Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    92
    A Crooked Mile represents a new high point in Telltale's take on Fables. It's a smart, brutal, and emotional episode that pushes the story forward and fleshes out nearly every player on the board.
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    80
    What I can say is that playing A Crooked Mile was exhausting. Each line of dialogue pulsed with meaning, and at every turn, I feared that Bigby and I might tumble over the edge we kept peering over. Episode two made me wonder; episode three made me ache.
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    85
    A Crooked Mile is a much more balanced episode than its predecessor.
  4. 92
    The Wolf Among Us Episode 3 is once again another fantastic adventure game from Telltale games. No, there aren’t many puzzles to be solved, so if you are looking for a more traditional adventure experience you should probably look elsewhere. However, if you want perfect narrative, wonderful characters and a plot that will keep you guessing, then this is the game for you.
  5. Apr 11, 2014
    91
    If you’ve been enjoying the series up to this point, there’s absolutely no reason to stop now.
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    84
    A Crooked Mile pulls everything together in a solid narrative that partially unveils the truth and find the right place for every character. Finally this episode introduces a memorable villain. This is the way to go, Bigby.
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    88
    Telltale proves that they know how to write a story, and we just cannot wait to see how it unfolds in the next episode.
  8. Apr 17, 2014
    85
    From the very first episode, I considered Wolf Among Us to be Telltale’s finest work yet, and after episode 3, my opinion hasn’t changed.
  9. Apr 8, 2014
    75
    The Wolf Among Us: A Crooked Mile isn't as interesting as episode two, but the undeniable charm of the world and the characters is still ever present.
  10. Apr 17, 2014
    90
    Telltale continues to be faithful to the source material while adding characters and plot twists that surprise you. Even though the controls threw a roadblock into my immersion in a couple places, I'm still heavily invested in The Wolf Among Us, and can't wait to see what happens to Sherif Bigby and Snow next.
  11. Apr 8, 2014
    88
    A great comeback from episode two, A Crooked Mile amplifies the drama—though sometimes in the wrong ways—and confronts Bigby with hard choices and proper detective work.
  12. Apr 10, 2014
    90
    A great third episode for a series that is able to stand in front to The Walking Dead, thanks to great characters, a magnetic plot and an exquisite art direction.
  13. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    For fans of the comics and adventure buffs alike, The Wolf Among Us continues to assert itself as a must-play game.
  14. Apr 18, 2014
    75
    A Crooked Mile bring backs a great pace, hard action and the powers of the big bad wolf are once again in your hands. It lets go of puzzles though, which Telltale seems to have completely written off.
  15. Apr 17, 2014
    91
    A Crooked Mile sets the Wolf Among Us on a straight path to an exciting conclusion.
  16. Apr 8, 2014
    78
    Though the series has yet to recapture the magic of the first episode, The Wolf Among Us still offers a grim fairy-tale world worth getting lost in.
  17. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    I didn't bother to mention how amazing the '70s neon cel-shaded graphics are or how spot-on the voice acting is since you should be taking them for granted from Telltale now, but combined with everything else The Wolf Among Us is shaping up to be potentially Telltale's strongest series
  18. Apr 9, 2014
    90
    A Crooked Mile is the turning point of The Wolf Among Us: plot and interaction merges together with a perfect flow, and the result is an episode that really moves in the direction given by the player. And it also concludes with a jaw dropping cliffhanger.
  19. Apr 8, 2014
    80
    Bigby Wolf is a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to get to the bottom of what’s tearing his community apart. A Crooked Mile brings out the best in his supporting cast, though.
  20. Apr 18, 2014
    80
    Fortunately, there's no resigning after the previous depression, but resuscitation. The third episode of The Wolf Among Us scores with both thrilling branched plot and great pace, so you'll be swallowed up in the blink of an eye until you finish the game for the first time you sit to it. A pity though the game lasts for an hour and a half.
  21. Apr 8, 2014
    92
    The content is fantastic, though the timing between episodes holds the game back.
  22. Apr 10, 2014
    80
    Telltale's profanity-laced murder investigation continues to balance the fantastic and the horrific with aplomb, and this episode provides some of the strongest character moments thus far.
  23. Apr 8, 2014
    100
    The third episode of The Wolf Among Us adds an illusory time limit, and it works damn well at ramping up the tension of Bigby's investigation before a stellar climax.
  24. Apr 12, 2014
    80
    A Crooked Mile overcompensates, perhaps due in part to the challenge of yanking moving parts out of a mystery, which, when they're told well, have to run like clockwork.
  25. Apr 21, 2014
    80
    Anyone a bit worried after the second episode can welcome the series back with open arms; A Crooked Mile is an intense and violent episode that is fun and over far too quickly.
  26. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    A Crooked Mile is a great follow-up to what's come before in Telltale's exploration of Fabletown. The stakes are raised emotionally and physically, and there's the great debut of a new villain for Bigby to contend with.
  27. May 14, 2014
    96
    Another neon night, stalking through the gorgeous nightmare of New York City. If you are not moved, you simply don't have a heart.
  28. Apr 29, 2014
    82
    Throats are ripped out, bones snap, and The Wolf Among Us proves that it still has more than enough bite to back up its bark.
  29. Telltale continues to protect it's throne as a master storyteller. In A Crooked Mile, things start to get complicated for Bigby and Snow White. With it's top notch art direction, musics and scenes, we are eager to get more of The Wolf Among Us.
  30. Apr 10, 2014
    85
    A Crooked Mile is a strong, well-paced entry in The Wolf Among Us series that's missing the technical issues that marred the previous episode.
  31. Apr 9, 2014
    90
    I’m completely invested now. I worry about Bigby. I’m pointlessly going through the decisions he made, I made, attempting to figure out how they will change the way the rest of the fables’ view their protector. But most of all I want to finish this case and catch whoever is responsible for this titanic mess, and then rip his limbs off. Bigby’s indignation and quest for vengeance is infectious.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 285 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    An fierce episode that makes you trust more on YOUR instincts instead of the choices on the screen, and that lets you feel like you're BigbyAn fierce episode that makes you trust more on YOUR instincts instead of the choices on the screen, and that lets you feel like you're Bigby Wolf. The third episode was an great example of how dark this game is, and how much darker it can get until the end of the season. Full Review »
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    8
    This episode is going to keep you on the edge of your seat. This game has a great ability of completely cutting off your sense of time andThis episode is going to keep you on the edge of your seat. This game has a great ability of completely cutting off your sense of time and surroundings. I am absolutely hooked on this story. Consistent quality over all three episodes so far, can't wait for the next one. Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    The third episode of The Wolf Among Us has alot of important moments. Every line feels important, and your choices feel very important. TheThe third episode of The Wolf Among Us has alot of important moments. Every line feels important, and your choices feel very important. The Episode is one of the best Telltale had ever brought to us, and if it was alittle longer then it's 1.5 hour length, it would have been in my opinion the best episode Telltale ever made. With it's length, its "only" one of their best. Full Review »