Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    53
    I'd rather stick with zombie alternatives like Left 4 Dead, just because I can because in co-op play against the undead.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    A handful of interesting (although poorly developed) ideas are the only bright spots in a game that disappoints in almost every possible way. Sadly, Terminal Reality offers one of the ugliest survival horror games ever.
  3. May 13, 2013
    40
    None of its elements is done well enough. The combat system is primitive and slapdash, there’s practically just one enemy type with several skins and the level design based on simple greyish blocks is trivial. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.68]
  4. May 9, 2013
    40
    Unlike the sublime Telltale game based on the same license, Survival Instinct reeks of cheap tie in cash grab. [June 2013, p.71]
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    40
    This game is like a zombie itself – from afar, it seems like a normal person who just limps along for some reason… But up close the stench of dead meat is unbearable.
  6. 40
    It's not the worst game I've ever played and I'm not even sure that, by year's end, it'll be under the worst three. It's just that, all in all, this is a version of this world that's ugly and desolate in all the wrong ways – and one that doesn't add an ounce of..., well, anything to the story or its characters. It is a mish-mash of commendable concepts and mechanisms that never really do anything for another, resulting in an experience as emaciated and lifeless as the cadaverous nemesis that haunts Kirkman's universe.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    40
    It's not zombies you need worry about in the painfully dull The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct.
  8. Mar 22, 2013
    40
    Though there are flashes of interesting ideas, none are fully realized and they are hidden behind a technically shoddy and boring shooter.
  9. 38
    What’s frustrating is that Terminal Reality, whether you believe it or not, had laid the foundations for an extraordinary game. WD:SI includes all the activities that a decent zombie survival game should have. [May 2013]
  10. Mar 29, 2013
    35
    In case of Survival Instinct it's hard not to shout: Money grab! It's difficult to say whether the developer or the publisher is to blame. Maybe Activision wanted the game done "for yesterday" to catch the wave of tv show's popularity? In that case Terminal Reality wouldn't be able to work on their interesting ideas - there simply wasn't enough time. Right now this game is a monster not worth buying - avoid at all costs!
  11. Apr 3, 2013
    30
    I expected better from Terminal Reality. Ghostbusters wasn't quite the real deal, but it suggested a studio that could go on to much better things - and then Kinect Star Wars, and now this. If you don't want The Walking Dead tarnished forever, then avoid Survival Instinct: it is simple hackwork, fan exploitation at its most crude.
  12. Apr 2, 2013
    30
    It’s simply not worth exploring, even if you own shrink-wrapped copies of every TV season plus a signed, framed first edition of the graphic novel.
  13. Jul 10, 2013
    20
    After the excellence of Telltale’s The Walking Dead, it’s clear that Survival Instinct is the weaker of this species.
User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 61
  2. Negative: 43 out of 61
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    2
    The game clearly doesn't deserve 50$, I took all my time to finish it, it took me 6 hours. Graphics are really bad but that was not a big deal, the gameplay was catchy and the voiceover was amazing, from the two series actors. I was quiet optimist through the whole game, but then the game just ended, probably the worst ending ever in the video games industry. Even if you're a great fan of the Walking Dead, don't spend 50$ on that. Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    No More Room in Hell way better Zombie survival game with 8 player cooperative... and that games FREE. Riddle me that... I have to agree with GameDev11 on this one and say it's a rushed title with little to no effort put into it, just to collect on the payout of the 'Walking Dead' label/franchise. Save your money I see this game dropping down to $5 just like Duke Nukem did within a month or two. Full Review »
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    It's a real shame this game was made the way it was, an utter cash in with the only redeeming features because the amazing voice acting by Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker. Graphics are a complete let down with rooms being full of nothing more than one chair and a table half the time, if this wasn't a Walking Dead game it wouldn't be worth a second glance. Full Review »