User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 367 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 367

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    5
    This particular episode was weak for multiple reasons: 1.) it was very short. Easily less than 1 hour and I don't play fast. 2.) The gameplay was weak even when compared to previous episodes. Often times it was just walking on rails with no exploring at all. 3.) The dialogue options were weak. 4.) The ending was pretty obvious after episode 4 and imo wasn't all that powerful. I like theThis particular episode was weak for multiple reasons: 1.) it was very short. Easily less than 1 hour and I don't play fast. 2.) The gameplay was weak even when compared to previous episodes. Often times it was just walking on rails with no exploring at all. 3.) The dialogue options were weak. 4.) The ending was pretty obvious after episode 4 and imo wasn't all that powerful. I like the overall story but the characters for the most part leave something to be desired. I would like to see a more ingenious, creative character................................................ Now for an overall picture I give the game a 6/10. I agree with some of the negative posters saying the advertising is a little misleading because you do not determine the outcome of anything, there isn't much exploring which would be great in a game like this, and there aren't that many choices. It's not so much the gameplay, which definitely needs to be improved even by telltale standards, as it is the design. It just falls short on several levels including the length of each episode, how your choices don't matter after a little while, how you seem to have no control over your next action, etc. I think a lot of this fell on budget issues and since this game sold well I am hoping that the sequel will be stronger. I also wish this was released all as one game as it would have been a better experience compared to 5 split episodes over 7 months with each one being of varying quality. I would say for the next one in the series that if the developers can increase the length to 20+ hours with some actual replay value and maybe a few other options I'd buy it for $60. As it stand now it's really only worth $15 in my opinion (12 hour experience playing very slow with no replay value). So I recommend it if you can get it on sale somewhere around that price (steam holiday sale). Collapse
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Enjoy this game for what it is, an interactive comic. Taking the series as a whole, zombie fans should definitely not miss this, and more general point-and-click fans will enjoy the storyline also. As a "game" it lacks in interactivity (walk here, click this, hit that mostly), very simple to non-existent puzzles, linear and very little roaming/discovery, and a story-line dialogue-choiceEnjoy this game for what it is, an interactive comic. Taking the series as a whole, zombie fans should definitely not miss this, and more general point-and-click fans will enjoy the storyline also. As a "game" it lacks in interactivity (walk here, click this, hit that mostly), very simple to non-existent puzzles, linear and very little roaming/discovery, and a story-line dialogue-choice system that doesn't make a huge difference to the overall course of the game. If you are a p-and-c fan of say Syberia, Broken Sword, Lost Horizon etc., and looking for good puzzles to work through, this game will disappoint. There's none of that here, with more focus on the story and dialogue. Gets a 6 for the 10 hour gameplay/story in general, plus 1 for being nice to look at and a better than usual ending (imho anyway). Just as well really, as this last episode is the slowest and weakest of them, and a reason why it is probably not strong enough for a replay for me. An enjoyable experience nonetheless. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    Very touching end to this story arch (apparently there may be more), but also frustrating because of the cheap deaths, a disappointing epilogue and many questions left unanswered. Definitely worth playing overall, especially if you are a fan of dark games/stories.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You cannot save yourself and Clementine. The girl will be left alone with all what she learned from Lee and eventually stumble upon two strangers at the very end. Implying she will live with a new family. Lee was her family, the last game confirms her real parents are dead. I like happy endings, it would have been a good ending just to lose your arm and start a new life, but they kill our character. All was in vain. Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    7
    I'm disappointed by season finale. I expected it to have few endings depend on the choices you made earlier. But whatever choices you made, ending is still the same. So much for creating your own story.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    The game overall was somewhat disappointing. I liked episode 3 best, but the last episode was my least favorite. Some of the user actions sequences were just a waste and had no effect or consequence and I was really hoping that you would have a different outcome for the end depending on the choices you made. This game would have been a 10 if your outcome in each episode could have beenThe game overall was somewhat disappointing. I liked episode 3 best, but the last episode was my least favorite. Some of the user actions sequences were just a waste and had no effect or consequence and I was really hoping that you would have a different outcome for the end depending on the choices you made. This game would have been a 10 if your outcome in each episode could have been different. The last episode seemed rushed and not that well planned. If they do another, I hope it has more consequences for your actions. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    Once you realize the decisions you make dont matter at all, and if you are able to look past the not very impressive gameplay, the story this game tells is pretty good. Even if I felt cheated by the game once I found out it didnt give a crap about what I chose, Im giving it a 7 for being the first game I ever played that had a child that not only didnt annoy me, but also was a reallyOnce you realize the decisions you make dont matter at all, and if you are able to look past the not very impressive gameplay, the story this game tells is pretty good. Even if I felt cheated by the game once I found out it didnt give a crap about what I chose, Im giving it a 7 for being the first game I ever played that had a child that not only didnt annoy me, but also was a really likable character. Expand
  8. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    The game ends on a fantastic and very sad climax which pulls at your heart strings. Here the choices are taken away from you almost completely except for minor changes in characterisation. The game is far far too short, giving maybe an hours worth of enjoyment but you will feel drained and emotionally raw after completing this game An excellent story behind a medecocre game.
  9. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is sad to notice the game design choices by Telltale - kill off characters to save the amount of variables needed to be dealt with in the next season.Despite the rushed paced of the episode (it will probably last around two hours),the final episode ends the first season satisfactorily. No big surprises, no drawn out puzzles or even moments of peace to converse with your fellow group members. And the guy behind the radio feels abit out of place after his awkward explanation of who he is and why his doing this.
    Theres NO TIME LEFT for much, except for Season 2! Till next time when our choices matter more!
    Expand
  10. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    As a whole, the story in The Walking Dead is a darn good'n, but Episode 5 feels as though it was rushed. Throughout the episodes, you're inundated with pseudo choices, and what that all amounts to is a universal ending for all. This wouldn't be such a bad thing if the game wasn't marketed as having a unique story where the choices you make alter the game drastically, because they don't.As a whole, the story in The Walking Dead is a darn good'n, but Episode 5 feels as though it was rushed. Throughout the episodes, you're inundated with pseudo choices, and what that all amounts to is a universal ending for all. This wouldn't be such a bad thing if the game wasn't marketed as having a unique story where the choices you make alter the game drastically, because they don't. The story somehow loops back around again to follow a set path shortly after making these so-called game changing decisions.

    Overall I loved the game and the story, but I believe that Telltale could've done more with regards to the decision making and the impact it had on gameplay. If I had to rate the game as a whole, all episodes included and without taking into account the poor mechanics previously mentioned, I'd give it a ten, no question. I'm left slightly disappointed though.
    Expand
  11. Nov 24, 2012
    0
    This particular episode was weak for multiple reasons: 1.) it was very short. Easily less than 1 hour and I don't play fast. 2.) The gameplay was weak even when compared to previous episodes. Often times it was just walking on rails with no exploring at all. 3.) The dialogue options were weak. 4.) The ending was pretty obvious after episode 4 and imo wasn't all that powerful. I like theThis particular episode was weak for multiple reasons: 1.) it was very short. Easily less than 1 hour and I don't play fast. 2.) The gameplay was weak even when compared to previous episodes. Often times it was just walking on rails with no exploring at all. 3.) The dialogue options were weak. 4.) The ending was pretty obvious after episode 4 and imo wasn't all that powerful. I like the overall story but the characters for the most part leave something to be desired. I would like to see a more ingenious, creative character................................................ Now for an overall picture I give the game a 6/10. I agree with some of the negative posters saying the advertising is a little misleading because you do not determine the outcome of anything, there isn't much exploring which would be great in a game like this, and there aren't that many choices. It's not so much the gameplay, which definitely needs to be improved even by telltale standards, as it is the design. It just falls short on several levels including the length of each episode, how your choices don't matter after a little while, how you seem to have no control over your next action, etc. I think a lot of this fell on budget issues and since this game sold well I am hoping that the sequel will be stronger. I also wish this was released all as one game as it would have been a better experience compared to 5 split episodes over 7 months with each one being of varying quality. I would say for the next one in the series that if the developers can increase the length to 20+ hours with some actual replay value and maybe a few other options I'd buy it for $60. As it stand now it's really only worth $15 in my opinion (12 hour experience playing very slow with no replay value). So I recommend it if you can get it on sale somewhere around that price (steam holiday sale). Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    78
    No Time Left is Telltale's best effort to date. It has the longest heart-to-heart talk in the entire game, the most exciting action sequence featuring Lee, a hatchet and a horde of zombies, and a quiet, emotional climax.
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    80
    The last episode of The Walking Dead is a worthy finale for a well crafted and emotional adventure game.
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    100
    It's extraordinarily rare for a game to possess scenes of such powerful emotion, but Telltale have managed something special with The Walking Dead finale, and it'd be a tragedy to miss it.