Thief: Deadly Shadows PC

Thief: Deadly Shadows Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Thief: Deadly Shadows, gamers once again take on the role of Garrett, a master thief. Garrett is rarely seen, never caught and capable of breaking into the most ingeniously secured places. Garrett steals from the wealthy and gives to himself, making his living in the dark and forebodingIn Thief: Deadly Shadows, gamers once again take on the role of Garrett, a master thief. Garrett is rarely seen, never caught and capable of breaking into the most ingeniously secured places. Garrett steals from the wealthy and gives to himself, making his living in the dark and foreboding City. Preferring to be left alone to ply his trade, prophecies of an impending Dark Age dictate a different plan for the thief. In Garrett?s efforts to prevent this approaching Dark Age, he has inadvertently roused an ancient hidden evil. Without allies, Garrett finds himself standing alone between the City and the forces that would crush it. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. I have never seen a game use light the way Deadly Shadows does, nor have I seen such realistic environments rendered on the fly. For those who can get it to work well on their systems, this is an astounding visual experience.
  2. Thief contains a level more terrifying than anything we've ever encountered before. [Aug 2004, p.76]
  3. Even though some of Ion’s design decisions, like the removal of the rope arrow and the inclusion of the third-person camera, will disappoint purists, it would be difficult for anyone to deny what a splendid experience this release is.
  4. Play Magazine
    83
    This is a case where the synergy between compelling gameplay and environment design, enabled by great technology, is too important to compromise. [July 2004, p.74]
  5. Any fan of stealth games needs to pick this one up and try to look past the technical issues to the excellent gameplay and sense of style beneath.
  6. GMR Magazine
    80
    Deadly Shadows sticks closely to the formula, albeit with a highly refined touch. [Aug 2004, p.101]
  7. The biggest fault I found in Deadly Shadows is the A.I. The guard’s awareness at one point can be very high, but then in other situations you’d think he was deaf.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55
  1. DougS.
    Jun 9, 2004
    10
    Wow Ion Storm really outdid themselves with this game! I'm sorry to hear they had to lay off people!
  2. MoneyGanster
    May 27, 2004
    10
    Sweet. Like theif 1 and 2, really good.
  3. May 7, 2011
    10
    I love all of the thief games they are entertaining with interesting stories. This is a good game if you like to use strategy and be naughty.I love all of the thief games they are entertaining with interesting stories. This is a good game if you like to use strategy and be naughty. :p Not a run up and kill stuff and make everything explode sort of game. Hours of fun and glory. Expand
  4. JaredL.
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    After playing the first two titles over and over, I can't say how pleased I was with their follow up. The best stealth action game to be After playing the first two titles over and over, I can't say how pleased I was with their follow up. The best stealth action game to be released in a long time. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    i recently finished this game.i have to say i have never played a game like this before.you have option to either kill or sneak through.AI isi recently finished this game.i have to say i have never played a game like this before.you have option to either kill or sneak through.AI is excellent.the only thing lacking was a good map system.it doesnt tell the player position or destination which can be frustrating at times. Expand
  6. BlakeM
    Jan 13, 2010
    6
    It's a great basic engine, and I always had heaps of fun running around the city robbing people and places, but about a quarter way It's a great basic engine, and I always had heaps of fun running around the city robbing people and places, but about a quarter way through the plotline goes pants-on-head stupid and the game suffers for it. I wanted the game to be like the first two or three levels, but once you've robbed the Hammerite cathedral the game apparently feels the need to include strange monsters and the like, none of whom respond well to a whack on the back of the head. It would have been one of my very favorite games - and is in my imagination, regardless - but, sheesh... The game starts off as nothing short of revolutionary, but unfortunately goes downhill fast as soon as the zombies pop up. Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    Crappy console port. But that's the least of its problems. The awful engine means that loading screens are plentiful and levels are small.Crappy console port. But that's the least of its problems. The awful engine means that loading screens are plentiful and levels are small. It's been streamlined for the Xbox crowd and features a bunch of nonsensical elements which were not present in previous Thief games (also known as "lore rape"). Very buggy and crashes constantly even on top notch computers. Getting stuck in the scenery is not a rare event, and the ragdoll physics are lazy and unnatural compared to what they should have gone with - good animations. Quite a disgrace to the stealth genre and the Thief series as a whole, simply does not live up to the legacy. The game has a stupid City hub rather than the assumed natural progression between missions ala Thief 1 and 2. Deadly Shadows is also a lot more linear, and suddenly rope/vine arrows don't exist in the Thief universe and Garrett has forgotten the ability to swim (he dies the instant he touches water). I don't know why people seem to think of it as any better than Invisible War is to Deus Ex, it's honestly just as bad. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews