User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 214

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 9 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10

    I have a low re-play score on this game because when you re-play the game (which there is a strong desire to re-play this game to try other choices) the new different choices you make either 1) don't make much
    difference and/or 2) the way the main character and other characters act/re-act for non-mainstream choices is highly unrealistic. I really loved this game and would of given it a 9 for my over-all score, but the re-play that I was anxious to try was a real dud and took away from my original experience; thus giving the game an over-all score of 8. Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unbelievably horrid. Telltale games has completely dropped the ball on this episode, and every episode after. After an exhilarating and amazing first and second episode, Episode 3 is just a boring, scripted and linear shooting gallery and button-mashing game. Forget about making choices, nothing you do will make a difference. Chose to reveal that you are a convicted killer? Absolutely no consequences or effects. Try to calm whatshername when she goes insane? Absolutely no effect on the outcome. Want to help Kenny by doing the deed yourself? Absolutely no effects or consequences. Nothing you do can change anything that happens in this episode, or the fourth or fifth. There is no decision you have to make that matters, no amazing scenes or events, no added depth to the story, nothing.

    Absolute trash.
    Expand
  3. Koo
    Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Oftentimes the middle episodes are the weakest, be it a TV show or an episode video game. This is not the case with The Walking Dead: Episode 3. I enjoyed this episode as much as the other 4 (I just completed episode 5, the last episode of season 1) and it stands up well on its own. Another chapter of a brilliantly well done video game. Recommended.
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    I hope you enjoy having your saves rendered unplayable because that's what this game is all about. Your hard earned progress is likely to be wiped by a faulty save system when you try to resume playing. And guess what? YOU CAN'T SKIP DIALOGUE OR CUTSCENES. Unbearable. Such a great game but so terribly implemented.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    The series takes a rapid downward spiral with episode 3 showing that they had bitten offm ore than they could chew. All of your choices are shown to be nothing but illusion as you are railroaded with unbelievable scenes to place the developers need you to go. You are instantly taken out of the story while things happen which are forced. Having said that, the forced storyline is still good so if you are invested in the story and are willing to accept the false choices then its worth continuing. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Telltale earned a fan with this game. It is simply amazing, one of the best game experiences Ive ever had. Metacritic is making me write more but nothing else needs to be said.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    Limited, but beautiful story. As a game however, it falls short on some very important moments. It's frustrating to see the main character forced to act other then you would do/seems sane, and it breaks the immersion on the most important moments. The zombies are a joke and unbelievable (extremely slow and stupid, very easy to distract), but then again, most zombies are.
  8. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    yet again telltale bring out another great episode of walking dead i was completely blown away i did not expect event of what happen in the game transpire each time i think something going to happen it does not happen way i thought it will be...


    Now it ended i expect next chapter to be as good
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This game is basically tries to sell on a big lie, that you can impact the story.
    And not only do they lie to you in the marketing, they also lie to you when you play the game.
    The game pretends that you have a lot of big choices but its easy to see that you cannot make any impact. If you replay the choices you will see black on white that the result is always the same.

    I cant believe
    this got such a high rating. Most likely it have been doped by the developer.
    If I ever see a game made by telltale ever again I will stay miles away.
    Expand
  10. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    The Walking Dead: Episode 3- Long Road Ahead gives you an unsettling feeling. I did have the most problems with the presentation, sometimes stopping the whole game and making me start over. The ending was not the climax I was expecting, with fast-paced start and breathtaking middle act. Episode 3 would be the best episode of the series, but has a lackluster ending and the most presentation problems of the series. Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    While people disappointed that their choices don't hold the weight they thought they did are likely right, it doesn't change the fact that personally I have never been more shocked or moved by a game than I was in episode 3. For that alone it deserves an excellent rating. Regardless of whether this is a movie or a game it's a damn good one.
  12. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    Deaths feel somewhat cheap. As if it was easier for Telltale to kill certain characters than to continue their stories. Won't say exactly who, but it feels very cheap. Was a decent episode, but felt very weak.
  13. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Telltale really got overboard with this episode. Really dramatic things happen here and it makes ep1 and 2 seem calm in comparison. Things will happen that will shock you especially if you've grown attached to this group of survivors. My only real complaint is about really choppy frame-rate at times, but that bug haunts all games of this series.
  14. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    I was really enjoying the script this game has, until my girlfriend decided she wanted to play too. She made a different choice in pretty much every single decision, and by the middle of chapter 3 we ended up with exactly the same outcome. As it turns out, our choices dont matter at all. So, this is not a graphic adventure, since the puzzles are way too easy (hell, everybody around tells you exactly what you have to do next, even your own character does), and this is not an interactive story either, since even if a few non important conversations play a little different in each playthrough, the major outcome will always be the same. Considering all this game had was the "make your own choices and get your own scenario" thing, chapter 3 feels as lazy as it can get. I give it a 5 because the story is still worth watching, but thats all there is: A story that demands you to click around to unfold. What you choose to click does not matter at all. Collapse
  15. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    I won't touch on what happens as I'm trying to avoid spoilers, but there were several instances which were emotionally powerful and well done. I think some of the criticism that there is no "right" choice is true enough, but misses the point. Thematically, Walking Dead is very, very dark, and I think when all is said and done, there won't be a happily ever after ending regardless of what you chose. If only the show could be this good. Expand
  16. Sep 8, 2012
    4
    First disappointment in this series of games. The controls reveal themselves to the be least friendly and unintuitive. Truly the worst episode yet and simply not fun.
  17. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Once again, i have to give another The Walking Dead Episode a full 10. In my books, i've never felt a stronger connection to the wellbeing of a character than that with clementine. As for the Episode: Its absolutely amazing once again.. i can't wait for it to see how it all turns out
  18. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    This Episode clearly showed me that nothing you ever did or said has any impact on the outcome. All choices are purely cosmetic and don't change anything. Before this I still had hopes in my game differing from a friends game when we choose different things. But as it turns out that is not the case which is a major disappointment in my book. If you want an interactive movie, a nice story, and don't care about extremely linear gameplay you will still be satisfied. Just bare in mind that choices in this game don't matter at all. Expand
  19. Sep 6, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really after playing this episode I just feel like the choices you make don't even matter. The decision to kill half the crew is cheap in my opinion especially Carly, it's as if they thought it would be too hard to carry on with all the choices and they decided to just get rid of 4 people, plus it gets really depressing now, after Carly's death I just didn't really want to play it anymore, II think they should have gave you an option to stop Lily or let her kill someone else instead, oh well I'm not really hyped up for the next episode, will probably play it but I won't be looking forward to it. Expand
  20. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *SPOILER ALERT* It's a great game and although i would agree with others that this was the worst episode, it's not bad. I think it's because you are moving from Macon to Savannah, so there isn't a lot to explore. I don't really like the way they kill off Doug/Carly. I can see why they did, otherwise they would need to continue writing two scripts. The group is torn apart in this episode and some new faces arise. I would like to see a little more choices and character reactions in the next episodes. It still deserves an 8, where episode one was a 9, and episode two a 10. Expand
  21. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen. You're going to be glued to the seat until the very end. The only thing that stopped me from giving it 10/10 is the fact that it's so short. I easily could've been playing this for 6 hours non stop. Great overall. Expand
  22. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Things really went crazy in this episode. As food and paranoia becomes a serious issue, the people around you that you trust are now in a situation worse than ever before. Drama, death, chaos and unthinkable things will happen. This episode builds upon the two already amazing episodes before it. It tells a story that captured me and the characters around me made it feel almost real. Telltale games have a masterpiece right here and it's getting better and better by each episode Expand
  23. Aug 31, 2012
    6
    I have to say this is the weakest episode so far. Episodes 1 and 2 evoked real emotion; it looked as though your choices would have future implications and you really began to form attachments with some of the characters. I loved the style of the games and how they really made you think about what you were about to do or say. Unfortunately, Episode 3 is a mess. You end up finding that many of the choices you made have very little impact on the outcomes - the same major events end up happening whether you tried to stop them or not. Characters interact with you the exact same despite how you treated them. The game starts to feel less interactive, and more like a movie at times. Despite my criticisms, the action sequences are still good and the presentation still excellent, and the overall interaction with other characters is still interesting, if a little confused. Everything just feels less organic than previous episodes, and I hope they can rectify that for the remaining episodes. Expand
  24. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am going to be honest, this episode was pretty **** depressing and also... Annoying.
    It seems as if the purpose of this episode is to teach to never to like anything or anyone in a video game. It's like as if happy things don't exist in zombie games. Everyone just has to **** die. Emotionally attached to Carley? **** that, let her kiss you on the cheek and hint you at being a love interest AND THEN get shot in the face by Lilly! Yay!
    Emotionally attached to Duck after he acts so awesome by being your helper as a detective? Who needs him, infect him and kill him! Woo!
    Started to feel compassion for Katjaa? **** that, let her kill herself for no apparent reason (okay, I know, your son died, but you still have your husband goddammit).
    Jesus. Dark and gruesome zombie games don't have these many liked characters die.
    And what's most important is that some of your choices have no impact in the long term.
    If you save Carley or Doug, both of them die either way. If you side with Kenny or Lilly, there's nobody to be friends with by the end of Episode 3.
    If you decide to do as much as possible for characters to like you, all that's gonna happen is they're gonna die.
    That doesn't mean it's a bad game, though. It's 'fun' (when you're not smashing your table out of frustration or crying until your room is filled with salt water) and aesthetically rich. It has an environment to explore and interesting characters (except for Kenny, **** that guy).
    I think I gave the previous episodes a 9 (no 10 for having some parts of the game have terribly ugly textures that would look horrible when zoomed into during cutscenes).
    This episode gets a 8.. Remarkable job, TellTale. I like this game, but if your excuse for killing so many characters is 'it's because it's a zombie game', I **** hate zombie games from now on.
    Expand
  25. Aug 31, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this was the worst episode of the three that has been released so far. And I say that because in this episode they took away your options to choose, and change stuff. I had two totally different play-through and at the end of this episode there were almost no difference between them. No matter what you do, you can't save Carley/Doug who dies in a stupid and pointless way, nor Katja and Duck. This episode want to break our mind and heart and doing this by ruining the premise of the game, that your choices matters. Expand
  26. Sep 24, 2012
    0
    I was really enjoying the script this game has, until my girlfriend decided she wanted to play too. She made a different choice in pretty much every single decision, and by the middle of chapter 3 we ended up with exactly the same outcome. As it turns out, our choices dont matter at all. So, this is not a graphic adventure, since the puzzles are way too easy (hell, everybody around tells you exactly what you have to do next, even your own character does), and this is not an interactive story either, since even if a few non important conversations play a little different in each playthrough, the major outcome will always be the same. Considering all this game had was the "make your own choices and get your own scenario" thing, chapter 3 feels as lazy as it can get. I give it a 5 because the story is still worth watching, but thats all there is: A story that demands you to click around to unfold. What you choose to click does not matter at all. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 90
    Perfect storyline, strong emotions and connection to previous episodes – adventure series of The Walking Dead grows better and better with every new part. [Oct 2012]
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    92
    This is better - so much better - than the AMC series, and it's quickly become some of the most essential gaming of this, or indeed any other, year. [Dec 2012, p.90]
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    If you hate sadness and heartache, then Long Road Ahead is not for you. This is a journey fraught with triumphs and setbacks, often happening simultaneously. This is yet another strong episode that reinforces my opinion that The Walking Dead is one of the best games of the year!