Titan Quest PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2006
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 364 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 364
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    I think that people need to give the whole "It's like Diablo" thing a rest for goodness sakes we all know that Diablo was a great game series and still will be with the release of Diablo 3 but to be honest I had more fun playing Titans Quest, for many reasons one being the fact that it has much better graphics, and yes I know Diablo is older but thats the idea people think new don't dwellI think that people need to give the whole "It's like Diablo" thing a rest for goodness sakes we all know that Diablo was a great game series and still will be with the release of Diablo 3 but to be honest I had more fun playing Titans Quest, for many reasons one being the fact that it has much better graphics, and yes I know Diablo is older but thats the idea people think new don't dwell on old stuff, Blizzard did not patent the over the head game play and THQ just did it better I think, and the being able to zoom in on the person was pretty new, and I bet money that Blizzard will use that idea in the new Diablo. I give this masterpiece a 10/10 Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    8
    I have the Golden edition but reviewing Titan Quest and Titan Quest: Immortal Throne separately because they are a little different. The original Titan Quest is rather unpolished and lacks certain key features which seem only logical to include in an action-RPG. I would give the Original around 77/100 while the Immortal Throne (which tremendously expands and improves the games)I have the Golden edition but reviewing Titan Quest and Titan Quest: Immortal Throne separately because they are a little different. The original Titan Quest is rather unpolished and lacks certain key features which seem only logical to include in an action-RPG. I would give the Original around 77/100 while the Immortal Throne (which tremendously expands and improves the games) deserves, in my opinion, a solid 85/100. If you have the Gold Edition play Immortal Throne! Expand
  3. NykoM.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Tq get your money worth. Not really original, but really exciting and visually nice. The graphics are well optimized..so you don't need a monster config to play decently. I just hope real patchs (and not fake 1weekwork placebo) are coming soon to play online without crashs.
  4. PaulClarke
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    A fine fine game - with wonderfullo nline play - a vibrant community (already) and a fantastic online economy. I'm not sure what game Alec H is playing , but it can't be Titan Quest , because this game has all the things he says it hasn't ... and they are up front and centre in the opening game menu.

    Odd ... Anyway, yes it is a Diablo type game, the only thing it
    A fine fine game - with wonderfullo nline play - a vibrant community (already) and a fantastic online economy. I'm not sure what game Alec H is playing , but it can't be Titan Quest , because this game has all the things he says it hasn't ... and they are up front and centre in the opening game menu.

    Odd ...

    Anyway, yes it is a Diablo type game, the only thing it seems to be missing is the use of new tactics against some of the larger (boss) monsters. They drop the same way as the rest.

    Other than that, excellent game, being able to decide to enchant your own weapons with the artifacts you find makes for some interesting strategic choices, and the "take downs" just get better and better as you character progresses.

    Grtaphics a fantastic (though with approximately 10x the requirements of Diablo II - read the back of the box's - To play it in 1600*1200 with all the X's, then have a processor well over 3 gig, and a £300 quid graphics card and a lot of ram.

    Clarker
    Expand
  5. PhilipL.
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    People will no longer talk about "Diablo-games" but about "Titan Quest-games" !
  6. JauqueS.
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This game is Rocks!
  7. SteveS.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    I'm not sure why someone would rate this game so poorly, especially on the strength of "it lacks online play", when it is an awesome game and does in fact have free online play--great free online play, I might add. I've completed the game's single player campaign and now my friends and I are hooked on the co-op mode.The art is excellent, the level design is superb, if a bit I'm not sure why someone would rate this game so poorly, especially on the strength of "it lacks online play", when it is an awesome game and does in fact have free online play--great free online play, I might add. I've completed the game's single player campaign and now my friends and I are hooked on the co-op mode.The art is excellent, the level design is superb, if a bit linear, and the gameplay captures all of the little elements that satisfy me--a long time Diablo 2 addict. I look forward to future efforts from this up-and-coming studio. Expand
  8. WillR.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    ok, its in the same genre as diablo 2, but I went back and played diablo2 after playing some of this...and dang...it wasn't as good as I remembered..its only 7 years old...but it feels like it's twice that, especially after playing TQ for a few days. TQ streamlines a lot from d2 but doesn't try and be the same game.. not in my opinion. oh. and d2's random levels look ok, its in the same genre as diablo 2, but I went back and played diablo2 after playing some of this...and dang...it wasn't as good as I remembered..its only 7 years old...but it feels like it's twice that, especially after playing TQ for a few days. TQ streamlines a lot from d2 but doesn't try and be the same game.. not in my opinion. oh. and d2's random levels look like crap.Back then they were neat, but nowadays they 'feel' random.. like a pointless grind.. I'll take something designed over that anyday...there's so much surface area in TQ that you can't possibly get bored of it..at least not before all the editor mods start come out. Expand
  9. M.Sheidow
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This game is sweet! If Blizzard made this game, the critics would be shouting from the roof tops about how great this game is. If you like Diablo or even if you don't you'll love the action combat, skills and ragdoll physics. The game world is huge. You totally get your moneys worth.
  10. KevinR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game with tonnes of replayability.
  11. JulioG.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Hot, sweaty Spartans in metal bracers and gorgets! What more could anybody ask for?
  12. GustavoG.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Addictive, fun and very nice graphics.
  13. DuncanR.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    This game is great, its graphics , its monsters , the bosses... i played it 4 times to do all the mastery's. instalation problems? where??? i didnt had any... ''Diablo clone''? This game is way better.
  14. JamesT
    May 1, 2009
    8
    Nice graphics, good storyline, etc, etc... I would have prefered a more 'open world' feel, different, more varied types of equiptment and a couple touch ups to monster sight ranges. It certainly had good graphics for an orbital view game and a sweet ambient soundtrack. Worth the $30 I payed for it.
  15. AnsonG.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Alright, alright, now what went wrong this game particular? Everything gameplay is awe some. the only things i wish for would be gore and inventory (Will be added). The expansion will contain closed online play(Like battlenet) and possible 'stash'space shared by ALL characters. The graphics are almost TOO good. it will test your machine on hgih settings, runs flawlessly without Alright, alright, now what went wrong this game particular? Everything gameplay is awe some. the only things i wish for would be gore and inventory (Will be added). The expansion will contain closed online play(Like battlenet) and possible 'stash'space shared by ALL characters. The graphics are almost TOO good. it will test your machine on hgih settings, runs flawlessly without hiccups. Ive seen a couple hiccups when i ran the game form a virtual CD, using my copy had no issues. Well, im not a big fan of story and voice acting in these games, but it was quite done and informative. The voice acting is very well done for an english game, was impressed, there was a well done attention to detail to history. The item system is even better rhan diablo's, i miss the rune words, but the relics and charms really great. I find myself missing diablo's item color coding, still getting used to Yellow being magical and green being rare. The customization really becomes apparent after you played maybe 10-20 hours.... love it, u will have TONS of options once u really look into the skills. Right now im going with Hunting/Rogue, which i building my character with STR/DEX to melee/range with my character. Anyone who say is same exactly like Diablo, dont go into this game expecting Diablo 2, it is better than Diablo 2 pre expansion, and just as good as D2 with the expansion. It improves in many areas, but u will miss several aspects. This game is amazing, and with patches will easily surpass anything battlenet Diablo 2 expansion ever had, for now, its equal. Expand
  16. JoeyK.
    Jul 16, 2006
    8
    I got this recently, and am still just playing it, far from finished. It's very apparent that it's just a dungeon crawler. But dang, it sure is fun. The skill system is intriguing. The graphics are gorgeous, far beyond what I would expect from a game like this. And there' online multiplayer for co-op. It's not innovative or groundbreaking, it's not amazing or a I got this recently, and am still just playing it, far from finished. It's very apparent that it's just a dungeon crawler. But dang, it sure is fun. The skill system is intriguing. The graphics are gorgeous, far beyond what I would expect from a game like this. And there' online multiplayer for co-op. It's not innovative or groundbreaking, it's not amazing or a must-have, it's a linear dungeon crawling action rpg, and it does the job damn well. Expand
  17. BlakeT.
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    I love this game! If you are interested in the game, listen carefully. The game does not forge new ground or move the genre forward. In other words, there is nothing new here. However, the excels at borrowing elements from some of the greatest games to date: Diablo, Sacred, Guild Wars, and Warcraft. The gameplay is much like Sacred. The uniqueness of the character paths is similar to GuildI love this game! If you are interested in the game, listen carefully. The game does not forge new ground or move the genre forward. In other words, there is nothing new here. However, the excels at borrowing elements from some of the greatest games to date: Diablo, Sacred, Guild Wars, and Warcraft. The gameplay is much like Sacred. The uniqueness of the character paths is similar to Guild Wars. The skill tree is similar to Diablo II but more varied. My favorite aspect of the game is the incredible number of ways you can play the game simply by choosing different combinations of skills and different character paths. It really is quite amazing and fun to try the game from different angles. The graphics and sound are also very nice and what you would expect for a modern release. The weaknesses are simple. The game is linear - very linear. The lands are not vast like in Sacred. And, unlike what you may read, the game is not really built to be a multiplayer game. Like Sacred, you can play with others by hosting servers. If you are expecting Battle.net, you will be very disappointed. The few multiplayer games I tried experienced heavy lag and unstable. If the game had a service like Battle.net to foster a stable multiplayer environment, it would be amazing. Still, I love the game for single player hack-n-slash fun! I highly recommend it, especially if you were a fan of Sacred. Expand
  18. NightM.
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    The Game is great as Diablo 2 was , lot of items , lot of skills , the 3 diferent levels of dificult makes you go over and over iproving your character and items. this game doesnt get a 10 couse the lack of multiplayer.
  19. Slackiller
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Great game , love playing it, nice graphics.
  20. BirdeB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    A Diablo clone that pretends to be nothing else. This is not innovation, it is refinement. If you are a fan of Diablo 2 and have been away for a while, you'll get a kick out of Titan Quest. If you're expecting a huge leap in RPG gaming, you've picked up the wrong box. This is basic, mindless, meat-and-potatoes gaming--satisfying and filling, but it'll never be A Diablo clone that pretends to be nothing else. This is not innovation, it is refinement. If you are a fan of Diablo 2 and have been away for a while, you'll get a kick out of Titan Quest. If you're expecting a huge leap in RPG gaming, you've picked up the wrong box. This is basic, mindless, meat-and-potatoes gaming--satisfying and filling, but it'll never be expensive haute cuisine. And sometimes that is not a bad thing. Expand
  21. JohnM.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Ignore the 2/10 scores, game runs fine even without the patching up in most cases. The reason i think some have trouble with this will purely be down to PC hardware, game will run fine on a PC with 2gb DDR, decent gfx card and midrange CPU. Its a great little hack-n-slash adventure with lush looking gfx considering style of the game. Great mutli player fun to be had, not much reply value Ignore the 2/10 scores, game runs fine even without the patching up in most cases. The reason i think some have trouble with this will purely be down to PC hardware, game will run fine on a PC with 2gb DDR, decent gfx card and midrange CPU. Its a great little hack-n-slash adventure with lush looking gfx considering style of the game. Great mutli player fun to be had, not much reply value once completed though, Expand
  22. MikeL.
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    Great game, now to all you blizzard bumming folk who gave this a poor score just because it's like to diablo, I hope you know how retarded you sound. So... it's got a similar game play too diablo ahy? true enough. So should the same be said about half-life? good story good npc's BUT THE CONTROLLS AND WEAPONS WHERE NOT ORIGINAL! I played several fps's before half-life Great game, now to all you blizzard bumming folk who gave this a poor score just because it's like to diablo, I hope you know how retarded you sound. So... it's got a similar game play too diablo ahy? true enough. So should the same be said about half-life? good story good npc's BUT THE CONTROLLS AND WEAPONS WHERE NOT ORIGINAL! I played several fps's before half-life came out! Doesn Expand
  23. ChristopherS.
    Jul 26, 2007
    8
    I've only played the demo. But from what I've played, it's a nice refreshing welcome into the Diablo 2 genre. The graphics are real nice to look at, and the game plays very smooth. It's only 30 bucks to get both this and the expansion, might as well get both. Something else to play when you get the WOW blues.
  24. AlexH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Great games, I would recommend this to any one who loved the diablo series like me.
  25. ScottM.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    I am really glad I found out about this game through Steam. It was refreshing to play a game that isn't over-complex, has a familiar style without a learning curve, and that has such great scope, setting, and graphics. FUN!
  26. Dretti
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Great game! Really addictive. If you like Diablo II or Sacred this is your game.
  27. RynoB
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    It's an awesome game! The best features is the co-op mode and that everything is randomized. A must have for LAN parties or Online internet play. The graphics are also quite nice if you have a decent pc.
  28. RichG.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    The dude that gave it a zero score based on it having no online gameplay should perhaps investigate the fact that Titan Quest does, in fact, have free online gameplay for up to 6 players at once. How did he miss this? Probably didn't buy the game. Kind of hard to miss the option on the main menu screen :) In short, this is a great D2 update and a damn fine way to spend a day slaying The dude that gave it a zero score based on it having no online gameplay should perhaps investigate the fact that Titan Quest does, in fact, have free online gameplay for up to 6 players at once. How did he miss this? Probably didn't buy the game. Kind of hard to miss the option on the main menu screen :) In short, this is a great D2 update and a damn fine way to spend a day slaying hordes of good-looking monsters. Expand
  29. KennyL.
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    The only reason i didnt give this game a 10 was in fact cuz of the bugs. Not too big a deal for me as it has only crashed twice in 27+ hours of gameplay. True, it shouldnt crash at all but the game looks so gorgeous and plays so well, i can overlook the crashes here and there. Call it a Diablo clone but i say TQ plays better than Diablo. Graphics and sound are superb, the variety of The only reason i didnt give this game a 10 was in fact cuz of the bugs. Not too big a deal for me as it has only crashed twice in 27+ hours of gameplay. True, it shouldnt crash at all but the game looks so gorgeous and plays so well, i can overlook the crashes here and there. Call it a Diablo clone but i say TQ plays better than Diablo. Graphics and sound are superb, the variety of creatures are as vast as the spells, items, and skills you acquire in the game. The controls are very intuitive and makes real-time battles an absolute blast and feels less repetitive than most rpgs. In this sense, i like it better than Diablo or Diablo 2. I know some, if not many, will say that is blasphemous to a rpg fan but its hard not to get caught up in world of Titan Quest. Free online play is also a definite plus!!! Expand
  30. Chris
    Aug 18, 2006
    8
    I love this game. It has great graphics, challanging game play and enough content to keep me busy. It may not be the most innovative game but I think it reaches a market of advent Diablo II fans that are starving for something to occupy themselves with. Dungeon Siege 2 didn't cut it any better than the other D2 wanna-bes. This game DOES satisfy that craving and in the process creates I love this game. It has great graphics, challanging game play and enough content to keep me busy. It may not be the most innovative game but I think it reaches a market of advent Diablo II fans that are starving for something to occupy themselves with. Dungeon Siege 2 didn't cut it any better than the other D2 wanna-bes. This game DOES satisfy that craving and in the process creates it's own solid gaming experience. If beating D2: LOD for the millionth time sounds more like a chore than it used to, I strongly recommend Titan Quest. I find it funny how many people are giving the game a lower rating because it has bugs. ALL games have bugs when they first come out. There is no such thing as the "perfect" game. Thankfully, patching the game is as easy as clicking the Udates option in the main menu and before you know it, the issues are gone. Expand
  31. LukeS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    Awesome game great graphics and sound quality.
  32. PaulF.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    If you liked Diablo, you'll probably love this game. I'm playing it with my girlfriend (almost done with Immortal Throne) and we like it more than Diablo or Neverwinter Nights. It can be sleep-deprivingly addictive. The game play is smoother and the graphics are fantastic. They spent a lot of time on the details and it makes the game that much more satisfying. We're not If you liked Diablo, you'll probably love this game. I'm playing it with my girlfriend (almost done with Immortal Throne) and we like it more than Diablo or Neverwinter Nights. It can be sleep-deprivingly addictive. The game play is smoother and the graphics are fantastic. They spent a lot of time on the details and it makes the game that much more satisfying. We're not really FPS'ers, so this is just what we were looking for. And the story is fun as well. The character skill trees, and the fact that you dual-class, makes it even more interesting and varied. Expand
  33. JoshM
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    After playing Diablo 2, this game seemed so much better. The graphics, general gameplay and the ability to change talents later which was highly irritating in Diablo when I found out you couldn't. I highly reccomend this to anyone who enjoys RPGs.
  34. [Anonymous]
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    TQ is easily the best Diablo-clone to come along since...Diablo. The class system, based on combinations of masteries, allows for an incredible variety of character builds in a game that offers loot finding galore. This is one game I'm keeping on my system for a very long time. With Immortal Throne, it gets even better.
  35. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    Titan Quest is an underrated game. While it isn't the most original game, it is a solid, fun game that is very enjoyable. The story, while not the best, was good enough to keep me going. However, if you're looking for a deep, involved story, you won't find it here. The best part about this game, in my opinion, are the class combinations available for you to use. They accommodate andTitan Quest is an underrated game. While it isn't the most original game, it is a solid, fun game that is very enjoyable. The story, while not the best, was good enough to keep me going. However, if you're looking for a deep, involved story, you won't find it here. The best part about this game, in my opinion, are the class combinations available for you to use. They accommodate and enhance many different kinds of play-styles, For someone like me, who likes to experiment and tinker with different builds, this adds a lot of replayability to the game. The graphics are actually not too bad and have aged extremely well over the years. Do yourself a favor and give this a shot, if you haven't. If you like hack and slash games, you owe it to yourself to give Titan Quest a chance. Expand
  36. May 17, 2011
    9
    The only reason I am giving Titan Quest a 9 and not a 10 is because once you try out Titan Quest: Immortal Throne, its expansion, you realise that the original lacked a lot of things. Nevertheless without the expansion it is still an incredible game. The environments are very beautiful, ranging from massive picturesque landscapes, and all the way up to intricate details, such as smallThe only reason I am giving Titan Quest a 9 and not a 10 is because once you try out Titan Quest: Immortal Throne, its expansion, you realise that the original lacked a lot of things. Nevertheless without the expansion it is still an incredible game. The environments are very beautiful, ranging from massive picturesque landscapes, and all the way up to intricate details, such as small birds and even frogs among the grass. The game takes place during ancient times and takes the player through Ancient Greece, Egypt and Orient, where you get to encounter a wide variety of mythological monsters, such as the Gorgons, the Minotaur, the centauri, the automatoi, Manticore, Chimera, pengs, yeti, etc etc. The game gives the player a choice of 8 masteries, of which the player has to pick a combination of 2. This gives 36 different classes to play as, ranging from tanking Conquerors, to dual-wielding Assassins, to Elementalists, to petmancers Soothsayers, to dexterous Brigands. The original game does have a few bugs and other faults. However a lot has been changed in its expansion, the Immortal Throne. Expand
  37. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Great Game hope they make the next one first person view. Add shops to buy weapons & upgrades..
  38. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Titan Quest is one the best dungeon crawlers ever made. You get tons of cool loot and can play with a gorup of four on multiplayer via P2P (Thanks goodness no servers, bleh). The character classes were one thing that really made this game unique, as you could combine two classes to create a new class (Why is this not being done more?). You can basically be a hybrid (combine two classes) orTitan Quest is one the best dungeon crawlers ever made. You get tons of cool loot and can play with a gorup of four on multiplayer via P2P (Thanks goodness no servers, bleh). The character classes were one thing that really made this game unique, as you could combine two classes to create a new class (Why is this not being done more?). You can basically be a hybrid (combine two classes) or you could just put all your points into one class. If you like dungeon crawlers you will be right at home. Expand
  39. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    The most beautiful Diablo-like ARPG for the past few years. It's simply fun and addictive, provides you a journey with both Western and Eastern mythology. You can build whatever character you want, for example, a warrior wielding a staff, or a rogue with a spear. Anyway, it's awesome but after you finish the game several times, you will feel a bit bored 'cause the multiplayer mode isn'tThe most beautiful Diablo-like ARPG for the past few years. It's simply fun and addictive, provides you a journey with both Western and Eastern mythology. You can build whatever character you want, for example, a warrior wielding a staff, or a rogue with a spear. Anyway, it's awesome but after you finish the game several times, you will feel a bit bored 'cause the multiplayer mode isn't good enough. I recommend Titan Quest: Immortal Throne too. The game would have much more fun if you have them both. Expand
  40. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    A all most perfect game the only thing this game need is end game content like the duel system in Diablo 2. One of my favorite games of all time only beaten mostly because of the amazing class system with Thirty-Six Classes.
  41. May 11, 2014
    8
    It's a good game, you can feel it from every details in graphic and UI that the developer put lots of effort into this project.
    The gameplay is well paced, not too hard, but it makes you regret your carelessness.
    One thing I can complain is that the final boss is a bit cheap. In order to win, you HAVE to be got the luck come across a real good weapon and resistance items, otherwise you
    It's a good game, you can feel it from every details in graphic and UI that the developer put lots of effort into this project.
    The gameplay is well paced, not too hard, but it makes you regret your carelessness.
    One thing I can complain is that the final boss is a bit cheap. In order to win, you HAVE to be got the luck come across a real good weapon and resistance items, otherwise you have to grind it or keep popping potions, little strategy involved since the boss have lost his weakness in the new version of the game.
    In my opinion a good hack & slash game needs only concentration to beat the boss, not drugs (I died 15 times in my first run as a ritualist=Nature+Dream Mastery, had never used more than 5 potions in every boss battle except the Typhon which I can't pass without further grinding... This is really discouraging especially at the end of the game.
    Expand
  42. Spoozle
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Just a note to Alec H.
    THE GAME DOES HAVE ONLINE MULTIPLAYER AND THE WEAPONS ARE RANDOMIZED AND THE CHARACTERS ARE PERSISTANT AND THERE IS COMMUNITY SUPPORT . . . next time you want to give a game a 0 maybe you should take the time to check it out first.
  43. ChrisW.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    I played the demo of this game, and still playing, and i am going to buy it, but i could not put this game down, i had to keep playing it, i love it. NWN and diablo2 bored me to death after cahpter 1. The graphics are great, the gameplay is great, i can only immagine what Immortal Throne is like.
  44. PeniS
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Takes Diablo II, Nox, Baulder Gate, etc... and blows them away. If any of you have seen the trailers for Diablo III, I could almost swear they took some of the innovative and creative designs off of Titan Quest. A must have for RPG lovers! This is what the next-gen RPGs should model their games off of!!!!
  45. ChosenOne
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Best sword fighting game ever to have come out and will allways be my fav. And for those who gave it a bad rating because of instulling problems and bugs you need a better computer it has none. And its better than half life 1 and way more games.
  46. KurtM.
    Jul 21, 2007
    8
    -2 for being unorriginal (((that's it))) Titan Quest is a game that combines Diablo II and Guild Wars into an action RPG definately worth playing. It's also a great buy. You can now get it on Steam with expansion for 30 bucks (definately worth it, considering in order to get Guild Wars you'd need 50 bucks for 1 campaign (of 3) and Diablo II Battle Chest (which is almost the -2 for being unorriginal (((that's it))) Titan Quest is a game that combines Diablo II and Guild Wars into an action RPG definately worth playing. It's also a great buy. You can now get it on Steam with expansion for 30 bucks (definately worth it, considering in order to get Guild Wars you'd need 50 bucks for 1 campaign (of 3) and Diablo II Battle Chest (which is almost the only place you'll find Diablo II and its expansion) now costs 40 bucks). Definately worth it, especially for those who aren't big fans of Guild War's or WoW's costs or MMO interface, and want a bit of a graphical upgrade from D2. Expand
  47. May 7, 2011
    8
    One of the best ARPGs. Granted, buying items is irrelevant (same as in Diablo 2), areas are not randomly generated, and inventory is a bit harder to manage. The expansion improves so many things, and makes the original game seem weaker. I love the ability to develop classes in-game and adjust tactics, which works great with co-op. It makes the static classes of Diablo seem ancient. I'd sayOne of the best ARPGs. Granted, buying items is irrelevant (same as in Diablo 2), areas are not randomly generated, and inventory is a bit harder to manage. The expansion improves so many things, and makes the original game seem weaker. I love the ability to develop classes in-game and adjust tactics, which works great with co-op. It makes the static classes of Diablo seem ancient. I'd say the difficulty is on par with Diablo. I've played the game for 100's of hours with different class combos, and the biggest issue is the repetitive nature of levels after playing so much. But join up with friends and work together to push through faster. It would be nice to start on Epic difficulty with levels under your belt, since that is where the game really gets good. Expand
  48. JoshS.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This Game rocks!! It's addicting and there is SOO much Loot! the art kicks some serious azz. The armor most notably. Great game. If you loved Diablo2 do your self a favor and pick this up asap.
  49. TravisD.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Best Visual FX in any game this year. Hands down.
  50. RanD.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Titan Quest artfully combines the conventions of the genre (why change what works) with vast amounts of depth when it comes to character builds and loot. I really don't think that too many of the reviewers to date have 'gotten' the loot system or the huge amount of replayability with difficulty levels and SO many possible character builds, but I think the game will shine Titan Quest artfully combines the conventions of the genre (why change what works) with vast amounts of depth when it comes to character builds and loot. I really don't think that too many of the reviewers to date have 'gotten' the loot system or the huge amount of replayability with difficulty levels and SO many possible character builds, but I think the game will shine through none the less. If you want to read a reviewer that 'did' get it - take a look at the yahoo games review. Titan Quest is destined to be one of the players in the genre. Expand
  51. RobS.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    Fun RPG with some brilliant effects. Highly recommended for those that love wandering around ancient worlds and going head to head with epic beasts. Odysseus would be proud!
  52. MikeM.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    I just bought this game and can't stop playing it! If you like Diablo you got to buy this game!
  53. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    Titan Quest begins and takes players very much into action from the first minute. There are extensive references made to Greek mythology from the quests and NPC interactions. Moving through the areas is done simply by clicking, and attacking is done in the same fashion, with the addition of hotkeys. The inventory system is a bit cumbersome and small. There is so much loot in the game thatTitan Quest begins and takes players very much into action from the first minute. There are extensive references made to Greek mythology from the quests and NPC interactions. Moving through the areas is done simply by clicking, and attacking is done in the same fashion, with the addition of hotkeys. The inventory system is a bit cumbersome and small. There is so much loot in the game that could be later sold in town, but you are simply not allowed to carry very much. Thankfully, once you learn how to use the portals, it's rather convenient to go from the wilderness and back to town to sell your goods. The voice acting is a bit corny because of the forced accent, but they are adequate for the theme. The environments were designed proficiently, with lots of attention to detail, including good mood music, as well as day and night cycles. Even though the battle mechanics are simplistic, they are never boring. The amount of different enemies and loot is outstanding. All bodies of your dead foes remain on the ground of the entire game world permanently, which is really nice. Titan Quest boasts extremely addictive gameplay that will have you coming back for more again and again. The Skills and Masteries system alone extends replayability to at least two or more complete replays. The loot/equipment and enemies are designed exceptionally, and Titan Quest is all about loot, enemies, and skills! The ability to filter dropped loot searches by broken or rare is simply superb, and should be included in all RPGs. Exploring the world is a real pleasure. All the new discoveries are interesting and exciting. Many hours will pass feeling as if they were minutes. Loot variation is abundant throughout the entire game, which ensures that you will always upgrade, exchange, and experiment with an extreme amount of equipment and items. Summoning various creatures to aid you as pets is awesome and quite helpful. Even though Titan Quest is fully linear, it is never boring. Everything from the story, to the battles, to the level and enemy design is done almost perfectly. The animations, in conjunction with the sound effects are superb. All enemies perform ragdoll physics' movements constantly, and sometimes, your blows sends enemies flying up into the air. There is so much one could do with the relics, charms, and formulas. The bosses and hero monsters are challenging and fun to fight. The amount of loot, skills, and classes available ensures that you will be able to play the game many times over. Sometimes, the rebirth fountain you have activated is somewhat far from where you last died, which is slightly annoying. The areas that you have previously visited from an earlier game become grayed out once you reload a saved game, which means that all enemies and chests have been respawned, also allowing you to do some grinding if you would like. I have not encountered any bugs or glitches at all. The game is polished, and this shows in every aspect. Much thought and effort were put forth in the creation of Titan Quest. The last boss was quite difficult, and required a bit of trickery to defeat. There is no reason to play Titan Quest without Immortal Throne. I feel that all additions and improvements are necessary for the full experience. The different classes and equipment that could be found will entice you to play the game at least three times (each at a different difficulty level) for each class you are interested in. The excellent overall design in association with the variety and incredibly interesting appearance and behavior of the enemies will also keep you interested during each and every minute of gameplay. The familiars you are able to summon through the various skills pertaining to each class are exceptional. Titan Quest is as close to perfection as possible, for the RPG genre, even if the story and mechanics are simple. This should be an example to be followed for all upcoming RPG games. It will be difficult to find another game of this same class and category. Games of such quality do not come around very often. It took me about 49 hours to complete. Expand
  54. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Gutes spiel aba manchma zu schwer :P
  55. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I only give this a 9 because of what you can do with the expansion. This is better then Diablo 1 or 2 for hack and slash! And it has mythological monsters, how awesome is that!
  56. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A beautiful and lengthy Action RPG in the vein of dungeon crawlers like Diablo, Titan Quest focuses more on open world exploration and offers many unique environments to explore. Character customization lets you pick from 2 skill schools with many active, passive, and toggle skills that you can pick and choose from letting you create a unique hero each time. There is an attempt at aA beautiful and lengthy Action RPG in the vein of dungeon crawlers like Diablo, Titan Quest focuses more on open world exploration and offers many unique environments to explore. Character customization lets you pick from 2 skill schools with many active, passive, and toggle skills that you can pick and choose from letting you create a unique hero each time. There is an attempt at a storyline here but it's a bit ridiculous and is mostly a vehicle for taking you through ancient lands with mythological monsters and locations. The music and sound are also top notch with a memorable soundtrack and immersive environmental & monster sounds. Overall, Titan Quest is a fantastic aRPG and is worth your time with or without friends. Expand
  57. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    This was the first worthy successor to Diablo 2, and it has stood the test of time remarkably well. If you're a fan of the action RPG genre, you owe it to yourself to play this game.
  58. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Diablo clone ever. TQ grabs the good ideas from Blizzard game, mix them with their's and present it to us. Furs hack&slash RPG I'v replayed more tha 2 times in years.RPG Nice! Expand
  59. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    I really like this game, but i will give 9 because there is no character customization. Only `male and female`.
    Also sometimes it will randomly crash.
  60. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Even after all these years I find this game just as much fun as the day I first played it. So many elements from Diablo make the game so much fun to play, while new innovations and fairly good visuals make the game better. Even though most people bash this for being a so similar to Diablo, I feel it has its own feel to it, and has concepts that further improve on the formula that DiabloEven after all these years I find this game just as much fun as the day I first played it. So many elements from Diablo make the game so much fun to play, while new innovations and fairly good visuals make the game better. Even though most people bash this for being a so similar to Diablo, I feel it has its own feel to it, and has concepts that further improve on the formula that Diablo started. This game is almost on par with Diablo in how the game flows, and the many different class configurations make it fun to start up all over again. Expand
  61. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    Such an entertaining game, with a fantastic story line and good voice acting to go along with it. The graphics at the time were great and still look good. Only thing that keeps it from getting a 9 or 10 is that on Windows 7 it is often unstable and will crash, causing you to lose saved game content.Also, when playing co-op with a friend, some quests are unavailable. A fantastic singleSuch an entertaining game, with a fantastic story line and good voice acting to go along with it. The graphics at the time were great and still look good. Only thing that keeps it from getting a 9 or 10 is that on Windows 7 it is often unstable and will crash, causing you to lose saved game content.Also, when playing co-op with a friend, some quests are unavailable. A fantastic single player game though, it will cause you to get lost for hours exploring the environment of ancient Greece. Expand
  62. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    Titan quest je nejlepším příkladem jak má vypadat rpg stylu diablo výborná grafika,měnící se prostředí,strom dovednosti je opravdu povedený.Jedna z mála věcí co se dá TQ vytknout ale to je nemoc v podstatě všech her tohoto typu je klikfest.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    Titan Quest is a godsend. It has been a while since we’ve played a quality action RPG, and Titan Quest fulfills our expectations perfectly. The game is deep, the combat is enjoyable, the game looks superb and there’s just so much to do. While the game borrows a few gameplay elements from Diablo II, Titan Quest does enough to feel fresh and offers enough variety to ensure that newcomers and fans of the genre will enjoy the experience.
  2. 81
    I think it looks impressive and offers a ton of content, and there are certainly worse games with which to spend your summer days (and there are worse games coming out of new development houses).
  3. One of those rare games where the ratio of time spent to the cost of the game makes for some of the most efficient entertainment this side of "Oblivion" or "Civilization IV."