Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1726 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Robert Kirkman's comic book series, The Walking Dead brings to life a world devastated by an undead apocalypse and the horrifying choices you're forced to make to survive. Play the role of Lee Everett, a convicted criminal, who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. With corpses returning to life and survivors stopping at nothing to maintain their own safety, protecting an orphaned girl named Clementine may offer you redemption in a world gone to hell. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    100
    An incredibly powerful, emotionally engaging experience; a watershed moment for videogame narrative and storytelling. [Feb 2013, p.70]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    96
    The Walking Dead represents a jewel in the realm of episodic adventures. This game will shock you. It'll make you cry and curse. One of the most memorable gaming experience we've had in a long time. Don't miss out on it.
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    95
    Overall this game was a unique experience that is not your everyday type of game, but is worth playing and I would suggest this game to almost anyone. It is a game that simply tells a beautiful and tragic story. It sucks you in emotionally and does not let go.
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    There are really too few game elements in The Walking Dead to justify calling it a game. Its amazing world, great voice actors and the tough decisions it throws at you constantly will have you completely forget about this though. It's a compelling story that grabs you from the opening of the game and doesn't let go until its controversial ending in the last chapter. The intelligent choice-system gives you the feeling that you're creating your own story, which is why you'll lose yourself in the characters in no-time. It never gets really challenging, but for those who enjoy a good story, it's a great enrichment of the Walking Dead-universe.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    90
    A memorable game with a superb, deep story that forces you to make tough decisions and live with them. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.62]
  6. 90
    Possibly the best game series we have played so far – also the most consistent and heart-taking stories you will find in video games. [Christmas 2012]
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead series offers one of the most intense game story of recent years that is not hardcore on its gamers from the adventure point of view. So relax, seat yourselves and let the zombie-apocalyptic world suck you in.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 311
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I have been playing computer and video games for the last 25+ years. In all that time, I have never once had a game illicit a serious emotional response, but this game did thrice: anger when I found what a stranger had done, frustration when I found someone in our party had lied, and regret when I realized I had to let a friend down. And this is the spoiler-free version of the review. After playing this game, you'll no longer wonder why Hollywood is losing out to the video games industry. These are stories *worth* telling. Expand
  2. May 23, 2013
    10
    This a game has a cruel, but a very deep feeling. While play this game, you will feel awkward and confused, but after play this game, you don't have any word for it. The game has a great, epic and horrible story and I will never forget that feeling.

    Enjoy it
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    The Walking Dead is simply a jewel in videogames. The game focuses entirely on the story, so much that the gameplay is reduced to walking around and clicking things. But the gameplay is still satisfying. Whenever you click on an object, the main character will usually say a commentary, or if you click on a person, you can know more about them, like their jobs and families.
    In TWD, we get to know more characters and visit some locations and meet characters from the show/comics/books. And you actually care about them. You get to know 'em. You get to become their friend. You get to care about 'em. And that's what makes TWD so great. In shows a greater and better side of people, even thought they live in a world of misery and violence.
    I'm a guy that never cries. NEVER. And it's ironic that a videogame broke that barrier. I'd give more than 10 if I could, but I guess it'll have to do.
    Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    This is an all-around excellent game. The story and characters feel like they adapt to your decisions to create a very engaging experience. The "action" sequences are sparsely placed, but you never know what's around the corner. As a result, I felt more tension with this game than I ever did in Skyrim, which perfectly recreates the atmosphere of the Walking Dead. If you appreciate narrative and have an attention span of at least 10 minutes you will probably love this game. If you're looking for a game with action or number crunching you might not enjoy this, but it's still worthwhile to broaden your horizons once in a while. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    Like others have said, this is more of a story adventure than your typical zombie shooter. Sure it has some moments where you will need to aim a weapon accurately, or maybe mash a button for a while but most of the game is understanding what is happening around you and making dialogue choices. And that's where the game excels your decisions actually have consequences. Characters will remember your choices and bring up those decisions in their conversations. There is no game that does storytelling quite like, or in my opinion, as well as The Walking Dead. If you are looking for purely a zombie shooter, try a different game. If you want a great interactive story look no further than The Walking Dead. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    Masterpiece storytelling, that's why i give it an 8 score, but thinking about the interactions or chooses you make throughout the game inflicting mostly character reactions rather than real changes to the story and almost zero gameplay (no challenging puzzles or action sequences), i decrease the score by 2. Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    0
    Disclaimer: I write this hoping that I will someday revise this with a higher score. However, at the current time this game is for me unplayable. My review is based solely on my experience with this game. Yours (hopefully!) will be different and far less buggy. Even if I revise it, it is highly unlikely that the walking dead for Mac will receive a score above 7.

    I bought this game as a pre-packaged whole rather episode by episode, so I hoped and expected that the major bugs had been worked out. Nooooooope! Through 1 episode this game was everything I'd hoped it would be. And then none of my decisions transferred over into episode 2. None! Since the game is basically a glorified choose your own adventure novel, this completely an utterly destroys any reason you have to play the game. This is a bug so crippling that, for the first time, I give a game a score of 0.

    Now, apparently, not everyone has this bug. But from what I've read it's not limited to the transfer from episode 1 to 2. Second, there are fixes out there for PC. But God help you if you play the game on Mac because no one else will.

    As I've said, I hope that I can find the a fix for this problem and give this game a better score, but until I can I'm not awarding a single point to a choice based game that loses track of my choices. But even I can fix this, I'm going to be far more afraid of this happening again than I am of any walkers.

    There's another serious bug that I have yet to mention, though it's minimal by comparison. When playing in fullscreen, the game's nigh unplayable because the mouse often gets incredibly sluggish. I could rapidly and repeatedly swipe my finger over the length of the mousepad and get minimal movement. This was usually merely annoying but in action sequences it was fatal. So I was forced to play in immersion breaking windowed mode. I was able to fake fullscreen by using Apple's universal access features to zoom in on the window, but it's far from a perfect fix.

    There's no other way to put it: The walking dead is great game weighed down and ultimately utterly crushed by two serious bugs. It is completely inexcusable and an absolute embarrassment that telltale hasn't fixed these bugs yet. I cannot recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand

See all 311 User Reviews