The Swapper Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Swapper features a unique art style that uses real-world clay-models and found objects to create an explorable space station realised in unique detail; gameplay sees players swap between different bodies to achieve otherwise impossible tasks.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    100
    The Swapper is a unique experience that will charm any fan of science fiction as well as fans of games like Braid, Metroid and Castlevania. The game looks and sounds beautiful and the cloning mechanics are both novel, creative and challenging.
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    93
    Very few puzzle games have ever managed to marry impeccable challenges with a mature storytelling quite like this – there's no fluff or extraneous content here, only a prime example of how to create a tight, unforgettable gaming experience.
  3. games(TM)
    Jul 28, 2013
    90
    Brimming with intelligent game design. [Issue#137, p.121]
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    88
    Low-key, effective storytelling and a hyperfocus on puzzles. The Swapper exemplifies the adage that less is more.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 7, 2013
    87
    The Swapper is a first-rate puzzle platformer that boasts a gorgeous atmosphere as well. The story doesn't quite live up to its potential, though, but it's not a major issue. [Aug 2013]
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    A puzzle platformer that won't frustrate nor bore you. The puzzles complete a solid story, which is unique even for an indie game. [Issue#234]
  7. May 31, 2013
    70
    All in all, the setting is perfect for a puzzle game built around existential despair...Its clever, creepy and macabre.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 96
  2. Negative: 1 out of 96
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    Thank you so much for such a masterpiece! The swapper is a game for your ears, your eyes, oh and even for your brain too. If you´re going toThank you so much for such a masterpiece! The swapper is a game for your ears, your eyes, oh and even for your brain too. If you´re going to play The Swapper, you really have to turn off the lights and put on your Headphones now you´re ready to dip into one of the most atmospheric Games in this Genre! Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    This game is a real jewel. The story about the "thinking" stones is really interesting if you follow it, the graphics and the soundtrack add aThis game is a real jewel. The story about the "thinking" stones is really interesting if you follow it, the graphics and the soundtrack add a melancholy feeling and the puzzles are very well done. It's the type of game that you feel you're really inside it. Definitely recommended. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    A miracle of game...

    Not a puzzle game, or a pure adventure one... simply the best game of 2013, impeccable and fascinating story,
    A miracle of game...

    Not a puzzle game, or a pure adventure one... simply the best game of 2013, impeccable and fascinating story, innovative puzzles, moral choices (and the way is only one...)!

    Skyrim is a great game, this is simply part of gaming history...
    Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    This game is brilliant!
    At first I was skeptical, but the reviews won me over and I'm glad they did since I've enjoined every last second of
    This game is brilliant!
    At first I was skeptical, but the reviews won me over and I'm glad they did since I've enjoined every last second of this 5 to 6 hour game.
    The game play is simple, so everyone can enjoy it, the music is very nice and the game atmosphere really sets you in.
    You'll be presenting with a weapon that can create clones of yourself and swap between them (with either the right click mouse button or the left one). You can have up to 4 clones and, including yourself, makes a total of 5 people, each moving the same way your main caracter does.
    You'll have to think of how to use your clones and when to swap between them to beat the puzzles the game presents you and let me tell you, these puzzles are so good! They won't be easy, you'll have to think a little before advancing each one, but they are not overwhelming either, so you won't get stuck for long on any of them. It's the perfect balancing that makes them challenging and beating them is really rewarding, making you feel smart and cunning.
    I've got to admit that sometimes I got stuck on a puzzle and I'll just go to work thinking about the solution for it and when I did, man that felt good!
    You just have to be careful with the different types of light, that prevent you from either summoning a clone (blue), swapping between clones (red) or both (purple).
    The story is interesting and gets you into thinking about what is the soul and if it really exists, your consnciousness and death and it's so well constructed that it adds up with everything else the game brings making for a truly remarkable experience.
    Why I didn't give it a 10 then? Replayability. Even though the game has an alternate ending, it isn't worth it to play all the way on the same puzzles and history for a 20 second "cut scene". It's easier to just watch it elsewhere.
    For an indie game and for that price, it's well worth it. Go get out of these reviews and play it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    This game is amazingly beautiful with a well told science fiction story. The mechanics of the game are very simple and yet the puzzles can beThis game is amazingly beautiful with a well told science fiction story. The mechanics of the game are very simple and yet the puzzles can be complex and thought provoking. I suggest this game to anyone who enjoys a quick play through with dark undertones of the dark reaches of space. Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    Having become a tad enamored with intelligent indie games in the last couple of years, it is still quite amazing when I come across one asHaving become a tad enamored with intelligent indie games in the last couple of years, it is still quite amazing when I come across one as well made, thoughtful and intelligent as The Swapper.
    The Swapper's premise is simple. You are a person that found themselves in a seemingly abandoned space station or space ship. Armed only with a cloning gun, a device that allows you to create (and swap to) up to four copies of yourself, you traverse rooms in search of orbs that open doors.
    During the increasingly difficult puzzles, you start encountering different colored light sources in the rooms, each of which has a different affect to your gun's beam. Blue will let you swap but not create a clone in it's light. Red will let you create a clone but blocks your swapping beam. And so on.
    There is a thin story in the background that carries you forward, but the juice of the game are the puzzles. And the majority of them are a delight to solve. It does get a bit too difficult towards the end, but the game lasts about five or so hours, which is a perfect length for it.
    Great graphics, atmospheric piano music and intelligent gameplay. The Swapper is an excellent puzzler that deserves a place in your games collection.
    Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2016
    5
    After one hour, this seems like a run-of-the-mill platformer with an unique puzzle element that is interesting at first and repetitive veryAfter one hour, this seems like a run-of-the-mill platformer with an unique puzzle element that is interesting at first and repetitive very soon. Slap a semi-interesting and semi-crypic story element on and here's another indie-platformer that is buried in praise I don't seem to understand. The thing is, this review could be used for a large number of today's indie platformers. One good idea and nice graphics don't automatically equal a good game for me.

    To be quite fair, it's not a bad game. It is 'just another game'. Which is exactly what's wrong with it in my eyes.
    Expand

See all 96 User Reviews