User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 7 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    Graw 2 is nothing like its console brethren. Graw 2 is developed by Grin, the company behind Graw 1 on the PC, however not the company behind the console versions of the two games. Grin tries to make the game more tactical and difficult than the console versions. The PC version of Graw 2 plays in the first-person mode, unlike the console version. They differ greatly, including the AI, which is very imbecilic in the PC version, the gameplay mechanics, and the overall feel. They do not feel like the same game at all, with the pc version playing like a very slow paced tactical shooter, with the console version being more of a laid-back over the shoulder shoot em up. The PC version is tremendously harder, and will make even the best gamers cringe. The teammates are also very dumbfounded, they usually have no idea what to do and will always make bad decisions, and you will constantly need to babysit them and make sure their every need is taken care of, which happens much too often. Graw 2 is not the best PC game i have ever played, and its not a big step up from Graw 1 on the PC either, and the console versions just seem more polished, with the graphics on the PC being very inadequate, as the game is not demanding in the least bit. Graw 2 is not a horrible first person shooter, fans of Graw 1 on PC should check the game out and fans will most likely appreciate the approach taken to bring it back to the older-style Graw games. The missions are very long and boring, and all feel jumbled together, and the whole game feels like it is a mod of something else. Expand
  2. May 29, 2012
    1
    Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 is a first person shooter, where a squad of elite solders have to infiltrate, shoot some bad guys and carry out some objective. It's pretty bland, boring and did not provide me with any satisfying experience. First of all, I bought the game to play co-op with a friend. We started on normal, but quickly got bored - the game was just very, very easy. We then upped the difficulty to the hardest level, but we were still bored. This, mind you, is a setup where two human players who only played the game for 30 minutes takes over for a squad of one player and a group of three bots on the very hardest difficulty and the game still fails to challenge us in any way. The story is seen before, and details the eternal conflict between good Americans and some filthy foreign dictator or such (yawn). The briefings are absurdly long but with very little content. We ran into a bug where the game would crash upon us reaching a certain trigger - this had been reported years previously, but the developer apparently couldn't be bothered fixing it and assumed that players, like we did, would google the problem after crashing at the same place a few times and simply take another route through the map. There is no save-functionality in co-op, so a crash means starting the map over. The co-op is not well-executed either. Only one of the players get to use the map (who came up with that design decision?). The map will go to another player if the first one dies, and with more than two it can be difficult to figure out who can actually use it. The game has nothing going for it and only the most dedicated fans of the genre should even consider buying it. It pains me to see so many good models and so many programming hours going into a game this uninspired. Maybe it's just about time to stop making these Tom Clancy games? Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2012
    1
    Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2... yeah, it's so advanced there's no "jump" key. The PC version was developed by Grin, using their appropriately named "Diesel" engine. Diesel makes me think of smog, which explains why the graphics are so damn blurry and washed out (you can barely tell the difference between an enemy soldier and a palm tree).

    The story is bland and uninteresting (blah
    blah Mexican rebels blah blah nukes, mercenaries, blah blah) and is told through loooooong booooring briefings. The voice acting, however, is where GRAW2 really shines: it's so poor you can't help but laugh. Add to this the fact that Grin decided to make this a more realistic tactical shooter and what do you get? A "realistic" shooter with hammy voice acting, blurry graphics, poor controls, useless teammates that you have to constantly babysit and some good old fashioned "we-can-see-your-toe-sticking-out-from-a-mile-away"-AI. Lovely... just lovely! We do however get a happy ending, since Grin filed for bankruptcy and closed its doors in 2009. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    5
    This game is very tactical based and it will take you a good hour to complete one mission effectively. I will say the gun selections and load out customization is great. However, this game is heavily reliant on micromanaging your squad and needless to say you squad members AI is completely useless other that being meat shield distractions. Silencers are a must since 1 non-silenced shot will alert everyone including a Snorlax. Also the controls are clunky and simple movements, prone, stand, crouch and item selection is overly spaced out and are a bit hampering in heated gunfight. Also keep your head down 2-3 hits and your dead. No difficulty selection either because the AI acts the same anyway. So have fun getting fragged by 100% accuracy enemy AI with superhuman eyesight. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    If you loved GRAW, you'll love GRAW 2. The graphics are prettier, and the gameplay continues the style of part one with a few cool gameplay improvements. It's sometimes more challenging than part 1, I suppose the devs knew that if you finished part 1, you want to continue enjoying the challenge. Great stuff.
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    In my opinion this is the best Ghost Recon game to date. They improved the GRAW story but ruined Ghost Recon in Future Soldier/GRFS. Yes it may not be developed by Ubisoft like it is on the 360 or PS3 but it still is a good game and I was happy to see that STEAM put a deal on it which I took advantage of straight away!
  7. Nov 6, 2011
    0
    Bad! The single player missions are boring and the multiplayer is extremely challenging and stupidly realistic (wtf's the point of a game)? Read the other reviews if you want more info on how terribad this game is. I have nothing more to say.
  8. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    I always enjoyed tactical shooters from the Tom Clancy series. Rainbow Six got my attention in 1998, now I still play R6:Raven Shield and Vegas 2 (despite it's flaws). First Ghost Recon was one of the games I bought just after it's release, i really liked the idea of realistic combat in a much larger scale than Rainbow Six. Years had passed and I missed the new editions of Ghost Recon.. But now im correcting my mistakes, starting with the latest game in the series - Advanced Warfighter 2. Overall impressions after first hours of gameplay are rather positive. It still has this realistic feel - you can die pretty easy, you cant pretend Rambo or rush into action without using a bit of strategy. Teamwork - that's the word. Tapping Tab key will show you tactical map, there you can give orders, waypoints and control behaviour of your soldiers. You can also use middle mouse button in the FPS view, when there's need to correct some orders or apply new ones. It's very clear and you'll get a hang of it very quickly. You've got plenty of guns and attachments to choose from, including my favorite - ultra-powerful sniper rifle resembling famous Barett. Visually game is decent, some years has passed and graphics can appear as little dated... but it's still a good looking game. What about flaws? There's only one, but major - A.I. Your foes are just plain stupid and blind. Most of the time it's not a big deal, because you're outnumbered and even stupid soldiers become threat in bigger groups xD .. But what can you do, when you're own collegues from Ghost Team resemble the same stupidity? They constantly get lost or stuck - you need to watch them carefully all the time. I happens very often - You give orders, take your position, click the "execute plan" button and.... flanking manouvers turn to s*it. One of your Ghosts stopped after two steps. In the middle of open ground... It can really irritate you. They are elite soldiers, why should I babysit them? ... Overall Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 is a good game. Long Campaign, good mechanics, very good "feel" of a real battlefield - that's why we all love Tom Clancy series. It's also exciting and challenging, so you've got the full package here ;) Lousy A.I cuts down one point from the score, so there it is - 7/10. Very decent game. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Where a game like "SWAT4" manages to be fun, GRAW2 just feels a little bit too much like hard work. The fireworks don't crackle with the kind of spectacle we're paying for, and there just isn't enough juicy meat on the tactical bones for us to regard this as a feast. [Aug 2007, p.74]
  2. Not a massive leap forward from Advanced Warfighter, but it's definitely a worthy addition to any tactical shoooter fan's collection. [Aug 2007, p.58]
  3. So, an improvement on the (initially) buggy port that the first GRAW on PC was, but even with the pleasingly significant interface and visual tweaks over the console version, this is still very much a an adequate but not spectacular sequel to an adequate but not spectacular tactical shooter. It's GRAW, but a bit better, and that's it.