Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The famous detective Sherlock Holmes is back on the PC and Xbox 360 for a great adventure and probably the most dangerous investigation of his entire career.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    It's been years since we were treated to such a thrilling detective story in a game. It's the best point'n'click title by Frogwares. [12/2012, p.58]
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    85
    The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is a really atmospheric addition to the series. The story is original and very interesting, puzzles are top-notch and demand lots of thinking and the gameplay is satisfyingly long. What is more - there are some really pleasant surprises along the way. I think it's the best installment in the series and it will be hard to top this one, but I have hope. That's the way to go.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    An interesting, slow-burning adventure game well worth your time.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    73
    The conspiracy story is interesting, the detective work is very entertaining. Unfortunately the designers decided to lengthen the experience with frustrating moments and a changing difficulty level.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    Fans of the Frogwares titles will be satiated, even with the lack of Creepy Watson shadowing your every move. Inconsistencies and plot, er, 'quirks' aside, this is a pretty solid adventure with some neat ideas and a dog jumping onto a series of wooden pillars.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    68
    Sherlock fans will enjoy the story and mystery, and puzzle fans will get their fix. If you're a fan of point and click adventure games and graphics are not a big concern to you, you may want to give this game a shot, but keep in mind; it will not control or look too pretty.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    All I can say is if you're a maniac for Sherlock Holmes stories or adventure games, then there's going to be something here for you. I'm not sure what I'd call it, but it's definitely something.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is a good game with good graphics and an up-to-date kind of Sherlock Holmes, not like the ones in the older movies, but not quite as rude as the one in A Game of Shadows or the movie before it. You get to experience a new side of Holmes as well as Watson. You can literally become Sherlock Holmes, the greatest detective ever. You will not feel left out or like you got ripped of. I really think this game is worth the forty dollars that you have to pay to buy it. It is a game set in a time and place you will not forget guaranteed. No doubt. If you like Sherlock Holmes, you will LOVE this game. It is a deep game with many conflicts that puts you on the edge of your seat like a movie does. If you don't like Sherlock Holmes, or you don't know about him,give it a try and watch his movies. I just have to tell you one thing. Don't be overwhelmed at how bada** he is. You have been forewarned... Expand
  2. ABG
    May 16, 2013
    10
    I've read the entire Sherlock Holmes story collection, and played the entire series of Sherlock Holmes games from this publisher, and this game was the pinnacle of the lot. Its plotting was solid, its characters engaging, and the scenery and set pieces were top notch. Some of the characters were recognizeable from previous games, but were put to good use in the game. Others were used as active background scenery, turning their heads to watch you as you pass them in the street.

    I just can't get over the Victorian color of this game. The abandoned amusement park was a sight to behold, and I loved Holmes' comment about the slide ride.

    The Toby sequence was a fun surprise, and the game yanked my chain twice with surprise plot twists.

    The puzzles were not cruel. I did a little more than half of them, and fell back on a walkthru occasionally for an item I had failed to spot.

    Item management was well done, dropping items you no longer needed. You don't have to go far or carry a boatload of red herring items to find what you need to the next puzzle.

    Video hardware requirements were not too bad, and an autosave feature is handy, kicking in when you enter new areas.

    I played the game thru Steam, and the game never asked for the key code that Steam displayed.

    I play adventure games as a haven from high-twitch shooters. This game was particularly kind-hearted toward its players, giving them a chance to enjoy all branches of a funny conversation tree or to poke their head out and be spotted by a guard without penalty.

    I'm glad I got the game.
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Good point It has brilliant puzzles, Excellent Deduction board system, Good voice act attractive character making. I feel detective's emotion. It was cool experience to me. Bad point Funny Motion ((like a Sherlock's running motion), Not comfortable controller input lack in Menu deduction board. some puzzles are very hard without no clue or too search hard.

    "The Testament of Sherlock Holmes" is well made adventure game for Sherlockian adv game fan.

    Do you want to play the detective thing? purchase solve it.

    If you korean then visit this review article http://goo.gl/epJ7p This is my formal review and written by korean language.
    Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    So i played all the other sherloch holms games made by focus. This is a stroy based puzzel game, so dont expect action. withe the poseblety to skip puzzels you dont get stuck and you can keep playing the story. I Loved how i manged most ot thr puzzels this game, by usind dedution. At times you felt like sherlock holms for real:D There are som real draw back for this game, i wouldd have loved more deduction boards, The ending was a bit disapointing, and you feel like you are beeing pushd thrue the game.

    I realy enjoyed this game and recmonend it to every one that can take a good story for what it is.
    Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    Good game. Reasonable length. Some of the puzzles are more luck than judgement however which makes you sometimes reach for an online guide. Didn't find the voice acting as bad as some have found it. It's the diabolically bad lip sync which spoilt it for me. A bit of spit and polish if there is another one in the pipeline and it would get a full 10. As it is I got it cheap, and i'm glad I played it. Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    -The Storyline is full of plotholes and is badly written
    -Quite a few factual errors (e.g. radar in 1898? WTF?)
    -The puzzles are rather
    mediocre and very basic
    -The graphics are improved, which is nice, but the graphics engine runs like s**t. Not only does Crysis 3 look better, it runs like a charm unlike the horrible engine in this game
    -If you play with a 1st person then you are very likely to miss clues/items, because the LOD (level of depth) is extremely low
    -And a bunch of other negative things.

    The game is only mediocre and defintely a major step down from previous Sherlock Holmes games (I have played them all).
    Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    1
    one of the worst games i have ever played. The look for clues feature is more annoying then fun. I just wish you would actually ha ve a gun fight in the game rather than watch them hold the gun. Half the puzzles dont even make sense and you get bored of playing it. at the end DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews