Thomas Was Alone Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thomas won't be entirely alone, he'll be joined throughout by the awesome Mr Danny Wallace (XFM, Yes Man and Assassin's Creed) who will be narrating his adventures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    90
    Simple, straightforward and brilliant indie game. Pick it up at a bargain, or even pay full price; it is worth every penny. So well executed - a definite must play for any and everyone.
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    90
    Thomas Was Alone is a new masterpiece of independent development. Essential and creative, brilliant and funny.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    81
    Short, sweet, and entirely too touching for a platform game about bouncy squared narrated by Danny Wallace. [Oct 2012, p.96]
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Fiddly bits notwithstanding, Thomas Was Alone is a game crafted with real love and attention. It shines through most prominently in its neurotic set of blocks, a cast so delightful you'd give them a cuddle if they weren't all sharp edges. Mind you, I'm not sure Chris would like that too much. But even that grumpy old square would admit that spending time with Thomas is, actually, a whole lot of fun.
  5. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    The understated aesthetic design and unusual co-op puzzles will absorb you for the game's duration – the wit and personality of the writing, though, will stay with you for much longer.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    75
    Thomas Was Alone utilizes its diverse characters and varied obstacles to create an engaging platformer.
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    An enjoyable puzzle platformer wrapped in boundless charm. [Jan 2013, p.76]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 76
  2. Negative: 4 out of 76
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    What should i say! If you are bored and you are looking for a good game than play TWA. Great story, funny, and i think it is like an addiction! Help me bros can't stop playing Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    I would never have guessed that playing as coloured quadrilaterals in puzzle platformer would be able to have one of the most captivating story lines, interesting varietys of challenges and hilarious group of characters out of the many games I have played.
    Thomas was alone, is an unmissable game.
    Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This game's storyline is like a reincarnation of Douglas Adams. I found myself smiling through the whole game. The puzzles are easy to understand and they make you want to keep solving them to get more of the story. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Thomas Was Alone is truly a game worth playing, while I wouldn't give it a 10 because it's just not THAT good, it's definitely in the 9 range (I'd say the current use score, 8.6 is really accurate).

    The game's characters are just filled with personality and the puzzles are fun and challanging. Only problem I encountered was that I thought the story dragged on too much, I think that after a certain part of the story, the could've stopped and the rest truly should've been a sequal OR they should've named it chapter two and let the first part sink in.

    Overall, great game, recommended.
    Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    "Thomas was Alone" is revolutionary; and in the right way. It tears and strips down the modern gaming make-up and gives a "what if?" on the path of games. With brilliant narration and character lovability (which are litteraly squares and rectangles) Thomas was Alone proves a fantastic and worthwhile game and path; Now all that's left is to go further down it. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    A very cleaver and fun game with a good story and a delightful narration. It doesn't take very long to complete, but it is definitely an experience worth checking out for yourself. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    2
    Bad graphics that are literally just rectangles moving around. Super generic platforming. Very short. These all make for a terrible game. Having a narrator doesn't magically turn a terrible game into a good one despite what everyone seems to think. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews