The Sims PC

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 370

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    2
    I am so departed from this game's audience, that I fail to understand the target demographic's attraction to what is essentially a mix of 'barbie' and 'whatever soap you choose to make it'. This is one of the few games I cannot be objective about. Nothing struck me as insightful, engaging, entertaining, fun, progressive, or meaningful. I guess it was original for it's time. And that has toI am so departed from this game's audience, that I fail to understand the target demographic's attraction to what is essentially a mix of 'barbie' and 'whatever soap you choose to make it'. This is one of the few games I cannot be objective about. Nothing struck me as insightful, engaging, entertaining, fun, progressive, or meaningful. I guess it was original for it's time. And that has to count for something. Right? Expand
  2. JonG.
    Sep 22, 2003
    2
    God i hate this game. 15 minutes in and i became bored.
  3. Nemisis
    May 17, 2003
    1
    EXTREMLY STUPID GAME. NO FUN.
  4. PeterB.
    May 17, 2003
    1
    Mysteriously stupid game. Thats the worst game i've ever played.
  5. EricC.
    Nov 13, 2002
    2
    The problem with every sim game ever made is that although it's fun to build and create these interesting worlds of cities or people or whatever, after everything is completed, the game goes absolutely nowhere. Why the hell do I have to point and click for every little action my character needs to do? Can't he go to the bathroom on his own or clean up after himself? The problem with every sim game ever made is that although it's fun to build and create these interesting worlds of cities or people or whatever, after everything is completed, the game goes absolutely nowhere. Why the hell do I have to point and click for every little action my character needs to do? Can't he go to the bathroom on his own or clean up after himself? Character's brains are apparently the size of gumdrops as I groan over paying attetion to everything that I am forced to do to keep my sim healthy and sane. Playing this game for 20 minutes goes from being interesting to becoming an annoying chore that I never want to have to put up with ever again. Even cheats don't make things any easier or better. Play this game if you have lots of time on your hands or no life of your own. It is way too overated and people should be more aware of its huge flaws and problems.(And, it was replaced it with a much better game, No One Lives Forever.) Expand
  6. Calavera
    Aug 27, 2002
    2
    Not fun in the slightest sense of the word.
  7. RoryS.
    Mar 15, 2004
    1
    The plain fact is that this game is unfair. Time travels by at several times the speed of real time, and yet these critters still wonder about the house at normal speed. And then they can't multi-task. Make a meal, eat it while watching TV. Put something in the microwave, go to the toilet. No. Everything has to be done one thing at a time. No wonder the guy misses work, gets fired, The plain fact is that this game is unfair. Time travels by at several times the speed of real time, and yet these critters still wonder about the house at normal speed. And then they can't multi-task. Make a meal, eat it while watching TV. Put something in the microwave, go to the toilet. No. Everything has to be done one thing at a time. No wonder the guy misses work, gets fired, and gets depressed. And then his house bursts into flames. Surely not. Expand
  8. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    Very good gameplay, almost innovative for its times. The bad points are the graphics and the performance, since the graphics suck and you still get low FPS on low end PCs (such as PCs of its times). The sound is really boring, except for some tracks. Overall, it's a mediocre game, which could be even better, since the idea was good.
  9. Sep 25, 2013
    3
    So it's been 13 years since this game was released and I've just set up a Metacritic account, I've decided for The Sims to be my first review because I am fairly excited for The Sims 4.

    So, what is this game like? Well it is a very difficult life simulation game by Maxis/EA. When I first saw this game, I was awful at it, my Sims kept on starving because I didn't know how to make money,
    So it's been 13 years since this game was released and I've just set up a Metacritic account, I've decided for The Sims to be my first review because I am fairly excited for The Sims 4.

    So, what is this game like? Well it is a very difficult life simulation game by Maxis/EA. When I first saw this game, I was awful at it, my Sims kept on starving because I didn't know how to make money, but I still fairly enjoyed it.

    I've been playing it recently and although I know I can take care of my Sims by telling them what to do next, they just tend to do what they need to do themselves, besides sleep in the nice comfy bed I placed upstairs.

    The enjoyable features of The Sims for me are making the Sims and building the homes in which they live in. Their is the part where you control them but to me it seems a bit tedious and boring and irritatingly difficult without cheating. But the problem is is that the controlling of your Sims is the main part of the game and when your Sims can almost take care of themselves and when the gameplay is almost too difficult and and slightly boring, it takes away most of the fun.

    I'm giving this game a 3 out of 10 because as I mentioned previously the Create-a-Sim mode and Buy/Build modes are fun, but the game is about simulating the Sims and I just can't enjoy it enough to like it.
    Expand
  10. Dec 16, 2014
    1
    What can I say about this? it's a boring game with no gameplay at all, no story whatsoever and no lines as the characters are so retarded that they "speak" worse than a australopitecus, what's the purpose of this? you get there and play a "real life" when you already have a real life? nonsense, why would I play that I'm eating at home or taking a piss? I can do it in real life and it'sWhat can I say about this? it's a boring game with no gameplay at all, no story whatsoever and no lines as the characters are so retarded that they "speak" worse than a australopitecus, what's the purpose of this? you get there and play a "real life" when you already have a real life? nonsense, why would I play that I'm eating at home or taking a piss? I can do it in real life and it's nothing exciting. This game is a waste of time and money and it's just for those girls who like barbies and overthink about marriage stuff. Definitely one of the worst games I ever play (and I've been playing since Atari 2600 was out there). Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Besides bringing out the voyeur inside of me, I've found "The Sims" to be the most addictive and wholly enthralling game I've played in ages.
  2. The game is really fun despite all of the tasks you have to remember.
  3. A refreshing and at times thought-provoking human-scale simulation.