Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Fans of the first HAWX will no doubt derive a great deal of joy from another hearty dose of solid dogfighting, but then everyone else will feel the same sort of confused indifference towards the story and will quickly grow tired of shooting down wave after wave of jet fighters.
  2. Mar 18, 2011
    71
    Some fun to be had in amongst the tedium. [Apr 2011, p.102]
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    70
    Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X. 2 seems to take a step back from the first episode of the series. The game fails to develop some of the previously introduced gameplay elements, giving the impression to be still "under construction" from that point of view. The road taken on by Ubisoft is surely paved with good intentions, but the overall result is somewhat disappointing.
  4. Feb 11, 2011
    60
    Fun without the fundamentals, a simpering sim with irritating copy protection. [Feb 2011, p.58]
  5. Jan 7, 2011
    60
    HAWX 2 is a straight rehash of the first game, with pointless minigames that add more frustration than excitement. [Feb 2011, p.72]
  6. Ubisoft really dropped the ball with this title. What should be an exciting fast-paced aerial combat game comes off more frustrating than anything because of its control issues, poor A.I, and just downright infuriating level designs.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 14 out of 18
  1. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    I enjoyed playing the original HAWX. So i invested 50 bucks in this game. I am a bit disapointed. Good: Nice gameplay, i really enjoyed theI enjoyed playing the original HAWX. So i invested 50 bucks in this game. I am a bit disapointed. Good: Nice gameplay, i really enjoyed the night vision levels, where you are flying a gun high in the sky and protecting the land troops.(Also seen in Modern warfare). You also get to take of and land in this game, which is pretty exciting to do. Important to know that if you want to enjoy this game you should really use a joystick or gamepad.
    Bad: It looks like i bought a beta version, there are still a few bugs that can really annoy you. For example: the Ubisoft security system does not allow the game to be played when you are offline, so every time my wireless connection drops the game is paused, and restarts from the last checkpoint when i reconnect to the internet. I am not really sure that it is my internet connection or the ubisoft server that disconnects.... still that doesn't make it less annoying. Especially when you are almost through a difficult stage of the game. Secondly i found it very difficult to use my gamepad in this game. I had to restart the game and sometimes even my whole pc to be able to use the joystick. Final complaint is the long loading time when you start the game. The security system that is build to prevent piracy is now actually making it more attractive to play an illegal copy of this game. Not a very smart move from Ubisoft in my humble opinion.
    When an update arrives that solves the problems i would probably rate it higher.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    More polished graphics and a story plot extended to other nations and the terrain is also detailed and based off real world locations. But,More polished graphics and a story plot extended to other nations and the terrain is also detailed and based off real world locations. But, the good really ends here. This is a obvious console port. This game unlike the original HAWX has bugs that need to me worked out, and the added game launcher just adds additional issues. The sounds and music have not changed which is sad since the original HAWX still had poor quality music and sound effects. The overall game play mechanics have not been improved. The HUD is also overly done which can be visually obstructing. Plus the unrealistic flight characteristics of the enemy including large bomber pulling off fighter plane maneuvers will leave you asking... what? But, it is still fun to play if you love to fly and dogfight, just dont expect a real life experience. Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2011
    0
    This is a MEDIOCRE game! The 1st HAWX was ok and you had ERS for targeting. Now ERS is no longer ERS and used only for stupid landing andThis is a MEDIOCRE game! The 1st HAWX was ok and you had ERS for targeting. Now ERS is no longer ERS and used only for stupid landing and refueling??!! HORRIBLE! Cheap! And what more, in many missions, the brain dead programmer let the BOT planes have UNLIMTIED Flares? So you are stuck playing a stupid "machine gun" canon game with a stealth fighter, LOL? This game deserves a NEGATIVE score! Full Review »