Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 13, 2014
    100
    But I will say that this feels like an improvement over the past two episodes, both in narrative and gameplay.
  2. May 13, 2014
    98
    A phenomenal game. The episodes truly do feel like they are getting better and better with each passing one.
  3. May 14, 2014
    94
    In Harm’s Way is the amazing turning point for the second season of Telltale Game's The Walking Dead.
  4. May 16, 2014
    90
    What The Walking Dead is about is people, and in Episode 3, the game continues to deliver those well-written and interesting characters with whom Clementine interacts and relates. As the episodes before it, Episode 3 delivers on a series of moments in which players must balance relationships and survival, freedom and security, and as always, there are never any easy answers.
  5. May 16, 2014
    90
    If The Walking Dead keeps producing episodes this strong, though, I’ll happily keep playing it for years to come.
  6. May 16, 2014
    90
    Another fine, fine episode that I wish more people were talking about.
  7. May 15, 2014
    90
    The Walking Clementine has been a memorable journey thus far. Having the opportunity to see this young lady grow from Season 1 to the middle of Season 2 has been an absolute joy.
  8. May 15, 2014
    90
    One of the most complete episodes so far, ending with a cliffhanger. You won't be able to wait for the next one.
  9. May 13, 2014
    90
    The Walking Dead is back on track, after a slightly dull Episode Two, this is exactly what the series needed. It will make you care again, it will make you angry and sad in equal measures, it will remind you that nobody is safe in this universe, but best of all it recaptures The Walking Dead’s brilliance. I cannot wait for the next episode.
  10. May 13, 2014
    90
    This is the episode where it all starts to come together.
  11. May 13, 2014
    90
    In Harm’s Way deepened my empathy for characters I’m legitimately worried will die, or worse.
  12. May 15, 2014
    89
    In Harm's Way upholds Telltale's standard of storytelling and cinematic excellence. The only downside is at this point, the seams of this "illusion of choice" the series provides are more than evident for the seasoned player. This dampens the experience a bit but the fierce cliffhanger ending leaves us again, hankering for more.
  13. The Walking Dead: In Harm's Way is a perfect episode like the ones before it. This time Clem's learning to be more cruel and more careful about her behaviours.
  14. May 26, 2014
    85
    As in the first season the third episode is an emotional highlight.
  15. May 21, 2014
    85
    It is a gruesome ride that is full of peril, difficult decisions and some great moments.
  16. May 14, 2014
    85
    Although a bit slower paced than its predecessors, In Harm’s Way is probably the most violent entry of the series to date. It introduces intriguing new characters and gives old ones (very brief) screen time. But it’s the progression of Clementine’s character that will keep you invested throughout the short runtime.
  17. May 13, 2014
    85
    Episode three was probably my favorite from season one of The Walking Dead -- so far, I'm feeling the same way about In Harm's Way.
  18. May 13, 2014
    85
    Wherever The Walking Dead Season 2's conclusion heads, I hope Telltale is able to maintain the sense of dreadful agency it has built up in Episode 3. "In Harm's Way" created an unforgettable new villain, but it also managed to make me feel like a villain myself along the way.
  19. May 13, 2014
    85
    Episode 3 takes on an even more somber tone than previous episodes, and some of the situations are downright twisted.
  20. May 22, 2014
    83
    The most grim episode yet, for better or worse.
  21. Jul 10, 2014
    80
    However, if you can get past the narrative dissonance introduced for the sake of agency, In Harm’s Way is still a cracking entry in the season with a few super twists, a truly satisfying punch-the-air moment, and an ending which leaves you in no doubt that the momentum started in the previous chapter shows no sign of abating.
  22. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 8, 2014
    80
    The shortest episode so far but the most intense as well, pushing the moral boundaries towards the extreme.
  23. May 27, 2014
    80
    The third episode makes a clueless spectator out of the gamer, but all that nerve-racking moments are still worth it. The game's linear, rough tough, and generally excellent.
  24. May 19, 2014
    80
    Little Clem continues to grow appreciably, even if those around her continues to give her too much weight and too much impact to the decisions of a group that should still be totally independent from the wishes of a child.
  25. May 19, 2014
    80
    Telltale holds a firm grip on the plot and moves thing along without asking us. Yet we have to decide what kind of person Clementine will be, and for her, the path ahead is getting darker and darker.
  26. May 13, 2014
    80
    Telltale Games' zombie extravaganza is continuing to prove that it is every bit the equal of the Robert Kirkman comics, and superior to the AMC TV show.
  27. May 13, 2014
    80
    The Walking Dead Season 2: Episode 3 – In Harm’s Way is another strong addition into an already compelling universe.
  28. May 13, 2014
    80
    What could easily have been a mid-season lull feels instead like a peak. If Telltale can maintain this standard for the rest of the season, it could yet top The Walking Dead's first run in terms of quality - if not novelty.
  29. May 13, 2014
    80
    In Harm's Way is one of the most violent installments TellTale's overall series, if only for the disturbing intimacy of it all. At times, Episode 3 is hard to experience, but it's well worth sticking it out.
  30. May 13, 2014
    80
    Telltale's character drama is as strong as ever, but Clementine's boldest dialogue options end up making her more capable than the adults around her.
  31. May 29, 2014
    75
    All in all, it's a rather depressing entry into the series. The storytelling is as good as ever, and players are sure to feel as much regret as they do with any other episode. But the lack of interactivity takes a heavy toll on the experience as a whole.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. May 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Its great... a little more graphic in other choices, if you stay to see Bill (Carver) get killed it gets a little graphic. That's not a bad thing though, the world is in hell right now and if you plan to survive you need to make rash decisions and this game owns it. Its my favorite episode and I recommend you get both Season 1 and Season 2 of The Walking Dead. Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2014
    10
    'In Harm's Way' got me more emotionaly involved than the season's previous episodes. I feared for some, hated others and was intrigued by a'In Harm's Way' got me more emotionaly involved than the season's previous episodes. I feared for some, hated others and was intrigued by a fresh face. And when the episode ended on a cliffhanger and the credits rolled, accompanied by the excellent track "Remember Me" by Anadell, that caused the memories of it all to wash over me again. And then I just wanted someone to talk about it. Never a bad sign! 10/10 Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2014
    10
    This episode was very different than previous episodes, in a good way. It has a driven story line with stealthy action scenes. It is a niceThis episode was very different than previous episodes, in a good way. It has a driven story line with stealthy action scenes. It is a nice change in the walking dead series, with twists at every turn yet you never feel confused. It's the perfect mix. Full Review »