Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 356 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Swapper features a unique art style that uses real-world clay-models and found objects to create an explorable space station realised in unique detail; gameplay sees players swap between different bodies to achieve otherwise impossible tasks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    100
    The Swapper is a unique experience that will charm any fan of science fiction as well as fans of games like Braid, Metroid and Castlevania. The game looks and sounds beautiful and the cloning mechanics are both novel, creative and challenging.
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    93
    Very few puzzle games have ever managed to marry impeccable challenges with a mature storytelling quite like this – there's no fluff or extraneous content here, only a prime example of how to create a tight, unforgettable gaming experience.
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    90
    Brimming with intelligent game design. [Issue#137, p.121]
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    89
    The Swapper is a wonderful puzzle game. An amazing title.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    84
    A crafty, atmospheric puzzler. [Sept 2013, p.77]
  7. May 31, 2013
    70
    All in all, the setting is perfect for a puzzle game built around existential despair...Its clever, creepy and macabre.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 72
  2. Negative: 1 out of 72
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    Thank you so much for such a masterpiece! The swapper is a game for your ears, your eyes, oh and even for your brain too. If you´re going to play The Swapper, you really have to turn off the lights and put on your Headphones now you´re ready to dip into one of the most atmospheric Games in this Genre! Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    So, The Swapper. Simple looking little thing at a reasonable price. I found this game well worth its price very early in, and held the feeling all the way through.
    I highly recommend this investment into some fun braingymnastics
    Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    10
    Awesome game. Deeply immersive with great background music. Sucks you into the narrative very early on. Great puzzle solver. Comparable and going against "Limbo" with it's indie spirit. Expand
  4. Xon
    Jun 30, 2013
    9
    The swapper is a unique game with incredible visuals. The puzzles are fun and makes you think a bit. The story is more a philosophical exploration than actually beginning-middle-end events.

    It is at once hard-core old-school sci-fi and cutting-edge gmeplay and graphics.
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    I didn't care much about the story. Despite that I still find it's fun to play this game. The atmosphere feels good. A number of puzzles are well designed though some are not well ordered according to the difficulty. I don't give it a 10 because I think the play style lacks variety. There's noting more complicated or more interesting in the latter part of the game except for the reverse gravity. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    This is a fun puzzle game with both interesting mechanics and an interesting story. The visuals and sound combine to to create an atmospheric experience. High production values. Good puzzles that are fair. My playing time on it was about 7 hours playing leisurely, and I got stuck on a couple puzzles that took me a while to figure out. The story while interesting is not really all that in my opinion. The story makes an interesting backdrop for working your way through the puzzles and uncovering what's happening on the space station, but it's still a puzzle game at it's core. I thought the ending was a bit flat, but many have found it thought provoking. Still, 8 is a good score for a good game. The production qualities and mechanics elevate this above most other puzzle-type games I've played. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    I don't understand why this game has such a ridiculously high review. It's a mildly entertaining puzzle game, different than, but not as fun as Portal in my opinion. Not worth ten dollars.

    A mediocre score for a mediocre game.
    Expand

See all 72 User Reviews