Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Walking Dead is one of the most powerful stories in the video gaming history. With Season 2, Clem's story only grows stronger, though dark in its roots, in Episode 2, Telltale's game design and storytelling shines through that darkness.
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    Episode 2 is one of the best Telltale has ever made. It’s big, full of great dialogue, devastating consequences, memorable and fun action scenes, and places a smart, scary plot at center stage.
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    The first episode of The Walking Dead: Season Two was undoubtedly great, but definitely had its flaws - partially due to being a pilot episode, and partially due to the writing being, though damn good, not quite up to the par of sheer excellence that Telltale have set themselves. The same can’t be said of Episode Two: A House Divided - this is some of the studio’s finest work.
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    An excellent second episode that builds incredibly well on the themes from episode one and proposes some new situations and characters with enormous potential.
  5. Mar 7, 2014
    The story kicks into high gear with some tense and amazing scenes, the choices become tougher and more oblique and the consequences hit hard.
  6. Mar 6, 2014
    The Walking Dead Season 2 has finally hit its stride for me. I really didn’t enjoy episode 1 too much due to both technical issues and having to set up back-story for many characters. Episode 2 remedies that by fixing all the bugs, putting the player in constant tense situations and having some truly frightening set pieces.
  7. Mar 6, 2014
    A House Divided ends with one hell of a cliffhanger—arguably one of the worst cliffhangers in the series. The wait for Episode 3 will be very difficult... but if Episode 2's quality is any indication, it will also be very much worth it.
  8. Mar 6, 2014
    Any doubts I had during the first episode have been washed away. This is Telltale’s storytelling ability at its very best. Filled with emotionally resonant dialogue, painful scenes and a cast that’s quickly matured, A House Divided makes it seem possible for The Walking Dead Season Two to eclipse its celebrated predecessor.
  9. Mar 5, 2014
    We still miss feeling that our actions do impact the plot, but this episode is full of great moments worth experiencing. So far, we can only wait for the third episode and hope that Telltale keeps bringing such an outstanding narrative.
  10. Mar 5, 2014
    A superior episode, then, and one that bodes well for the rest of the season.
  11. Mar 4, 2014
    A House Divided is another powerful, emotional installment, and continues to make a beautiful, tense experience about finding and trusting one another the end of the world.
  12. Mar 4, 2014
    While Episode 1 had the unenviable task of reintroducing people to the world of The Walking Dead — Episode 2: A House Divided takes off running with numerous action sequences and tension-filled scenarios that will keep you guessing until the end.
  13. Mar 4, 2014
    The last episode was a tough act to follow, but similar to season one, episode two is even better. The stakes are higher and the consequences steeper. Telltale has once again proved that adventure games are not only still alive, they’re as strong as ever. We can only hope it’s not long before we find out what's next.
  14. Mar 4, 2014
    From reminding me how much I loved last season to investing me in what happens as this season progresses, "A House Divided" succeeds on every level.
  15. 90
    A lot of people complained that Episode 1 didn’t stand alone as its own story, and Episode 2 still doesn’t But frankly, it doesn’t matter. There are still unanswered questions, cliffhanger endings, and lack of any real resolution to any character’s conflicts, but it’s still a phenomenal story.
  16. Mar 4, 2014
    The Walking Dead's signature moral dilemmas are more nuanced than ever in a plot-heavy second episode.
  17. Mar 4, 2014
    During Episode 2, I was struck by a line about how connecting with people is important. In The Walking Dead, I’ve been doing just that, building alliances and becoming emotionally attached to characters.
  18. As immersive and engaging as the second episode is, it still feels a bit like its setting the table for what’s to come in the remaining three episodes of this season...But it’s doing so in tantalizing fashion.
  19. Mar 7, 2014
    A House Divided is full of violence and choices. This second episode of The Walking Dead: Season two is a well-crafted and emotional journey.
  20. Mar 5, 2014
    Although Episode 2 struggles in terms of pacing, a strong Act 2 to this brief entry makes for a worthwhile venture.
  21. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    Perfect story, perfect direction, not-so-perfect gameplay. [Issue #240]
  22. Mar 25, 2014
    More action-oriented, richer but mainly more thrilling than its first episode. The Walking Dead is in good shape. Besides, House Divided is one of those episodes where you feel your gameplay decisions actually make a difference. If only its characters grew up.
  23. Mar 14, 2014
    This second episode is way better than the first one. After a very slow initial session, narration starts to flow and the plot shows its real potential.
  24. Mar 7, 2014
    Walking Dead Season 2, Episode 2 ratchets up the stakes and pulls Clementine into different directions emotionally and physically. Some tense action sequences, engrossing dialog, and the addition of a formidable threat to everyone makes "A House Divided" a solid chapter despite its short three-hour running time. When it comes to storytelling, Telltale is still one of the best in the business and this episode doesn't betray that reputation.
  25. Mar 7, 2014
    The Walking Dead Season Two may not have moved into top gear yet, but Telltale have already shown that they are more than capable of producing more gut-wrenching moments and difficult choices.
  26. Mar 5, 2014
    While the season two debut failed to capitalize on the suspenseful tactics Telltale Games was able to integrate in the first season, Episode 2 has fixed that. It’s still a bit shorter than what we’ve grown accustomed to and the zombies feel tacked on rather than an actual story driven threat, but the hour and a half long episode is able to convince us that the drama within the group of survivors is much deeper than first expected.
  27. Mar 4, 2014
    The bleakness is so overbearing, in fact, that A House Divided steps perilously close to monotony. Every kindness is rewarded with brutality.
  28. Mar 4, 2014
    The Walking Dead's impact lies in its relationships, and A House Divided plays to that strength. As an action game, it falls flat, offering a few sections of ho-hum zombie-killing. As a soap opera controlled by the player, it sings.
  29. Mar 4, 2014
    Although I'm still not sure if this new cast is going to top Lee's old crew, A House Divided is a great second offering, and I'm sufficiently hooked.
  30. Mar 7, 2014
    Clementine is the best this season has to offer so far, and it gets better after every minute of playing. Beside her development, A House Divided places all its devices at the right place and we can only hope the narrative bomb will set off in the upcoming episode.
  31. Mar 5, 2014
    If you’ve been on board so far, A House Divided gives no reason to stop now.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 337 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 54
  2. Negative: 6 out of 54
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Did not care for episode 2. It was essentially 1 long cutscene with very little interaction. No puzzles or problem solving to speak of. I think the hardest thing you had to do was find an ornament for a Xmas tree.

    The ending was forced and pointless. It was quite clear that the game is pushing you to surrender, even if you try to stand up for yourself and fight, you'll get a couple of your friends killed and are forced to surrender anyway. I was looking for the option right at the end labelled "give me the damn gun". And now it looks like in the next chapter we're playing nice with our captures. Yeah. Right.

    Sorry Telltale. I very much enjoyed Season 1, with it's clever puzzles and difficult choices. Season 2 thus far has been a poor imitation. Hope it improves.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    More of the same... unfortunately. While the devs listened and made some of the characters a little less insufferable, the story, setting andMore of the same... unfortunately. While the devs listened and made some of the characters a little less insufferable, the story, setting and atmosphere all suffer from the last episode's problems. Plot holes and logic errors are scattered all over the episode, made ever so glaring near the end of the episode. Worse is the fact that there is little actual GAMEPLAY this time around, with much of the episode taking place in interactive cutscenes or QTE's. The bunch of misfits Clem is stuck with are still a bunch of lazy and incompetent slackers, opting to send Clem off to do everything--including zombie killing duty it seems. The only person to be sympathetic this time around is the complete **** from E1, and that quickly nose dives as she becomes just as self absorbed as the rest. Only when you near the end do you get a glimmer of hope that you might be able to join up with competent people, but we all know that can't last: we're only in Act two of these dreary season after all.

    The realism and immersion is utterly destroyed when you realize they are trying to have the player do all the things Lee did in S1, but in the body of an 11 year old girl. There's acceptable disbelief for story and gameplay's sake, and then there is just plain embarrassing writing. The character model for Clem is clunky and robotic rather than natural, and facial expressions appear to have been recycled from Season 1 characters. Clem's voice actress is so damn bland: I think she can do an excellent job if given proper direction but the monkeys writing this drivel seem to have told her to give her best impression of a adolescent robot. I understand that they want to make the dialogue "neutral" so everyone can feel like they're Clem, but the charm of S1 was choosing how Lee acted and acting out the role we wanted to play; It wasn't BEING Lee. We saw how Lee's character responded to events in the way WE chose. "Being the character" only really works with a silent protagonist guys: having Clem's delivery be boring and uninteresting leaves me wondering where her damn personality went.

    Overall, my expectations were low after E1. Even those low expectations were not met. Avoid.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    I just got into the show and I'm finding this game to be outstanding! I'm really gladd Telltale has taken it upon themselves to make such aI just got into the show and I'm finding this game to be outstanding! I'm really gladd Telltale has taken it upon themselves to make such a badass game! Full Review »