Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    95
    A perfectly paced finale to a story we've all been invested in from the get go.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    The Walking Dead series shambles to a brief but moving conclusion that doesn't quite live up to the gruesome brilliance of earlier chapters.
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    100
    Most definitely qualifies as art -- exquisitely horrific, body-slam-your-emotions, tears-on-your-keyboard art. It is a near-perfect conclusion that may leave you emotionally gutted.
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    No Time Left is the ending that all fans were expecting. Simply the highest moment of all the series.
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    92
    A perfect ending for the first season. If the second season is just as good as this one, we're taking it for granted that no one will want to miss it.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    95
    The story is told amazingly well, the characters feel real and seeing how my decisions affected the story was nothing but a great ride. I can't suggest this episode or the entire series enough. You owe it to yourself to give this series a shot.
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    Walking Dead isn't just Game of the Year material, it's one of those touchstone games that will continue to be referenced years from now.
  8. Nov 24, 2012
    95
    The game demands players become invested in it and its memorable cast, and that makes it very difficult to look at each episode separately. The overall package is a phenomenal one, but I must admit that it is the end that will stick with me the most, with all the other episodes leading up to this massive crescendo.
  9. Dec 18, 2012
    80
    The last episode of The Walking Dead is a worthy finale for a well crafted and emotional adventure game.
  10. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    Despite a highly emotional finale this is arguably the worst episode of the season, although the overall storytelling remains some of the strongest in gaming.
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    I'm not going to mince words anymore: The Walking Dead is the best game of 2012. If you care about video games as an expressive medium, you need to play this game. It's too important to avoid. If you are sick of zombie stories, you need to play this game. If you hate video games and despise the thought of playing one, you need to play this game.
  12. Dec 3, 2012
    95
    I feel The Walking Dead is so special that five to ten years from now people are still going to be talking about it and referencing its importance. I imagine this series will be the first to make many gamers cry, it is that emotionally powerful.
  13. Nov 26, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead: The Game won't just go down as one of the best examples of gaming as a storytelling medium, it isn't just one of the best licensed games ever made, and it won't just be known as one of the best games of 2012 (if not the best). It'll also be the only game ever that made me think, made me laugh, made me jump out of my seat, made me cry, and made me want to vomit. That's Telltale's real achievement in my view.
  14. Nov 23, 2012
    88
    It is rare that games showcase deep emotions. And to be honest, I didn't think that Telltale would be able to pull it off. But they delivered. I am looking forward to the second season.
  15. Nov 26, 2012
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. Nov 22, 2012
    90
    I felt Telltale's occasionally heavy hand throughout the story, but I view this limitation as a work in progress. Despite this, they put together a powerful package that I hope surpassed Robert Kirkman's expectations, because it sure did mine.
  17. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    The tale is twisted and terrifying, heart-wrenching yet timeless, much like the infinite, undead existences of the series' antagonists. If stronger emotions have been wrenched from your gut while visiting an art gallery, I'd love to hear about it.
  18. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    This series has accompanied us through the better part of this past year, made us afraid, brought us close to tears and made us question why the hell we were even playing something this depressing. The Walking Dead's answer was one of the most striking ones of this generation of games: Clementine! She's that glowing light that pulls you through the harshest of tortures. She's the heart and soul of this remarkable little game. And when the lights go down on episode five, Lee finds the most sincere of words for her – speaking not his, but the players mind. That is, if you can bring yourself to utter them. What is it that he says? You should really find out for yourself.
  19. Dec 3, 2012
    100
    It's extraordinarily rare for a game to possess scenes of such powerful emotion, but Telltale have managed something special with The Walking Dead finale, and it'd be a tragedy to miss it.
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Thanks to Episode 5: No Time Left, I spent nearly three hours sitting at my computer with a knot in my stomach and a few unshed tears in my eyes. It's rare to play a game that moves you emotionally, makes you care about its characters, and causes you to gasp out loud as it shocks and disgusts you.
  21. Jan 29, 2013
    78
    No Time Left is Telltale's best effort to date. It has the longest heart-to-heart talk in the entire game, the most exciting action sequence featuring Lee, a hatchet and a horde of zombies, and a quiet, emotional climax.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 66
  2. Negative: 6 out of 66
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Episode 5, the finale... without spoiling anything, it's a satisfying conclusion, even if you think you already know what's going to happen. I'll remember this game for a very long time. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Probably the best zombie game I have ever played. When I first looked into this game, I thought it would be some shooter resident-evil wannabe, then I found out it was a graphic adventure with lots of action on it, which is really original and cool. But what I liked the most was the story, so epic and inmersive, really at the level of the TV series and more touchy. The flawless voice acting helps a lot.

    The other strong point in the game is the dialogue choice options. Everything you say almost always have some kind of impact in the story, from gaining influence over some pal of your group, to trigger a whole situation that may save your life or kill you. In fact, the difficulty of the game is not killing the zombies, but preventing your group to split or fall into hysteria.

    The only thing that could be better, are the puzzles. For a graphic adventure the puzzles are quite weak, but it kind of compensates with a great dose of action. All crowned with a great and moving ending.

    This game is a must have so try it. You won't be dissapointed.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    As a whole, the story in The Walking Dead is a darn good'n, but Episode 5 feels as though it was rushed. Throughout the episodes, you're inundated with pseudo choices, and what that all amounts to is a universal ending for all. This wouldn't be such a bad thing if the game wasn't marketed as having a unique story where the choices you make alter the game drastically, because they don't. The story somehow loops back around again to follow a set path shortly after making these so-called game changing decisions.

    Overall I loved the game and the story, but I believe that Telltale could've done more with regards to the decision making and the impact it had on gameplay. If I had to rate the game as a whole, all episodes included and without taking into account the poor mechanics previously mentioned, I'd give it a ten, no question. I'm left slightly disappointed though.
    Full Review »