Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 PC

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimC
    Oct 8, 2009
    2
    Bought TW 07 online and it crashed after about 4 games..and after a lot of back and forth with EA I gave up trying to fix it. So stupid me, I bought TW08...it hasnt crashed but I've had huge playable issues with it. The longer you use one player, the laggier it gets. Its not fun hanging over a sunk putt for 1 or 2 minutes. And it gets worse every time you use the same player Even ifBought TW 07 online and it crashed after about 4 games..and after a lot of back and forth with EA I gave up trying to fix it. So stupid me, I bought TW08...it hasnt crashed but I've had huge playable issues with it. The longer you use one player, the laggier it gets. Its not fun hanging over a sunk putt for 1 or 2 minutes. And it gets worse every time you use the same player Even if you change players and go back, it gets worse. And once more tech support failed to help..I got told its a play issue, even tho its pretty clear there is something wrong with the game engine. The more data you accumulate on a player, the worse it gets but they dont want to ackowledge that. cant say Im surprised we havent seen the 09 or 10 version online... Expand
  2. DougJ.
    Jan 18, 2008
    1
    Absolutly pathetic. It's the same game it was 5 years ago. No, change that, it's worse than it was 5 years ago. Liknks 2003 hasn't been produced in 5 years and it's still the best golf game on the market. With all the beautifull user designed courses, user created sound files, new user animations, as well as new user designed golf physicis Links 2003 is still the king Absolutly pathetic. It's the same game it was 5 years ago. No, change that, it's worse than it was 5 years ago. Liknks 2003 hasn't been produced in 5 years and it's still the best golf game on the market. With all the beautifull user designed courses, user created sound files, new user animations, as well as new user designed golf physicis Links 2003 is still the king of pc golf. And thats pretty sad considering it came out in 2002. Collapse
  3. DanG.
    Nov 22, 2007
    2
    The reviewer with PC Gamer was too kind to award a score of 30. The worst golf sim I have ever played for the PC in 25 years. going all the way back to the original Links.. Maybe it is stronger on consoles, but obviously doesn't port over properly to the PC.
  4. JasonH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    If you don't compare it to previous versions, this is by far the best simulation golf game for the PC. Standalone this game gets a 10 no questions. If you already have 07, or 06 though, there may not be enough additions to warrant a new purchase.
  5. David
    Sep 11, 2007
    3
    I like golf, i like golf video-games and i can say that this PC version is really poor. Even worst than the Wii version. If you have the chance play it onn PS3 or XBax 360.
  6. JosephB.
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    The game graphics are better than last years...but only a little...the new layout and screens is difficult at first and the fact you can't see how long your shot would be with the selected club and ball position makes being a 'HACK' even more difficult...the confidence piece might be cool when I get more skills but at the beginging is doesn't do much and the fancy The game graphics are better than last years...but only a little...the new layout and screens is difficult at first and the fact you can't see how long your shot would be with the selected club and ball position makes being a 'HACK' even more difficult...the confidence piece might be cool when I get more skills but at the beginging is doesn't do much and the fancy targeting that I have seen plastered all over the news doesn't appear to be shipped in the Canadian version as I can see any reference or get it to work...Oh, well, TW08 is good all the same... Expand
  7. RobertW.
    Sep 3, 2007
    6
    As a long time buyer of TW games both PC and console versions I feel totally let down by the 08 PC veriosn as it contains NO course atchitect and No course utillity program and as always which is the norm no anti cheat functions. Otherwise much the same as 05, 06, and 07 versions with a new kiddy style user interface and on screen messages to annoy thooose who turned off the comentator As a long time buyer of TW games both PC and console versions I feel totally let down by the 08 PC veriosn as it contains NO course atchitect and No course utillity program and as always which is the norm no anti cheat functions. Otherwise much the same as 05, 06, and 07 versions with a new kiddy style user interface and on screen messages to annoy thooose who turned off the comentator but now you cant turn off these, you got us EA. Feeling totally let down. Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. PC Zone UK
    50
    Utterly, shabbily redundant. [Nov 2007, p.87]
  2. AceGamez
    60
    A gorgeous looking simulation, rather than the satisfying looking arcade games that typify earlier entries in the series.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    79
    A great big walloping drive of a golf game. [Nov 2007, p.78]