Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1752 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead brings to life a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive. Play the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    100
    An incredibly powerful, emotionally engaging experience; a watershed moment for videogame narrative and storytelling. [Feb 2013, p.70]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    96
    The Walking Dead represents a jewel in the realm of episodic adventures. This game will shock you. It'll make you cry and curse. One of the most memorable gaming experience we've had in a long time. Don't miss out on it.
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    95
    Overall this game was a unique experience that is not your everyday type of game, but is worth playing and I would suggest this game to almost anyone. It is a game that simply tells a beautiful and tragic story. It sucks you in emotionally and does not let go.
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    There are really too few game elements in The Walking Dead to justify calling it a game. Its amazing world, great voice actors and the tough decisions it throws at you constantly will have you completely forget about this though. It's a compelling story that grabs you from the opening of the game and doesn't let go until its controversial ending in the last chapter. The intelligent choice-system gives you the feeling that you're creating your own story, which is why you'll lose yourself in the characters in no-time. It never gets really challenging, but for those who enjoy a good story, it's a great enrichment of the Walking Dead-universe.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    90
    A memorable game with a superb, deep story that forces you to make tough decisions and live with them. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.62]
  6. 90
    Possibly the best game series we have played so far – also the most consistent and heart-taking stories you will find in video games. [Christmas 2012]
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead series offers one of the most intense game story of recent years that is not hardcore on its gamers from the adventure point of view. So relax, seat yourselves and let the zombie-apocalyptic world suck you in.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 315
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I have been playing computer and video games for the last 25+ years. In all that time, I have never once had a game illicit a serious emotional response, but this game did thrice: anger when I found what a stranger had done, frustration when I found someone in our party had lied, and regret when I realized I had to let a friend down. And this is the spoiler-free version of the review. After playing this game, you'll no longer wonder why Hollywood is losing out to the video games industry. These are stories *worth* telling. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game with a great story. If you are not interested in story then this is not the game for you. This game gets you very attached with characters and makes you really think about each decision you make and the implications. Seeing certain characters die can really have an emotional impact. For Season 2, I would hope the player decision's have more outcomes. Right now, the story will progress relatively the same way despite your decisions and I would hope Telltale adds different endings and changes in the plot-line based on the player's choices. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this game is excellent because while it occasionally lacks in game play the story completely immerses you inside it. While some complain that the choices you make don't matter ,they are wrong the choices form you as a person and your relationships with other people. You play as a convict who murders his wife called Lee Everett on his way to prison during the zombie apocalypse and then there is the little girl you meet called Clementine. When you meet Clementine she is an innocent 8 year old surviving in a tree house after her babysitter "turned". Throughout your journey you choices also affect her personality and relationships towards others as well as your own personality. The back stories and events are completely believable for the situation and when they die they make you genuinely feel something. I recommend this to anyone who likes a good story. Go on try it for yourself make your choice. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This is a point-and-click adventure. This is not an action game. While I normally do not like point-and-click adventures, the story in this game is just irresistible. But again, it is a POINT-AND-CLICK adventure. Stop giving the game a zero and claiming it's "not a game" because it is not a genre that you prefer. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    Ah.. my little new love..Clementine. One of the most precious little girls in comic, movie or video game history. She really makes this, harsh, anger-inducing but GREAT video game memorable.

    The main character, Lee Everett is a good guy that got messed over and I really found playing out his relationship with his ward, student and loving, doting adopted daughter Clementine the most beautiful part of this game.

    Its to a gift to raise and protect a little girl like this in this game and makes it for me a 9/10
    Expand
  6. AWG
    Jul 14, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead by Telltale is an incredible game experience (notice, "game experience", not "game") ruined by one of the worst Italian localizations I've ever seen in a finished product. Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    0
    Disclaimer: I write this hoping that I will someday revise this with a higher score. However, at the current time this game is for me unplayable. My review is based solely on my experience with this game. Yours (hopefully!) will be different and far less buggy. Even if I revise it, it is highly unlikely that the walking dead for Mac will receive a score above 7.

    I bought this game as a pre-packaged whole rather episode by episode, so I hoped and expected that the major bugs had been worked out. Nooooooope! Through 1 episode this game was everything I'd hoped it would be. And then none of my decisions transferred over into episode 2. None! Since the game is basically a glorified choose your own adventure novel, this completely an utterly destroys any reason you have to play the game. This is a bug so crippling that, for the first time, I give a game a score of 0.

    Now, apparently, not everyone has this bug. But from what I've read it's not limited to the transfer from episode 1 to 2. Second, there are fixes out there for PC. But God help you if you play the game on Mac because no one else will.

    As I've said, I hope that I can find the a fix for this problem and give this game a better score, but until I can I'm not awarding a single point to a choice based game that loses track of my choices. But even I can fix this, I'm going to be far more afraid of this happening again than I am of any walkers.

    There's another serious bug that I have yet to mention, though it's minimal by comparison. When playing in fullscreen, the game's nigh unplayable because the mouse often gets incredibly sluggish. I could rapidly and repeatedly swipe my finger over the length of the mousepad and get minimal movement. This was usually merely annoying but in action sequences it was fatal. So I was forced to play in immersion breaking windowed mode. I was able to fake fullscreen by using Apple's universal access features to zoom in on the window, but it's far from a perfect fix.

    There's no other way to put it: The walking dead is great game weighed down and ultimately utterly crushed by two serious bugs. It is completely inexcusable and an absolute embarrassment that telltale hasn't fixed these bugs yet. I cannot recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand

See all 315 User Reviews