Thomas Was Alone Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 318 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thomas won't be entirely alone, he'll be joined throughout by the awesome Mr Danny Wallace (XFM, Yes Man and Assassin's Creed) who will be narrating his adventures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    90
    Simple, straightforward and brilliant indie game. Pick it up at a bargain, or even pay full price; it is worth every penny. So well executed - a definite must play for any and everyone.
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    90
    Thomas Was Alone is a new masterpiece of independent development. Essential and creative, brilliant and funny.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    Sep 19, 2012
    81
    Short, sweet, and entirely too touching for a platform game about bouncy squared narrated by Danny Wallace. [Oct 2012, p.96]
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Fiddly bits notwithstanding, Thomas Was Alone is a game crafted with real love and attention. It shines through most prominently in its neurotic set of blocks, a cast so delightful you'd give them a cuddle if they weren't all sharp edges. Mind you, I'm not sure Chris would like that too much. But even that grumpy old square would admit that spending time with Thomas is, actually, a whole lot of fun.
  5. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    The understated aesthetic design and unusual co-op puzzles will absorb you for the game's duration – the wit and personality of the writing, though, will stay with you for much longer.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    75
    Thomas Was Alone utilizes its diverse characters and varied obstacles to create an engaging platformer.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2012
    60
    An enjoyable puzzle platformer wrapped in boundless charm. [Jan 2013, p.76]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 80
  2. Negative: 4 out of 80
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful is what I will always say about this game. Like many people are saying, this game is not at allBeautiful, beautiful, beautiful, beautiful is what I will always say about this game. Like many people are saying, this game is not at all challenging, the puzzles are quite easy once you learn the core mechanics as each puzzle somewhat follows the same structure as a previous level you may have already completed. So why would I give this game a 10 out of 10? Because not only was this a game I can sit down, play and enjoy after a stressful tiresome day, but narration and story helps push this game to be one of the greatest indie games I have ever played, the story is beyond charming, although it may not have made me burst out laughing, the humor allowed me to smile as I appreciated each joke, each tale, each character. If you want an action packed exploding difficult puzzle game, this is definitely not for you. If you are someone who wants to play a relaxing game with a beautiful soundtrack which is perfectly integrated into the game with beautiful characters then this is 100% for you. Please do not be put of because the characters are mere shapes, these characters have more personality than many triple A titles I have played. This game is worth the support, and I want to thank whoever made this game a million times. Just beautiful. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    This game is minimalist and as near perfection as I can imagine.

    You control several blocks in a solid and fun puzzle-type game, but the
    This game is minimalist and as near perfection as I can imagine.

    You control several blocks in a solid and fun puzzle-type game, but the developer did not stop there. No, each block was given specific abilities, and a specific character. The game quickly starts as "Thomas was alone" but quickly Thomas (the little red rectangle) has friends (other colourful blocky shapes), and the friends must help each other. And on top of that, the game was also given a charming narration and story told simply and clearly by the wonderful voice actor Danny Wallace

    I have never before felt emotionally attached to little blocks. And I'm not the only one: If you watch online reviews, you will hear many reviewers getting emotional about the little rectangles, and calling them by name.

    The soundtrack sets the perfect mood, I found myself listening to it for long periods just enjoying it.. And as the game neared the finale, the music perfectly matches the mood.

    This is a master class in how the right soundtrack and voice acting can take a good game and make it magnificent. Other, bigger budget titles, have much to learn from this small game.

    So stop reading this review and go buy Thomas Was Alone. It is a masterpiece.
    Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This game's storyline is like a reincarnation of Douglas Adams. I found myself smiling through the whole game. The puzzles are easy toThis game's storyline is like a reincarnation of Douglas Adams. I found myself smiling through the whole game. The puzzles are easy to understand and they make you want to keep solving them to get more of the story. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Thomas Was Alone is a simple platformer with some of the best narration I have ever seen in a game. The developers by actually making youThomas Was Alone is a simple platformer with some of the best narration I have ever seen in a game. The developers by actually making you care about differently colored rectangles. This game is well worth the money and it's story will not disappoint you.

    The characters are great because of the absolutely fantastic narration, who needs highly rendered humanoids with six-quadrillion polygons, just good story telling and rectangles makes one of the best characters ever in gaming.
    Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2015
    8
    Amazing puzzle platformer with nice music and simple good-looking graphics. It is really funny to play. However, it was repetitive in the endAmazing puzzle platformer with nice music and simple good-looking graphics. It is really funny to play. However, it was repetitive in the end a little. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    I love this game. It shows that you don't have to have good graphics to make good characters. The narration is excellent and the great storyI love this game. It shows that you don't have to have good graphics to make good characters. The narration is excellent and the great story makes you want to keep going on, no matter how many times you die. This game can be a bit frustrating, but it is also very rewarding. This game probably won't take you too long to beat, but you'll be happy the whole way, Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    2
    Bad graphics that are literally just rectangles moving around. Super generic platforming. Very short. These all make for a terrible game.Bad graphics that are literally just rectangles moving around. Super generic platforming. Very short. These all make for a terrible game. Having a narrator doesn't magically turn a terrible game into a good one despite what everyone seems to think. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews