast paced action is your preference you may not like the Ship so much but that's why there are many different kinds of games out there for everyone's different opinions. Outerlight went out on a limb and made a whole new type of game which is brave when it's a lot easier to say "well people like fast-paced shooting games so we'll make one of those". All I can say is that I find it really fun and people should try it for free right now to at least see if they like it. Expand
  65. WilliamN.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    I would recommend this game to anyone who doesn't simply go for the mindless run and gun games, but would rather play for the satisfaction of a truly unforgettable murder using stealth and accuracy. I give this game a 10, as it is my favorite game at the moment.
  66. NathanF.
    Jul 22, 2006
    9
    An excellent fps with a new and exciting twist.
  67. TobusL.
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    Great game with a very innovative spin on the almost ancient multiplay FPS.
  68. SteveC.
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    It's like the game Cruise for a Corpse should have been!
  69. DerekT.
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Love this game....great mix of strategy and fps style gameplay.
  70. JoeyT.
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    I think its a great game its very thrilling and fun to play. Although its kinda long its a good game.
  71. LeeC.
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Highly original twist for a FPS. initially the game has a high learning curve but once you're sucked in you just can't help but go one more round.
  72. KevinR.
    Aug 11, 2006
    9
    I decided to brake my review down, then give it an overall score: Concept: 10/10 This is one of the best Online Game concepts I have ever heard of. It is mainly the idea of stealthful killing players that got me interisted in this game. Gameplay: 7/10 The gameplay is tons of fun, but there are still a few problems. The lag needs to be worked on, it is hard to shoot somone with a revolver I decided to brake my review down, then give it an overall score: Concept: 10/10 This is one of the best Online Game concepts I have ever heard of. It is mainly the idea of stealthful killing players that got me interisted in this game. Gameplay: 7/10 The gameplay is tons of fun, but there are still a few problems. The lag needs to be worked on, it is hard to shoot somone with a revolver and then all of the sudden have a lag spike. Graphics: 9/10 Very well done graphics. There is somthing about the mask Mr. X wears that I really like. (probably the devilish look). However, there are a few cutscenes that take too long, picking up a wallet should not take about 1.8 seconds. (I tried to count it.) Sound: 8/10 The ambience of radios in rooms, and the sound of the sea is great. The volume still needs some fine tuning though. It seems odd when you step indo another room for the sound to suddently go down about 3 dbs. Overall: 9/10 Dispite a few minor problems with the game, it is still quite amazing. If you see me behind you, you better keep your eyes on me, unless you like getting an axe in the back of course. Well done OuterLight, well done. Expand
  73. ColinLonghurst
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    A highly original, entertaining game. Sort of Counter-Strike meets Clue, on the high seas.
  74. EthanL.
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    People are rating this game badly because of all the bugs (some of which only apply to certain people), lack of players, and little maps, but they are leaving out one major thing: the game is basicly not finished yet. It hasn't come out on it's official release yet, and when it is it will be virtually bugless with more players and maps. The develepors didn't have to release People are rating this game badly because of all the bugs (some of which only apply to certain people), lack of players, and little maps, but they are leaving out one major thing: the game is basicly not finished yet. It hasn't come out on it's official release yet, and when it is it will be virtually bugless with more players and maps. The develepors didn't have to release it on Steam early for us, they could have waited until it was perfect, but they were being nice and did it. The gameplay is very unique and I like the vast choice of weapons (which will only get better through updates). I kind of like the graphics, although most people will disagree with that. I will agree that the graphics aren't overly that great (especially for a Source game), but the maps have a lot of detail and I like the style of graphics in it. The only big thing I am unhappy with right now is the sound. You can't hear a gun being fired only a few feet away (but this will be fixed in an update). I would normally give it a 8 or 9 but this game does not deserve a 5.9 overall so I will give it a 10 to help raise it's score. Expand
  75. ThomasC.
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    This is a truly fantastic game, a good premise, nice graphics and great sounds, easily deserving of a 10. Unfortunately due to a bunch of cs kiddies, it is nearly unplayable online. They can't seem to grasp the concept of stealth and just run around shooting stuff as though it's Counter-Strike ruining the enjoyment of all intelligible players, thus it gets an 8.
  76. JackS.
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    One of the funnest multiplayer games on the market today!
  77. EddieS.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    This game rules! I get to eat, sleep, and kill. I loved the Sims 2, but it didn't have enough death. But The Ship is a combination, I love it!
  78. greatgame
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    wow, this game rocks. i mean never have i played such an original game and i can jump right into it (hunt mode) if i only have 15-20 minutes.
  79. Alexalex
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    The only way this game could possibly be any bigger is with better graphics and larger ships. Otherwise this game has aboloutely nothing wrong with it!
  80. CarmenG.
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Now that virtually every major bug is fixed, this game is amazing! It's simply the most unique and original fps I have EVER played in my life. It's a humongous step from the HL1 mod (which was also very fun to play). The even better thing about this game is that it's only going to keep getting better. The developers said they will include more weapons, maps, and clothes in Now that virtually every major bug is fixed, this game is amazing! It's simply the most unique and original fps I have EVER played in my life. It's a humongous step from the HL1 mod (which was also very fun to play). The even better thing about this game is that it's only going to keep getting better. The developers said they will include more weapons, maps, and clothes in further updates so if that doesn't get you exited, then I don't know what will. It's produced by a small independant company, so when you buy this game it will fund further amazing games they may release in the future. So please buy this game, especially if you liked the HL1 mod even just a little bit. Expand
  81. TimY.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    I liked the Sims 2, so I loved this with a mix with Hitman. Simply fun.
  82. BorisM.
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    Suprisingly enjoyable once I got used to the gameplay style, one of the better mods out there. Downsides are the difficulty for new players to get "into" the game and very limited map choices.
  83. MutantChikin
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    This Game is nothing less than amazing. It never gets old...you could play it all day and never get sick of it! Its a Great Game!
  84. RyanN.
    May 13, 2007
    9
    The Ship is a wonderful game that I find to be very funny. I like all of the environments but, the concept of fufilling your needs is a bit stupid, but it makes sense.
  85. JohnS.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Take a little bit to get used to, but its addicting! Fulfilling your needs can get annoying - would be nicer if they cut down on that a bit. Overall it is really a great game!
  86. DavioC.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    This game is incredibly fun. The concept is simple and, though the gameplay takes a short time to get used to, in the end, you'll have a blast. The online play is addictive because of the sheer number of ways to kill your enemies. It also takes skill and strategy to become a good player, for you must take into consideration all of the needs and weapons and rewards for kills. Amazing Game.
  87. DavidA.
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    I love this game...of course I will say that it is not perfect... Now I have read many of the reviews online...many state that it sucks...and I have read many stating it is too easy and not complex enough...along with the 1 I read stating he thinks that all the positive reviews are from those that have not truly played this yet.... My I have to say that 1 reviewer himself obviously has I love this game...of course I will say that it is not perfect... Now I have read many of the reviews online...many state that it sucks...and I have read many stating it is too easy and not complex enough...along with the 1 I read stating he thinks that all the positive reviews are from those that have not truly played this yet.... My I have to say that 1 reviewer himself obviously has not played the game online...because if you play with the bots...yes it can seem very easy and none complex and boring...but if you play online with other users...OMG...you will fall in love...because it is more than just go about trying to kill your quarry and what not...because a strategy to winning that you can do is kill your quarry and as you wait for next round to start you can go and kill another player...in the process you still gain a good amount of money...if you use a good enough weapon... This heightens the intensity much because no matter what you are on your toes trying to figure out where your quarry is and at the same time your hunter...and well having peeps try to kill you randomly...just makes you try to stop them...hence you have to be careful as to whom is whom... I have to say also the SP story mode game is not the best...its just a bunch of random quests put together to try and better explain about an NPC of the game... Overall tho online play is your best bet...with PLAYERS NOT BOTS... ---Stixsmaster. Expand
  88. OdinE.K.
    Mar 31, 2009
    9
    A surprisingly good murder-mystery game. I admit the single-player was dull, but when you get this good of a multi-player, who cares?
  89. PatC.
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    I tried to rate this game on its multiplay because its singleplayer seemed more like practice than an actual game; more or less like you would rate css on its multiplayer rather than its bot intelligence. The idea is brilliant, I loved the trill of evading my hunter wilst trying to track down my own pray. The grafics wernt stellar but its not like that kills the game (just look at TF2). I tried to rate this game on its multiplay because its singleplayer seemed more like practice than an actual game; more or less like you would rate css on its multiplayer rather than its bot intelligence. The idea is brilliant, I loved the trill of evading my hunter wilst trying to track down my own pray. The grafics wernt stellar but its not like that kills the game (just look at TF2). There are more than enough levels for you to try out and explore which can lead to hours of gameplay that is well worth the $10 I paid for it. Expand
  90. BobJ.
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    I love this game!
  91. JackB.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    I like the game so much... and there are more and more people online... so its really worth playing. Its really fun 10 out of 10.
  92. NikolayP.
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    It's a greatest game of the year! I can play in it all day! 10! Best regards from Russia!
  93. Jack
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Loved the gameplay, very fun, nice hidden areas also, good weapons and nice gameplay.
  94. Mike
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    Great game. I know for a fact that a few of the bad reviews are coming from ex-eployees of Outerlight, the developing company. They appearently have a grudge against Outerlight now and are trying to ruin them by writing bad reviews. I'm not saying that every bad review are dishonest reviews from ex-employees, but I do know that a few of the reviews are. Here's to clear things Great game. I know for a fact that a few of the bad reviews are coming from ex-eployees of Outerlight, the developing company. They appearently have a grudge against Outerlight now and are trying to ruin them by writing bad reviews. I'm not saying that every bad review are dishonest reviews from ex-employees, but I do know that a few of the reviews are. Here's to clear things up: when people say that the gameplay is bad, they are either lying or only played the game for a couple minutes. The gameplay goes a bit like this: you are assigned another person on the server to kill where you are out of view of security and witnesses. You also have to wtach out for someone else trying to hunt you. You don't start out with weapons, so you must look around the map to find some good weapons. In order to stop people from using the same powerful weaopn over and over, they have MFK (money for kill). MFK is the amount of money you get when you kill your quarry (victim) with the weapon. The more a weapon is used, the less it's MFK is. And the less a weapon is used, the more it's MFK is. You also have to take care of all your basic needs, such as, eating sleeping going to the bathroom, etc, etc..... There is of course a lot more to the game but those are the basics. Obviously someone who calls the gameplay bad, is like I said, either a liar, or barely gave the game a chance. And about the small amount of players.....if people made more honest reviews, or gave the game a chance before they write a review, maybe there would be a lot more players. I know, I didn't like The Ship at first, but after a while I began to love it and now I'm addicted. Just give it a chance, guys. The Ship offers the most original gameplay I have seen in a FPS in a very long time (maybe ever??). Therefore, it earns a 10 from me. I hope my review might have changed a few people's minds. Expand
  95. SteveG.
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    The Ship is something new and intense. Its the kind of game anyone can play and enjoy. Maps are great. Weapons are awesome too. Needle is wikid!
  96. PeterJ.
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    If you wanna get a break off of the fast paced-kill-everything-in-your-sight games, then do yourself a big favor and buy this game. I laugh so much when I play this. It's well worth the $20.
  97. AnthonyP.
    Nov 5, 2006
    8
    Great game, some minor flaws, but really innovative.
  98. LoriF.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    This game is so unique and really a ton of fun. I just spent 4 days straight playing the game.... something I haven't done since I was in my early 20s. Now my house work isn't getting done.
  99. MarcW.
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    Having tried out The Ship on the free weekend, I felt compelled to buy it after just one night of play. Yes, it's harder to learn the rules and gameplay than, say, Counterstrike or Halflife 2 Deathmatch, but once learned the game is incredibly enjoyable and addictive. And at $20, it's one of the best game values out there right now. The basic premise is the same as a high-school Having tried out The Ship on the free weekend, I felt compelled to buy it after just one night of play. Yes, it's harder to learn the rules and gameplay than, say, Counterstrike or Halflife 2 Deathmatch, but once learned the game is incredibly enjoyable and addictive. And at $20, it's one of the best game values out there right now. The basic premise is the same as a high-school game I used to play called "Assassin" where you receive the name of an individual you must "kill" (in high school this was achieved using waterguns, foam dart guns, and the like). The catch is they're out there trying to find someone to kill as well, so all of you are moving around on the "Ship" in a giant cat-and-mouse game, where you're both the cat and the mouse at the same time. The game has a diverse array of weaponry, and certain weapons garner more money for using them to achieve a kill. This ensures that players won't always be using the harder-to-find guns or claymores, and I often find myself using candlesticks, manakin arms, shovels, and the like to kill people just to boost my money-per-kill. While you hunt your "Quarry," you must be vigiliant not to be caught on security camera, by well-positioned security guards, or by too many witnesses. If you do, you'll be sent to jail for a short time and your weaponry confiscated. The great thing about this game is the layers of play. The basic element of find weapon, hunt, kill, avoid being killed is supplemented by more subtle elements as you become more familiar with the game, such as secret passages, paying the guards off for information about your quarry or to "look the other way" while you do the dastardly deed, finding murder holes, and so forth. Additionally, when playing with a friend or two, you can help each other in a collaborative effort to locate quarry. And of course to betray one another if your friends happen to BE your quarry. Finally, the Film Noir atmosphere is just perfect for this game. The background music from radios, the costumes, and the weapons are all just perfect. The atmosphere contributes a lot to the aesthetic enjoyment of the game, although many users might not consciously notice the subtly pleasing effect it has. The one complaint I have at this point is that some of the maps are just too darned big to be on servers that have a maximum number of 10 or 12 or even 16 players. So server admins should take care to take this into account. And as you learn the maps, they become easier and quicker to navigate as well. Some might complain about the bots on some servers, but unlike Counterstrike bots, I don't mind them at all: they provide great distractions, and can't really drag the game out, so no negatives for them. All in all just a great game that I look forward to playing every night. If you enjoyed the game on the free weekend, like I did, I suggest you buy it and come play. It provides a refreshing break from Counterstrike for me. Expand
  100. Concept
    Dec 29, 2006
    8
    I remember playing this game in real life (minus the actual killing, of course) back in junior high and college. You are given the name of someone you have to find and "tag", while knowing that someone else has your name. The Ship is a computerized online version of it, and I got into it quite easily. This is much slower paced than games like Counterstrike, but is appealing to those who I remember playing this game in real life (minus the actual killing, of course) back in junior high and college. You are given the name of someone you have to find and "tag", while knowing that someone else has your name. The Ship is a computerized online version of it, and I got into it quite easily. This is much slower paced than games like Counterstrike, but is appealing to those who enjoy the hunt as much as the kill. The needs system does a good job of forcing people to get out around the ship (i.e. have to eat, sleep, use the facilities) to discourage prolonged camping/hiding. The main trick is to find a server with the right balance of people and map type -- you don't want to spend the entire round looking (and not finding) your mark because the ship is too large, but you also don't want to spend it dodging people because the ship is too small. Some more set up options would be nice, too, like maybe running endurance (or tweaking the walking speed, especially for larger ship maps), weapon spawn times, etc. All in all, though, I've found I can easily spend a couple of hours at a time online when I play. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The Ship is a fresh and different slant on multiplayer death-matching; one not dependant on speed of reflexes and advanced techniques. It’s fun and innovative – something that some of the big name games dominating the charts seem to forget about every so often.
  2. While it may not be the refined, leisurely paced kill-'em-up many eager landlubbers might have signed up for, The Ship does quickly prove itself a subtly addictive, relentless nail biter that will only get better as those already aboard learn to rule the bloody waves. Notch this one up as another killer for Steam.
  3. The Ship's mixture of intrigue, subtlety, and cunning makes it the perfect recipe for gamers bored with same-old same-old multiplayer shooters, but it does tend to show its indie roots a little too clearly here and there.